DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 13 are examined.
Claims 3 and 7-12 are withdrawn.
Claim 13 is newly added.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to claim 1 overcome the previous claim objections; therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
The amendment to claim 1 does not overcome the previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections; therefore, the rejections are sustained. See response to arguments section below.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 3 – “the seam” should read “the first seam” to recite to “first seam” in claim 1, line 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakonjiyou (JP 2005153680 A, an English machine translation was previously provided in this Office Action) in view of Hamm (US 4331723 A).
Regarding claim 1, Sakonjiyou discloses a method for manufacturing an aircraft window frame (¶ [0024] – dry preform 1 for an FRP window frame, ¶ [0025] - composed of reinforcing fiber group assembly 9), said frame comprising a first surface (¶ [0026] – member 7) that has first (¶ [0026] – elliptical cylindrical portion 7a of 7) and second faces (¶ [0026] – flange portion 7b of 7), extending about an entire perimeter of the aircraft window frame (form the inner perimeter of 2 comprising 7a and 4 comprising 7b as depicted in FIG. 1A-1B), said first and second faces being joined by a curved joining zone (¶ [0026] – member 8, FIG. 2 depicts the zone between 7a and 7b and around element 8), said frame being made of a composite material comprising fibers (¶ [0018] – reinforcing fiber group assembly) embedded in a resin matrix (¶ [0018] – joined together with a thermoplastic resin), the manufacturing method comprising:
Sakonjiyou FIG. 2A
a step of assembling into an assembly (¶ [0034] – 7 is constructed by stacking), a reinforcement (¶ [0026] – member 8) and a stack (¶ [0025] - composed of reinforcing fiber group assembly 9) comprising a first layer (¶ [0034-0036] – first to eighth thermoplastic fiber layers 7A1 to 7A8, of 7a and 7b of third member 7) positioned on the first surface 7 and internal fiber layers (¶ [0026] – inner peripheral portion 5b; FIG. 2A-2B depicts 7b of 7 positioned on 5b of 5), into a mold (¶ [0007] – deform and conform along a mold; FIG. 2A-2B depict the members are deformed and conform; ¶ [0019] – resin transfer molding RTM method),
a step of consolidating or polymerizing the assembly (¶ [0039] – the first member 5 to fourth member 8 are combined and the whole is heated to a temperature, the thermoplastic fibers melt and the reinforcing fiber group assembly is bonded and integrated), and
a step of demolding the aircraft window frame (¶ [0019] – resin transfer molding RTM method, an RTM method would have a step of demolding the final product), the reinforcement having first and second peripheral edges (FIG. 2B depicts first and second peripheral edges), being interposed between the first layer (¶ [0034-0036] – first to eighth thermoplastic fiber layers 7A1 to 7A8, of 7a and 7b of third member 7) on one side and the internal fiber layers (¶ [0026] – inner peripheral portion 5b) on the other side, and being positioned in the joining zone 8, the first layer and the internal fiber layers extending on both sides of the reinforcement and being stacked on both sides of the reinforcement (FIG. 2A depicts 7b of 7 stacked on 5b of 5),
Sakonjiyou FIG. 2B
wherein during the step of assembling, at least a first seam is made to join at least the reinforcement and sat least one of the internal fiber layers (¶ [0041] – first member 5 to fourth member 8 integrated with a minimum number of stitches),
Sakonjiyou discloses first member 5 to the fourth member 8 may be integrated with a minimum number of stitches before heating (¶ [0041]).
Sakonjiyou does not disclose the first seam comprising stitches offset, in a direction perpendicular to the first surface, in relation to the first surface at least in the first face and in the joining zone so that the stitches do not reach the first surface and are not visible from the first surface.
Analogous art Hamm disclose a wedge shaped composite insert has a laminate along each of the three sides 18, 20, and 22, a reinforced core 24 between the laminates (c. 1, L 18-24, 54-55).
