Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/28/2026 has been received; Claims 2-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu (US 2012/0192462).
Regarding Claim 2, Hsu discloses an article of footwear (Figures 1 & 2), comprising: an upper portion (10) including a lace to adjust a fit of the upper portion against a foot (Figures 1 & 2); a lower portion including a mid-sole (20) and an out-sole (13), the lower portion coupled to the upper portion at the mid-sole (Figures 1 & 2), the mid-sole forming a cutout segment (Figure 2), the cutout segment including: a gap that provides medial-to-lateral visibility through the mid-sole (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 19); and a translucent segment (Para. 19); a haptic generator (33) configured to generate a haptic sensation that is perceptible by a wearer or the article of footwear based on a command from the processor (Para. 20-23), the haptic sensation associated with a user interface experience (Para. 20-23); and a light emitter positioned to be visible externally to the sole through the translucent segment (Para. 24).
Regarding Claim 3, Hsu discloses a user interface (32), wherein the user interface is aligned with the light emitter (Para. 20).
Regarding Claim 4, Hsu discloses the user interface comprises a button (32, Para. 20).
Regarding Claim 5, Hsu discloses the light emitter comprises a plurality of light emitting devices (Para. 20-24).
Regarding Claim 6, Hsu discloses multiple ones of the plurality of light emitting devices are visible through the translucent segment (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 20-24).
Regarding Claim 7, Hsu discloses all of the plurality of light emitting devices are visible through the translucent segment (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 20-24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 2012/0192462) in view of Chen (US 2017/0339773).
Regarding Claim 8, Hsu does not specifically disclose a wireless transceiver configured to communicate with a remote device. However, Chen discloses the use of a wireless remote transceiver (Para. 20 & 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a wireless system to be able to use a remote, as taught by Chen, to the shoe of Hsu, in order to provide ease of control.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hus and Chen disclose the transceiver is configured to receive instructions related, at least in part, to a performance of the light emitter (Chen, Para. 27).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hus and Chen disclose the performance of the light emitter is related to a color of light emitted by the light emitter (Hsu, Para. 24 & Chen, Para. 27).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Hus and Chen disclose the light emitter comprises a plurality of light emitting device and the performance of the light emitter is related to a sequence by which the plurality of lights are illuminated (Hsu, Para. 24 & Chen, Para. 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Remarks: Applicant assert Hsu does not disclose “a gap that provides medial-to-lateral visibility through the midsole”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated in the Office Action above, Hsu discloses in Para. 19, the sole may be made of translucent material and has a mounting chamber, 21, which is a gap. The combination of translucent material and gap of Hsu clearly discloses the ability to have visibility through the midsole. It is suggested applicant clarify the structure of the gap to overcome the current prior art rejection.
Applicant Remarks: Applicant assert Hsu does not disclose “a haptic generator configured to generate a haptic sensation that is perceptible by a wearer or the article of footwear based on a command from the processor, the haptic sensation associated with a user interface experience”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. A controlling module, 33, having a switch, 32, is a haptic generator inasmuch is disclosed by applicant. A user touches the switch and turns on the light which a perceptible by a wearer OR, another way of clarifying it, a command of a switch is pressed and processed by controlling module and a haptic sensation of light is experienced by the user. It is suggested applicant clarify exactly what haptic structure is used for the article of footwear to distinguish over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHARINE G KANE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732