DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 04/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 10 are amended. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pg.6-7), with respect to claims 1 and 10, that Park does not teach, suggest, or render obvious “switching, by the first MLD and second MLD, to the non-primary link when the primary link is busy, wherein the primary link is busy during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) of an overlapping basic service set (BSS), exchanging frames between the first MLD and the second MLD over the non-primary link; and switching back to the primary link, by the first MLD and the second MLD, when a determination is made that the transmit opportunity (TXOP) ends.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Park, [0029] discloses switching to a secondary (non-primary) link when the primary channel is in use by an OBSS. Park, [0159] further discloses exchanging packets on the secondary link while the primary channel is in use by an OBSS for a duration given by the TXOP field. Therefore, Park teaches “switching, by the first MLD and second MLD, to the non-primary link when the primary link is busy, wherein the primary link is busy during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) of an overlapping basic service set (BSS), exchanging frames between the first MLD and the second MLD over the non-primary link; and switching back to the primary link, by the first MLD and the second MLD, when a determination is made that the transmit opportunity (TXOP) ends.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2021/0084711), Park hereinafter, in view of Chang et al. (US 2023/0120024), Chang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1. A method of exchanging frames between a first multi-link device (MLD) and a second MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers. An AP MLD then transmits on any idle channel a control frame (e.g., request to send (RTS) or multi-user (MU) RTS) before either a single data frame or a group of data frames within a single transmit opportunity (TXOP) to indicate that frames will be transmitted on that channel.
[For clarity, the AP MLD is equivalent to the first MLD and the non-AP MLD is equivalent to the second MLD.]), comprising:
announcing, by the first MLD, a set of links with the second MLD (Park, [0051]: An AP MLD then transmits on any idle channel a control frame (e.g., request to send (RTS) or multi-user (MU) RTS) before either a single data frame or a group of data frames within a single transmit opportunity (TXOP) to indicate that frames will be transmitted on that channel.
[Transmitting a control frame prior to transmitting data frame(s) to indicate the channel for data transmission is interpreted as equivalent to announcing the set of links. See also [0069].]),
wherein the set of links includes a primary link and a non-primary link (Park, [0028]: It may be proposed to enable a single-radio STA (e.g., a STA that can transmit and receive on one channel at a time) to transmit and receive a packet on a secondary channel when the primary channel is occupied by a packet from a neighboring STA in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS).) and
wherein a single first radio in the first MLD switches between the primary link and the non-primary link (Park, [0028]: It may be proposed to enable a single-radio STA (e.g., a STA that can transmit and receive on one channel at a time) to transmit and receive a packet on a secondary channel when the primary channel is occupied by a packet from a neighboring STA in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS). And
[0060]: In the example of FIG. 1C, the multi-link AP logical entity and multi-link non-AP logical entity may be two separate physical devices, where each one comprises a number of virtual or logical devices. For example, the multi-link AP logical entity may comprise three APs, AP1 operating on 2.4 GHz, AP2 operating on 5 GHz, and AP3 operating on 6 GHz. Further, the multi-link non-AP logical entity may comprise three non-AP STAs, STA1 communicating with AP1 on link 1, STA2 communicating with AP2 on link 2, and STA3 communicating with AP3 on link 3.
[To clarify, the term station (STA) is a generic term and the STAs of [0028-0029] are components of the MLDs]);
and the primary link and the non-primary link are defined by a respective plurality of 20 MHz channels (Park, [0148]: An AP and a STA listen to the primary 20 MHz channel of the operation bandwidth. The STA is a single-radio STA (i.e. a STA that can transmit and receive a packet on one channel at a time) but equipped with multiple wake-up receivers on the secondary channels that can decode 802.11ba wake-up packets simultaneously on multiple 20 MHz secondary channels.