Hamm further discloses the first seam (c. 1, L 18-24 – high strength stitching joining the laminates together adjacent the core 24) comprising stitches offset (FIG. 2 depicts stitches offset), in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (FIG. 2 depicts a direction with the offset in a direction perpendicular to laminate 20), in relation to the first surface at least in the first face and in the joining zone so that the stitches do not reach the first surface and are not visible from the first surface (c. 1, L 61-67 – laminates 18 and 20 are stitched together at 26; c. 2, L 29-38 – insert is stitched at 26, 28, and 30, as depicted in FIG. 2, the stitches do not reach the first surface and are not visible from the first surface).
Hamm FIG. 2
Sakonjiyou and Hamm disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to forming composite structures with a reinforced plastic insert, laminate of fibers, and stitching. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the stitching to join laminates together at a joining zone and not visible in Hamm to the stitching in Sakonjiyou to make up the structural joint (c. 1, L 67 - c. 2, L 2) and to make up the unified insert for the joint (claim 1) and achieve desirable high strength, lightweight structures (c. 1, L 5-15).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sakonjiyou discloses the method for manufacturing an aircraft window frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the stitches of the first seam do not traverse any fiber layers between the reinforcement and the first surface (Hamm FIG. 2 depicts zone of the laminate pair 18, 20 and 20, 12 where stitches do not traverse), at least in the first face (Hamm c. 1, L 54-55 - laminate 20).
Hamm FIG. 2
Regarding claim 13, modified Sakonjiyou discloses the method for manufacturing an aircraft window frame as claimed in claim 1, wherein the reinforcement (Sakonjiyou fourth member 8) is located between the at least one of the internal fiber layers (Sakonjiyou first member 5) in the curved joining zone and the first layer (Sakonjiyou third member 7, FIG. 2A depicts 8 between 5b of 5 and 7b of 7), and the seam traverses the reinforcement (Sakonjiyou ¶ [0041] – first member 5 to fourth member 8 integrated with a minimum number of stitches; therefore the stitches traverses 5, 7 and 8).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakonjiyou (JP 2005153680 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action) in view of Hamm (US 4331723 A) and Lackman (US 4256790).
Regarding claim 4, modified Sakonjiyou discloses the method for manufacturing an aircraft window frame as claimed in claim 1. Sakonjiyou does not disclose wherein during the assembly step, at least a second seam is made, offset from the joining zone and from the first face, the second seam comprising through-stitches visible from the first surface.
Analogous art Lackman discloses a composite structure having two composite panels which are bonded together at a joint and composite thread sewn in a series of stitches through the panels reinforces the joint (c. 2, L 48-56). The function of stitching 32, 33, 34, 35, and 36 in joining the assembly and the numerous panels are fastened together with composite thread to allow for layup and co-curing of the composite structure (c. 4, L 50-66).
Lackman further discloses wherein during the assembly step, at least a second seam is made (c. 4, L 50-53 – stitching 35 in joining the assembly), offset from the joining zone and from the first face (FIG. 7-8 depicts stitching offset from a joining zone 32), the second seam comprising through-stitches visible from the first surface (c. 2, L 55-62 – sewing a series of stitches of composite thread through the panels; FIG. 6 depict a second seam of stitches 35 comprises through-stiches visible from the first surface).
Sakonjiyou and Lackman disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to forming composite structures with a laminate of fibers and stitching. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the second seam of stitches through the panels in Lackman to the stitching in modified Sakonjiyou to reinforce the joint (c. 2, L 47-54) and by positioning the stitches of composite thread strategically, the strength of the structure is increased (c. 2, L 33-35).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakonjiyou (JP 2005153680 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action) in view of Hamm (US 4331723 A) and Fang (CN105366073B).
Regarding claim 5, modified Sakonjiyou discloses the method for manufacturing an aircraft window frame as claimed in claim 1.
Sakonjiyou does not disclose wherein a barrier layer is positioned between the reinforcement and the first surface to cover the reinforcement and to form a barrier limiting a spread of resin toward the first surface.
