Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7-8, 13-15, 17-18, and 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe in view of Cox et al. (Patent No. 10,266,098).
Re: claim 1, Stubbe teaches a track fitting (Fig. 1 - 2) for securing an item to a track, the track (Fig. 2 - 1) being defined by a channel (4) having a first undercut (5) and a second undercut (6) on opposite sides of a top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening), the track fitting comprising: a first fitting member (Fig. 2 – 11) having a first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) and a first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) on opposite sides thereof, and a first partial hole (16) on the first face; a second fitting member (12) having a second flange (18) and a second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) on opposite sides thereof and a second partial hole (16) on the second face; the first partial hole (Annotated Fig. 2 – face - 16) and the second partial hole (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face – 16) are configured to receive a fastener (3) when the first face is aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See Fig. 1). Stubbe is silent on wherein the fastener is a threaded fastener and the first partial hole and the second partial hole comprise a pair of threaded partial holes that are configured to receive the threaded fastener when aligned.
However, Cox et al. teaches wherein the fastener is a threaded fastener (Fig. 11 – 93) and the hole comprises a threaded hole (73) that is configured to receive the threaded fastener when aligned (See Fig. 11).
Stubbe and Cox et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of track fittings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s partial holes and fastener with those of Cox et al.’s threading in order to provide the advantage of a system with more positive engagement which would reduce the chance of the system coming loose from vibrations and movement. It is noted by the examiner that a threaded fastener and threaded holes would increase the surface area of which contact is made between the mating parts (fastener and hole), which increases positive engagement of the system. Vibrations/sudden movement of the system could jostle the fastener out of the hole to a point where the system could fail, where the threaded system of Cox would reduce the likelihood of this to occur.
Re: claim 2, Stubbe teaches wherein: the first fitting member (11) and second fitting member (12) are each configured for independent top down insertion (See Fig. 2) into the channel (4) through the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening), whereby the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) can be inserted in the first undercut (5), the second flange (18) can be inserted in the second undercut (6), and the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) can be disposed adjacent and generally parallel (See Fig. 1) to the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face); the first partial hole (16 of 11) and the second partial hole (16 of 12) define a substantially complete hole (See 16 of Fig. 1) when the first face is aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See Fig. 1).
Re: claim 5, Stubbe teaches wherein the first fitting member (11) comprises a plurality of first partial holes (16 & 17) spaced along a length of the first fitting member (11) (See Fig. 2), the second fitting member (12) comprises a plurality of second partial holes (16 & 17) spaced along a length of the second fitting member (12) (See Fig. 2), and the plurality of first partial holes and the plurality of second partial holes define a plurality of substantially complete holes (Fig. 1 – 16 & 17) for receiving a plurality of fasteners (3) (See also Paragraph 0015) when the first face is aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See Fig. 1).
Re: claim 7, Stubbe teaches wherein the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) is disposed along an entire length of the first fitting member (11) (See Also Paragraph 0038) and the second flange (18) is disposed along an entire length of the second fitting member (12) (See Also Paragraph 0038).
Re: claim 8, Stubbe teaches wherein the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) is disposed along an entire length of the first fitting member (11) (See Also Paragraph 0038) and the second flange (18) is disposed along an entire length of the second fitting member (12) (See Also Paragraph 0038).
Re: claim 13, Stubbe teaches wherein: the first partial hole (16 of 11) has an axis that is generally parallel to the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2); and, the second partial hole (16 of 12) has an axis that is generally parallel to the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2).
Re: claim 14, Stubbe teaches wherein: the first partial hole (16 of 11) has an axis that is generally parallel to the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2); and, the second partial hole (16 of 12) has an axis that is generally parallel to the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) and generally transverse to a longitudinal direction of the track fitting (2) (See Fig. 2).
Re: claim 15, Stubbe teaches further comprising a locking member (3), wherein: the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening) is defined by a pair of opposing lips (Annotated Fig. 1 – lips) each having a plurality of scallops (15); a first portion of the locking member (3) engages an opposing pair of the plurality of scallops (15) (Annotated Fig. 1 – engaging scallops) and a second portion of the locking member (3) engages with at least one of the first fitting member (11) and the second fitting member (12) to prevent the at least one of the first fitting member and the second fitting member from moving (8) in a longitudinal direction relative to the track (See Fig. 6).
Re: claim 17, Stubbe teaches a method for using the track fitting of claim 1 (See Rejection of Claim 1), the method comprising the steps of: inserting the first fitting member (Fig. 2 – 11) in the channel (4) through the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening) (See Fig. 2); sliding the first fitting member (11) in a first lateral direction whereby the first flange (Annotated Fig. 2 – flange) is disposed in the first undercut (5) (See Fig. 2); inserting the second fitting member (12) in the channel (4) through the top opening (Annotated Fig. 5 – top opening) (See Fig. 2), whereby the second fitting member (12) is laterally displaced from the first fitting member (See Fig. 3); sliding the second fitting member in a second lateral direction whereby the second flange (18) is disposed in the second undercut (6) (See Fig. 4), the second lateral direction being opposite of the first lateral direction (See Fig. 2-4); sliding one or both of the first fitting member and the second fitting member until the first face (Annotated Fig. 2 – face) is adjacent the second face (Annotated Fig. 2 – 2nd face) and the first partial hole (16 of 11) is aligned with the second partial hole (16 of 12) (See Fig. 1), whereby the first partial hole and the second partial hole for a substantially complete hole (16 in Fig. 1); and, inserting a fastener (3) into the substantially complete hole (See Fig. 1).
Re: claim 18, Stubbe and Cox are silent on the method comprising the steps of: providing the first fitting member and the second fitting member without the first partial hole and the second partial hole; fixing the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face adjacent the second face; and, drilling a hole in a top surface of the first fitting member and the second fitting member to simultaneously form the first partial hole in the first fitting member and the second partial hole in the second fitting member.
