Status of the Application
2. Claim 1-2, 4-12, and 15 have been amended, claim 16-17 have been added. Claim 16-17 have been allowed. Claim 1-15 are in pending status.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, see Pages. 9-10, filed on 4/13/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-15 under Park have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, due to amendment to the claim, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang (Pub: 2019/0277559).
4. The specification objection in regard to the title have been withdrawn in light of the new title filed on 4/13/26.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 5, 8-9, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 and 10 are also objected due to their dependency over the claim 5, and 9 respectively.
6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter of claim 16:
The closest prior art Park (US PG Pub: 2008/0066485) disclose a refrigerator comprising: a storage compartment (e.g., Referring to FIG. 2, a Kimchi refrigerator 100 basically comprises Kimchi storage compartments 210 and 310 to store Kimchi and a cooling system, including a compressor 500, to cool the Kimchi storage compartments 210 and 310. The Kimchi refrigerator 100 further comprises a control panel (not shown) mounted at the front part thereof, as shown in FIG. 1.) (Para. [0077]);
a temperature sensor (e.g., As shown in FIG. 7, the interior temperature of the storage compartment, in which Kimchi is stored, is continuously detected by a temperature sensor (not shown) mounted in the refrigerator while the keeping mode is performed) (Para. [0113]);
a cooling device (e.g., a cooling system, including a compressor 500, to cool the Kimchi storage compartments 210 and 310. The Kimchi refrigerator 100 further comprises a control panel (not shown) mounted at the front part thereof, as shown in FIG. 1.) (Para. [0077]);
and a processor configured to: based on a user command to change a temperature of the storage compartment set to a first temperature, to a second temperature, being input, control the cooling device such that the temperature of the storage compartment is changed to the second temperature based on the temperature of the storage compartment sensed by the temperature sensor (e.g., More preferably, the Kimchi refrigerator may have an input unit, such as an input button, to allow a user to select a point of time when the mode is changed from the first keeping mode to the second keeping mode. Even in the first keeping mode, the Kimchi is gradually fermented. At this time, when the Kimchi is fermented to the degree that the taste of the Kimchi is suitable to the user's taste, the user may press the input button. As a result, the control unit controls the cooling system to change the mode from the first keeping mode to the second keeping mode. Also, the control unit controls the cooling system to perform the cold shock operation at the predetermined time intervals in the second keeping mode) (Para. [0046]),
and based on a certain period of time elapsing after a point in time when the user command is input, control the cooling device such that the temperature of the storage compartment returns to the first temperature based on the temperature of the storage compartment sensed by the temperature sensor (e.g., In the cold shock operation, it is possible to perform a control operation such that the interior temperature of the storage compartment is increased and returned to the predetermined interior temperature of the storage compartment as soon as the interior temperature of the storage compartment reaches the cold shock temperature. Alternatively, when the interior temperature of the storage compartment reaches the cold shock temperature, the storage compartment may be maintained at the cold shock temperature for a predetermined period of time, and then the interior temperature of the storage compartment may be increased and returned to the predetermined interior temperature of the storage compartment) (Para. [0058]).
None of the prior art alone or in obvious condition disclose “and identify a weight of an object for storage in the storage compartment at a predetermined time interval after the user command is input, and based on the identified weight of the object for storage being less than or equal to a preset weight, provide a notification to request input of a user command to return the temperature of the storage compartment to the first temperature.”
Claim 17 is allowed due to is dependency over the claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang (Pub: 2019/0277559).
8. Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses:
A refrigerator comprising: a refrigerating compartment; a freezing compartment (e.g., The refrigerator 100 comprises a refrigerating compartment 10 and a freezing compartment 20.) (Para. [0031], Fig. 1);
a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature of the refrigerating compartment (e.g., In the present embodiment, the refrigerator 100 further comprises a freezing temperature sensor 21 located in the freezing compartment 20 and a refrigerating temperature sensor (not shown) located in the refrigerating compartment 10. The freezing temperature sensor 21 and the refrigerating temperature sensor both connected to the control system) (Para. [0042]);
a cooling device (e.g., The control system controls the working of the refrigerating system, the first air door 31, and the second air door 41 according to the freezing temperature sensor 21 and the refrigerating temperature sensor, so as to implement the switching of the refrigerator 100 among the first working mode, the second working mode, and the third working mode) (Para. [0043]);
and a processor configured to: control the cooling device such that a temperature of the refrigerating compartment is maintained at a first temperature which is a refrigerating temperature, and a temperature of the freezing compartment is maintained at a second temperature which is a freezing temperature (e.g., As shown in FIG. 5, when the refrigerator 100 is in the first working mode, the freezing compartment 20 is preset to be at a first temperature T1, the refrigerating compartment 10 is preset to be at a second temperature T2, and the control system controls the second air door 41 to be shut down. Meanwhile, the control system controls the first air door 31 to be opened to a first preset opening degree according to the first temperature T1 and the second temperature T2. The first temperature T1 is in a freezing temperature range. The second temperature T2 is in a refrigerating temperature range.
Specifically, the user sets the required first temperature T1 and second temperature T2 at a display screen, a rotary knob or the like of the control system. Or the user firstly sets the refrigerator 100 to be in the first working mode and then performs temperature setting) (Para. [0052]-[0053], Fig. 5),
based on a user command to change a temperature of the refrigerating compartment being maintained at the first temperature, to the second temperature, being input (e.g., As shown in FIG. 7, when the refrigerator 100 is in the third working mode, the freezing compartment 20 is preset to be at a fifth temperature T5, the refrigerating compartment 10 is preset to be at a sixth temperature T6, and the control system controls both the first air door 31 and the second air door 41 to be fully opened. The fifth temperature T5 and the sixth temperature T6 are both in the freezing temperature range) (Para. [0062], also refer to Para. [0063]), control the cooling device such that the temperature of the refrigerating compartment is changed to the second temperature based on the temperature of the refrigerating compartment sensed by the temperature sensor (e.g., and switching the refrigerating compartment 10 to the freezing compartment 20 when the working mode is a third working mode) (Para. [0066], also refer to Para. [0071]),
and based on a certain period of time elapsing after a point in time when the user command is input, control the cooling device such that the temperature of the refrigerating compartment returns to the first temperature based on the temperature of the refrigerating compartment sensed by the temperature sensor (e.g., Here, the cold entering the refrigerating compartment 10 and the freezing compartment 20 is adjusted by the two air ducts (the first air duct 30 and the second air duct 40) and the two air doors (the first air door 31 and the second air door 41), to change the temperatures of the refrigerating compartment 10 and the freezing compartment 20, thereby achieving free switching of refrigerating/freezing, and solving the problem that the temperature change range of the refrigerator 100 is narrow. That is to say, the user can switch the compartments (the refrigerating compartment 10 and the freezing compartment 20) autonomously when in need. Greater convenience and flexibility are realized. The storage needs of the user for a large number of specific articles when the season changes or is at a certain time period, such as the need for storing frozen fresh food during holidays, and the need for storing large amounts of refrigerated water and fruits during the dry season in tropical areas, are met. More choices and more flexible use experience are given to the user) ( Based on the need user can switch the refrigerating/freezing compartment for period of time and return to the original setting temperature or working mode) (Para. [0040]-[0041], also refer to Para. [0067]).
9. Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses:
The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: based on a user command to return the temperature of the refrigerating compartment to the first temperature being input before the certain period of time elapses, control the cooling device such that the temperature of the refrigerating compartment returns to the first temperature based on the temperature of the refrigerating compartment sensed by the temperature sensor (e.g., Here, the cold entering the refrigerating compartment 10 and the freezing compartment 20 is adjusted by the two air ducts (the first air duct 30 and the second air duct 40) and the two air doors (the first air door 31 and the second air door 41), to change the temperatures of the refrigerating compartment 10 and the freezing compartment 20, thereby achieving free switching of refrigerating/freezing, and solving the problem that the temperature change range of the refrigerator 100 is narrow. That is to say, the user can switch the compartments (the refrigerating compartment 10 and the freezing compartment 20) autonomously when in need. Greater convenience and flexibility are realized. The storage needs of the user for a large number of specific articles when the season changes or is at a certain time period, such as the need for storing frozen fresh food during holidays, and the need for storing large amounts of refrigerated water and fruits during the dry season in tropical areas, are met. More choices and more flexible use experience are given to the user) (Based on the need user can switch the refrigerating/freezing compartment freely after certain period of time or before that) (Para. [0040]-[0041], also refer to Para. [0067]).
