DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, 17, and their depending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10, 11, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno (US Publication 2022/0285100) in view of Cha et al. (US Publication 2019/0180936).
In re claim 1, Nishikawa discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (11 – Figure 2, Figure 3, ¶44) having first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of 11 – Figure 2, Figure 3) opposing each other in a first direction (‘Z’ direction – Figure 2), third and fourth surfaces (surfaces of 11 opposing in the ‘X’ direction – Figure 1, Figure 2) connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction (Figure 1, Figure 2), and fifth and sixth surfaces (surfaces of 11 opposing in the ‘Y’ direction – Figure 1, Figure 2) connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Figure 1, Figure 2), and including a dielectric layer (20 – Figure 2, ¶57) and first and second internal electrodes (12, 13 – Figure 2, ¶61) alternately disposed in the first direction while having the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Figure 2);
a first external electrode (14 – Figure 1, Figure 2) disposed on the third surface and connected to the first internal electrode (12 – Figure 1); and
a second external electrode (15 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶46) disposed on the fourth surface and connected to the second internal electrode (13 – Figure 2),
wherein the body includes a capacitance formation portion (18 – Figure 2, ¶53) where the first and second internal electrodes overlap each other in the first direction (Figure 2),
the body includes a first margin portion (17a – Figure 3, ¶48) that is disposed on one side surface (note that 17a extends to the surfaces opposing in the ‘X’ direction – Figure 2, Figure 3) or the other side surface of the capacitance formation portion in the second direction (‘X’ direction – Figure 2) and that includes an end of the first or second internal electrode (12, 13 – Figure 2, Figure 3),
the dielectric layer (20 – Figure 3) includes a first region disposed at a center region of the dielectric layer that is included in the capacitance formation portion (region in 18 - Figure 3), and a second region included in the first margin portion (region in 17a or 17b – Figure 3), and
at least one element of magnesium (Mg), silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), bismuth (Bi), manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb), terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), and dysprosium (Dy) is included in the second region, and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75),
vanadium (V) is not substantially included in the first region (¶54-55).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of silicon (Si) in the first region is less than 0.5 at% of total elements in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 2, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 1, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the center region is from 1/5 point to 4/5 point when a region of the dielectric layer (20 – Figure 3) that is included in the capacitance formation portion (18 – Figure 2, Figure 3) is divided into five parts in the second direction (‘X’ direction - Figure 3), and is from 1/3 point to 2/3 point when the region of the dielectric layer (20 – Figure 3) that is included in the capacitance formation portion is divided into third parts in the first direction (‘Z’ direction – Figure 3).
In re claim 3, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 1, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein magnesium (Mg) is the element included in the second region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
In re claim 6, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 5, as explained above. Mizuno does not disclose wherein silicon (Si) is not substantially included in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 10, Mizuno discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (11 – Figure 2, Figure 3, ¶44) having first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of 11 – Figure 2, Figure 3) opposing each other in a first direction (‘Z’ direction – Figure 2), third and fourth surfaces (surfaces of 11 opposing in the ‘X’ direction – Figure 1, Figure 2) connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction (Figure 1, Figure 2), and fifth and sixth surfaces (surfaces of 11 opposing in the ‘Y’ direction – Figure 1, Figure 2) connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Figure 1, Figure 2), and including a dielectric layer (20 – Figure 2, ¶57) and first and second internal electrodes (12, 13 – Figure 2, ¶61) alternately disposed in the first direction while having the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Figure 2);
a first external electrode (14 – Figure 1, Figure 2) disposed on the third surface and connected to the first internal electrode (12 – Figure 1); and
a second external electrode (15 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶46) disposed on the fourth surface and connected to the second internal electrode (13 – Figure 2),
wherein the body includes a capacitance formation portion (18 – Figure 2, ¶53) where the first and second internal electrodes overlap each other in the first direction (Figure 2),
