DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US20200284908A1, David L. Paulsen.
Regarding claim 1, Paulsen teaches:
A method comprising:
capturing a depth image, the capturing comprising: estimating, by a distance sensing device, first distance values associated with a plurality of first pixels from a pixel array of the distance sensing device, one or more of the first distance values being estimated for each first pixel, the first distance values being estimated based on travel times of light pulses of a first light pulse train transmitted towards a scene, the first light pulse train having a first period ([0243] first pulse period to a plurality of first pixels); and
estimating, by the distance sensing device, second distance values associated with a plurality of second pixels from the pixel array, one or more of the second distance values being estimated for each second pixel, the second distance values being estimated based on travel times of light pulses of a second light pulse train transmitted towards the scene, the second light pulse train having a second period different from the first period ([0243] second pulse period to a plurality of second pixels);
for each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the second pixels, validating or invalidating one or more of the first distance values, based on a comparison between the estimating of the first distance value associated with the first pixel and estimating of at least one of the second distance values associated with the at least one second adjacent pixel ([0162] pixel under test, discarding pixels, [0142] lidar system may be configured to ignore or discard a pixel associated with range ambiguity); and
storing, in a memory of the distance sensing device, indications of the first pixels having been validated and/or invalidated ([0248] processor may write one or more results to memory).
Regarding claim 2, Paulsen teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising, for each of the second pixels being adjacent to at least one of the first pixels([0189] first and second pixel are adjacent along scan line):
validating or invalidating the second pixel, based on a comparison between the estimating of one or more of the second distance values associated with the second pixel and the estimating of at least one of the first distance values associated with the at least one first adjacent pixel ([0179] pixel validation via the pixel under test within a pixel neighborhood); and
storing, in the memory, indications of the second pixel having been validated and/or invalidated ([0248] processor may write results into memory).
Regarding claim 3, Paulsen teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein a first pixel, among the first pixels being adjacent to the at least one second pixel among the second pixels, is validated in response to determining that the estimating of one or more of the first distance values differs from the estimating of the value of at least one second distance, associated with the at least one second adjacent pixel, by less than a threshold value ([0180] pixel under test of a pixel neighborhood, [0179] determining whether a pixel is range wrapped with respect to neighboring pixels).
Regarding claim 4, Paulsen teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
estimating one or more third distance values associated with a plurality of third pixels of the pixel array, the third distance values being estimated based on travel times of light pulses of a third light pulse train transmitted towards the scene, the third light pulse train having a third period different from both the first and second periods ([0218] a third optical signal emitted to obtain a third distance, [0149] a third time period different from the first and second); and
for each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the third pixels, validating or invalidating, further based on a comparison between the estimating of one or more of the first distance values associated with the first pixel and the estimating of at least one of the third distance values associated with the at least one third adjacent pixel ([0212] pixel under test to determine range wrapping by comparing the values of the third PDM value to the first and second PDM values).
Regarding claim 5, Paulsen teaches:
The method according to claim 4, further comprising for each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the second pixels and to at least one of the third pixels ([Fig. 32] first pixel adjacent to at least one second and third pixel), estimating an unambiguous distance based on the travel times of the light pulses of the first, second, and third light pulse trains ([0185] estimating a distance based on first, second and third light pulse trains).
Regarding claim 6, Paulsen teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein at least some of the first pixels have adjacent second pixels and/or other adjacent pixels ([Fig. 32 first pixel adjacent to at least one second and third pixel), associated with distances estimated based on trains of light pulses transmitted during capture phases shifted over time ([0067] distances based on pulses trains transmitted during phases shifted over time), the validating or invalidating of the at least some of the first pixels, taking an age of the capture phases associated with the adjacent pixels into account ([0163] taking the time intervals of each pulse and adjacent pixel capture phases into account, [0221] discarding pixels based on updated point cloud).
Regarding claim 7, Paulsen teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first pixels are arranged in a checkboard pattern into at least a subpart of the pixel array ([Fig. 32] first pixel arranged in checkboard pattern).
Regarding claim 8, Paulsen teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of first pixels and the plurality of second pixels belong to an area corresponding in the scene to a target the distance thereof with respect to the distance sensing device is shorter than a limit distance ([0192] a distance threshold representing the amount of distance offset a pixel may have in the pixel under test and still be a part of a pixel neighborhood.
Regarding claim 9, Paulsen teaches:
A distance sensing device configured to capture a depth image, the distance sensing device comprising:
a detection circuit configured to:
estimate one or more first distance values associated with a plurality of first pixels from a pixel array of the distance sensing device, based on travel times of light pulses of a first light pulse train transmitted towards a scene, the first light pulse train having a first period ([0243] first pulse period to a plurality of first pixels); and
estimate of one or more second distance values associated with a plurality of second pixels from the pixel array, based on travel times of light pulses of a second light pulse train transmitted towards the scene, the second light pulse train having a second period different from the first period ([0243] second pulse period to a plurality of second pixels);
validate or invalidate each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the second pixels based on a comparison between the estimation of the one or more first distance values associated with the first pixel and the estimation of at least one of the second distance values associated with the at least one second adjacent pixel ([0162] pixel under test, discarding pixels, [0142] lidar system may be configured to ignore or discard a pixel associated with range ambiguity); and
a memory coupled to the detection circuit and configured to store indications of the first pixels having been validated and/or invalidated ([0248] processor may write one or more results to memory).
Regarding claim 10, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 9, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to:
validate or invalidate each of the second pixels being adjacent to at least one of the first pixels based on a comparison between the estimate of the one or more second distance values associated with the second pixel and the estimate of at least one of the first distance values associated with the at least one first adjacent pixel ([0179] pixel validation via the pixel under test within a pixel neighborhood); and
store, in the memory, indications of the second pixels having been validated and/or invalidated ([0248] processor may write results into memory).
Regarding claim 11, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 9, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to:
determine whether the estimate of the one or more first distance values associated with a first pixel among the first pixels being adjacent to the at least one second pixel among the second pixels, differs from the estimate of the value of at least one second distance associated with the at least one second adjacent pixel, of less than a threshold value; and
in response to determining the estimate of the one or more first distance values differs from the estimate of the value of the at least one second distance is less than the threshold value, validate the first pixel ([0180] pixel under test of a pixel neighborhood, [0179] determining whether a pixel is range wrapped with respect to neighboring pixels, [0192] a threshold distance represents an amount of distance offset a pixel may have with respect to the pixel under test).
Regarding claim 12, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 9, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to:
estimate one or more third distance values associated with a plurality of third pixels of the pixel array, based on travel times of light pulses of a third light pulse train transmitted towards the scene, the third light pulse train having a third period different from both the first and second periods ([0218] a third optical signal emitted to obtain a third distance, [0149] a third time period different from the first and second); and
validate or invalidate each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the third pixels, further based on a comparison between the estimate of the one or more first distance values associated with the first pixel and the estimate of at least one of the third distance values associated with the at least one third adjacent pixel ([0212] pixel under test to determine range wrapping by comparing the values of the third PDM value to the first and second PDM values).
Regarding claim 13, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 12, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to estimate an unambiguous distance, for each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the second pixels and to at least one of the third pixels ([Fig. 32] first pixel adjacent to at least one second and third pixel), based on travel times of the light pulses of the first, second, and third light pulse trains ([0185] estimating a distance based on first, second and third light pulse trains).
Regarding claim 14, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 9, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to validate or invalidate at least some first pixels having adjacent second pixels and/or other adjacent pixels ([Fig. 32 first pixel adjacent to at least one second and third pixel), associated with distances estimated based on trains of light pulse transmitted during capture phases shifted over time ([0067] distances based on pulses trains transmitted during phases shifted over time), taking an age of the capture phases of the adjacent pixels into account ([0163] taking the time intervals of each pulse and adjacent pixel capture phases into account, [0221] discarding pixels based on updated point cloud).
Regarding claim 15, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 9, further configured to arrange the plurality of first pixels in a checkboard into at least a subpart of the pixel array ([Fig. 32] first pixel arranged in checkboard pattern).