10. Regarding claim 11, Claim 11 recites a method that implement the refrigerator of claim 1, with substantially the same limitations, respectively. Therefore the rejection applied to claim 1, also applies to claim 11 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
12. Claim 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Kim (Pub: 2019/0264975).
13. Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the refrigerator of claim 1 but does not specifically teach wherein the processor is configured to, before the certain period of time elapses, provide a notification that indicates that the temperature of the refrigerating compartment is to return to the first temperature at a predetermined time interval.
Kim teaches wherein the processor is configured to, before the certain period of time elapses, provide a notification that indicates that the temperature of the refrigerating compartment is to return to the first temperature at a predetermined time interval (e.g., Referring to FIG. 3, the portable device 301 may transmit a cycle set by the user to the server 300, as shown in 1101. The server 300 may determine whether to transmit a notification message notifying the load responsive operation of the refrigerator to the portable device 301 in real time or at a predetermined interval (morning/afternoon, 1 day/3 days/7 days, etc.) within a relevant period according to this information) (Para. [0126], also refer to Para. [0083]).
Because Kim is also directed to refrigerator and a method for controlling the same., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Wang and Kim before him/her, to modify the teachings of Wang to include the teaching of Kim in order to check a state of the refrigerator in real time or cyclically (Kim: Para. [0096]).
14. Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the refrigerator of claim 2, wherein Wang further comprising: a display, wherein the processor is configured to control the display to display the notification (e.g., Specifically, the user firstly sets the required third temperature T3 and fourth temperature T4 at a display screen, a rotary knob or the like of the control system) (Para. [0059]).
15. Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wang and Kim teaches the refrigerator of claim 2, wherein Kim further comprising: a communication interface (e.g., Also, the refrigerator 100 may further include a communication unit 230 for communicating with an external device (a server disposed outside or a portable device). An embodiment of the external device may be a server (not shown in the drawings) that provides information or logic, programs, and the like required for the temperature context awareness unit 210 of the refrigerator 100 to operate, for example. Another embodiment of the external device may include a server that is disposed outside to provide information, logic, and programs required for the temperature context awareness unit 210 to a plurality of refrigerators or to share a database. Further, the portable device may include a smart phone, a tablet PC, and the like. The portable device may be a device capable of providing information or logic, programs, or the above-described database required for the temperature context awareness unit 210 of the refrigerator 100 to operate, or monitoring an operation condition of the refrigerator 100 (not shown in the drawing)) (Para. [0042], Fig. 2), wherein the processor is configured to transmit, through the communication interface, the notification to a server that communicates with an electronic apparatus such that the notification is displayed on the electronic apparatus (e.g., According to a request of the portable device at step S340, or according to a predetermined notification cycle, the server 300 may transmit information on the load responsive operation (history or current state, etc.) to the portable device 301 at step S350. The history of the load responsive operation may be information extracted from the above-described load responsive operation flags, such as time at which the load responsive operation is performed, an actual temperature in the storage space where the load responsive operation was performed, or a target temperature applied when the load responsive operation is performed, the number of times the load responsive operations has been performed, and the like. A method in which the portable device 301 displays information will be described later.) (Para. [0063])
Because Kim is also directed to refrigerator and a method for controlling the same., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Wang and Kim before him/her, to modify the teachings of Wang to include the teaching of Kim in order to check a state of the refrigerator in real time or cyclically (Kim: Para. [0096]).
16. Regarding claim 12-14, Claim 12-14 recites a method that implement the refrigerator of claim 2-4, with substantially the same limitations, respectively. Therefore the rejection applied to claim 2-4, also applies to claim 12-14 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIGNESHKUMAR C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116