[Listening to a primary 20 MHz channel and multiple 20 MHz secondary channels indirectly discloses a primary link and non-primary link defined by a plurality of 20 MHz channels.]);
switching, by the first MLD and second MLD, to the non-primary link when the primary link is busy (Park, [0029]: The transmitting and receiving STAs switch to the secondary channel after determining that the packet on the primary 20 MHz channel is from OBSS and transmit/receive a packet on the secondary channel if the secondary channel is idle while the primary channel is busy.
[FIGS. 1A, 1C illustrates that the transmitting and receiving stations are AP MLD and non-AP MLD]),
wherein the primary link is busy during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) of an overlapping basic service set (BSS) (Park, [0159]: The packet exchanges on the secondary channels may last while the primary 20 MHz channel is busy and this duration information may be obtained from the LENGTH field in the L-SIG field or the TXOP field in HE-SIGA or the Duration field in the MAC header of the OBSS packet received on the primary channel.);
exchanging frames between the first MLD and the second MLD over the non- primary link (Park, [0159]: The packet exchanges on the secondary channels may last while the primary 20 MHz channel is busy and this duration information may be obtained from the LENGTH field in the L-SIG field or the TXOP field in HE-SIGA or the Duration field in the MAC header of the OBSS packet received on the primary channel.); and
switching back to the primary link, by the first MLD and the second MLD (Park, [0111]: Referring to FIG. 5, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11 Rx module 521 that can decode a control frame (e.g., RTS 505) transmitted on channel 1 by an AP (e.g., AP 502) and indicates to the main radio to switch from channel 1 to channel 2 or vice versa.),
when a determination is made that the transmit opportunity (TXOP) (Park, [0159]: The packet exchanges on the secondary channels may last while the primary 20 MHz channel is busy and this duration information may be obtained from the LENGTH field in the L-SIG field or the TXOP field in HE-SIGA or the Duration field in the MAC header of the OBSS packet received on the primary channel.);
Yet, Park does not explicitly teach wherein the primary link is busy during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) of an overlapping basic service set (BSS); and wherein the first MLD having the single first radio which switches links is an access point (AP) MLD and the second MLD is a non-AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Chang teaches wherein the primary link is busy during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) of an overlapping basic service set (BSS) (Chang, [0030]: During a period T5 immediately following the period T4, the AP 110 detects that the channel used by the primary link is currently busy, or the AP 110 is notified by another device that the channel used by the primary link is currently busy, that is the channel may be occupied by another BSS.
[T5 corresponds to the TXOP during which the primary link is busy.]);
wherein the first MLD having the single first radio which switches links is an access point (AP) MLD and the second MLD is a non-AP MLD (Chang, [0024]: Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 3 together, initially, the STR MLD 140 establishes a link with the AP 110, wherein there are two links (primary link and non-primary link) between the AP 110 and the STR MLD 140, that is the AP 110 can transmit data to the STR MLD 140 via two links simultaneously, and the AP 110 can receive data from the STR MLD 140 via two links simultaneously.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Park with the radio chain switching mechanism of Chang. The resulting invention would provide for more efficient use of bandwidth (Chang, [0037]).
Re. Claim 10. A first multi-link device (MLD) for communicating with a second MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers. An AP MLD then transmits on any idle channel a control frame (e.g., request to send (RTS) or multi-user (MU) RTS) before either a single data frame or a group of data frames within a single transmit opportunity (TXOP) to indicate that frames will be transmitted on that channel.
[For clarity, the AP MLD is equivalent to the first MLD and the non-AP MLD is equivalent to the second MLD.]),
comprising a processor (Park, [0176-0177]: FIG. 12 shows a functional diagram of an exemplary communication station 1200, in accordance with one or more example embodiments of the present disclosure. In one embodiment, FIG. 12 illustrates a functional block diagram of a communication station that may be suitable for use as an AP 102 (FIG. 1A) or a user device 120 (FIG. 1A) in accordance with some embodiments. … The communication station 1200 may also include processing circuitry 1206 and memory 1208 arranged to perform the operations described herein. In some embodiments, the communications circuitry 1202 and the processing circuitry 1206 may be configured to perform operations detailed in the above figures, diagrams, and flows.) configured to:
announce a set of links with the second MLD (Park, [0051]: An AP MLD then transmits on any idle channel a control frame (e.g., request to send (RTS) or multi-user (MU) RTS) before either a single data frame or a group of data frames within a single transmit opportunity (TXOP) to indicate that frames will be transmitted on that channel.
