DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 10-2022-0177803, filed on 12/19/2022.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 5, “a air flow path” should be “an air flow path”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pi CN 111089377 A, May 01, 2020 (hereinafter “Pi”).
Regarding claim 1, Pi discloses a humidifier comprising: an outer shell 1 (fig 1, paragraph 0029) with an intake opening (paragraph 0008); a discharge opening (fig. 1, air outlet 7, paragraph 0027) that opens to the outside of the outer shell 1; an inner case (fig. 2, outer wall of the water tank 6, paragraph 0033) spaced inward from the outer shell 1; a fan 4 (fig. 2) disposed inside the outer case; a humidification assembly (fig. 2, evaporator 4) disposed inside the inner case and positioned downstream from the fan 2 (fig. 2, paragraph 0012), that includes a humidification device internally having a space; a gas flow channel 11 formed between the outer shell 1 and the internal component (paragraph 0033), that extends toward the air outlet 7; and an inlet 5 (fig. 2) that branches off from the air flow path into the internal humidification space (figs. 2 and 3, paragraph 0008).
Regarding claim 2, Pi discloses that part of airflow in the gas flow channel enters the interior of the evaporator 3(fig. 2) and passes through it, while another portion of the airflow bypasses the evaporator 3 and continues upward through the gas flow channel to the air outlet 7 (paragraphs 0012 and 0033).
Regarding claim 3, Pi discloses a portion of the air flow enters the interior of the evaporator 3, thereby forming a humidification path flow, while another portion of the airflow flows along the exterior of the evaporator 3, bypassing the interior of the humidification device and continuing toward the air outlet 7, thereby forming a separate blown air flow path (figs. 2 and 3, paragraphs 0012 and 0033)
Regarding claim 4, Pi discloses the airflow generated by the fan flows through a gas flow channel 11, and a portion of the airflow enters the interior of the evaporator 3 and flows through it to achieve humidification, thereby forming a humidification flow path within the evaporator (paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 5, Pi discloses that a gas flow channel 11 is formed between the outer wall of the water tank 6 and the inner wall of the outer shell 1 (fig. 2, paragraph 0033). Pi further discloses that the evaporator 3 is disposed within the gas flow channel 11, and that gaps are provided between the evaporator and both the outer wall of the water tank and the inner wall of the outer case1, thereby allowing airflow to pass through the gas flow channel 11 (paragraph 0012).
Regarding claim 7, Pi discloses that both the airflow passing through the evaporator 3 and the airflow bypassing the evaporator 3 continue upward through the gas flow channel 11 and are discharged through the same air outlet 7 (figs. 2 and 3, paragraph 0012).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi CN 111089377 A, May 01, 2020 (hereinafter “Pi”) in view of Lee et al. U.S. Pub. No. 20210172456 A1, June 10, 2021 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Pi is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 6, Pi fails to disclose an inner grille disposed between the outer case and the inner case and positioned downstream of the inlet. However, Lee discloses that the filter housing 140 may have a grille formed in a radial shape on the inlet 142 (paragraph 0116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Pi to include an inner grille, in order to permit airflow while providing a protective structure and regulating air entry into the fan assembly.
Regarding claim 9, Pi fails to disclose a guide disposed between the fan and the inlet, that extends toward the inlet. Lee discloses an airflow-guiding diffuser blades disposed downstream of a fan and configured to direct airflow toward downstream airflow regions, including an inlet region (figs. 8-11, paragraph 0143-0146). Each diffuser blade functions as a guide that directs airflow along the desired path. It would have been obvious to provide a guide between the fan and the inlet in Pi, as taught by Lee, in order to direct airflow toward the inlet in a controlled manner, thereby improving air flow distribution and efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, Pi fails to disclose a plurality of guides are provided along the circumference of the inner case in such a way as to protrude from the inner case toward the outer case and be spaced apart from each other. Lee discloses a plurality of diffuser blades arranged circumferentially around an inner housing, with each blade protruding outward from the inner housing toward the outer housing and spaced apart from adjacent blades (figs. 7-10, paragraph 0143-0145). Each blade functions as an airflow guide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the humidifier of Pi to include the plurality of circumferentially spaced guides protruding from the inner case, as taught by Lee, in order to uniformly distribute the guide airflow, which is a common airflow management technique.
