DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-11, 12-18, 26-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/18/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 38, line 1 recites the limitation "the first". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19, 20, 21, 23, 24, 25, 38, 39, 40, 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty (WO 2016/112380) and in view of Franz (EP 0454937).
Doughty teaches a sorbent used for the removal of NOx (title) from an exhaust gas source (para. 2). The sorbent can include 5wt% of triethylenediamine and 1-12% copper (abstract). The composition can be placed on a filter for purifying a gas (para. 25). The filter can be in an automotive cabin (para. 25).
As to the NOx being from a vehicle tunnel, Franz describes a filter for treatment of gases (title). The process is used to treat air in a number of settings, but includes air in vehicles as well as exhaust air in road tunnels (page 2, para. 6). The method includes use of a filter that is modified with a catalyst, such as Cu (page 2, para. 10). In their system, shown in the Figures, shows the filter (7) where air is fed through it and then redirected back through 9 in an air return line (page 3, 8, 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the filter of Doughty in a vehicle tunnel, as taught by Franz because Franz explains that air filters modified with copper catalysts are known to be used in these types of tunnels and effective for pollutant treatment in them.
As to Claim 20, Doughty teaches that the sorbent material includes activated carbon (para. 8, 14, 16, 23 and Claim 6).
As to Claim 21, Doughty teaches that the sorbent includes granules (para. 26, 28, 11).
As to Claim 24, Doughty teaches that the NOx includes nitrogen dioxide and other nitrogen oxides (para. 10).
As to Claim 25, Doughty teaches that the process is used to produce an improved adsorption of nitrogen-containing gases, such as NOx gases (para. 10). Therefore, although Doughty does not specifically state that there is less NOx in the gas stream after contacting it with the NOx-adsorbing adsorbent, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same
As to Claim 38, Doughty teaches use of zinc (para. 10, 12) in an amount of 2-12% (Claim 2). The metal is deposited on a surface of the sorbent (abstract, para. 16).
As to Claim 39, Doughty teaches that the sorbent has a surface deposition of 5wt% of triethylenediamine and 1-12% copper (abstract). Therefore, although Doughty does not teach a breakthrough time before or after the addition of these components, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition would have the same features.
As to Claims 40 and 41, Doughty does not teach that the sorbent exhibits a breakthrough time of more than 40 mins at 25ppm of nitrogen monoxide or a time of more than 100 minutes at 25ppm nitrogen monoxide. However, since the composition is the same, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition used the same way would have the same effectiveness and produce the same breakthrough time.
Claim(s) 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty and Franz as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Tempest Tech “Mobile Ventilation Unit Tunnel Test”.
Tempest tech teaches use of a ventilation unit for use in a tunnel (see Fig. 3). The capacity of the ventilation unit is 221,000 m3/hr (see page 2, para. 1, bullet point 3).
Therefore, although Doughty and Franz do not specifically teach that the vehicle tunnel contains about 200,000 m3/hr to 10 million m3/hr of pollutants, since Tempest tech explains that their ventilator is designed to process about 221,000 m3/hr, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that this ventilator when used with the absorbent of Doughty and Franz would be effective at processing 200,000 m3/hr of exhaust from a vehicle tunnel.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doughty and Franz as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of De Prins (EP 3363540).
De Prins describes use of CuO (abstract) with DABCO (abstract) for use in NOx treatment (para. 5). Other copper salts were useable (para. 44), but CuO is an alternative copper source (para. 45). Although De Prins does not describe the oxidation state of Cu here, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the oxidation state of copper is +2 since this is the most common state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ CuO as the copper source, as taught by De Prins for use with the copper sorbent of Doughty and Franz because this is a known copper source for use in NOx removal and catalysis.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 October 16, 2026