[Transmitting a control frame prior to transmitting data frame(s) to indicate the channel for data transmission is interpreted as equivalent to announcing the set of links. See also [0069].]),
wherein the set of links includes a primary link and a non-primary link (Park, [0028]: It may be proposed to enable a single-radio STA (e.g., a STA that can transmit and receive on one channel at a time) to transmit and receive a packet on a secondary channel when the primary channel is occupied by a packet from a neighboring STA in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS).) and
wherein a single first radio in the first MLD switches between the primary link and the non-primary link (Park, [0028]: It may be proposed to enable a single-radio STA (e.g., a STA that can transmit and receive on one channel at a time) to transmit and receive a packet on a secondary channel when the primary channel is occupied by a packet from a neighboring STA in an overlapping basic service set (OBSS). And
[0060]: In the example of FIG. 1C, the multi-link AP logical entity and multi-link non-AP logical entity may be two separate physical devices, where each one comprises a number of virtual or logical devices. For example, the multi-link AP logical entity may comprise three APs, AP1 operating on 2.4 GHz, AP2 operating on 5 GHz, and AP3 operating on 6 GHz. Further, the multi-link non-AP logical entity may comprise three non-AP STAs, STA1 communicating with AP1 on link 1, STA2 communicating with AP2 on link 2, and STA3 communicating with AP3 on link 3.
[To clarify, the term station (STA) is a generic term and the STAs of [0028-0029] are components of the MLDs]) and
the primary link and the non-primary link are defined by a respective plurality of 20 MHz channels (Park, [0148]: An AP and a STA listen to the primary 20 MHz channel of the operation bandwidth. The STA is a single-radio STA (i.e. a STA that can transmit and receive a packet on one channel at a time) but equipped with multiple wake-up receivers on the secondary channels that can decode 802.11ba wake-up packets simultaneously on multiple 20 MHz secondary channels.
[Listening to a primary 20 MHz channel and multiple 20 MHz secondary channels indirectly discloses a primary link and non-primary link defined by a plurality of 20 MHz channels.]);
switching, by the first MLD, to the non-primary link when the primary link is busy (Park, [0029]: The transmitting and receiving STAs switch to the secondary channel after determining that the packet on the primary 20 MHz channel is from OBSS and transmit/receive a packet on the secondary channel if the secondary channel is idle while the primary channel is busy. FIGS. 1A, 1C illustrates that the transmitting and receiving stations are AP MLD and non-AP MLD);
exchanging frames between the first MLD and the second MLD over the non-primary link (Park, [0159]: The packet exchanges on the secondary channels may last while the primary 20 MHz channel is busy and this duration information may be obtained from the LENGTH field in the L-SIG field or the TXOP field in HE-SIGA or the Duration field in the MAC header of the OBSS packet received on the primary channel.); and
switching back to the primary link, by the first MLD (Park, [0111]: Referring to FIG. 5, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11 Rx module 521 that can decode a control frame (e.g., RTS 505) transmitted on channel 1 by an AP (e.g., AP 502) and indicates to the main radio to switch from channel 1 to channel 2 or vice versa.)
