Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: compositing unit, acquisition unit, attribute information addition unit, storage unit, and distance information generation unit in claims 1 and 15.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shigeta (US 20200213502 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shigeta teaches
A photoelectric conversion device comprising: (The present invention relates to an imaging device, an imaging system, a mobile apparatus, and a control method of the imaging device. (paragraph 0001))
a plurality of photoelectric conversion elements; (a plurality of photoelectric conversion units D1 within the pixel array 110. (paragraph 0032))
an acquisition unit configured to acquire a micro-frame constituted by a one-bit signal based on incident light to each of the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements; (the first image data of short-time exposure acquired by the short-time exposure image acquisition unit 201. The imaging element 100 outputs a digital signal of 12 bits (4096 gradations) in the same manner as the case of long-time exposure. At this time, in the first image data, a noise component N12 corresponding to 1 bit is included in the signal component S12 as illustrated in FIG. 6B. (paragraph 0070))
a compositing unit configured to composite a plurality of the micro-frames to generate a sub-frame constituted by a multi-bit signal; (the image composition unit 206. In the first comparative example, since no gradation compression is performed in the gradation compression unit 204, the second image data of long-time exposure is directly composed with the first image data of short-time exposure on which the bit shift by 4 bits has been performed. The first image data of short-time exposure is used for the signal component S14 within the range that is greater than or equal to 4095 gradations in the composed output signal (paragraph 0071))
and an attribute information addition unit configured to add, to the sub-frame, attribute information corresponding to an acquisition condition of the sub-frame, wherein acquisition conditions of at least two sub-frames among a plurality of sub-frames used for one ranging frame are different from each other. (The multiple-exposure control unit 203 generates a multiple-exposure control signal in accordance with a state of the surrounding environmental light in response to environmental light information from the environmental light detection unit 205. The multiple-exposure control unit 203 transmits a multiple-exposure control signal to the imaging element 100 and the degradation compression unit 204. The multiple-exposure control signal transmitted to the imaging element 100 is used for controlling an on/off-state of a multiple-exposure operation, the number of times of multiple-exposure, the interval in multiple exposure, or the like. The multiple-exposure control signal transmitted to the gradation compression unit 204 is used for controlling an on/off-state of gradation compression, a range of the number of gradations to be compressed, a bit shift amount at the time of compression, or the like. (paragraph 0039 and Fig.1))
Regarding claim 15, Shigeta teaches
A signal processing device comprising: (The present invention relates to an imaging device, an imaging system, a mobile apparatus, and a control method of the imaging device. (paragraph 0001))
a storage unit configured to store a sub-frame constituted by a multi-bit signal and generated by compositing a plurality of micro-frames constituted by a one-bit signal based on incident light to a photoelectric conversion element; (The imaging system 500 further has a buffer memory unit 510 for temporarily storing image data therein and an external interface unit (external I/F unit) 512 for communicating with an external computer or the like. The imaging system 500 further has a storage medium 514 such as a semiconductor memory for performing storage or readout of imaging data and a storage medium control interface unit (storage medium control I/F unit) 516 for performing storage or readout on the storage medium 514. Note that the storage medium 514 may be embedded in the imaging system 500 or may be removable. (paragraph 0105))
a distance information generation unit configured to generate distance information based on the sub-frame, wherein attribute information corresponding to an acquisition condition of the sub-frame is added to the sub-frame, and wherein acquisition conditions of at least two sub-frames among a plurality of sub-frames used for one ranging frame are different from each other. (Here, the parallax calculation unit 614 and the distance measurement unit 616 are an example of a distance information acquisition unit that acquires distance information on the distance to the object. That is, the distance information is information on a parallax, a defocus amount, a distance to an object, or the like. (paragraph 0109))
Regarding claim 16, Shigeta teaches
The signal processing device according to claim 15, wherein the storage unit secures a memory area for storing the sub-frame based on the attribute information. (The imaging system 500 further has a buffer memory unit 510 for temporarily storing image data therein and an external interface unit (external I/F unit) 512 for communicating with an external computer or the like. The imaging system 500 further has a storage medium 514 such as a semiconductor memory for performing storage or readout of imaging data and a storage medium control interface unit (storage medium control I/F unit) 516 for performing storage or readout on the storage medium 514. Note that the storage medium 514 may be embedded in the imaging system 500 or may be removable. (paragraph 0105))
Regarding claim 17, Shigeta teaches
The signal processing device according to claim 16, wherein the attribute information includes information indicating a bit depth. (As one example of a high dynamic range composition process, a process for composing image data of a short exposure time period and image data of a long exposure time period will be described. Here, the number of gradations of the two image data is 4096 (12 bits), and the number of gradations of composed image data is a value corresponding to 65536 (16 bits). (paragraph 0061))
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 7-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta (us 20200213502 A1) in view of Sugiyama (US 20220113410 A1).
