DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fisher (US 20230081083).
Regarding claim 1, Fisher teaches an electrified vehicle (EV) charging device (figure 1 item 100 defined in paragraph [0082] as a mobile EV charging station) comprising
a support structure (figure 1 shows the EV charging station with a first side 102, a second side 104, a first end 106 and a second end 106 as defined in paragraph [0088]),
said support structure defined to receive at least one electrical storage device within an opening in the support structure (paragraph [0083] discloses wherein the EV Charging station includes batteries that supply power to charge the EV vehicles),
said support structure further comprising a display unit (figure 1 item 122a-c disclosed in paragraph [0093] as a monitor) and
a charging wire, said charging wire configured for attaching to a port on an EV for providing charge from the electrical storage device to the EV (figures 7 and 9 and paragraph [0089] discloses a charging wire or a charging connector for connecting to EV vehicle for providing charge).
Fisher figures 7 and 63 show an Electric vehicle charging system. Figure 63 shows the EV charging station with wind turbines shaped like flowers or tulips
Regarding claim 2, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 1 wherein said support structure comprises an aesthetic exterior (figures 34 and 63 shows wherein the support structure comprises an aesthetic exterior item 802 and 1602, respectively. Paragraph [0136] defines the turbines item 802 as flowers).
Regarding claim 3, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 2 wherein the aesthetic exterior is selected from the group consisting of: a tree, a hedge, a vegetative display, and combinations thereof (figures 34 and 63 shows wherein the support structure comprises an aesthetic exterior item 802 and 1602, respectively. Paragraph [0136] defines the turbines item 802 as flowers).
Regarding claim 4, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 2 wherein the aesthetic exterior comprises a charging element selected from a photoelectric panel and a turbine figures 34 and 63 shows wherein the support structure comprises an aesthetic exterior item 802 and 1602, respectively. Paragraph [0136] defines the turbines item 802 as flowers).
Regarding claim 10, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 1 further comprising a wireless connectivity element, a processor, and software sufficient to provide a connection between the EV charging device and a battery in an EV (paragraphs [0091] and [0100] discloses wireless communications, processor and software to provide communications between EV charging and battery in an EV)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 20230081083) in view of Flynn (US 20210245614).
Regarding claim 5, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach further comprising a support base comprising an aperture.
Flynn teaches comprising a support base comprising an aperture (figures 2 and 3 shows a base item 10 defined in paragraph [0020] as a platform comprising apertures items 16 defined in paragraph [0021] as openings).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher reference with the charging system of the Flynn reference so that the electric vehicle charging device is secured to the ground.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Flynn reference in paragraph [0023] wherein the charging system is secured to the ground.
Flynn figure 3 shows apertures or openings items 16 in a base or platform item 20
Regarding claim 6, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 5 further but does not explicitly teach comprising wherein the support structure comprises a structure aperture which is aligned with the aperture within the support base, wherein the structure aperture and the aperture within the support base are configured to receive a fastener to secure said support base to a ground surface by having a head of the fastener on a first side of the aperture and a shaft portion of the fastener passing through both of the aperture within the support base and the structure aperture, said shaft portion to be received within a substrate below the support structure.
Flynn teaches wherein the support structure comprises a structure aperture which is aligned with the aperture within the support base, wherein the structure aperture and the aperture within the support base are configured to receive a fastener to secure said support base to a ground surface by having a head of the fastener on a first side of the aperture and a shaft portion of the fastener passing through both of the aperture within the support base and the structure aperture, said shaft portion to be received within a substrate below the support structure (figures 2 and 3 shows a base item 10 defined in paragraph [0020] as a platform comprising apertures items 16 defined in paragraph [0021] as openings. Paragraph [0019] discloses wherein the platform item 10 may be secured by a fastening means. Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the openings may use fasteners including bollard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher reference with the charging system of the Flynn reference so that the electric vehicle charging device is secured to the ground.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Flynn reference in paragraph [0023] wherein the charging system is secured to the ground.
Regarding claim 11, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 1 further but does not explicitly teach comprising at least one fastener engaging to a base and to a ground surface, said EV charging device separately connected to said base.