when a determination is made that the transmit opportunity (TXOP) ends (Park, [0159]: The packet exchanges on the secondary channels may last while the primary 20 MHz channel is busy and this duration information may be obtained from the LENGTH field in the L-SIG field or the TXOP field in HE-SIGA or the Duration field in the MAC header of the OBSS packet received on the primary channel.);
Yet, Park does not explicitly teach wherein the primary link is busy during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) of an overlapping basic service set (BSS); and
wherein the first MLD having the single first radio which switches links is an access point (AP) MLD and the second MLD is a non-AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Chang teaches wherein the primary link is busy during a transmit opportunity (TXOP) of an overlapping basic service set (BSS) (Chang, [0030]: During a period T5 immediately following the period T4, the AP 110 detects that the channel used by the primary link is currently busy, or the AP 110 is notified by another device that the channel used by the primary link is currently busy, that is the channel may be occupied by another BSS.);
wherein the first MLD having the single first radio which switches links is an access point (AP) MLD and the second MLD is a non-AP MLD (Chang, [0024]: Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 3 together, initially, the STR MLD 140 establishes a link with the AP 110, wherein there are two links (primary link and non-primary link) between the AP 110 and the STR MLD 140, that is the AP 110 can transmit data to the STR MLD 140 via two links simultaneously, and the AP 110 can receive data from the STR MLD 140 via two links simultaneously.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Park with the radio chain switching mechanism of Chang. The resulting invention would provide for more efficient use of bandwidth (Chang, [0037]).
Claims 2-8 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chang further in view of Lu et al. (US 2021/0212118), Lu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Park in view of Chang teaches claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the second MLD is one of a MLSR MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers.) or
enhanced MLSR (EMLSR) MLD (Park, [0112]: In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a multi-link operation system may add an extra 802.11 receiver module (e.g., 802.11 RX module 521) to a single-radio non-AP MLD (e.g., STA 520). And
[0120-0121]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. In one or more embodiments, in Option 3, a multi-link operation system may facilitate enhanced multi-link single radio operation using wake-up receiver (802.11ba).)
Yet, neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches wherein the first MLD is multi-link single radio (MLSR) AP MLD and the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR), or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Lu teaches wherein the first MLD is multi-link single radio (MLSR) AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Similarly, AP 120 may be single radio or multi-radio multi-link capable and thus may communicate with STA 110 over one link (e.g., link1) and with STA 115 and/or STA 125 over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2). STA 115 and STA 125 may communicate with each other as direct link over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2). In the present disclosure, each of STA 115, STA 125 and AP 120 may be interchangeably referred to or otherwise denoted as a multi-link logical entity (MLLE) or multi-link device (MLD). Specifically, each of STA 115 and STA 125 may be interchangeably referred to or otherwise denoted as a non-AP MLLE or non-AP MLD or non-AP single radio multi-link device (non-AP SRMLD), and AP 120 may be interchangeably referred to or otherwise denoted as an AP MLLE or AP MLD or AP single radio multi-link device (AP SRMLD).) and
the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR), or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Each of STA 115 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA1") and STA 125 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA2") may be a single radio or multi-radio multi-link STA with one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2) operating in, for example and without limitation, the 2.4 GHz band, 5 GHz-band and/or 6 GHz band. and
[0049]: Specifically, FIG. 10 shows an example of UL synchronous transmissions on link 1 (primary link) and link 2 (secondary link). In scenario 1000, STA1 and STA2 are affiliated with a non-STR non-AP MLD, and AP1 and AP2 are affiliated with a non-STR AP MLD. For instance, STA1 and STA2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR non-AP MLD which is a TXOP initiator, and AP1 and AP2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR AP MLD which is a TXOP responder. In the example shown in FIG. 10, a non-AP MLD may also be an STR non-AP MLD.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, [0004-0006]).
Re. Claim 3, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 2.
Park further teaches wherein when the first MLD includes a second radio to monitor one link when doing frame exchanges in another link (Park, [0120]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. And
[0161]: In one or more embodiments, the STA may listen to the primary 20 MHz channel using the main Wi-Fi radio and the secondary channels using the wake-up receivers.)
the first MLD transitions to the EMLSR mode (Park, [0068-0069]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may facilitate an enhanced multi-link single radio operation procedure. The enhanced multi-link single radio mode may be negotiated between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD through the association/setup procedure or any other management frame exchanges.).
Re. Claim 4, Park in view of Chang teaches claim 1.