the body includes a first margin portion (17a – Figure 3, ¶48) that is disposed on one side surface (note that 17a extends to the surfaces of 11 opposing in the ‘X’ direction – Figure 2, Figure 3) or the other side surface of the capacitance formation portion in the second direction (‘X’ direction – Figure 2, Figure 3) and that includes an end of the first or second internal electrode (12, 13 – Figure 3),
the body includes a second margin portion (17b – Figure 3) that is disposed on one surface or the other surface of the capacitance formation portion (Figure 3) in the third direction (‘Y’ direction – Figure 3),
the dielectric layer (20 – Figure 3) includes a first region disposed at a center region of the dielectric layer that is included in the capacitance formation portion (region in 18 - Figure 3), and a second region included in the first margin portion (region in 17a – Figure 3),
a third region included in the second margin portion (region within 17b – Figure 3),
at least one element of silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), bismuth (Bi), manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb), terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), and dysprosium (Dy) is included in the second region, and not substantially included in the first region and the third region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75),
vanadium (V) is not substantially included in the first region (¶54-55).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of silicon (Si) in the first region is less than 0.5 at% of total elements in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 11, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 10, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the center region is from 1/5 point to 4/5 point when a region of the dielectric layer that is included in the capacitance formation portion (18 – Figure 2, Figure 3) is divided into five parts in the second direction or third direction (Figure 2, Figure 3), and is from 1/3 point to 2/3 point when the region of the dielectric layer (20 – Figure 2, Figure 3) that is included in the capacitance formation portion is divided into third parts in the first direction (‘Z’ direction – Figure 2, Figure 3).
In re claim 17, Mizuno discloses a multilayer electronic component comprising:
a body (11 – Figure 2, Figure 3, ¶44) having first and second surfaces (top and bottom surfaces of 11 – Figure 2, Figure 3) opposing each other in a first direction (‘Z’ direction – Figure 2), third and fourth surfaces (surfaces of 11 opposing in the ‘X’ direction – Figure 1, Figure 2) connected to the first and second surfaces and opposing each other in a second direction (Figure 1, Figure 2), and fifth and sixth surfaces (surfaces of 11 opposing in the ‘Y’ direction – Figure 1, Figure 2) connected to the first to fourth surfaces and opposing each other in a third direction (Figure 1, Figure 2), and including a dielectric layer (20 – Figure 2, ¶57) and first and second internal electrodes (12, 13 – Figure 2, ¶61) alternately disposed in the first direction while having the dielectric layer interposed therebetween (Figure 2);
a first external electrode (14 – Figure 1, Figure 2) disposed on the third surface and connected to the first internal electrode (12 – Figure 1); and
a second external electrode (15 – Figure 1, Figure 2, ¶46) disposed on the fourth surface and connected to the second internal electrode (13 – Figure 2),
wherein the body includes a capacitance formation portion (18 – Figure 2, ¶53) where the first and second internal electrodes overlap each other in the first direction (Figure 2),
the body includes a second margin portion (17b – Figure 3) that is disposed on one surface or the other surface of the capacitance formation portion (Figure 3) in the third direction (‘Y’ direction – Figure 3),
the dielectric layer (20 – Figure 3) includes a first region disposed at a center region of the dielectric layer that is included in the capacitance formation portion (region in 18 - Figure 3), and a third region included in the second margin portion (region in 17b – Figure 3),
at least one element of silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), bismuth (Bi), manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb), terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), and dysprosium (Dy) is included in the second region, and not substantially included in the first region and the third region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75),
vanadium (V) is not substantially included in the first region (¶54-55).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of silicon (Si) in the first region is less than 0.5 at% of total elements in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 18, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 17, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the center region is from 1/5 point to 4/5 point when a region of the dielectric layer that is included in the capacitance formation portion (18 – Figure 2, Figure 3) is divided into five parts in the third direction (Figure 2, Figure 3), and is from 1/3 point to 2/3 point when the region of the dielectric layer (20 – Figure 2, Figure 3) that is included in the capacitance formation portion is divided into third parts in the first direction (‘Z’ direction – Figure 2, Figure 3).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno (US Publication 2022/0285100) in view of Cha et al. (US Publication 2019/0180936) and in further view of Isota et al. (US Publication 2022/0102076).
