DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 15-18 and 20-21 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 4//26, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of McCartney (Pub. No. US 2015/0350494 A1) [0001] lines 11-14, [0022] lines 1-5, [0031] lines 1-26 which shows the specifics of a timeline data structure stored in memory that is thread safe where memory allocation and freeing being performed on the non real time thread so that there will be no blocking/interruptions to the memory allocator on the real time threads viewed as the real time threads actions being performed without interruption that in light of the teachings of Chen [0021] lines 1-7, [0022] lines 1-21, [0023] lines 1-6, [0029] lines 9-14, [0031] lines 1-7, [0034] lines 1-4, and [0049] lines 1-28 that shows the specifics of the association between timed/real-time thread and event/non-real time thread and a shared thread safe data store that is thread safe that has specific key/element ID to access where elements of the store can have publisher block element and subscriber/reader/handler block element where threads can be specifically configured for features including specific element ID for event being performed real-time thread that can be associated with robotic control cycle and/or element ID for event waiting for an event thread/non-real time thread as a type of basic of reading/handling by the non-real time thread data from the shared data store that event entries of the real-time thread have been stored into that since a thread safe data store viewed as done without interrupting the real-time thread.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 15-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15 and 21 recite in lines 14, 16 and 17 respectively “a corresponding data structure,” however this term has already been used previous in the claims and unclear if there is another corresponding data structure the data is read from, if this is the interpretations a clarification between the two corresponding data structures is needed and other references in the claim to data structure need to be linked to the specific one or if it was supposed to recite “the correspond data structure” and thus be viewed as referencing to the previous recited “corresponding data structure” which is how the claim is being interpreted for analysis but appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3-4, 6-12, 16-18 and 20 depend from claims 1 and 15 above and do not overcome this issue and thus rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12, 15-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (Pub. No. US 2020/0001471 A1), in view of Chkodrov et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0323941 A1) and further in view of McCartney (Pub. No. US 2015/0350494 A1).
As to claims 1 and 15 Chen discloses a method for generating an event log, comprising: receiving data representing a trigger for generating event entries occurred during real time operation of a real-time control cycle of a robotics control system, wherein the robotics control system comprises one or more non-real-time processors configured to execute one or more non-real-time threads, and one or more real-time processors configured to execute one or more real-time threads with real-time timing constraints, wherein each real-time thread of the one or more real-time threads corresponds to a non-real-time thread, and is communicatively coupled to a data structure allocated in a memory unit for the real-time thread to store event entries (Chen [0020] lines 1-5, [0021] lines 1-7, [0022] lines 1-15, [0023] lines 1-5, [0025] lines 22-25, [0029] lines 9-19, [0031] lines 1-7, [0034] lines 1-4, and [0049] lines 1-28; which shows a robot control system that has real time control of the system, that can use a plurality of threads including time threads, viewed as type of real time treads, that may run at fixed or configurable rates, viewed as time constraints, and send out synchronization events and other threads such as event threads, viewed as non-real-time treads, that can run response to an event received thus viewed as having the real time thread that can issue an event correspond to an event thread that can run when an event is received, where each thread is assigned a CPU core/processor thus having one or more processor/core for the timed/real-time threads and one or more processor/cores for the non-real-time/event threads, where threads communicate with a shared data store thread pool of memory that can be accessed by multiple threads and thus viewed as communicatively coupled to a memory unit that can store data associated with the threads, and where the shared data store can have event data published/generated for it as part of the execution of the system, where specific event can be triggered by other events or callbacks received, where the specifics of the event data information being stored is seen disclosed specifically below in the teachings of Chkodrov below);
reading by a non-real time tired from a corresponding data structure the event entries that have been stored in the data structure by a real time thread without interrupting the real-time control cycle of the real-time thread (Chen [0021] lines 1-7, [0022] lines 1-21, [0023] lines 1-6, [0029] lines 9-14, [0031] lines 1-7, [0034] lines 1-4, and [0049] lines 1-28; that shows the specifics of the association between timed/real-time thread and event/non-real time thread and a shared thread safe data store that is thread safe that has specific key/element ID to access where elements of the store can have publisher block element and subscriber/reader/handler block element where the threads can be specifically configured for features including specific element ID for event being performed by real-time thread that can be associated with robotic control, viewed as type of publisher event to the data store and/or element ID for event waiting for an event thread/non-real time thread as a type of basic subscriber indicator of the event/non-real time thread reading/handling by the non-real time thread data from the shared data store that event entries of the real-time thread have been stored into that since a thread safe data pool store, that in light of the teachings of McCarthy below showing the specifics of the tread safe data storage performing operations between real time and non-real time threads that is done so that no blocking due to calls to the memory allocator on the real time threads thus viewed as showing that performing reading operations by non-real time thread without interrupting the real time control cycle of the real time thread).