Flynn teaches comprising at least one fastener engaging to a base and to a ground surface, said EV charging device separately connected to said base (figures 2 and 3 shows a base item 10 defined in paragraph [0020] as a platform comprising apertures items 16 defined in paragraph [0021] as openings. Paragraph [0019] discloses wherein the platform item 10 may be secured by a fastening means. Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the openings may use fasteners including bollard).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher reference with the charging system of the Flynn reference so that the electric vehicle charging device is secured to the ground.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Flynn reference in paragraph [0023] wherein the charging system is secured to the ground.
Regarding claim 12, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 1 comprising a base (figure 7 shows a charging device with a base) but does not explicitly teach a fastener, said base having a top side, a bottom side, and one aperture disposed of between said top side and said bottom side, said top side of said base contacting the EV charging device and the bottom side of the base in contact with a ground surface, wherein the aperture within the base aligns with a second aperture within the support structure, and wherein a single fastener is suitable for securing the EV charging device to said base and into a surface.
Flynn teaches a fastener, said base having a top side, a bottom side, and one aperture disposed of between said top side and said bottom side, said top side of said base contacting the EV charging device and the bottom side of the base in contact with a ground surface, wherein the aperture within the base aligns with a second aperture within the support structure, and wherein a single fastener is suitable for securing the EV charging device to said base and into a surface (figures 2 and 3 shows a base item 10 defined in paragraph [0020] as a platform comprising apertures items 16 defined in paragraph [0021] as openings. Paragraph [0019] discloses wherein the platform item 10 may be secured by a fastening means. Paragraph [0021] discloses wherein the openings may use fasteners including bollard. Paragraph [0017] discloses wherein the platform includes a top plate with one or more openings, thus, a single fastener may be used to secure the base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher reference with the charging system of the Flynn reference so that the electric vehicle charging device is secured to the ground.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Flynn reference in paragraph [0023] wherein the charging system is secured to the ground.
Claims 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 20230081083) in view of Flynn (US 20210245614) as applied to claim 6 and in further view of Raynor (US 20240246434) (provisional date November 23, 2022).
Regarding claim 7, Fisher and Flynn teach the EV charging device of claim 6 but do not explicitly teach wherein the fastener comprises an anchor space which defines a space between the support base and a head of the fastener and wherein the structure aperture receives the head and secures the charging device to the support base.
Raynor teaches wherein the fastener comprises an anchor space which defines a space between the support base and a head of the fastener and wherein the structure aperture receives the head and secures the charging device to the support base (figure 1 item 40 and paragraphs [0033] and [0034] disclose wherein a fastener used within the system includes an anchors and fasteners).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher and Flynn references with the charging system of the Raynor reference so that the charging station is easy and less expensive to install.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Raynor reference in paragraph [0002] wherein the charging station is easy and less expensive to install.
Regarding claim 8, Fisher in view of Flynn teach EV charging device of claim 7, but do not explicitly teach further comprising a locking member positioned within the support base wherein the locking member is configured to engage to the fastener.
Raynor teaches further comprising a locking member positioned within the support base wherein the locking member is configured to engage to the fastener (figure 1 item 40 and paragraphs [0033] and [0034] disclose wherein a fastener used within the system includes an anchors, fasteners and locks to secure the base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher and Flynn references with the charging system of the Raynor reference so that the charging station is easy and less expensive to install.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Raynor reference in paragraph [0002] wherein the charging station is easy and less expensive to install.
Regarding claim 9, Fisher in view of Flynn teach EV charging device of claim 8, but do not explicitly teach wherein the locking member is configured to engage to the head of the fastener.
Raynor teaches wherein the locking member is configured to engage to the head of the fastener (figure 1 item 40 and paragraphs [0033] and [0034] disclose wherein a fastener used within the system includes an anchors, fasteners and locks to secure the base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher and Flynn references with the charging system of the Raynor reference so that the charging station is easy and less expensive to install.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Raynor reference in paragraph [0002] wherein the charging station is easy and less expensive to install.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 20230081083) in view of Penilla (US 20120271723).
