DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stubbe (DE 102010037754 A1).
Re: claim 1, Stubbe teaches a track fitting (Fig. 1 - 2) for securing an item to a track, the track (Fig. 2 - 1) being defined by a channel (4) having a first undercut (5) and a second undercut (6) on opposite sides of a top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening), the track fitting comprising: a first fitting member (Fig. 2 – 11) having a first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) and a first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) on opposite sides thereof, and a first partial hole (16) on the first face; and, a second fitting member (12) having a second flange (18) and a second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) on opposite sides thereof and a second partial hole (16) on the second face.
Re: claim 2, Stubbe teaches wherein: the first fitting member (11) and second fitting member (12) are each configured for independent top down insertion (See Fig. 2) into the channel (4) through the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening), whereby the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) can be inserted in the first undercut (5), the second flange (18) can be inserted in the second undercut (6), and the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) can be disposed adjacent and generally parallel (See Fig. 1) to the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face); the first partial hole (16 of 11) and the second partial hole (16 of 12) define a substantially complete hole (See 16 of Fig. 1) for receiving a fastener (3) when the first face is aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See Fig. 1).
Re: claim 5, Stubbe teaches wherein the first fitting member (11) comprises a plurality of first partial holes (16 & 17) spaced along a length of the first fitting member (11) (See Fig. 2), the second fitting member (12) comprises a plurality of second partial holes (16 & 17) spaced along a length of the second fitting member (12) (See Fig. 2), and the plurality of first partial holes and the plurality of second partial holes define a plurality of substantially complete holes (Fig. 1 – 16 & 17) for receiving a plurality of fasteners (3) (See also Paragraph 0015) when the first face is aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See Fig. 1).
Re: claim 7, Stubbe teaches wherein the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) is disposed along an entire length of the first fitting member (11) (See Also Paragraph 0038) and the second flange (18) is disposed along an entire length of the second fitting member (12) (See Also Paragraph 0038).
Re: claim 13, Stubbe teaches wherein: the first partial hole (16 of 11) has an axis that is generally parallel to the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2); and, the second partial hole (16 of 12) has an axis that is generally parallel to the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2).
Re: claim 15, Stubbe teaches further comprising a locking member (3), wherein: the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening) is defined by a pair of opposing lips (Annotated Fig. 1 – lips) each having a plurality of scallops (15); a first portion of the locking member (3) engages an opposing pair of the plurality of scallops (15) (Annotated Fig. 1 – engaging scallops) and a second portion of the locking member (3) engages with at least one of the first fitting member (11) and the second fitting member (12) to prevent the at least one of the first fitting member and the second fitting member from moving (8) in a longitudinal direction relative to the track (See Fig. 6).
Re: claim 17, Stubbe teaches a method for using the track fitting of claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1), the method comprising the steps of: inserting the first fitting member (Fig. 2 – 11) in the channel (4) through the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening) (See Fig. 2); sliding the first fitting member (11) in a first lateral direction whereby the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) is disposed in the first undercut (5) (See Fig. 2); inserting the second fitting member (12) in the channel (4) through the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening) (See Fig. 2), whereby the second fitting member (12) is laterally displaced from the first fitting member (See Fig. 3); sliding the second fitting member in a second lateral direction whereby the second flange (18) is disposed in the second undercut (6) (See Fig. 4), the second lateral direction being opposite of the first lateral direction (See Fig. 2-4); sliding one or both of the first fitting member and the second fitting member until the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) is adjacent the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) and the first partial hole (16 of 11) is aligned with the second partial hole (16 of 12) (See Fig. 1), whereby the first partial hole and the second partial hole for a substantially complete hole (16 in Fig. 1); and, inserting a fastener (3) into the substantially complete hole (See Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 6, 8, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe in view of Cox et al. (Patent No. 10,266,098).
Re: claim 3, Stubbe is silent on wherein the fastener is a threaded fastener and the first partial hole and the second partial hole comprise a pair of threaded partial holes that are configured to receive the threaded fastener when aligned.
However, Cox et al. teaches wherein the fastener is a threaded fastener (Fig. 11 – 93) and the hole comprises a threaded hole (73) that is configured to receive the threaded fastener when aligned (See Fig. 11).
Stubbe and Cox et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of track fittings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s partial holes and fastener with those of Cox et al.’s threading in order to provide the advantage of a system with more positive engagement which would reduce the chance of the system coming loose from vibrations and movement.
Re: claim 4, Stubbe is silent on wherein the fastener is a threaded fastener and the first partial hole and the second partial hole comprise a pair of threaded partial holes that are configured to receive the threaded fastener when aligned.
However, Cox et al. teaches wherein the fastener is a threaded fastener (Fig. 11 – 93) and the hole comprises a threaded hole (73) that is configured to receive the threaded fastener when aligned (See Fig. 11).
