Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 25, 26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cavallaro (US 2011/0218065). Regarding claim 21, Cavallaro discloses a ball construction comprising a ball body (10). Note paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and Figures 2B and 18 teaching that the ball comprises a bladder layer (22), a layer of windings around the bladder, a cover layer (12) and one or more layers of elastomeric material. Thus, Cavallaro teaches an outer layer (i.e., a cover) and inner and central layers (i.e., layers of windings and elastomeric material) that enclose the bladder.
Regarding the limitation for the LEDs, note paragraph [0054] stating that the ball includes one or more LEDs that can transmit infrared light signals. Further, note paragraph [0058] stating that the LEDs are mounted on flexible material (454) which can be a printed circuit board. Thus, Cavallaro teaches the flexible circuit material.
Regarding the limitation for the control board and battery, note paragraph [0058] disclosing a control board (454) and a battery. Regarding the limitation for the LEDs to be adjacent tips of the ball body, note Figure 16 showing the LEDs positioned adjacent the tips of the ball body.
Regarding the limitation for the LEDs to be positioned between the inner and outer layers of the ball, Cavallaro teaches locating the LEDs between the outer layer and the bladder (note paragraphs [0056] and [0057]) and that the shell may comprise multiple layers. Further, note paragraph [0060] stating that the electronic components can be located outside of the bladder, windings and elastomeric material, and inside of the cover. Thus, Cavallaro teaches that the LEDs are located between the inner and outer layers of the shell as recited.
Regarding claim 22, note Figure 1 showing a football.
Regarding claim 23, note paragraph [0055] and Figure 16 of Cavallaro disclosing LEDs that are integrated into the skin of the ball body by holes (420, 422, 424, 426).
Regarding claim 25, the football of Cavallaro is capable of use in conjunction with VR systems. For example, the football is capable of being held or thrown while a user uses a VR system.
Regarding claim 26, note Figure 1 of Cavallaro showing a football with a prolate spheroid shape.
Regarding claim 29, note the rejection of claim 23 as these claims recite substantially similar limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro (US 2011/0218065). Regarding claim 1, Cavallaro discloses a ball construction comprising a ball body (10) with an elongated configuration and opposed tips. Note Figures 1 and 2A. The body defines a shell having a skin with an outer layer (12) and an inflatable bladder (22). Note paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and Figures 2B and 18 teaching that the ball comprises a bladder layer (22), a layer of windings around the bladder, a cover layer (12) and one or more layers of elastomeric material. Thus, Cavallaro teaches an outer layer, a central layer and an inner layer enclosing the bladder.
Regarding the limitation for the LEDs, note paragraph [0054] of Cavallaro stating that the ball includes one or more LEDs that can transmit infrared light signals. Further, note paragraph [0058] stating that the LEDs are mounted on flexible material (454) which can be a printed circuit board. Thus, Cavallaro teaches the flexible circuit material. Regarding the limitation for the control board and battery, note paragraph [0058] disclosing a control board (454) and a battery. Regarding the limitation for the LEDs to be symmetrically positioned on the body at 1.5-2 inches from the tips of the ball body, note Figure 16 and paragraphs [0054] and [0055] of Cavallaro disclosing the LEDs (420, 422, 424, 426) positioned symmetrically on the outer surface of the ball towards the tips. The particular distance from the tips of the ball is considered to be an obvious design choice lacking a showing of criticality for the particular distance by the showing of a new and unexpected result obtained therefrom. Cavallaro particularly shows the LEDs located towards the tips of the football and to merely define a distance from the tips would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Paragraph [0055] of Cavallaro teaches that the LEDs can be provided with more than eight or less than eight, arranged in clusters rather than equally distant around the surface of the ball, or positioned in the lace holes or along the valley of the seams of the ball. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the LEDs of Cavallaro at locations 1.5-2 inches from the tips of the ball in order to provide particular lighting effects for the football.
Regarding the limitation for the LEDs to be positioned between the inner and outer layers of the ball, Cavallaro teaches locating the LEDs between the outer layer and the bladder (note paragraphs [0056] and [0057]) and that the shell may comprise multiple layers. Further, note paragraph [0060] stating that the electronic components can be located outside of the bladder, windings and elastomeric material, and inside of the cover. Thus, Cavallaro teaches that the LEDs are located between the inner and outer layers of the shell as recited.
Regarding claim 2, note Figure 1 of Cavallaro showing a football with a prolate spheroid shape.
Regarding claim 7, note paragraph [0055] and Figure 16 of Cavallaro disclosing LEDs that are integrated into the skin of the ball body by holes (420, 422, 424, 426).
Regarding claim 9, the football of Cavallaro is capable of use in conjunction with VR systems. For example, the football is capable of being held or thrown while a user uses a VR system.
Regarding claim 11, the football of Cavallaro defines a prolate spheroid shape.
