DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN110250951A) in view of Dollner et al. (EP2764806A1) (with paragraph numbers referencing machine) and Frielinghaus (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0254481).
Regarding claim 1, Wang et al. discloses a method of instituting a quiet blending mode ([0042]), the method comprising:
capturing, via at least one sensor, one or more sound and/or vibration inputs from a blender ([0012]; [0057]; [0060]; [0062]);
comparing the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs to a threshold parameter ([0017]; [0081]; [0083]; [0084]); and
transmitting a command to a blender motor to reduce power when the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs exceed the threshold parameter ([0013]; [0017]; [0019]-[0020]; [0033]; [0042]; [0064];[0069]; [0083]).
However, Wang et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the threshold parameter is at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe, or a user-inputted threshold parameter.
Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus both teach food/beverage preparing machines (title) wherein the threshold parameter is at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe (Dollner et al. [0018]; [0049]-[0053]; [0100]-[0102]; Frielinghaus [0016]), or a user-inputted threshold parameter (Frielinghaus [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the threshold parameter of Wang et al. to be at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe, as taught by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that all references teach food/beverage preparing machines. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do the foregoing because allowing the user to set a threshold parameter or basing the threshold parameter on a specific step of a blending process or recipe takes into account the specific food resulting in a particularly precise termination of the process and because different operations or steps of a process or recipe have different noise levels so different threshold parameters recognize and evaluate a single noise event and make it possible to locate which process could cause the event of a deviation from the normal noise image to provide an alert (Dollner et al. ([0049]-[0062], [0093]-[0102]; Frielinghaus [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses further comprising:
receiving, via an interface, an input to initiate the quiet blending mode ([0062] (receives an input to be powered on, and then starts quiet blending mode of capturing vibration data from sensor, comparing and transmitting ([0063])); and
engaging the quiet blending mode to capture the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs ([0012]; [0060]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the at least one sensor comprises a microphone ([0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the at least one sensor comprises an accelerometer ([0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the capturing, the comparing, and the transmitting are continuously completed to form a feedback loop ([0028]; [0066]; [0068]-[0072]; [0081]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses further comprising transmitting a second command to the blender motor to increase power when the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs are below the threshold parameter ([0069]; [0085]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein transmitting the command to the blender motor is in accordance with a blender program ([0040]; [0041]; [0057]; [0105]; [0106]).
Regarding claim 8, Wang et al. discloses a system for instituting a quiet blending mode ([0042]), the system comprising:
a blender comprising a motor ([0040];
a capture component comprising at least one sensor configured to capture one or more sound and/or vibration inputs from the blender ([0012]; [0057]; [0060]; [0062]); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the motor and the capture component ([0040]-[0042]), the controller configured to:
instruct the at least one sensor to capture the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs from the blender ([0012]; [0057]; [0060]; [0062]),
compare the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs to a threshold parameter ([0017]; [0081]; [0083]; [0084]), and
instruct the motor to reduce power when the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs exceed the threshold parameter ([0013]; [0017]; [0019]-[0020]; [0033]; [0042]; [0064];[0069]; [0083]).
However, Wang et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the threshold parameter is at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe, or a user-inputted threshold parameter.
Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus both teach food/beverage preparing machines (title) wherein the threshold parameter is at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe (Dollner et al. [0018]; [0049]-[0053]; [0100]-[0102]; Frielinghaus [0016]), or a user-inputted threshold parameter (Frielinghaus [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the threshold parameter of Wang et al. to be at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe, as taught by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that all references teach food/beverage preparing machines. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do the foregoing because allowing the user to set a threshold parameter or basing the threshold parameter on a specific step of a blending process or recipe takes into account the specific food resulting in a particularly precise termination of the process and because different operations or steps of a process or recipe have different noise levels so different threshold parameters recognize and evaluate a single noise event and make it possible to locate which process could cause the event of a deviation from the normal noise image to provide an alert (Dollner et al. ([0049]-[0062], [0093]-[0102]; Frielinghaus [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses further comprising an interface communicatively coupled to the controller ([0062] (receives an input to be powered on)).
Regarding claim 10, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the interface is a user device interface ([0062] (receives an input by user to be powered on)).
Regarding claim 11, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the interface is a user interface of the blender ([0062] (the food processor receives an input to be powered on)).
Regarding claim 12, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive, via the interface, an input to initiate the quiet blending mode ([0062] (receives an input to be powered on, and then starts quiet blending mode of capturing vibration data from sensor, comparing and transmitting ([0063])); and
engage the quiet blending mode to capture the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs ([0012]; [0060]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the at least one sensor comprises a microphone ([0057]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the at least one sensor comprises an accelerometer ([0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to complete the capturing, the comparing, and the transmitting continuously to form a feedback loop ([0028]; [0066]; [0068]-[0072]; [0081]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to transmit a second command to the motor to increase power when the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs are below the threshold parameter ([0069]; [0085]-[0087]).
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the controller is configured to instruct the motor is in accordance with a blender program ([0040]; [0041]; [0057]; [0105]; [0106]).
Regarding claim 18, Wang et al. discloses a blender ([0040]), comprising:
a motor ([0040]; and
a controller communicatively coupled to the motor ([0040]-[0042]), the controller configured to:
capture, via at least one sensor, one or more sound and/or vibration inputs from the motor ([0012]; [0057]; [0060]; [0062]),
compare the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs to a threshold parameter ([0017]; [0081]; [0083]; [0084]), and
instruct the motor to reduce power when the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs exceed the threshold parameter ([0013]; [0017]; [0019]-[0020]; [0033]; [0042]; [0064];[0069]; [0083]).
However, Wang et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the threshold parameter is at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe, or a user-inputted threshold parameter.
Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus both teach food/beverage preparing machines (title) wherein the threshold parameter is at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe (Dollner et al. [0018]; [0049]-[0053]; [0100]-[0102]; Frielinghaus [0016]), or a user-inputted threshold parameter (Frielinghaus [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the threshold parameter of Wang et al. to be at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe, as taught by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect such a combination to be suitable given that all references teach food/beverage preparing machines. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do the foregoing because allowing the user to set a threshold parameter or basing the threshold parameter on a specific step of a blending process or recipe takes into account the specific food resulting in a particularly precise termination of the process and because different operations or steps of a process or recipe have different noise levels so different threshold parameters recognize and evaluate a single noise event and make it possible to locate which process could cause the event of a deviation from the normal noise image to provide an alert (Dollner et al. ([0049]-[0062], [0093]-[0102]; Frielinghaus [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses an interface communicatively coupled to the controller ([0062] (receives an input to be powered on)),
wherein the controller is further configured to:
receive, via the interface, an input to initiate the quiet blending mode ([0062] (receives an input to be powered on, and then starts quiet blending mode of capturing vibration data from sensor, comparing and transmitting ([0063])); and
engage the quiet blending mode to capture the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs ([0012]; [0060]-[0062]).
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Wang et al. as modified by Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus further discloses wherein the controller is further configured to transmit a second command to the motor to increase power when the one or more sound and/or vibration inputs are below the threshold parameter ([0069]; [0085]-[0087]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of Dollner et al. and Frielinghaus teaching the limitation of wherein the threshold parameter is at least one of: a varied threshold parameter that is based on a step of a blending process or recipe.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH INSLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774