Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 2012/0192462) in view of Sallop (US 2012/0119920).
Regarding Claim 2, Hsu discloses an article of footwear (Figures 1 & 2), comprising: an upper portion (10) including a lace to adjust a fit of the upper portion against a foot (Figures 1 & 2); a lower portion including a mid-sole (20) and an out-sole (13), the lower portion coupled to the upper portion at the mid-sole (Figures 1 & 2), the mid-sole forming a cutout segment (Figure 2), the cutout segment including: a gap that provides medial-to-lateral visibility completely through the mid-sole (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 19, due to the translucency); and a translucent segment (Para. 19); a haptic generator (33) configured to generate a haptic sensation that is perceptible by a wearer or the article of footwear based on a command from the processor (Para. 20-23), the haptic sensation associated with a user interface experience (Para. 20-23); and a light emitter positioned to be visible externally to the sole through the translucent segment (Para. 24). Hsu does not specifically disclose a haptic vibration sensation. Howver, Sallop discloses a haptic vibration sensation (Para. 29) for the purpose of conveying information. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a vibration to convey information to a user.
Regarding Claim 3, Hsu discloses a user interface (32), wherein the user interface is aligned with the light emitter (Para. 20).
Regarding Claim 4, Hsu discloses the user interface comprises a button (32, Para. 20).
Regarding Claim 5, Hsu discloses the light emitter comprises a plurality of light emitting devices (Para. 20-24).
Regarding Claim 6, Hsu discloses multiple ones of the plurality of light emitting devices are visible through the translucent segment (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 20-24).
Regarding Claim 7, Hsu discloses all of the plurality of light emitting devices are visible through the translucent segment (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 20-24).
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (US 2012/0192462) in view of Sallop (US 2012/0119920) and Chen (US 2017/0339773).
Regarding Claim 8, Hsu does not specifically disclose a wireless transceiver configured to communicate with a remote device. However, Chen discloses the use of a wireless remote transceiver (Para. 20 & 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a wireless system to be able to use a remote, as taught by Chen, to the shoe of Hsu, in order to provide ease of control.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hus and Chen disclose the transceiver is configured to receive instructions related, at least in part, to a performance of the light emitter (Chen, Para. 27).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hus and Chen disclose the performance of the light emitter is related to a color of light emitted by the light emitter (Hsu, Para. 24 & Chen, Para. 27).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Hus and Chen disclose the light emitter comprises a plurality of light emitting device and the performance of the light emitter is related to a sequence by which the plurality of lights are illuminated (Hsu, Para. 24 & Chen, Para. 27).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as discussed supra.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732