Regarding claim 2 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach wherein the acquisition condition includes a compositing condition of the plurality of micro-frames used for generating the sub-frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the acquisition condition includes a compositing condition of the plurality of micro-frames used for generating the sub-frame. ((In a case where the A frame is divided into n subframes, the B frame is also divided into n subframes. That is, the number of subframes in the A frame and the number of subframes in the B frame are the same. The number n of subframes in the A frame (B frame) is 2 or more. (paragraph 0089) The period of one subframe is defined as a period Tm. The period Tm is an integral multiple of the irradiation time Tp of the irradiation light. The minimum of the period Tm can be the irradiation time Tp. Further, the maximum of the period Tm can be a half of the exposure period of the A frame. That is, the period Tm can be set as Tm=period Tp at a minimum, and can be set as period Tm=(exposure period of A frame)/2 at a maximum. In a case where the number of subframes is variable, the number is set within the range in which these conditions regarding the period Tm are satisfied. (paragraph 0091))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 3 Shigeta fails to teach wherein the attribute information includes information indicating the number of the plurality of micro-frames composited when one sub-frame is generated.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the attribute information includes information indicating the number of the plurality of micro-frames composited when one sub-frame is generated. (In a case where the A frame is divided into n subframes, the B frame is also divided into n subframes. That is, the number of subframes in the A frame and the number of subframes in the B frame are the same. The number n of subframes in the A frame (B frame) is 2 or more. (paragraph 0089))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 7 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach wherein the acquisition condition includes a light emission condition of a light source configured to emit the incident light.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the acquisition condition includes a light emission condition of a light source configured to emit the incident light. (Which one of phase 0 and phase 1 is used to start emission is set by the pattern switching section 21 (FIG. 1), and the light emission controller 15 controls the light emitter 14 on the basis of the set pattern so that the emission in the light emission pattern in phase 0 or the light emission in the light emission pattern in phase 1 is controlled. (paragraph 0107))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 8 Shigeta fails to teach wherein the attribute information includes information indicating an emission intensity of the light source.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the attribute information includes information indicating an emission intensity of the light source. (the light emitter 14 and the light emission controller 15. In the light emitting system, the light emission controller 15 causes the light emitter 14 to emit infrared light (IR) in accordance with the control from the signal processor 13. (paragraph 0041))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 9 Shigeta fails to teach wherein the attribute information includes information indicating an emission wavelength of the light source.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the attribute information includes information indicating an emission wavelength of the light source. (An IR band filter may be provided between the lens 11 and the light receiver 12, and the light emitter 14 may emit infrared light corresponding to the transmission wavelength band of the IR bandpass filter. (paragraph 0041))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 12 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements are arranged to form a plurality of rows, and wherein in one sub-frame, data of the attribute information is added between data of an output signal from a photoelectric conversion element of a first row among the plurality of rows and data of an output signal from a photoelectric conversion element of a second row next to the first row.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements are arranged to form a plurality of rows, and wherein in one sub-frame, data of the attribute information is added between data of an output signal from a photoelectric conversion element of a first row among the plurality of rows and data of an output signal from a photoelectric conversion element of a second row next to the first row. (The vertical driver 42 is a pixel driver that includes a shift register, an address decoder, and the like, and that drives all pixels in the pixel array section 41 simultaneously or drives the pixels in the pixel array section 41 on, for example, a row-by-row basis. Pixel signals output from the unit pixels in the pixel row selectively scanned by the vertical driver 42 are supplied to the column processor 43 through the corresponding vertical signal lines 47. The column processor 43 performs, for each pixel column of the pixel array section 41, a predetermined signal process on pixel signals output from the unit pixels in the selected row through the vertical signal lines 47, and temporarily stores the pixel signals which have been subjected to the predetermined signal process. (paragraph 0049))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Claims 4-5, 10-11, 13-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta (US 20200213502 A1) in view of Mahara (US 20220057520 A1).