Regarding claim 17, note the rejection of claim 7 as these claims recite substantially similar limitations.
Claims 8, 20, 24 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro (US 2011/0218065) in view of Glover (US 2012/0157246) and Sreshta (US 2015/0219294). Regarding claims 8, 20, 24 and 30, Cavallaro lacks the teaching for the ball to include an indicator light and on/off switch as recited. Glover reveals that it is known in the art of electronic footballs to provide the football with an on/off switch. Note Figure 2 and paragraph [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electric football of Cavallaro with an on/off switch in order to prevent battery drain when the football is not being used.
However, the combination of Cavallaro in view of Glover lacks the teaching for the indicator light as recited. Sreshta reveals that it is known in the art of inflatable lighted objects having an on/off switch (130) to include an indicator light (128) to indicate the status of the object. Note paragraph [0024] and Figure 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the ball of Cavallaro as modified by Glover with the indicator light of Sreshta in order to indicate the status of the battery and object.
Claims 12, 13, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro (US 2011/0218065) in view of Thurman (US 2014/0200103) and Chang (US 2008/0076271). Regarding claims 12 and 27, Cavallaro teaches a light system comprising a plurality of LEDs. Note also paragraph [0058] disclosing a control board (454) and a battery. However, Cavallaro lacks the teaching for the charging chip and magnetic charging cable adapter as recited. Thurman reveals that it is known in the art of electronic sports balls to provide the ball with a charge sensor and a recharging port for recharging a battery. Note paragraphs [0155] and [0188] disclosing that the battery (1436) is rechargeable via a charging port extending from the battery and a power sensor (2308) determines the charging level of the ball. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electric ball of Cavallaro with a rechargeable battery and the charging port and power sensor of Thurman in order to permit recharging and monitoring of the battery in the electric ball. It is noted that the charging port defines a cable adapter, however, the port is not a magnetic adapter as recited.
Chang reveals that it is known in the art of rechargeable batteries to provide a magnetic charging cable adapter for recharging the battery. Note Figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electric ball of Cavallaro as modified by Thurman with the magnetic charging cable adapter of Chang in order to permit recharging of a rechargeable battery.
Regarding claims 13 and 28, note paragraph [0058] of Cavallaro defining the printed circuit board (454) that is mounted to the cover by an adhesive such as double sided tape. The double sided tape defines a mounting base that is secured to an internal surface of a skin of the ball body as recited. It is also noted that paragraph [0058] discloses wiring (456) that connects the LEDs together. Thus, Cavallaro teaches electrical wiring that connects the LEDs to the various circuit boards.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro (US 2011/0218065) in view of Minch (US 2014/0309059). Regarding claim 1, Cavallaro discloses a ball construction comprising a ball body (10) with an elongated configuration and opposed tips. Note Figures 1 and 2A. The body defines a shell having a skin with an outer layer (12) and an inflatable bladder (22). Note paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and Figures 2B and 18 teaching that the ball comprises a bladder layer (22), a layer of windings around the bladder, a cover layer (12) and one or more layers of elastomeric material. Thus, Cavallaro teaches an outer layer, a central layer and an inner layer enclosing the bladder.
Regarding the limitation for the LEDs, note paragraph [0054] of Cavallaro stating that the ball includes one or more LEDs that can transmit infrared light signals. Further, note paragraph [0058] stating that the LEDs are mounted on flexible material (454) which can be a printed circuit board. Thus, Cavallaro teaches the flexible circuit material. Regarding the limitation for the control board and battery, note paragraph [0058] disclosing a control board (454) and a battery.
Regarding the limitation for the LEDs to be symmetrically positioned on the body at 1.5-2 inches from the tips of the ball body, note Figure 16 and paragraphs [0054] and [0055] of Cavallaro disclosing the LEDs (420, 422, 424, 426) positioned symmetrically on the outer surface of the ball towards the tips. However, Cavallaro does not particularly teach that the LEDs are positioned 1.5-2 inches from the tips of the ball.
Minch reveals that it is known in the art of electronic footballs comprising LEDs to position the LEDs at the tips of the football. Note Figures 5 and 6 and paragraphs [0083] and [0084] disclosing the light modules (140, 144) at the tips of the footballs. Paragraph [0055] of Cavallaro teaches that the LEDs can be provided with more than eight or less than eight, arranged in clusters rather than equally distant around the surface of the ball, or positioned in the lace holes or along the valley of the seams of the ball. Thus, Cavallaro attaches no criticality to the particular location of the LEDs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the LEDs of Cavallaro at the tips of the ball in order to provide them at locations that can be sensed by a user when the football is thrown and create a particular lighting effect. The particular distance of 1.5-2 inches from the tips of the ball is considered to be an obvious design choice lacking a showing of criticality for the particular distance by the showing of a new and unexpected result obtained therefrom and given the teachings of Minch and Cavallaro.