Claims 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi CN 111089377 A, May 01, 2020 (hereinafter “Pi”) in view of Lee KR 101588128 B1, January 22, 2016, (hereinafter “Lee”).
Pi is relied upon as above.
Regarding claim 8, Pi fails to disclose that the inlet protrudes from the inner case toward the outer case, and is spaced inward from the outer case. However, Lee discloses a humidifier including an inner case 50 disposed within an outer case 10 (fig. 2), wherein an inlet portion is formed on inner structure and extends outwards from the inner case 50 into the space between the inner and the outer case 10, while remaining spaced from the outer case (figs. 3, 7, and 8, paragraphs 0046-0048, 0066-0067). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the humidifier of Pi to include a protruding inlet formed on the inner case, in order to improve airflow guidance into the humidification device while maintaining separation from the outer case.
Regarding claim 12, Pi discloses a humidification chamber internally having a space but fails to disclose that the inlet extends in a curve from the bottom of the humidification chamber towards the top. Lee discloses a humidifier with a humidification chamber and an air inlet 121 (fig. 2) passage that extends upward in a curved path from a lower portion of the humidification chamber toward an upper portion thereof, thereby guiding air into the internal humidification space (figs. 3, paragraph 0055). The inlet passage is expressly shown as curved and oriented to direct air from the bottom region toward the top of the humidification chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the humidifier of Pi to include a curved inlet extending from the bottom of the humidification chamber toward the top, in order to improve airflow distribution with the humidification chamber.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi CN 111089377 A, May 01, 2020 (hereinafter “Pi”) in view of Park KR101398987 B1, May 27, 2014 (hereinafter “Park”).
Pi is relied upon as above.
Regarding in claim 11, Pi fails to disclose an auxiliary fan disposed at the inlet, that blows air into the humidification device. Park discloses a humidifier including a main fan 127 disposed in a supply duct for delivering air to a humidification region, and a separate auxiliary fan 147 provided in an air supply conduit 145 that supplies air into the humidifier in addition to the main fan (figs. 1-5, paragraph 0016 and 0039). The auxiliary fan 147 is positioned at an air intake path and is configured to actively blow air into the humidification device, thereby assisting airflow supplied to the humidification region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Pi to include an auxiliary fan disposed at the inlet, in order to increase or regulate the amount of air introduced into the humidification device and assist the primary fan.
Claims 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pi CN 111089377 A, May 01, 2020 (hereinafter “Pi”) in view of Yang et al. US 11499729 B2, November 15, 2022 (hereinafter “Yang”).
Pi is relied upon as above.
Regarding Claim 13, Pi discloses a humidification device disposed downstream of a fan and internally having a space into which air is introduced for humidification, an inlet through which air flows into the device (fig. 2, paragraph 0008). However, Pi fails to disclose a mist intake that faces the chamber intake and extends downward toward the internal space of the humidification device. Yang discloses a humidifier including an air inlet 41 through which air admitted into the device and a mist inlet 45 positioned relative to the air entry region, wherein the mist inlet 45 is arranged to face the air-entry portion (fig. 2, air inlet 41) and extend downward toward the internal space where mist is generated (paragraph 0046-0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the humidifier of Pi to include a mist intake 45 arranged to face the inlet portion through which air is admitted into the humidification device, in order to promote effective entrainment of mist into the incoming airflow and improve humidification efficiency.
Regarding claim 14, Pi fails to disclose a humidification flow path through which mist produced by the humidification device flows, nor a mist intake connected to the humidification device and the humidification flow path. Yang discloses a humidifier in which a mist is produced by an atomizer 13 (fig. 2, paragraph 0046) and is conveyed through a mist discharge channel 3 toward an outlet, and further discloses a mist inlet 45 that connects the humidification device to the mist discharge channel 3 (paragraph 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Pi to include a mist intake and humidification flow path for conveying mist produced by the humidification device, in order to deliver generated mist to the discharge opening and improve humidification performance.