In re claim 4, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 3, as explained above. Mizuno does not disclose wherein the second region further includes titanium (Ti), and a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the second region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti)
Isota further discloses wherein the second region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶21, ¶33), and a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the second region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) (¶52).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the magnesium content as described by Isota to improve humidity load resistance (¶52: Isota).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno (US Publication 2022/0285100) in view of Cha et al. (US Publication 2019/0180936) and in further view of Nishikawa et al. (US Publication 2018/0301282) and in further view of Cha ‘898 et al. (US Publication 2022/0277898).
In re claim 5, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 1, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91).
Mizuno does not disclose at least one of aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi) is the element included in the second region and not substantially included in the first region.
Nishikawa discloses at least one of aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi) is the element included in the second region and not substantially included in the first region (¶47-48), and
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sintering additive concentrations as described by Nishikawa to lower the sintering temperature of the margin portions (¶28: Nishikawa).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of at least one of aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu),sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi), included in the second region, is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti).
Cha ‘898 discloses a content of at least one of aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu),sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi), included in the second region, is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) (Table 1: Sample 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the element of lithium into the side margin portions to prevent insulation breakdown (¶95: Cha ‘898).
Claim(s) 7-9, 12-16, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno (US Publication 2022/0285100) in view of Cha et al. (US Publication 2019/0180936) and in further view of Nishikawa et al. (US Publication 2018/0301282).
In re claim 7, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 1, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91),
at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co) , tin (Sn), indium (In) , gallium (Ga) , zinc (Zn) , lead (Pb) , silver (Ag),palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru),osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy) is the element included in the second region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy), included in the second region, is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti).
Nishikawa discloses a content of at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy), included in the second region, is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) (See Mn concentration in ¶45, ¶48).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sintering additive concentrations as described by Nishikawa to lower the sintering temperature of the margin portions (¶28: Nishikawa).
In re claim 8, Mizuno in view of Cha and in further view of Nishikawa discloses the component of claim 7, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein manganese (Mn) is the element included in the second region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
In re claim 9, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 1, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91), magnesium and manganese are included in the second region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose wherein silicon (Si) is not substantially included in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Mizuno does not disclose relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the second region, a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the second region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less, a content of silicon (Si) included in the second region is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less, and a content of manganese (Mn) included in the second region is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less.
Nishikawa discloses relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the second region, a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the second region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less (¶45, ¶47), a content of silicon (Si) included in the second region is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less (¶45), and a content of manganese (Mn) included in the second region is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less (¶45, ¶48). Nishikawa further discloses that adjusting the amount of Si in the second region is correlated to the suppression of cracks and improved humidity resistance (¶30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sintering additive concentrations as described by Nishikawa to lower the sintering temperature of the margin portions (¶28: Nishikawa). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the amount of Si in the margin portions to create a balance between mechanical strength and manufacturing costs, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 12, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 10, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region or the third region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91).
Mizuno does not disclose at least one of silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi) is the element included in the at least one of the second region and the third region and not substantially included in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of at least one of silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi), included in the at least one of the second region and the third region, is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti).
Nishikawa discloses a content of at least one of silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi), included in the at least one of the second region and the third region, is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) (¶45, ¶48). Nishikawa further discloses that adjusting the amount of Si in the second region is correlated to the suppression of cracks and improved humidity resistance (¶30). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the amount of Si in the margin portions to create a balance between mechanical strength and manufacturing costs, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 13, Mizuno in view of Cha and in further view of Nishikawa discloses the component of claim 12, as explained above. Mizuno does not disclose wherein silicon (Si) is not substantially included in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 14, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 10, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region or the third region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91),
at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co) , tin (Sn), indium (In) , gallium (Ga) , zinc (Zn) , lead (Pb) , silver (Ag),palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru),osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy) is the element included in the at least one of the second region and the third region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy), included in the second region, is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti).
Nishikawa discloses a content of at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy), included in the second region, is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) (See Mn concentration in ¶45, ¶48).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sintering additive concentrations as described by Nishikawa to lower the sintering temperature of the margin portions (¶28: Nishikawa).