Regarding claim 13, Fisher teaches system for charging an electrified vehicle (EV) with a wireless EVcharging device, said wireless EVcharging device comprising:
a. at least one battery, a housing surrounding the at least one battery (paragraph [0083] discloses wherein the EV Charging station includes batteries that supply power to charge the EV vehicles), a wireless transceiver, and a processor suitable for operating software and the wireless transceiver (paragraph [0100] discloses wireless communications, processors and software that uses transceivers to receive and transmit information such as a Bluetooth® connection); and defining a kilowatt-hours of electricity stored within the at least one battery (paragraph [0140] discloses wherein there are kilowatt-hours of electricity stored within the battery).
Fisher does not explicitly teach:
b. said wireless EVcharging device having a known GPS location
c. a network, said network defining the GPSlocation of said wireless EVcharging device;
d. the network defining the total amount of charge remaining within the system at the wireless EVcharging device at the particular GPSlocation; and
e. the system operating said software to perform the following steps:
i. receiving a request for a charge of an EV;
ii. defining the amount of charge desired for the EV;
iii. identifying the closest wireless EVcharging device having the charging capacity for the EV; and
iv. providing a GPSlocation for the wireless EVcharging device having capacity for the EV.
Penilla teaches wherein
b. said wireless EVcharging device having a known GPSlocation (paragraph [0139] discloses wherein the location of the charging device may be tracked by gps)
c. a network, said network defining the GPSlocation of said wireless EVcharging device (paragraph [0045] discloses a mobile network which is used to determine location. Paragraph [0139] discloses wherein the location of the charging device may be tracked by gps);
d. the network defining the total amount of charge remaining within the system at the wireless EVcharging device at the particular GPSlocation (paragraph [0169] discloses wherein a total amount of remaining charge within the system is determined); and
e. the system operating said software to perform the following steps:
i. receiving a request for a charge of an EV (paragraphs [0018] and [0169] discloses receiving a request for charging an EV);
ii. defining the amount of charge desired for the EV (paragraphs [0018] and [0169] discloses defining an amount of charge desired for an EV);
iii. identifying the closest wireless EV charging device having the charging capacity for the EV EV (paragraph [0169] identifying if the station has sufficient charge); and
iv. providing a GPSlocation for the wireless EVcharging device having capacity for the EV (paragraph [0018] discloses determining various location to receive charge).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher reference with the requesting system of the Penilla reference so that users of electric vehicle could easily access different locations of the charging device.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Penilla reference in paragraph [0012] wherein electric vehicle users access different locations of the charging device.
Regarding claim 14, Fisher teaches system of claim 13 further comprising transmitting stored power from the EV charging device to the EV (figures 7 and 9 and paragraph [0089] discloses a charging wire or a charging connector for connecting to EV vehicle for providing charge).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 20230081083) in view of Mergener (US 20240042861).
Regarding claim 15, Fisher teaches electrified vehicle (EV) charging device, said EV charging device (figure 1 item 100 defined in paragraph [0082] as a mobile EV charging station) comprising:
a support structure having a void defined therein (figure 1 shows the EV charging station with a first side 102, a second side 104, a first end 106 and a second end 106 as defined in paragraph [0088]);
at least one battery positioned within the void (paragraph [0083] discloses wherein the EV Charging station includes batteries that supply power to charge the EV vehicles);
the support structure having a base end and a top end (figure 1 shows the EV charging station with a first side 102, a second side 104, a first end 106 and a second end 106 as defined in paragraph [0088]);
a decorative feature positioned on said top end and a support base positioned on said base end (figures 34 and 63 shows wherein the support structure comprises an aesthetic exterior item 802 and 1602, respectively. Paragraph [0136] defines the turbines item 802 as flowers);
Fisher does not explicitly teach a lifting anchor configured to the at least one battery.
Mergener teaches a lifting anchor configured to the at least one battery (defined in paragraph [0041] wherein a lifting anchor, interpreted as an eyelet or an attachment point is attached to the battery pack for lifting by means of a crane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher reference with the lifting system of the Mergener reference so that an operator may easily lower or reattach the battery pack into the charging system.
[AltContent: textbox (Mergener figure 5 shows wherein an eyelet hook or lifting anchor item 504 is attached to battery 140)]
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Mergener reference in paragraph [0041] wherein easily moving the battery is taught.