Analogous art Fang discloses a manufacturing method of fiber-reinforced prefabricated window frames (Title). Sub-prefabricated body layer: fiber bundles are sewn together on the substrate using yarn to form a first direction layup of the sub-prefabricated body (¶ [0014]). The resulting sub-prefabricated body is placed on the mold, and the L-shaped corner area is sutured with yarn to shape the sub-prefabricated body and form the shape of the window frame (¶ [0015]). The manufacturing method of the fiber-laid window frame is combined with resin injection process (¶ [0023]).
Fang further discloses wherein a barrier layer (¶ [0015] – one or more sub-prefabricated bodies on a pre-shaped sub-prefabricated body) is positioned between the reinforcement (¶ [0015] – reinforcement of sub-prefabricated bodies) and the first surface (¶ [0015] – L-shaped corner area) to cover the reinforcement and to form a barrier limiting a spread of resin toward the first surface (interpreted as intended use of the barrier layer, the sub-body would be capable of at least “limiting spread of resin toward the first surface).
Sakonjiyou and Fang disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to forming composite structures of an aircraft window frame with a laminate of fibers and stitching. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the use of more than one sub-prefabricated bodies in Fang to the member in modified Sakonjiyou to ensure mechanical strength, maintain its shape, and resulting in a highly accurate window frame surface (¶ [0050]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakonjiyou (JP 2005153680 A, an English machine translation is provided in this Office Action) in view of Hamm (US 4331723 A) and Jackson (US 2008/0169380 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Sakonjiyou discloses the method for manufacturing an aircraft window frame as claimed in claim 1, Sakonjiyou discloses the prepregs are pre-impregnated with resin and semi-cured to an appropriate degree (¶ [0003, 0005]). Therefore, as the prepregs are semi-cured, they were previously heated. As the prepregs are pre-impregnated and semi-cured, they are “activated a tack of the resin in order to keep the fiber layers bonded together” before the consolidation or polymerization step (¶ [0039]).
Sakonjiyou does not explicitly disclose wherein the method comprises a step of sprinkling a resin between the fiber layers and heating to a temperature below a polymerization or consolidation temperature.
Analogous art Jackson discloses a window frame formed of numerous layers of fibrous materials (¶ [0073]). The window frame may also under post curing at elevated temperature (¶ [0127]).
Jackson further disclose wherein the method comprises a step of sprinkling a resin between the fiber layers (¶ [0074] – fibers in resin matrices) and heating (¶ [0120] – heat staging) to a temperature below a polymerization or consolidation temperature (¶ [0120] – elevated temperature affects the viscosity of the resin, continued heating the staged layers become stiffer due to partial curing; ¶ [0124] – temperatures for staging are determined for specific material compositions and resins desired).
Sakonjiyou and Jackson disclose methods with the same or similar components performing the same or similar function in regards to forming composite structures of an aircraft window frame with a laminate of fibers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the partial curing at staged temperatures in Jackson to the prepregs are pre-impregnated with resin and semi-cured to an appropriate degree in modified Sakonjiyou so that during the subsequent press molding thereof the press char stack of layers will more readily conform with the desired 3D configuration of the window frame (¶ [0120]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues claim 1 is not disclosed in Sakonjiyou in view of Hamm as Hamm’s core 24 is not joined to an internal fiber layer because it is not traverses by stitches.
Examiner respectively disagrees. The claim does not recite “the first seam traverses the reinforcement”. Sakonjiyou disclose first member 5 to fourth member 8 integrated with a minimum number of stitches (¶ [0041]) and Hamm recites core 24 located between the layers of laminate and adjacent the core, laminates 18 and 20 are stitched together at 26 (c. 1, L 59-62), which means the first member/laminate and fourth member/core are joined by the stitches and meets the limitation “at least a first seam is made to join at least the reinforcement and at least one of the internal fiber layers”.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues newly added claim 13 is not disclosed in the prior art.
The argument is addressed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 13 over Sakonjiyou in view of Hamm.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection (new claim 13) presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN B WOO/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754