Chen does not specifically disclose receiving data representing a trigger for generating event entries representing trace events that have occurred during real-time operation of a robotics control system; storing, in the memory unit, by each real-time thread of the one or more real-time threads, event entries into a corresponding data structure that is allocated for the real-time thread, the event entries being generated when the real-time thread is executed during real time; processing, by each non-real-time thread of the corresponding non-real-time threads, the event entries to generate an event log for the real-time thread that corresponds to the non-real-time thread, the event log representing trace events that have occurred during real time operation of the real-time thread.
However, Chkodrov discloses receiving data representing a trigger for generating event entries representing trace events that have occurred during real-time operation of a real-time control cycle of a robotics control system, (Chkodrov [0025] lines 1-10, [0027] lines 1-9, [0029] lines 1-6, [0030] lines 1-8, [0060] lines 1-4 and [0062] lines 1-15; which shows the performance of event monitoring of the processes/data with the ability to monitor and generate/provide event log for various types of events and event data that can happen during the real time processing, thus viewed as receiving by the monitor the process/data trigger for it to monitor and generate/create the event data for the specific process/performance/event monitor where the specifics of the real time control cycle of a robotics control system is seen specifically disclosed above in the teachings of Chen and thus together shows receiving data representing a trigger for generating event entries representing trace events that have occurred during real-time operation of a real-time control cycle of a robotics control system);
storing, in the memory unit by each real-time thread of the one or more real-time threads, event entries into a corresponding data structure that is allocated for the real-time thread, the event entries being generated when the real-time thread is executed during real time without interrupting the real-time control cycle (Chkodrov [0030] lines 1-8, [0060] lines 1-5, [0062] lines 1-8 and [0112] lines 1-11; which shows being able to store in memory/data structure the real time event information that is generated by currently executing processes/thread where the real time event data is managed as dynamic session in which event data is examined incrementally while in flight/stored viewed as done without interrupting the real time control cycle associated with the thread events);
processing, by each non-real-time thread of the corresponding non-real-time threads, the event entries to generate an event log for the real-time thread that corresponds to the non-real-time thread, the event log representing trace events that have occurred during real time operation of the real-time thread (Chkodrov [0060] lines 1-5, [0062] lines 9-15 and [0112] lines 1-11; which shows being able to provide and process the stored real time event data to a trace type system to transform/process the real time events to historical events including event trace logs, viewed as event logs representing trace events that occurred during real time operation of the real time thread).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chkodrov showing the specifics of generating log event trace data during real time execution that is to be processed at a later time to generate event logs, into the plurality of monitoring with the real time robotic controller system of Chen for the purpose of being able to provide additional details from the monitoring analysis of execution process and thus have a more detailed overall picture of the analysis of the real time execution processes, as taught by Chkodrov [0062] lines 1-15.
Chen as modified by Chkodrov do not disclose the specifics of reading, by a non-real time thread from a corresponding data structure event entries that have been stored in the data structure by a real time thread without interrupting the real-time control cycle of the real-time tread.
However, McCartney discloses the specifics of reading, by a non-real time thread from a corresponding data structure event entries that have been stored in the data structure by a real time thread without interrupting the real time control cycle of the real-time tread (McCartney [0001] lines 11-14, [0022] lines 1-5, [0031] lines 1-26; which shows the specifics of a timeline data structure stored in memory that is thread safe where memory allocation and freeing being performed on the non real time thread so that there will be no blocking/interruptions to the memory allocator on the real time threads viewed as the real time threads actions being performed without interruption that in light of the teachings of Chen and Chkodrov above showing the specifics of the real time thread storing the information in the data structure where the events are associated with real time control cycle and thus together disclose discloses the specifics of reading, by a non-real time thread from a corresponding data structure event entries that have been stored in the data structure by a real time thread without interrupting the real time control cycle of the real-time tread)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of McCartney showing the specifics of the tread safe data store to allow real time thread action to occur without blocking into the real and non real time tread process and storage associated with events of Chen as modified by Chkodrov for the purpose of reducing problem caused by interrupting timing matter real time threads as taught by McCartney [0001] lines 11-14 and [0031] lines 1-26
As to claims 2 and 16 Chen does not specifically disclose, however, Chkodrov discloses further comprising: analyzing the event log to determine a real-time performance of the execution of the one or more real-time threads or the real-time performance of computer instructions executed by the one or more real-time threads (Chkodrov [0027] lines 1-9, [0032] lines 1-11, [0033] lines 1-8 and [0034] lines 1-6 and [0062] lines 9-15; which shows being able to query a trace event log/complex event processing stream information that is based on generated/determined real time information of the process/thread can be queried/analyzed to determine performance information of associated with specifics process/activity/thread execution).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chkodrov showing the specifics of generating log event trace data during real time execution that is to be processed at a later time to generate event logs, into the plurality of monitoring with the real time robotic controller system of Chen for the purpose of being able to provide additional details from the monitoring analysis of execution process and thus have a more detailed overall picture of the analysis of the real time execution processes, as taught by Chkodrov [0062] lines 1-15.