Claims 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher (US 20230081083) in view of Mergener (US 20240042861) and in further view of Soroky (US 20220274495).
Regarding claim 16, Fisher and Mergener teach the EV charging device of claim 15, but do not explicitly teach wherein the lifting anchor comprises a threaded fastener at one end.
Soroky teaches wherein the lifting anchor comprises a threaded fastener at one end (defined in paragraphs [0033] and [0043] wherein the lifting anchors are threaded).
Soroky, Fisher and Mergerner are analogous art because all three systems teach a mobile vehicle charging system with lifting anchors attached to secure the charging device to the ground.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher and Mergener reference with the lifting system of the Soroky reference so the base may be more easily secured.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Soroky reference in paragraph [0033] wherein easily securing the base is taught.
Soroky figure 2 shows lifting anchors item 36 coupled to an Electrical vehicle charging device system
Regarding claim 17, Fisher and Mergener teach EV charging device of claim 15, but do not explicitly teach wherein the lifting anchor is defined with a threaded fastener at one end of the lifting anchor.
Soroky teaches wherein the lifting anchor is defined with a threaded fastener at one end of the lifting anchor (defined in paragraphs [0033] and [0043] wherein the lifting anchors are threaded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher and Mergener reference with the lifting system of the Soroky reference so the base may be more easily secured.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Soroky reference in paragraph [0033] wherein easily securing the base is taught.
Regarding claim 18, Fisher and Mergener teach the EV charging device of claim 17 but do not explicitly teach wherein the threaded fastener passes through an aperture within the support base.
Soroky teaches wherein the threaded fastener passes through an aperture within the support base (figure 2 item 36 defined in paragraphs [0033] and [0043] wherein the lifting anchors are threaded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher and Mergener reference with the lifting system of the Soroky reference so the base may be more easily secured.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Soroky reference in paragraph [0033] wherein easily securing the base is taught.
Regarding claim 19, Fisher and Mergener teach EV charging device of claim 18 but does not explicitly teach wherein removal of the at least one battery is defined by rotating the threaded fastener.
Soroky teaches wherein removal of the at least one battery is defined by rotating the threaded fastener (figure 2 item 36 defined in paragraphs [0033] and [0043] wherein the lifting anchors are threaded, thus rotating the threaded member will remove the anchor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher and Mergener reference with the lifting system of the Soroky reference so the base may be more easily secured.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Soroky reference in paragraph [0033] wherein easily securing the base is taught.
Regarding claim 20, Fisher teaches EV charging device of claim 18 but does not explicitly teach wherein removal of the at least one battery is performed by rotating the at least one lifting anchor, removing the at least one battery, and replacing the at least one battery with a second battery.
Mergener teaches wherein removal of the at least one battery is performed by rotating the at least one lifting anchor, removing the at least one battery, and replacing the at least one battery with a second battery (defined in paragraph [0041] wherein a lifting anchor, interpreted as an eyelet or an attachment point is attached to the battery pack for lifting by means of a crane. Thus, a second battery may be replaced in the same manner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Fisher reference with the lifting system of the Mergener reference so that an operator may easily lower or reattach the battery pack into the charging system.
The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Mergener reference in paragraph [0041] wherein easily moving the battery is taught.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Us 20150239352 A1 Vehicle Charging System Bell; Christopher W. Et Al.
Us 20180345809 A1 Recharging Station For Electric Public Transport Vehicle Derrien; Marc Et Al.
Us 20200039367 A1 Electric Or Hydrid Vehicle Lyden; Robert M.
Us 20110221203 A1 Portable Solar And Wind-Powered Energy Generating System Miller; Lynn A.
Us 20210155108 A1 Mobile Charging Stations Martin; Alan B. Et Al.
Us 20140197787 A1 Self-Charging Electric Vehicle Mashinsky; Alex Et Al.
Us 7230819 B2 Mobile Power System Muchow; David J. Et Al.
Us 20200189412 A1 Retrofit Electric Vehicle Charging System Rauma; Harri T.
Us 20140042956 A1 Self-Contained Renewable Battery Charger Wheatley; Desmond Et Al.
ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859