In re claim 15, Nishikawa in view of Cha and in further view of Nishikawa discloses the component of claim 14, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein manganese (Mn) is the element included in the at least one of the second region and the third region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
In re claim 16, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 10, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region or third region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91), magnesium and manganese are included in the second region or the third region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose wherein silicon (Si) is not substantially included in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Mizuno does not disclose relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the second region or the third region, a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the second region or the third region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less, a content of silicon (Si) included in the second region or the third region is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less, and a content of manganese (Mn) included in the second region or the third region is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less.
Nishikawa discloses relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the second region or the third region, a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the second region or the third region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less (¶45, ¶47), a content of silicon (Si) included in the second region or the third region is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less (¶45), and a content of manganese (Mn) included in the second region or the third region is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less (¶45, ¶48). Nishikawa further discloses that adjusting the amount of Si in the second region or the third region is correlated to the suppression of cracks and improved humidity resistance (¶30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sintering additive concentrations as described by Nishikawa to lower the sintering temperature of the margin portions (¶28: Nishikawa). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the amount of Si in the margin portions to create a balance between mechanical strength and manufacturing costs, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
In re claim 20, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 17, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region or the third region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91),
at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co) , tin (Sn), indium (In) , gallium (Ga) , zinc (Zn) , lead (Pb) , silver (Ag),palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru),osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy) is the element included in the at least one of the second region and the third region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy), included in the second region, is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti).
Nishikawa discloses a content of at least one of manganese (Mn), chromium (Cr), vanadium (V), iron (Fe), nickel (Ni), cobalt (Co), tin (Sn), indium (In), gallium (Ga), zinc (Zn), lead (Pb), silver (Ag), palladium (Pd), platinum (Pt), Iridium (Ir), ruthenium (Ru), osmium (Os), yttrium (Y), erbium (Er), ytterbium (Yb),terbium (Tb), holmium (Ho), and dysprosium (Dy), included in the second region, is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) (See Mn concentration in ¶45, ¶48).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sintering additive concentrations as described by Nishikawa to lower the sintering temperature of the margin portions (¶28: Nishikawa).
In re claim 21, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 17, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region or third region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91), magnesium and manganese are included in the second region or the third region and not substantially included in the first region (¶67, ¶71, ¶75).
Mizuno does not explicitly disclose wherein silicon (Si) is not substantially included in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Mizuno does not disclose relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the third region, a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the third region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less, a content of silicon (Si) included in the third region is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less, and a content of manganese (Mn) included in the third region is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less.
Nishikawa discloses relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) included in the third region, a content of magnesium (Mg) included in the third region is 1 mole or more and 5 moles or less (¶45, ¶47), a content of silicon (Si) included in the third region is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less (¶45), and a content of manganese (Mn) included in the third region is 1 mole or more and 3 moles or less (¶45, ¶48). Nishikawa further discloses that adjusting the amount of Si in the second region or the third region is correlated to the suppression of cracks and improved humidity resistance (¶30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the sintering additive concentrations as described by Nishikawa to lower the sintering temperature of the margin portions (¶28: Nishikawa). Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the amount of Si in the margin portions to create a balance between mechanical strength and manufacturing costs, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizuno (US Publication 2022/0285100) in view of Cha et al. (US Publication 2019/0180936) and in further view of Cha ‘898 et al. (US Publication 2022/0277898).
In re claim 19, Mizuno in view of Cha discloses the component of claim 1, as explained above. Mizuno further discloses wherein the second region further includes titanium (Ti) (¶54, ¶91).
Mizuno does not disclose at least one of silicon (Si), aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu), sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi) is the element included in the second region and not substantially included in the first region.
Cha discloses that lowering the silicon content in the capacitance region results in a higher dielectric constant (¶87).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to lower the amount of Silicon in the capacitance forming region to achieve a device having increased capacitance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Mizuno does not disclose a content of at least one of aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu),sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi), included in the second region, is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti).
Cha ‘898 discloses a content of at least one of aluminum (Al), lithium (Li), copper (Cu),sodium (Na), and bismuth (Bi), included in the second region, is 2 moles or more and 7 moles or less relative to 100 moles of titanium (Ti) (Table 1: Sample 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the element of lithium into the side margin portions to prevent insulation breakdown (¶95: Cha ‘898).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al. (US Publication 2019/0115153) [¶17]
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848