As to claims 3 and 17 Chen disclose wherein the data structure comprises one or more of a queue, a triple buffer, a ring buffer, or generally-shared memory (Chen [0022] lines 1-15 and [0026] lines 9-20; which shows that the data store acts as a type of shared memory that can be accessed by multiple threads simultaneously).
As to claims 6 and 20 Chen discloses wherein the one or more non-real-time threads are configured to periodically read event entries from the corresponding data structure that is allocated for the corresponding one or more real-time threads (Chen [0021] lines 1-7, [0022] lines 1-21, [0023] lines 1-6, [0029] lines 9-14, [0031] lines 1-7, [0034] lines 1-4, and [0049] lines 1-28; which shows the thread safe data pool that is accessed by the plurality of threads can include data that is published/associated from one set, viewed as including real time/timed thread and subscribed to/used/read by another viewed as including the event/non-real time thread, where event treads are configured to respond to event/event thread waits for, viewed as a type of periodically reading the event entries for the data structure as when the event happen thus viewed as happening periodically in response to the event trigger).
As to claim 7, Chen does not specifically disclose, however, Chkodrov discloses wherein the trace event comprises at least one or more of a completion trace event, an instant trace event, or a counter trace event (Chkodrov [0025] lines 1-4 and [0029] lines 1-17; which shows that the query for event data can include specific structure for at least a plurality of different system trace events including specific structure for start and stop events and counter type trace events).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chkodrov showing the specifics of generating log event trace data during real time execution that is to be processed at a later time to generate event logs, into the plurality of monitoring with the real time robotic controller system of Chen for the purpose of being able to provide additional details from the monitoring analysis of execution process and thus have a more detailed overall picture of the analysis of the real time execution processes, as taught by Chkodrov [0062] lines 1-15.
As to claim 8, Chen does not specifically disclose, however, Chkodrov discloses wherein the completion trace event comprises a pair of event entries associated with the completion trace event, the pair including a first event entry with a first timestamp representing a start time when the completion trace event is initiated, and a second event entry with a second timestamp representing an end time when the completion trace event is completed (Chkodrov [0025] lines 1-4, [0029] lines 1-17, [0032] lines 1-5, [0033] lines 1-5 and [0062] lines1-15; which shows that the event structure for recorded events include process start and stop timestamp for the process event, viewed as a pair of event data for the event that can be output as historic event data, viewed as trace log event data and thus viewed that a trace event can comprises pair of event data showing the timestamp for the start and stop of the process/event viewed as being able to show a type of completion trace event ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chkodrov showing the specifics of generating log event trace data during real time execution that is to be processed at a later time to generate event logs, into the plurality of monitoring with the real time robotic controller system of Chen for the purpose of being able to provide additional details from the monitoring analysis of execution process and thus have a more detailed overall picture of the analysis of the real time execution processes, as taught by Chkodrov [0062] lines 1-15.
As to claim 9, Chen does not specifically disclose, however, Chkodrov discloses wherein event entries for the instant trace event include an event entry with a timestamp when an event occurs or a condition is satisfied (Chkodrov [0025] lines 1-4, [0029] lines 1-17, [0032] lines 1-11, [0033] lines 1-5 and [0062] lines1-15; which shows that the event data/event entry for the data associated with the generated historic event data/event trace log data can include event data/entries that include timestamp of start and stop of event process where timestamp based on the internal system clock, viewed as timestamp indications of when event occurs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chkodrov showing the specifics of generating log event trace data during real time execution that is to be processed at a later time to generate event logs, into the plurality of monitoring with the real time robotic controller system of Chen for the purpose of being able to provide additional details from the monitoring analysis of execution process and thus have a more detailed overall picture of the analysis of the real time execution processes, as taught by Chkodrov [0062] lines 1-15.