Regarding claim 4 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach wherein the acquisition condition includes a light receiving condition of the incident light in generation of each of the plurality of micro-frames.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahara teaches wherein the acquisition condition includes a light receiving condition of the incident light in generation of each of the plurality of micro-frames. (although five types of the distance measurement conditions have been illustrated in the present example, the distance measurement conditions are not limited thereto. (paragraph 0052))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Mahara into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Mahara would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 5 Shigeta fails to teach wherein the attribute information includes information indicating a time from emission of the incident light to reception of the incident light in acquisition of the plurality of micro-frames used for generating the sub-frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahara teaches wherein the attribute information includes information indicating a time from emission of the incident light to reception of the incident light in acquisition of the plurality of micro-frames used for generating the sub-frame. (The determination section 12 determines whether or not to change the distance measurement conditions on the basis of external disturbance light or the calculated distance (paragraph 0029))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Mahara into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Mahara would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 10 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach wherein in one sub-frame, data of the attribute information is added before data of output signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahara teaches wherein in one sub-frame, data of the attribute information is added before data of output signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements. (the SPAD group in the predetermined readout line is enabled according to the distance measurement conditions indicated by the predetermined register of the register section 16 during distance measurement (paragraph 0046))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Mahara into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Mahara would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 11 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach wherein in one sub-frame, data of the attribute information is added after data of output signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahara teaches wherein in one sub-frame, data of the attribute information is added after data of output signals from the plurality of photoelectric conversion elements. (The control section can change the predetermined distance measurement conditions while the current captured image frame is formed. (paragraph 0010))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Mahara into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Mahara would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 13 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach and a distance information generation unit configured to generate distance information based on the sub-frame output from the photoelectric conversion device and the attribute information added to the sub-frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahara teaches and a distance information generation unit configured to generate distance information based on the sub-frame output from the photoelectric conversion device and the attribute information added to the sub-frame. (the distance measurement process section 50 detects the peak value in the created histogram and calculates the distance from the time corresponding to the peak value in question (S707). (paragraph 0058))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Mahara into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Mahara would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 14 Shigeta teaches A movable body comprising: the ranging device according to claim 13; (The present invention relates to an imaging device, an imaging system, a mobile apparatus, and a control method of the imaging device. (paragraph 0001)). However, Shigeta does not teach and a movable body control unit configured to control the movable body based on the distance information acquired by the ranging device.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahara teaches and a movable body control unit configured to control the movable body based on the distance information acquired by the ranging device. (Although the example of control for avoiding a collision to another vehicle has been described above, the embodiment is applicable to automatic driving control for following another vehicle, automatic driving control for not going out of a traffic lane, or the like. Furthermore, the imaging system is not limited to a vehicle such as the subject vehicle and can be applied to a mobile apparatus (moving apparatus) such as a ship, an airplane, or an industrial robot, for example. (paragraph 0112))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Mahara into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Mahara would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 19 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as previously stated, however Shigeta does not teach wherein the distance information generation unit generates the distance information further based on the attribute information.
In the same field of endeavor, Mahara teaches wherein the distance information generation unit generates the distance information further based on the attribute information. (In other words, each of the light emission timing adjustment section 30, the light-receiving section 40, and the distance measurement process section 50 is configured in such a manner as to operate according to the distance measurement conditions retained in the specific register specified by the register number. (paragraph 0031))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Mahara into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Mahara would improve data accuracy.
Claims 6 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta (US 20200213502 A1) in view of Mahara (US 20220057520 A1) in further view of Sugiyama (US 20220113410 A1).
Regarding claim 6 modified Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 4 as previously stated, however modified Shigeta fails to teach wherein the attribute information includes information indicating a length of a light receiving period of the incident light in acquisition of the plurality of micro-frames used for generating the sub-frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the attribute information includes information indicating a length of a light receiving period of the incident light in acquisition of the plurality of micro-frames used for generating the sub-frame. (In a case where the A frame is divided into n subframes, the B frame is also divided into n subframes. That is, the number of subframes in the A frame and the number of subframes in the B frame are the same. The number n of subframes in the A frame (B frame) is 2 or more. (paragraph 0089))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of modified Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of modified Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 20 modified Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 19 as previously stated, however modified Shigeta fails to teach wherein the attribute information includes information indicating a correspondence relationship between the sub-frame and a distance.
In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the attribute information includes information indicating a correspondence relationship between the sub-frame and a distance. (In a case where the A frame is divided into n subframes, the B frame is also divided into n subframes. That is, the number of subframes in the A frame and the number of subframes in the B frame are the same. The number n of subframes in the A frame (B frame) is 2 or more. (paragraph 0089))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of modified Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of modified Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 21 modified Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 19 as previously stated, modified Shigeta fails to teach wherein the distance information generation unit calculates a correction amount based on the light emission intensity and corrects the sub-frame.In the same field of endeavor, Sugiyama teaches wherein the distance information generation unit calculates a correction amount based on the light emission intensity and corrects the sub-frame. (the light emitter 14 and the light emission controller 15. In the light emitting system, the light emission controller 15 causes the light emitter 14 to emit infrared light (IR) in accordance with the control from the signal processor 13. (paragraph 0041))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Sugiyama into the invention of modified Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of modified Shigeta and Sugiyama would improve data accuracy.
Regarding claim 22 modified Shigeta further teaches wherein the distance information generation unit calculates a correction amount based on the light emission intensity and corrects the sub-frame. (The signal processing unit 508 performs an operation of signal processing for performing various correction or compression on an input signal, if necessary, and outputting the signal. (paragraph 0104))
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shigeta (US 20200213502 A1) in view of Hicks (US 20200296310 A1).
Regarding claim 18 Shigeta teaches all of the elements of claim 17 as previously stated as previously stated, however Shigeta fails to teach wherein the multi-bit signal constituting the sub-frame is normalized based on the bit depth.
In the same field of endeavor, Hicks teaches wherein the multi-bit signal constituting the sub-frame is normalized based on the bit depth. (The number of normalized observations will be directly related to the number of pixels in the image and the bit depth of each pixel. (paragraph 0036))
It would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features disclosed in Hicks into the invention of Shigeta. Both references are considered analogous arts to the claimed invention as they both disclose image capturing devices for distance measurement. The combination of Shigeta and Hicks would improve storage efficiency.
Conclusion
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648