DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites “the driving speed”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is also unclear if the speed is that of the towing vehicle, accessory or trailer, or that of the combination.
Claim 24 recites “by means of first sensor means”. It is unclear if “first sensor means” corresponds to the “first sensor means” of parent claim 19, or are additional means.
Claim 30 recites “and providing a control unit (9) of the attached accessory device (3) or the at least one trailer vehicle, are ready for operation;”. It is not clear what is meant by this recitation, particularly the “are ready for operation”.
Claim 30 recites “the admissibility”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites “the target deceleration”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites “the further process sequence”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and it is not clear what corresponds to the process sequence.
Claim 30 recites “the drivetrain”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites “having regard to the maximum admissible value of the target deceleration”. It is not clear what is encompassed by “having regard”.
Claim 40 recites “constructed in accordance with the equipment-related claims”. It is not clear what is encompassed by this recitation. It is not clear what corresponds to the “equipment-related claims” nor what structural limitations are imparted by them.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first sensor means in claim 24.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-22, 27-29 and 39-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US# 2019/0111900) in view of Sutton et al (US# 2024/0001894).
Engel disclose a method for controlling the brakes of a vehicle combination (10), the method comprising: providing a vehicle combination (10) having a towing vehicle (16), an attached accessory device (14) or at least one trailer vehicle coupled to the towing vehicle (16), an electronic brake control system (28/32), wherein at least the towing vehicle (16) comprises a friction brake system (58) configured to be controlled by the electronic brake control system (28/32), and wherein at least the coupled attached accessory device (14) or the at least one trailer vehicle comprises second sensor means (42) for recognizing a need to brake the vehicle combination (1) and to signal a braking demand 79; communicating a signaled braking demand directly or indirectly to the electronic brake control system (28/32); and automatically braking the vehicle combination (10), by the electronic brake control system (28/32) and in response to the signaled braking demand, by actuating at least the friction brake system (58) of the towing vehicle (16). Engel further discloses that the electronic control system 28 controls the brake force of the brakes of either or both the work vehicle and the tow implement to control the speed of the work vehicle [0026], but lack the disclosure of a first sensor means for determining the driving speed. Sutton et al disclose a similar brake method and further teach a first sensor means (vehicle speed module [0130] for determining the driving speed to facilitate speed control of a vehicle combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use sensor means, such as taught by Sutton et al, in the method of Engel to facilitate accurate speed control, thereby ensuring consistent seed distribution.
Regarding claim 20, Engel discloses performing a cycle of processes at least once in response to communicating the braking demand to the brake control system 102, the cycle of processes comprising: determining a difference between a required braking and a current braking of the vehicle combination 108; producing and applying a brake pressure acting on friction brakes 58 of at least one vehicle axle of the towing vehicle as a function of the difference determined between the required braking and the current braking of the vehicle combination; and continuing automatically braking the vehicle combination until recognizing that the situation which gave rise to the braking demand no longer exists. Engel lacks the determination of a current driving speed of the vehicle combination and regulating a torque transmission in the drivetrain of the vehicle combination. Sutton et al further teach the determination of a current driving speed of a vehicle combination and regulating a torque transmission in the drivetrain of the vehicle combination. Figures 3-4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmission control, such as taught by Sutton et al, in the method of Engel to ensure the engine is operating at acceptable speeds and to minimize wear of the friction brake system.
Regarding claim 21, regulating the torque transmission includes interrupting the torque transmission. [0064] discloses a transmission ratio of 0. The interruption of torque is necessary for allowing the vehicle to completely stop.
Regarding claim 22, continuing automatically braking the vehicle combination includes braking the vehicle combination to a standstill. Engel discloses stopping the work vehicle and implement [0026][0031]
Regarding claim 27, the attached accessory device 14 or the at least one trailer vehicle has a trailer friction brake system 24 configured to be actuated by the brake control system 28/32, the method further comprising: actuating the trailer friction brake system 24 in response to communicating the signaled braking demand to the brake control system. Steps 110, 142, 176.
Regarding claim 28, the towing vehicle 16 has sensor means for recognizing the braking demand 87 and for signaling the braking demand, wherein the attached accessory device 14 or the at least one trailer vehicle has sensor means 79, and wherein communicating the braking demand is performed by the sensor means of the towing vehicle directly or indirectly to the brake control system and/or by the sensor means 79 of the attached accessory device 14 or the at least one trailer vehicle.