Stubbe and Cox et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of track fittings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s partial holes and fastener with those of Cox et al.’s threading in order to provide the advantage of a system with more positive engagement which would reduce the chance of the system coming loose from vibrations and movement.
Re: claim 6, Stubbe teaches wherein the first fitting member (11) comprises a plurality of first partial holes (16 & 17) spaced along a length of the first fitting member (11) (See Fig. 2), the second fitting member (12) comprises a plurality of second partial holes (16 & 17) spaced along a length of the second fitting member (12) (See Fig. 2), and the plurality of first partial holes and the plurality of second partial holes define a plurality of substantially complete holes (Fig. 1 – 16 & 17) for receiving a plurality of fasteners (3) (See also Paragraph 0015) when the first face is aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See Fig. 1).
Re: claim 8, Stubbe teaches wherein the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) is disposed along an entire length of the first fitting member (11) (See Also Paragraph 0038) and the second flange (18) is disposed along an entire length of the second fitting member (12) (See Also Paragraph 0038).
Re: claim 14, Stubbe teaches wherein: the first partial hole (16 of 11) has an axis that is generally parallel to the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2); and, the second partial hole (16 of 12) has an axis that is generally parallel to the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe in view of Bailey et al. (Patent No. 3,818,577).
Re: claim 9, Stubbe fails to teach further comprising a frangible connector connecting the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face.
However, Bailey et al. teaches further comprising a frangible connector (Fig. 3 - 28) connecting the first fitting member (24) to the second fitting member (26) with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See 29).
Stubbe and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31).
Re: claim 10, Bailey et al. teaches wherein the frangible connector (fig. 3 – 28) comprises one of an adhesive, a weld (Col. 2 – lines 60-68 and Col. 3 – lines 12-24), and a tape.
Re: claim 11, Bailey et al. teaches wherein the frangible connector (Fig. 3 – 28) is formed integral (Col. 1 – lines 60-68) with the first fitting member (24) and the second fitting member (26).
Claim(s) 12 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe in view of Cox et al. in further view of Bailey et al. (Patent No. 3,818,577).
Re: claim 12, Stubbe and Cox et al. fail to teach further comprising a frangible connector connecting the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face.
However, Bailey et al. teaches further comprising a frangible connector (Fig. 3 - 28) connecting the first fitting member (24) to the second fitting member (26) with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See 29).
Stubbe, Cox et al., and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31).
Re: claim 19, Stubbe fails to teach further comprising the step of threading the hole while the first fitting member is still fixed to the second fitting member.
However, Cox et al. teaches further comprising the step of threading the hole (See Fig. 14 – 73). Cox fails to teach while the first fitting member is still fixed to the second fitting member.
It is noted by the examiner that Cox et al. is a one-piece construction.
However, Bailey et al. teaches the step of boring a hole (Col. 1 – lines 50-59) while the first fitting member (Fig. 3 - 24) is still fixed to the second fitting member (26).
Stubbe, Cox et al., and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Cox et al.’s threading with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31), with the additional advantage of threading increasing positive engagement which would reduce the chance of the system coming loose from vibrations and movement.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe in view of Kumar (US 2020/0155386 A1).
Re: claim 16, Stubbe fails to teach wherein the first flange includes an upper flange portion and a lower flange portion for engagement on opposite sides of an inwardly directed projection in a side wall of the first undercut of the track, wherein the upper flange portion is received in an upper undercut region while the lower flange portion is received in a lower undercut region.
However, Kumar teaches wherein the first flange (Fig. 15 – 1215) includes an upper flange portion (1210) and a lower flange portion (1220) for engagement on opposite sides of an inwardly directed projection (1225) in a side wall of the first undercut of the track (1105), wherein the upper flange portion is received in an upper undercut region (Annotated Fig. 15 – upper region) while the lower flange portion is received in a lower undercut region (Annotated Fig. 15 – lower region).
Stubbe and Kumar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of track fittings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s flange with those of Kumar’s upper and lower flange and track shape in order to provide the advantage of increasing the strength such that the fitting is not pulled out of the channel in an accident (See Paragraph 0068 of Kumar).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe.
Re: claim 18, Stubbe is silent on the method comprising the steps of: providing the first fitting member and the second fitting member without the first partial hole and the second partial hole; fixing the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face adjacent the second face; and, drilling a hole in a top surface of the first fitting member and the second fitting member to simultaneously form the first partial hole in the first fitting member and the second partial hole in the second fitting member.
It is noted that one having ordinary skill in the art would perform this step in the manufacturing process in order to get a properly sized hole for receiving a fastener.
Conclusion
/PHILIP C ADAMS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612