Park further teaches the second MLD is one of a multi-link single radio (MLSR) MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers.),
enhanced MLSR (EMLSR) MLD (Park, [0112]: In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a multi-link operation system may add an extra 802.11 receiver module (e.g., 802.11 RX module 521) to a single-radio non-AP MLD (e.g., STA 520). And
[0120-0121]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. In one or more embodiments, in Option 3, a multi-link operation system may facilitate enhanced multi-link single radio operation using wake-up receiver (802.11ba).).
Neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches wherein the first MLD is a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) AP MLD the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) MLMR, or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non- AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Lu teaches wherein the first MLD is a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Similarly, AP 120 may be single radio or multi-radio multi-link capable and thus may communicate with STA 110 over one link (e.g., link1) and with STA 115 and/or STA 125 over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2). STA 115 and STA 125 may communicate with each other as direct link over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2).) and
the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) MLMR, or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non- AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Each of STA 115 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA1") and STA 125 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA2") may be a single radio or multi-radio multi-link STA with one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2) operating in, for example and without limitation, the 2.4 GHz band, 5 GHz-band and/or 6 GHz band. and 0049: Specifically, FIG. 10 shows an example of UL synchronous transmissions on link 1 (primary link) and link 2 (secondary link). In scenario 1000, STA1 and STA2 are affiliated with a non-STR non-AP MLD, and AP1 and AP2 are affiliated with a non-STR AP MLD. For instance, STA1 and STA2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR non-AP MLD which is a TXOP initiator, and AP1 and AP2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR AP MLD which is a TXOP responder. In the example shown in FIG. 10, a non-AP MLD may also be an STR non-AP MLD.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, [0004-0006]).
Re. Claim 5, Park in view of Chang teaches claim 1.
Park further teaches wherein the first MLD is an enhanced multi- link single radio (EMLSR) AP MLD (Park, [0068-0069]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may facilitate an enhanced multi-link single radio operation procedure. The enhanced multi-link single radio mode may be negotiated between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD through the association/setup procedure or any other management frame exchanges.) and
the second MLD is one of a MLSR MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers.) or
enhanced MLSR (EMLSR) MLD (Park, [0112]: In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a multi-link operation system may add an extra 802.11 receiver module (e.g., 802.11 RX module 521) to a single-radio non-AP MLD (e.g., STA 520). And
[0120-0121]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. In one or more embodiments, in Option 3, a multi-link operation system may facilitate enhanced multi-link single radio operation using wake-up receiver (802.11ba).).
Neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches where the second MLD is a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR), or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Lu teaches wherein the second MLD is a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Each of STA 115 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA1") and STA 125 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA2") may be a single radio or multi-radio multi-link STA with one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2) operating in, for example and without limitation, the 2.4 GHz band, 5 GHz-band and/or 6 GHz band. and
[0049]: Specifically, FIG. 10 shows an example of UL synchronous transmissions on link 1 (primary link) and link 2 (secondary link). In scenario 1000, STA1 and STA2 are affiliated with a non-STR non-AP MLD, and AP1 and AP2 are affiliated with a non-STR AP MLD. For instance, STA1 and STA2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR non-AP MLD which is a TXOP initiator, and AP1 and AP2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR AP MLD which is a TXOP responder. In the example shown in FIG. 10, a non-AP MLD may also be an STR non-AP MLD.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, [0004-0006]).
Re. Claim 6, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 5.
Park further teaches wherein the set of links is an EMLSR link set (Park, [0111]: Referring to FIG. 5, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11 Rx module 521 that can decode a control frame (e.g., RTS 505) transmitted on channel 1 by an AP (e.g., AP 502) and indicates to the main radio to switch from channel 1 to channel 2 or vice versa.).
Re. Claim 7, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 5.
wherein the first MLD switches to monitor multiple links when a frame exchange failure is detected or when the first MLD receives a frame not addressed to the first MLD (Park, [0155]: If the packet is from OBSS, the AP stops decoding the packet and resumes the contention window (CW) countdown on the secondary channel if the secondary channel is idle.).