Regarding claim 29, Engel lacks the specific disclosure of overriding a braking demand of the attached accessory device 14 or the at least one trailer vehicle by a braking demand of the towing vehicle 16, or overriding a braking demand of the towing vehicle 16 by a braking demand of the attached accessory device 14 or the at least one trailer vehicle, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allow the larger braking demand to override the smaller braking demand, or a plausible braking demand to override an implausible braking demand to ensure appropriate braking the case of emergency or failure.
Regarding claim 39, Engel discloses an electronic brake control system 28 or 28/32 of a vehicle combination which comprises a towing vehicle 16 and an attached accessory device 14 and/or at least one trailer vehicle coupled to the towing vehicle, wherein the brake control system comprises sensor means and control means for determining a need to brake the vehicle combination and for the automatic actuation of a friction brake system 58 of the towing vehicle 16 and/or of the coupled attached accessory device 14 or trailer vehicle. Engel further discloses that the electronic control system 28 controls the brake force of the brakes of either or both the work vehicle and the tow implement to control the speed of the work vehicle [0026], but lack the disclosure of the control means determining the driving speed. Sutton et al disclose a similar brake method and further teach a control means for determining the driving speed to facilitate speed control of a vehicle combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine speed, such as taught by Sutton et al, in the method of Engel to facilitate accurate speed control, thereby ensuring consistent seed distribution.
Regarding claim 40, Engel discloses an agricultural tractor 16 [0013] with an attached accessory device 14 and/or at least one trailer vehicle 14, the agricultural tractor having an electronic brake system 26/28/32 constructed in accordance with the equipment-related claims and configured to be operated so as to carry out a method in accordance with claim 19.
Claim 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US# 2019/0111900) and Sutton et al (US# 2024/0001894), as applied to claim 22 above, in further view of Legier-Desgranges et al (US# 2023/0286745).
Engel and Sutton et al, as applied above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to confirming that the vehicle combination is at the standstill; and automatically actuating a holding brake. Legier-Desgranges et al disclose a similar brake method and further teach confirming that the vehicle combination is at the standstill 104; and automatically actuating a holding brake 112. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the automatic holding brake of Legier-Desgranges et al, in the method of Engel and Sutton et al, to prevent rollback on inclines, thereby improving vehicle safety.
Claim 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US# 2019/0111900) and Sutton et al (US# 2024/0001894), as applied to claim 20 above, in further view of Ellaboudy et al (US# 2021/0000006).
Engel and Sutton et al, as applied above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to first sensor means (12a, 12b, 13a, 13b) including one or more of (i) at least two wheel-rotation-speed sensors arranged on a vehicle axle (10, 11) of the vehicle combination (1), (ii) at least one rotation speed sensor on a transmission shaft of a vehicle transmission, (iii) at least one driving acceleration sensor, (iv) at least one ground radar sensor, and/or (v) a satellite navigation system. Ellaboudy et al disclose a similar brake method and further teach the use of wheel encoders [0065], ground speed radar [0065] or a satellite navigation system [0078] for speed determination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use wheel encoders, ground speed radar or GPS for speed detection in the method of Engel and Sutton, as taught by Ellaboudy et al, as obvious means of measuring speed which facilitates the speed control.
Claims 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Engel (US# 2019/0111900) and Sutton et al (US# 2024/0001894), as applied to claim 19 above, in further view of Graham et al (US# 2021/0129808).
Engel and Sutton et al, as applied above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claim with exception to producing an acoustic and/or visual warning signal for a vehicle driver at a beginning automatically braking the vehicle combination . Graham et al disclose a similar brake method and further teach an acoustic and/or visual warning signal for a vehicle driver at a beginning automatically braking a vehicle combination [0097]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a warning signal during automatic braking, such as taught by Graham et al, in the method of Engel and Sutton et al to ensure the operator is aware of the state of the vehicle combination, thereby improving operator comfort and safety.
Regarding claim 26, Engel and Sutton et al further lack emitting an acoustic and/or visual “clear” signal after ending automatically braking the vehicle combination. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a clear signal in the method of Engel, Sutton et al and Graham et al, to provide positive confirmation that the automatic brake operation has ended, thereby further increasing awareness of the vehicle state.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30-38 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK