DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 12-20 are canceled. Claims 21-29 has been added. Claims 1-11 and 21-29 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-11 of Group I in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a server side editorial graphical user interface (GUI) configured to receive…, a data backplane configured to obtain… and an overlay metadata generator configured to:…, an editorial user interface (UI) generator configured to:…,” in claims 1, 2, and 26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 21-23, 25-26, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150026728 A1 to Carter in view of US Pub. No. 20220046313 A1 to Harshawat.
As to claims 1 and 21, Carter discloses a system, comprising:
a server-side editorial graphical user interface (GUI), configured to receive and store overlay detail selections of a server-side-defined graphical overlay to be presented with requested content by a client-side content player(Carter Fig. 1-6, 9-10, ¶0042-0046, 0053-0054, 0056-0060, traffic control 205 application run on a server including editorial 285 that allows the user/employee to provide input and store triggers for overlaying element/content over the video including time and the element/content to overlay that is to be presented/displayed with content requested/displayed by the client device);
a data backplane, configured to obtain service data from server-side services to incorporate into the server-side defined graphical overlay based at least in part on the overlay detail selections (Carter Fig. 1-6, 9-10, ¶0054, 0069-0073, ingest 505 receiving multiple feeds 210 from server to add into the server created overlay element/content over the video based on the triggers for overlaying element/content over the video); and
Carter does not expressly disclose an overlay metadata generator configured to: convert raw overlay data comprising the overlay detail selections and the service data into overlay trigger code comprising metadata interpretable by the client-side content player to render the server-side defined graphical overlay.
Harshawat discloses an overlay metadata generator configured to: convert raw overlay data comprising the overlay detail selections and the service data into overlay trigger code comprising metadata interpretable by the client-side content player to render the server-side defined graphical overlay (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0026, 0028-0029, 0037, 0042, 0050-0051, 0053-0054, 0076-0078, 0093-0099, 0104-0105, 0118-0120, overlay customization logic 128 to generate overlay templates transforming overlay data including overlay instructions with variables and various overlay data into overlay templates having plurality of data that is read by the client device to display the server created overlay).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Carter by to correlate the user demographics to a timeline of content consumed by the user through the video display unit to generate enhanced content usage metrics, and to communicate the enhanced content usage metrics through the communication interface for delivery to the central content usage analysis computer as disclosed by Harshawat. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of efficiently generating custom overlay templates to clients of the system enhancing the user’s experience.
As to claims 2 and 23, Carter and Harshawat discloses an editorial user interface (UI) generator configured to: generate a back end service call to associate with the server-side-defined graphical overlay, based upon at least a portion of the overlay detail selections (Carter Fig. 1-6, 9-10, ¶0056-0058, editorial 305 contains functions that enable the employee to insert triggers related to show priority, screen layout, and social media); and
provide the back end service call to the overlay metadata generator as a portion of the raw overlay data to incorporate into the overlay trigger code (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0026, 0028-0029, 0037, 0042, 0050-0051, 0053-0054, 0076-0078, 0093-0099, 0104-0105, 0118-0120, providing the overlay customization logic with machine learning logic information e.g. user profile, into the custom overlay template for the specific user).
As to claims 5 and 25, Harshawat discloses wherein the overlay trigger code comprises a JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) file, an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file, or both (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0116, JSON).
As to claims 6 and 28, Carter discloses wherein the overlay trigger code comprises a timing with respect to the requested content indicating when with respect to the requested content the server-side-defined graphical overlay should be presented with the requested content (Carter Fig. 1-6, 9-10, ¶0043, timecode, start time and Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0044, 0096-0098, 0140, 0170-0177, timing information/parameters).
As to claims 7, Harshawat discloses wherein the timing comprises an indication of a frame of the requested content where the server-side-defined graphical overlay should be presented (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0044, 0096-0098, 0140, 0170-0177, frame for which values define a position and dimensions of the layout)
As to claims 8, Carter discloses wherein the timing comprises an indication of a duration of time that the server-side-defined graphical overlay should be displayed (Carter Fig. 1-6, 9-10, ¶0043, timecode, start time and end time and Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0044, 0096-0098, 0140, 0170-0177, timing information/parameters and duration).
As to claims 9 and 29, Harshawat discloses wherein the overlay metadata generator is configured to provide a plurality of overlay definitions in the overlay trigger code (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0026, 0028-0029, 0037, 0042, 0050-0051, 0053, 0076-0078, 0093-0099, 0104-0105, 0118-0120, overlay engine to generate overlay templates), enabling the client-side content player to pre-load a plurality of overlays associated with the plurality of overlay definitions (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0035, 0149-0150, 0191, storing/caching template).
As to claims 10 and 22, Harshawat discloses wherein the overlay detail selections comprise a targeting indication to target the server-side-defined graphical overlay to a first subset of client-side content viewers without targeting a second subset of client-side content viewers (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0032, 0053, 0056, 0058-0062, 0065-0067, 0091, 0134, generating/customizing overlay based on user profile); and
wherein the overlay metadata generator is configured to cause the server-side-defined graphical overlay defined in the overlay trigger code to be rendered by the first subset of client-side content viewers but not the second subset of client-side content viewers (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0032, 0053, 0056, 0058-0062, 0065-0067, 0091, 0134, overlay engine generating/customizing overlay based on user profile thereby displaying the overlay according to the user profile).
As to claims 11, Harshawat discloses wherein the targeting indication is based upon a particular subject matter of content playing on the first subset of client-side content viewers, a demographic of viewers of the first subset of client-side content viewers, or both (Harshawat Fig. 1, 3-6, ¶0032, 0053, 0056, 0058-0062, 0065-0067, 0091, 0134, location of the user).
As to claim 26, see claims 1 and 2 for similar rejection.
Claims 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 20150026728 A1 to Carter in view of US Pub. No. 20220046313 A1 to Harshawat and in further view of US Pub. No. 20180285818 A1 to Soltani.
As to claim 4, Carter and Harshawat do not expressly disclose wherein the back end service call comprises a GET request, a POST request or both to the back end service.
Soltani discloses wherein the back end service call comprises a GET request, a POST request or both to the back end service (Soltani ¶0112, 0120, HTTP GET request).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Carter and Harshawat by wherein the back end service call comprises a GET request, a POST request or both to the back end service as disclosed by Soltani. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to yield predictable results of requesting data from a server at a specific address to retrieve information thereby safe requesting and/or improving performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 24, and 27 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US Pub. No. 20240129599 A1 to Basser (Generating overlays for a broadcast)
-US Pub. No. 20250332509 A1 to Ganschow (Generation of interactive content overlays)
-US Pub. No. 20140359656 A1 to Banica (Inserting the overlay into the selected location and renders the video with the inserted overlay)
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 21-23, 25-26, 28 and 29 have been rejected.
Claims 3, 24, and 27 are objected.
Correspondence Information
/KYU CHAE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426