Regarding claim 16, Paulsen teaches:
A distance sensing device configured to capture a depth image, the distance sensing device comprising:
a detection circuit configured to:
estimate one or more first distance values associated with a plurality of first pixels from a pixel array of the distance sensing device, based on travel times of light pulses of a first light pulse train transmitted towards a scene, the first light pulse train having a first period ([0243] first pulse period to a plurality of first pixels); and
estimate of one or more second distance values associated with a plurality of second pixels from the pixel array, based on travel times of light pulses of a second light pulse train transmitted towards the scene, the second light pulse train having a second period different from the first period ([0243] second pulse period to a plurality of second pixels);
validate or invalidate each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the second pixels based on a comparison between the estimation of the one or more first distance values associated with the first pixel and the estimation of at least one of the second distance values associated with the at least one second adjacent pixel ([0162] pixel under test, discarding pixels, [0142] lidar system may be configured to ignore or discard a pixel associated with range ambiguity);
a memory coupled to the detection circuit and configured to store indications of the first pixels having been validated and/or invalidated ([0248] processor may write one or more results to memory);
a light source controlled by the detection circuit and configured to generate the first and second light pulse trains ([0046] a light source configured to generate a plurality of pulse reptations);
a first lens configured to direct the first and second light pulse trains toward the scene [(0055] one or more lenses to expand, focus, or collimate the output beam); and
a second lens configured to receive the first and second light pulse trains reflected from the scene and direct the first and second light pulse trains to the detection circuit ([0055] one or more lenses to focus the input beam onto a photodetector).
Regarding claim 17, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 16, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to:
validate or invalidate each of the second pixels being adjacent to at least one of the first pixels based on a comparison between the estimate of the one or more second distance values associated with the second pixel and the estimate of at least one of the first distance values associated with the at least one first adjacent pixel ([0179] pixel validation via the pixel under test within a pixel neighborhood); and
store, in the memory, indications of the second pixels having been validated and/or invalidated ([0248] processor may write results into memory).
Regarding claim 18, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 16, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to:
determine whether the estimate of the one or more first distance values associated with a first pixel among the first pixels being adjacent to the at least one second pixel among the second pixels, differs from the estimate of the value of at least one second distance associated with the at least one second adjacent pixel, of less than a threshold value ([0180] pixel under test of a pixel neighborhood, [0179] determining whether a pixel is range wrapped with respect to neighboring pixels, [0192] a threshold distance represents an amount of distance offset a pixel may have with respect to the pixel under test).; and
in response to determining the estimate of the one or more first distance values differs from the estimate of the value of the at least one second distance is less than the threshold value, validate the first pixel ([0217] pixel under test determining a pixel is not range-wrapped if the values of the neighboring pixels is less than a particular non-range-wrap threshold value).
Regarding claim 19, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 16, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to:
estimate one or more third distance values associated with a plurality of third pixels of the pixel array, based on travel times of light pulses of a third light pulse train transmitted towards the scene, the third light pulse train having a third period different from both the first and second periods ([0218] a third optical signal emitted to obtain a third distance, [0149] a third time period different from the first and second); and
validate or invalidate each of the first pixels being adjacent to at least one of the third pixels, further based on a comparison between the estimate of the one or more first distance values associated with the first pixel and the estimate of at least one of the third distance values associated with the at least one third adjacent pixel ([0212] pixel under test to determine range wrapping by comparing the values of the third PDM value to the first and second PDM values).
Regarding claim 20, Paulsen teaches:
The distance sensing device according to claim 16, wherein the detection circuit is further configured to validate or invalidate at least some first pixels having adjacent second pixels and/or other adjacent pixels, associated with distances estimated based on trains of light pulse transmitted during capture phases shifted over time, taking an age of the capture phases of the adjacent pixels into account ([0163] taking the time intervals of each pulse and adjacent pixel capture phases into account, [0221] discarding pixels based on updated point cloud).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20200264310A1, Nicolas Le Dortz et al, Spatial correlation sampling in time-of-flight imaging.
US20050030394A1, Sunetra Mendis et al, Pixel defect correction in a CMOS active pixel image sensor
DOI: 10.1109/TETC.2020.2976807, Ghislain Takam Tchendjou et al, Detection, Location and Concealment of Defective Pixels in Image Sensors
DOI: 10.1109/VTS.2019.8758638, Ghislain Takam Tchendjou et al, Defective Pixel Analysis for Image Sensor Online Diagnostic and Self-Healing
/JOHN CESARE TRIDICO/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645