As to claim 10, Chen does not specifically disclose, however, Chkodrov discloses wherein event entries for the counter trace event include a value tracked by one or more counters (Chkodrov [0025] lines 1-4 and [0029] lines 1-17; which shows that event data/entries can include specific structure for at least a plurality of different system trace log events including specific performance counters thus viewed as type of counter trace event that trace resource usage, viewed as a value tracked by one or more counters).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chkodrov showing the specifics of generating log event trace data during real time execution that is to be processed at a later time to generate event logs, into the plurality of monitoring with the real time robotic controller system of Chen for the purpose of being able to provide additional details from the monitoring analysis of execution process and thus have a more detailed overall picture of the analysis of the real time execution processes, as taught by Chkodrov [0062] lines 1-15.
As to claim 12, Chen does not specifically disclose, however, Chkodrov discloses wherein each event entry of the event entries corresponding to a real-time thread is associated with a timestamp according to a time when a corresponding trace event occurs, the time being indicated by a timer local to the real-time thread (Chkodrov [0024] lines 1-6, [0025] lines 1-4, [0027] lines 3-5, [0029] lines 1-17, [0032] lines 1-11, [0033] lines 1-5 and [0062] lines1-15; which shows that the event data/event entry for the data associated with the generated data/event trace log data can be associated/correspond with a real time process/thread can include event data/entries associated with that event process that include process id and timestamp of start and stop of event process where timestamp based on the internal system clock of one of a plurality of source, viewed as timestamp local to the real time thread/process as the system can run on one source as well).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Chkodrov showing the specifics of generating log event trace data during real time execution that is to be processed at a later time to generate event logs, into the plurality of monitoring with the real time robotic controller system of Chen for the purpose of being able to provide additional details from the monitoring analysis of execution process and thus have a more detailed overall picture of the analysis of the real time execution processes, as taught by Chkodrov [0062] lines 1-15.
As to claim 21, Chen discloses a system comprising: one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations comprising (Chen [0078] lines 1-7 and [0080] lines 17-21)
The remaining limitation of the claim are comparable to claim 1 above and rejected under the same reasoning.
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Chkodrov and McCartney as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Gittins et al. (Pub. No. US 2006/0168479 A1).
As to claim 4 and 18 Chen as modified by Chkodrov and McCartney do not specifically disclose further comprising: combining the event logs of the one or more real-time threads to generate a global event log for the robotic control system, and analyzing the global event log to determine a real-time performance of the robotic control system.
However, Gittins discloses further comprising: combining the event logs of the one or more real-time threads to generate a global event log for the robotic control system, and analyzing the global event log to determine a real-time performance of the robotic control system (Gittins [0042] lines 1-9, [0044] lines 1-5 and [0045] lines 1-5; which shows the ability to accumulate/combine the plurality of event log entries into a type of global event log that can be analyzed and provide real time information of the events being analyzed, that in light of the teachings of Chen above showing the specifics of real time threads associated with the robot control system and the teachings of Chkodrov for the generation of event data associated with an executing process/thread than can be used to generate trace event logs associated with the process that can be analyzed and thus together show combining the event logs of the one or more real-time threads to generate a global event log for the robotic control system, and analyzing the global event log to determine a real-time performance of the robotic control system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Gittins showing the generation of a global event log from individual event logs into the individual event data trace log information of Chen as modified by Chkodrov and McCartney for the purpose of improving ease of analysis of trace event data to identify information so that all log entries can be analyzed together to determine information, as taught by Gittins [0005] lines 1-9 and [0037] lines 1-7
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen, Chkodrov and McCartney as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Kettley et al. (Pub. No. US 2008/0127112 A1)
As to claim 11, Chen as modified by Chkodrov and McCartney do not specifically disclose wherein the trigger for generating event entries comprises a global flag, the global flag being configured to switch from a first value, at which the event entries are not generated, to a second value, at which the event entries are generated.
However, Kettley discloses wherein the trigger for generating event entries comprises a global flag, the global flag being configured to switch from a first value, at which the event entries are not generated, to a second value, at which the event entries are generated (Kettley [0024] lines 14-20; which shows a global flag used to indicate when software is to generate and record trace information associated with a trace mode that can be switchable between an off/first value where trace/event entries data are not generated and on/second value where trace/event entry data is generated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Kettley showing the specifics of a global flag used to show the triggering of trace event data, into the recording of event data associated with traces of Chen as modified by Chkodrov and McCartney for the purpose of increasing ease of trigger trace by having a single interrogatable flag accessible to all software routines available to determine if trace event data is to be generated, as taught by Kettley [0024] lines 14-20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADFORD F WHEATON/Examiner, Art Unit 2193