It is noted that one having ordinary skill in the art would perform this step in the manufacturing process in order to get a properly sized hole for receiving a fastener.
Re: claim 20, Stubbe teaches wherein the first and second partial holes are each split along a plane that is parallel to an axis of the first and second partial holes (See Annotated Fig. 2 – face, 2nd face).
Re: claim 21, Stubbe teaches wherein the first and second partial holes are semi-circles (See Annotated Fig. 2 – 16 on face and 2nd face).
Claim(s) 9-12, 19, and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe in view of Cox in further view of Bailey et al. (Patent No. 3,818,577).
Re: claim 9, Stubbe and Cox et al. fail to teach further comprising a frangible connector connecting the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face.
However, Bailey et al. teaches further comprising a frangible connector (Fig. 3 - 28) connecting the first fitting member (24) to the second fitting member (26) with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See 29).
Stubbe, Cox et al., and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31).
Re: claim 10, Bailey et al. teaches wherein the frangible connector (fig. 3 – 28) comprises one of an adhesive, a weld (Col. 2 – lines 60-68 and Col. 3 – lines 12-24), and a tape.
Re: claim 11, Bailey et al. teaches wherein the frangible connector (Fig. 3 – 28) is formed integral (Col. 1 – lines 60-68) with the first fitting member (24) and the second fitting member (26). Re: claim 12, Stubbe and Cox et al. fail to teach further comprising a frangible connector connecting the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face.
However, Bailey et al. teaches further comprising a frangible connector (Fig. 3 - 28) connecting the first fitting member (24) to the second fitting member (26) with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See 29).
Stubbe, Cox et al., and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31).
Re: claim 19, Stubbe fails to teach further comprising the step of threading the hole while the first fitting member is still fixed to the second fitting member.
However, Cox et al. teaches further comprising the step of threading the hole (See Fig. 14 – 73). Cox fails to teach while the first fitting member is still fixed to the second fitting member.
It is noted by the examiner that Cox et al. is a one-piece construction.
However, Bailey et al. teaches the step of boring a hole (Col. 1 – lines 50-59) while the first fitting member (Fig. 3 - 24) is still fixed to the second fitting member (26).
Stubbe, Cox et al., and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Cox et al.’s threading with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31), with the additional advantage of threading increasing positive engagement which would reduce the chance of the system coming loose from vibrations and movement.
Re: claim 22, Stubbe and Cox et al. fail to teach further comprising a frangible connector connecting the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face.
However, Bailey et al. teaches further comprising a frangible connector (Fig. 3 - 28) connecting the first fitting member (24) to the second fitting member (26) with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See 29).
Stubbe, Cox et al., and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31).
Re: claim 23, Stubbe and Cox et al. fail to teach further comprising a frangible connector connecting the first fitting member to the second fitting member with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face.
However, Bailey et al. teaches further comprising a frangible connector (Fig. 3 - 28) connecting the first fitting member (24) to the second fitting member (26) with the first face aligned adjacent and generally parallel to the second face (See 29).
Stubbe, Cox et al., and Bailey et al. are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because all are in the same field of connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s first and second member with those of Bailey et al.’s frangible connection/manufacturing method in order to provide the advantage of reducing the cost of manufacturing and having the parts be easier to make (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stubbe in view of Cox in further view of Kumar (US 2020/0155386 A1).
Re: claim 16, Stubbe and Cox fails to teach wherein the first flange includes an upper flange portion and a lower flange portion for engagement on opposite sides of an inwardly directed projection in a side wall of the first undercut of the track, wherein the upper flange portion is received in an upper undercut region while the lower flange portion is received in a lower undercut region.
However, Kumar teaches wherein the first flange (Fig. 15 – 1215) includes an upper flange portion (1210) and a lower flange portion (1220) for engagement on opposite sides of an inwardly directed projection (1225) in a side wall of the first undercut of the track (1105), wherein the upper flange portion is received in an upper undercut region (Annotated Fig. 15 – upper region) while the lower flange portion is received in a lower undercut region (Annotated Fig. 15 – lower region).
Stubbe, Cox, and Kumar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of track fittings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before to the effective filing date of the given invention to modify Stubbe’s flange with those of Kumar’s upper and lower flange and track shape in order to provide the advantage of increasing the strength such that the fitting is not pulled out of the channel in an accident (See Paragraph 0068 of Kumar).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Addressing the Arguments directed toward the combination of Stubbe in view of Cox, the Applicant argues that the combination of Stubbe and Cox is impermissible hindsight reconstruction and that a person having ordinary skill in the art would not find reason to combine the two arts given that Stubbe achieves positive engagement via mechanical interference and that the combination would replace this system with one of frictional resistance. The examiner disagrees in that a threaded fastener and threaded holes would increase the surface area of which contact is made between the mating parts (fastener and hole), which increases positive engagement of the system. Vibrations/sudden movement of the system could jostle the current fastener of Stubbe out of the hole to a point where the system could fail, where the threaded system of Cox would reduce the likelihood of this to occur. Both systems rely on frictional resistance to maintain its position in the hole of the rails, the addition of the threading of Cox would increase this frictional resistance and reduce the ability for the system to fail.
Addressing the Arguments directed toward the combination of Stubbe in view of Bailey, the Applicant argues that Bailey fails to teach a partial-hole configuration. The Examiner agrees; however, the art is being relied upon to teach the claim limitation of a frangible connector which connects a first and a second fitting member together when the faced are aligned and parallel to one another with motivation taken from Bailey (See Bailey et al. Col. 1 – lines 30-31).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP C ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/AMY R WEISBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3612