Re. Claim 8, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 5.
Park further teaches wherein the first MLD operates in the non-primary link when a frame exchange failure is detected or when the first MLD receives a frame not addressed to the first MLD (Park, [0155]: If the packet is from OBSS, the AP stops decoding the packet and resumes the contention window (CW) countdown on the secondary channel if the secondary channel is idle.).
Re. Claim 11, Park in view of Chang teaches claim 10.
Park further teaches the second MLD is one of a MLSR MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers.),
enhanced MLSR (EMLSR) MLD (Park, [0112]: In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a multi-link operation system may add an extra 802.11 receiver module (e.g., 802.11 RX module 521) to a single-radio non-AP MLD (e.g., STA 520). And
[0120-0121]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. In one or more embodiments, in Option 3, a multi-link operation system may facilitate enhanced multi-link single radio operation using wake-up receiver (802.11ba).).
Neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches wherein the first MLD is a multi-link single radio (MLSR) AP MLD and the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Lu teaches wherein the first MLD is a multi-link single radio (MLSR) AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Similarly, AP 120 may be single radio or multi-radio multi-link capable and thus may communicate with STA 110 over one link (e.g., link1) and with STA 115 and/or STA 125 over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2). STA 115 and STA 125 may communicate with each other as direct link over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2). In the present disclosure, each of STA 115, STA 125 and AP 120 may be interchangeably referred to or otherwise denoted as a multi-link logical entity (MLLE) or multi-link device (MLD). Specifically, each of STA 115 and STA 125 may be interchangeably referred to or otherwise denoted as a non-AP MLLE or non-AP MLD or non-AP single radio multi-link device (non-AP SRMLD), and AP 120 may be interchangeably referred to or otherwise denoted as an AP MLLE or AP MLD or AP single radio multi-link device (AP SRMLD).) and
the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Each of STA 115 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA1") and STA 125 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA2") may be a single radio or multi-radio multi-link STA with one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2) operating in, for example and without limitation, the 2.4 GHz band, 5 GHz-band and/or 6 GHz band. and 0049: Specifically, FIG. 10 shows an example of UL synchronous transmissions on link 1 (primary link) and link 2 (secondary link). In scenario 1000, STA1 and STA2 are affiliated with a non-STR non-AP MLD, and AP1 and AP2 are affiliated with a non-STR AP MLD. For instance, STA1 and STA2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR non-AP MLD which is a TXOP initiator, and AP1 and AP2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR AP MLD which is a TXOP responder. In the example shown in FIG. 10, a non-AP MLD may also be an STR non-AP MLD.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, [0004-0006]).
Re. Claim 12, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 11.
Park further teaches wherein when the first MLD includes a second radio to monitor one link when doing frame exchanges in another link (Park, [0120]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. And
[0161]: In one or more embodiments, the STA may listen to the primary 20 MHz channel using the main Wi-Fi radio and the secondary channels using the wake-up receivers.)
the first MLD transitions to an EMLSR mode (Park, [0068-0069]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may facilitate an enhanced multi-link single radio operation procedure. The enhanced multi-link single radio mode may be negotiated between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD through the association/setup procedure or any other management frame exchanges.).
Re. Claim 13, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 12.
Park further teaches wherein the second MLD is one of a multi-link single radio (MLSR) MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers.) or
enhanced MLSR (EMLSR) MLD (Park, [0112]: In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a multi-link operation system may add an extra 802.11 receiver module (e.g., 802.11 RX module 521) to a single-radio non-AP MLD (e.g., STA 520). And
[0120-0121]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. In one or more embodiments, in Option 3, a multi-link operation system may facilitate enhanced multi-link single radio operation using wake-up receiver (802.11ba).).
Neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches wherein the first MLD is a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) AP MLD and the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) MLMR or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Lu teaches wherein the first MLD is a non- simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Similarly, AP 120 may be single radio or multi-radio multi-link capable and thus may communicate with STA 110 over one link (e.g., link1) and with STA 115 and/or STA 125 over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2). STA 115 and STA 125 may communicate with each other as direct link over one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2).) and
the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) MLMR or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Each of STA 115 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA1") and STA 125 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA2") may be a single radio or multi-radio multi-link STA with one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2) operating in, for example and without limitation, the 2.4 GHz band, 5 GHz-band and/or 6 GHz band. and
[0049]: Specifically, FIG. 10 shows an example of UL synchronous transmissions on link 1 (primary link) and link 2 (secondary link). In scenario 1000, STA1 and STA2 are affiliated with a non-STR non-AP MLD, and AP1 and AP2 are affiliated with a non-STR AP MLD. For instance, STA1 and STA2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR non-AP MLD which is a TXOP initiator, and AP1 and AP2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR AP MLD which is a TXOP responder. In the example shown in FIG. 10, a non-AP MLD may also be an STR non-AP MLD.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, [0004-0006]).
Re. Claim 14, Park in view of Chang teaches claim 10.
Park further teaches wherein the first MLD is an enhanced multi-link single radio (EMLSR) AP MLD (Park, [0068-0069]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may facilitate an enhanced multi-link single radio operation procedure. The enhanced multi-link single radio mode may be negotiated between an AP MLD and a non-AP MLD through the association/setup procedure or any other management frame exchanges.) and
the second MLD is one of a MLSR MLD (Park, [0038]: In one or more embodiments, a multi-link operation system may have a single-radio non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) listen to two or more channels simultaneously by (1) configuring a 2x2 Tx/Rx (or MxM Tx/Rx) to allocate a 1x1 resource on each channel/band (e.g., 5 GHz and 6 GHz), (2) add extra Rx modules, or (3) add wake-up receivers.),
enhanced MLSR (EMLSR) MLD (Park, [0112]: In one or more embodiments, in Option 2, a multi-link operation system may add an extra 802.11 receiver module (e.g., 802.11 RX module 521) to a single-radio non-AP MLD (e.g., STA 520). And
[0120-0121]: Referring to FIG. 6, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11ba based wake-up receiver. In one or more embodiments, in Option 3, a multi-link operation system may facilitate enhanced multi-link single radio operation using wake-up receiver (802.11ba).).
Neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches wherein the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD.
However, in the related art, Lu teaches wherein the second MLD is one of a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) multi-link multiple radio (MLMR) or a non-STR (NSTR) MLMR non-AP MLD (Lu, [0034]: Each of STA 115 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA1") and STA 125 (herein interchangeably referred to and denoted as "STA2") may be a single radio or multi-radio multi-link STA with one or more links (e.g., link 1 and link 2) operating in, for example and without limitation, the 2.4 GHz band, 5 GHz-band and/or 6 GHz band. and
[0049]: Specifically, FIG. 10 shows an example of UL synchronous transmissions on link 1 (primary link) and link 2 (secondary link). In scenario 1000, STA1 and STA2 are affiliated with a non-STR non-AP MLD, and AP1 and AP2 are affiliated with a non-STR AP MLD. For instance, STA1 and STA2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR non-AP MLD which is a TXOP initiator, and AP1 and AP2 may be affiliated with the same non-STR AP MLD which is a TXOP responder. In the example shown in FIG. 10, a non-AP MLD may also be an STR non-AP MLD.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, [0004-0006]).
Re. Claim 15, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 14.
Park further teaches wherein the set of links is an EMLSR link set (Park, [0111]: Referring to FIG. 5, there is shown an enhanced multi-link single radio operation with additional 802.11 Rx module 521 that can decode a control frame (e.g., RTS 505) transmitted on channel 1 by an AP (e.g., AP 502) and indicates to the main radio to switch from channel 1 to channel 2 or vice versa.).
Re. Claim 16, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 14.
Park further teaches wherein the first MLD switches to monitor multiple links when a frame exchange failure is detected or when the first MLD receives a frame not addressed to the first MLD (Park, [0155]: If the packet is from OBSS, the AP stops decoding the packet and resumes the contention window (CW) countdown on the secondary channel if the secondary channel is idle.).