Regarding claim 15, Pi fails to disclose that the air admitted to the humidification device through the inlet flows downward along the mist intake. Yang discloses that air admitted through an inlet flows downward toward and along a mist intake positioned above a mist region before entering a mist discharging channel 3(fig. 2, paragraph 0035-0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the humidifier of Pi, as modified by Yang, such that air admitted through the inlet flows downward along the mist intake, in order to promote effective entrainment of mist into the airflow and stabilize mixing of air and mist.
Regarding claim 16, Pi fails to disclose a lower end of the mist intake is positioned in the internal space of the humidification device and positioned below the inlet. Yang discloses that a mist inlet is arranged such that its lower end opens into the internal space where mist is generated by atomizer 13, while the air inlet 4 is positioned above the mist-generated region (fig. 2, paragraph 0035-0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the humidifier of Pi such that the lower end of the mist intake is positioned within the internal space of the humidification device and below the inlet, in order to facilitate direct capture and conveyance of mist generated in the internal space into the mist flow path while allowing air to enter from above.
Regarding claim 17, Pi fails to disclose a vibrating device attached to the bottom of the humidification chamber, wherein the inlet extends from the bottom of the humidification chamber toward the top and is attached to the top of the humidification chamber, and the mist intake extends downward toward the vibrating device. Yang discloses a humidification chamber (fig. 2, water chamber 11, paragraph 0033) internally having a space and an atomizing/vibrating device 13 disposed at the bottom of the chamber for generating mist. Yang further discloses an air inlet 4 structure positioned at an upper portion of the chamber and extending into the chamber, and a mist inlet arranged to extend downward toward the atomizer 13 to receive mist generated at the bottom of the chamber and guide it into a mist flow path 3 (paragraph 0034-0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the humidifier of Pi, as modified by Yang, with a vibrating device at the bottom of the water chamber 11, an inlet extending upward towards the top of the chamber and a mist intake extending downward toward the vibrating device, in order to efficiently generate mist at the bottom of the chamber and guide the mist upward into the mist flow path.
Regarding claim 18, Yang discloses an air inlet/chamber 4 intake positioned at the upper portion of the water chamber 11 and connected to the inlet for admitting air, and a mist inlet 45 that opens into the chamber and extends downward toward the mist generating region, such that the lower end of the mist inlet are separate, spaced structures (fig. 2, paragraph 0033-0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the humidifier of Pi, such that the chamber intake connected to the inlet is positioned above the lower end of the mist intake and spaced apart from the mist intake, in order to separately manage incoming air and generated mist and reduce interference between air admission and mist capture.
Regarding claim 19, Pi fails to disclose an outlet port that is positioned above the inlet and connects the mist intake and the humidification flow path, wherein the mist intake extends from the outlet port toward the internal space of the humidification device. Yang discloses a mist discharge port/outlet port that is positioned above the air inlet 4 and is connected to the mist flow path for conveying mist towards the outlet 42 (fig. 2, paragraph 0033-0038, 0050). Yang further discloses that mist inlet extends downwards from the outlet port towards the internal space of the humidification chamber where mist is generated by an atomizer 13, thereby connecting the mist intake to the humidification flow path (paragraph 0046-0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the humidifier of Pi, in order to efficiently collect mist generated within the humidification device and convey it upward to the discharge opening.
Regarding claim 20, Pi discloses a humidifier that includes a heating device configured to heat the water and/or airflow prior to humidification, including a first heater 12 disposed at a lower portion of the water storage region (fig. 4, paragraph 0011) and a second heater 14 disposed between the intake opening and fan for heating incoming air (paragraph 0013). The heaters are disposed in enclosed regions defining internal spaces through which water or air passes, thereby constituting heating chambers as claimed. Pi further discloses that these heating regions are fluidly connected to the humidification device through internal passages that convey heated water/air into the humidification assembly (paragraph 0028-0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the humidifier of Pi, to include a heating device having a heating chamber with an internal space and a heater attached thereto, and a connector connecting the heater chamber to the humidification device, in order to efficiently deliver heated air/water to the humidification region.
Conclusion
/M.N.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1776
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776