Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1 – 2, 14 – 15, 17 – 23, and 29 – 35 are pending in this application. Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks, filed March 25, 2026, is entered, wherein claim 1 is amended, claims 3 – 13, 16, and 24 – 28 are canceled, and claims 23 and 29 – 35 are withdrawn.
Claims 1 – 2, 14 – 15, and 17 – 22 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
4. This application is a continuation of 17/258,527, filed January 7, 2021, which is a national stage application of PCT/US2019/041351, filed July 11, 2019, that claims benefit of provisional application 62/696,440, 62/737,250, and 62/834,525, filed July 11, 2018, September 27, 2018, and April 16, 2019, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
ii. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
iii. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
iv. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or
nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 2, 14 – 15, and 17 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakao et al. (US6710054B2, cited in the previous Office Action mailed November 10, 2025).
a. Regarding claims 1 – 2, 14 – 15, and 17 – 22, Nakao et al. teach an invention relates to aryl or heteroaryl fused imidazole compounds, pharmaceutical compositions, and the medical uses (Col. 1, lines 10 – 13). Nakao et al. teach the core structure of formula (I):
.
Nakao et al. teach a species encompassed by formula (I):
with a name of 2-ethy-4,6-dimethyl-1-(4-{2-[({[(4-methylphenyl)sulfonyl]amino}carbonyl)amino]ethyl}phenyl)-1H-imidazo[4,5-c]pyridine (Col.19, lines 40 – 42), which corresponds to claimed compound II.
Nakao et al. also teach the general formula of formula (II):
with a specific example of:
.
The exemplified compound differs from impurity compounds I-9 and I-10 in the position of Y2, Y4, and R1. However, Nakao et al. teach in formula (II) that the positions can be N, CH, and C1-8 alkyl, respectively (Col. 5, lines 8 – 35). The aryl or heteroaryl fused imidazole compounds of this invention have an antagonistic action towards prostaglandin and are thus useful in therapeutics, particularly for the treatment of a disorder or condition such as pain, fever, or inflammation associated disorder, wherein the disorder is a cancer (Col. 3, lines 20 – 24; line 35). Nakao et al. teach that the pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula (I), a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and, optionally, one or more other pharmacologically active ingredients (Col. 4, lines 66 – 67; Col. 5, lines 1 – 2). In general, the therapeutically-effective compounds of this invention are present in such dosage forms at concentration levels ranging 5% to 95% by weight (Col. 87, lines 26 – 28). To yield the compound of formula (I),
is used as a reactant. Nakao et al. teach an example of synthesizing
,
wherein 2-chloro-4,6-dimethyl-3-nitropyridine
is used (Col. 88, line 65). Nakao et al. also teach that modifications of the reactant can be made at the positions Y2 and Y4, wherein Y2 is N and Y4 is CH (Col. 5, lines 8 – 62; Col. 41, lines 55 – 65), which corresponds to the claimed impurity compound VII. The preparation of the compound of formula (I) also involves suitable solvents, such as water, acetonitrile (Col. 73, line 24), and inert solvent, such as ethyl acetate (Col. 70, lines 1 – 2). Moreover, Nakao et al. teach Scheme 20:
,
wherein compound of formula 20-1 reacts with an appropriate acylating reagent to give a compound of formula 20-2, which corresponds to compounds C and D in S-4. Suitable acylating reagent includes an acid anhydride, such as acetic anhydride (Col. 79, lines 10 – 50). R1 in 20-2 and 20-3 may be C1-8 alkyl (Col. 1, line 62) and R20 may be NP, wherein P is a protecting group, such as Boc (Col. 80, line 63). The resulting amide compound of formula 20-2 may be cyclized to form compound of formula 20-3 or Ie-4 with a benzimidazole or imidazopyridine ring, which corresponds to compound B, in the presence of a base, such as sodium hydroxide with inert solvent, such as water (Col. 80, lines 25 – 33). The compound of formula Ie-4 may further react via deprotection:
as shown for obtaining the compound of formula 1e-5, which corresponds to compound A (Col. 38, lines 45 – 60). Nakao et al. further teach that that the compound of formula (1a) may be obtained via (Col. 26, lines 35 – 65):
,
wherein R1a is hydrogen (Col. 68, line 34), which is the compound of formula 1e-5. Z may be 5 – 12 membered monocyclic aromatic ring substituted with C1-4 alkyl (Col. 2, lines 41 – 46).
The claimed composition comprises compound II and the impurities in an unspecified amount. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims encompass any amount of one or more of the recited impurity compounds. There is no limitation on how much is present. The synthetic process for the impurity is also not limiting.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the exemplified compound of formula (I):
and the exemplified compound of formula (II):
with the modification of Y2 is N; Y4 is CH; and R1 is C1-8 alkyl as taught by Nakao et al. to treat the same disease because Nakao et al. teach that the aryl or heteroaryl fused imidazole compounds of this invention may be used to treat cancer. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to do this because both species of formulae (I) and (II) are fused imidazole compound that are known in the prior art for the purpose of treating disorder, such as cancer, and it would have been obvious to combine them to treat the same disease. It would also have been obvious to modify formula (II) because the substituents are known in the art and the modification will still yield a compound for the same purpose. Nakao et al. teach the claimed synthesis of compound II, which includes acylation, cyclization, deprotection, and coupling. For the limitation “propionyl protecting reagent”, which later being specified as “propionic acid anhydride”, it would have been obvious to substitute the acetic anhydride as taught by Nakao et al. with propionic acid anhydride because it has long been established that this type of difference, which is varying the size of a chain, constitutes a form of homology, and is a fact of a very close structural similarity, rendering the homolog obvious. Nakao et al. teach that the compounds of this invention may present at a concentration of 5% by weight. Based on the suggestion, one would have performed routine experimentation to discover the best therapeutically-effective concentration of these compounds of the invention for optimal treatment characteristics. Nakao et al. teach to use 2-chloro-4,6-dimethyl-3-nitropyridine as the reactant when synthesizing
.
It is expected that the reactant would be modified to
with Y2 is N and Y4 is CH for the synthesis of
.
For the limitations of claims 18 – 21, Nakao et al. teach that the reactant used to yield the compound of formula (I), water, ethyl acetate, and acetonitrile are used in the preparation of the compounds. It would have been obvious to include a residual amount of reactant and solvent remaining from the synthesis, since such reactant and solvents are used in preparing the claimed compound, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that trace or small amounts may remain in the final product without affecting its pharmaceutical properties. One would also have performed routine experimentation to control the residual solvent and reactant content to meet purity standards. Therefore, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the compound of formula (I) and formula (II) as taught by Nakao et al. to treat the same disease because it is well known to combine drugs to treat the same disease, and further Nakao et al. teach that the compound of formula (I) can be used in combination with other drugs.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed March 25, 2026, have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive.
In the last response, Applicant argues that the synthetic route to obtain compound II in the present application is via the BOC protection route, but Nakao et al. teach the sodium azide route. Applicant further explains that the BOC protection route is adopted for the preparation of compound A and utilizes compound B as a key synthetic intermediate. Applicant argues that the sodium azide route does not suggest or predict to produce impurity compounds I-1, I-2, I-9, or I-10 because these four impurities come from the ring closure reaction of compound D to compound B. The argument is not persuasive. The modified rejection based on Nakao et al. clearly demonstrates that the claimed compound II may be produced via the BOC protection route. As discussed above, there is no limitation on how much the impurity is present and they synthetic process for the impurity is not limiting. Therefore, the rejection over Nakao et al. render the claimed invention obvious.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693