Re. Claim 17, Park in view of Chang and Lu teaches claim 14.
Park further teaches wherein the first MLD stays in the non-primary link when a frame exchange failure is detected or when the first MLD receives a frame not addressed to the first MLD (Park, [0155]: If the packet is from OBSS, the AP stops decoding the packet and resumes the contention window (CW) countdown on the secondary channel if the secondary channel is idle.).
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Chang and Lu, and further in view of Chincholi et al. (WO 2014/152853), Chincholi hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Park in view of Chang teaches claim 1.
Park teaches that the wireless network 100 of FIG. 1A may include one or more user devices 120 and one or more access point(s) (AP) 102, which may communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11 communication standards (0040). Park further teaches an STA may be a quality-of-service (QoS) STA (0042).
Neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches wherein the first MLD and the second MLD are multi- link tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) peer multi-link single radio (MLSR) non-AP MLDs.
Lu teaches the first MLD and the second MLD are multi-link peer multi-link single radio (MLSR) non-AP MLDs ([Lu, Fig. 1: STA1, STA 115 of FIG. 1, and STA2, STA 125 of FIG. 1, may be single radio multi-link MLDs, and that STA1 and STA2 may communicate with each other as direct link over one or more links (0034). Lu additionally teaches using one or more IEEE 802.11 standards (0088)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, 0004-0006).
None of Park, Chang, or Lu explicitly teaches tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) peer multi-link single radio (MLSR) non-AP MLDs.
However, in the related art, Chincholi teaches wherein the first MLD and the second MLD are multi-link tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) (Chincholi, [0004]: In Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11η, STAs with Quality of Service (QoS) facility may transmit frames directly to another STA by setting up data transfer using direct link setup (DLS). In IEEE 802.11z, DLS is known as tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teachings of Chang and Lu with the method to enable direct link setup in multi-rat systems of Chincholi. The resulting invention would enable direct link communication transparently through an access point (Chincholi, 0004).
Re. Claim 18, Park in view of Chang teaches claim 10.
Park teaches that the wireless network 100 of FIG. 1A may include one or more user devices 120 and one or more access point(s) (AP) 102, which may communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11 communication standards (0040). Park further teaches an STA may be a quality-of-service (QoS) STA (0042).
Neither Park nor Chang explicitly teaches wherein the first MLD and the second MLD are multi- link tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) peer multi-link single radio (MLSR) non-AP MLDs.
Lu teaches the first MLD and the second MLD are multi-link peer multi-link single radio (MLSR) non-AP MLDs ([Lu, Fig. 1: STA1, STA 115 of FIG. 1, and STA2, STA 125 of FIG. 1, may be single radio multi-link MLDs, and that STA1 and STA2 may communicate with each other as direct link over one or more links (0034). Lu additionally teaches using one or more IEEE 802.11 standards (0088)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed to invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teaching of Chang with the method for constrained multi-link device operations of Lu. The combination would improve spectrum efficiency for links operated by an AP MLD with in-device coexistence interference resulting from multiple links operating on adjacent channels (Lu, [0004-0006]).
None of Park, Chang, or Lu explicitly teaches tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) peer multi-link single radio (MLSR) non-AP MLDs.
However, in the related art, Chincholi teaches wherein the first MLD and the second MLD are multi-link tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS) (Chincholi, [0004]: In Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11η, STAs with Quality of Service (QoS) facility may transmit frames directly to another STA by setting up data transfer using direct link setup (DLS). In IEEE 802.11z, DLS is known as tunneled direct-link setup (TDLS).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Park as modified by the teachings of Chang and Lu with the method to enable direct link setup in multi-rat systems of Chincholi. The resulting invention would enable direct link communication transparently through an access point (Chincholi, 0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seok et al. (US 20240064809) [0026-0028] and Figs. 3-5 disclose dynamic multi-link switching methods with TXOP sharing.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417