Regarding the limitation for the LEDs to be positioned between the inner and outer layers of the ball, Cavallaro teaches locating the LEDs between the outer layer and the bladder (note paragraphs [0056] and [0057]) and that the shell may comprise multiple layers. Further, note paragraph [0060] stating that the electronic components can be located outside of the bladder, windings and elastomeric material, and inside of the cover. Thus, Cavallaro teaches that the LEDs are located between the inner and outer layers of the shell as recited.
Regarding claim 2, note Figure 1 of Cavallaro showing a football with a prolate spheroid shape.
Regarding claim 7, note paragraph [0055] and Figure 16 of Cavallaro disclosing LEDs that are integrated into the skin of the ball body by holes (420, 422, 424, 426).
Regarding claim 9, the football of Cavallaro is capable of use in conjunction with VR systems. For example, the football is capable of being held or thrown while a user uses a VR system.
Regarding claim 11, the football of Cavallaro defines a prolate spheroid shape.
Regarding claim 17, note the rejection of claim 7 as these claims recite substantially similar limitations.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro (US 2011/0218065) in view of Minch (US 2014/0309059), Glover (US 2012/0157246) and Sreshta (US 2015/0219294). Regarding claims 8 and 20, the combination of Cavallaro in view of Minch lacks the teaching for the ball to include an indicator light and on/off switch as recited. Glover reveals that it is known in the art of electronic footballs to provide the football with an on/off switch. Note Figure 2 and paragraph [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electric football of Cavallaro with an on/off switch in order to prevent battery drain when the football is not being used. However, the combination of Cavallaro in view of Glover lacks the teaching for the indicator light as recited. Sreshta reveals that it is known in the art of inflatable lighted objects having an on/off switch (130) to include an indicator light (128) to indicate the status of the object. Note paragraph [0024] and Figure 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the ball of Cavallaro as modified by Glover with the indicator light of Sreshta in order to indicate the status of the battery and object.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavallaro (US 2011/0218065) in view of Minch (US 2014/0309059), Thurman (US 2014/0200103) and Chang (US 2008/0076271). Regarding claim 12, Cavallaro teaches a light system comprising a plurality of LEDs. Note also paragraph [0058] disclosing a control board (454) and a battery. However, Cavallaro lacks the teaching for the charging chip and magnetic charging cable adapter as recited. Thurman reveals that it is known in the art of electronic sports balls to provide the ball with a charge sensor and a recharging port for recharging a battery. Note paragraphs [0155] and [0188] disclosing that the battery (1436) is rechargeable via a charging port extending from the battery and a power sensor (2308) determines the charging level of the ball. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electric ball of Cavallaro with a rechargeable battery and the charging port and power sensor of Thurman in order to permit recharging and monitoring of the battery in the electric ball. It is noted that the charging port defines a cable adapter, however, the port is not a magnetic adapter as recited. Chang reveals that it is known in the art of rechargeable batteries to provide a magnetic charging cable adapter for recharging the battery. Note Figure 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the electric ball of Cavallaro as modified by Thurman with the magnetic charging cable adapter of Chang in order to permit recharging of a rechargeable battery.
Regarding claim 13, note paragraph [0058] of Cavallaro defining the printed circuit board (454) that is mounted to the cover by an adhesive such as double sided tape. The double sided tape defines a mounting base that is secured to an internal surface of a skin of the ball body as
recited. It is also noted that paragraph [0058] discloses wiring (456) that connects the LEDs together. Thus, Cavallaro teaches electrical wiring that connects the LEDs to the various circuit boards.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant contends that Cavallaro lacks the teaching for the shell of the ball to define a skin with an outer layer, an inner layer and a central layer with the LEDs positioned between the inner and outer layers of the ball. The applicant states that Cavallaro teaches a carcass of multilayer construction but lacks the teaching for the LEDs to be positioned between the respective inner and outer layers of the shell. However, this argument is not persuasive. Cavallaro particularly teaches a multilayer construction for the shell of the ball. Note paragraphs [0030]-[0032] and Figures 2B and 18 teaching that the ball comprises a bladder layer (22), a layer of windings around the bladder, a cover layer (12) and one or more layers of elastomeric material. Thus, Cavallaro teaches an outer layer (i.e., a cover) and inner and central layers (i.e., layers of windings and elastomeric material) that enclose the bladder. Further, Cavallaro teaches locating the LEDs between the outer layer and the bladder (note paragraphs [0056] and [0057]) and that the shell may comprise multiple layers. Further, note paragraph [0060] stating that the electronic components can be located outside of the bladder, windings and elastomeric material, and inside of the cover. Thus, Cavallaro teaches that the LEDs are located between the inner and outer layers of the shell as recited.
Conclusion
/STEVEN B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711