DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vieira et al. (US PG Pub. 20190179152).
Regarding claim 1, Vieira discloses an extended reality projection system comprising:
a head-mounted display (para. 0002; display device can be a see-through display device, a head mounted display device, a see-through head mounted display device, a helmet mounted display device, a see-through helmet mounted display device, a head-up display device and/or a see-through head-up display device); and
a set of polychrome pixel panels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6) collectively configured to produce a color image for presentation on the head-mounted display (illustrated in figs. 6 and 7; and para. 0127; optical element 18 has magnifying optical properties such that a (virtual)), the set of polychrome pixel panels (18) configured with a coordinated pixel arrangement in which, for a particular pixel position:
a first panel (18-1) of the set of polychrome pixel panels includes a red pixel (para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue),
a second panel (18-2) of the set of polychrome pixel panels includes a green pixel (para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue), and
a third panel (18-3) of the set of polychrome pixel panels includes a blue pixel (para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Regarding claim 2, Vieira discloses wherein the head-mounted display is implemented by an augmented reality glasses device that includes (para. 0114; the display device 10, for augmented reality vision): a lens (para. 0011; an optical element may be or may comprise a holographic converging lens (e.g. a transmission hologram of a converging lens) having optical properties representing a converging lens or a holographic concave mirror (e.g. a reflection hologram of a concave mirror)) configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing a passage of light from an environment (para. 0011); and a frame (para. 0143; the display device 10 may comprise a positioning device (not shown), such as a glasses frame or spectacle frame, which arranges and/or firmly holds the display device 10 relative the user's eye(s) 30) configured to hold the lens and including: a left endpiece on a left side of the augmented reality glasses device (para. 0143), a right endpiece on a right side of the augmented reality glasses device, and a bridge between the left endpiece and the right endpiece (para. 0143).
Regarding claim 10, Vieira discloses a method comprising:
producing, by a red pixel at a particular pixel position in a first panel of a set of polychrome pixel panels within a head-mounted display, red light for a color image presented on the head-mounted display (para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue and can be driven accordingly);
producing, by a green pixel at the particular pixel position in a second panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels, green light for the color image (para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue and can be driven accordingly); and
producing, by a blue pixel at the particular pixel position in a third panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels, blue light for the color image (para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue and can be driven accordingly).
Regarding claim 11, Vieira discloses wherein the head-mounted display is implemented by an augmented reality glasses device that includes:
a lens (para. 0011; an optical element may be or may comprise a holographic converging lens (e.g. a transmission hologram of a converging lens) having optical properties representing a converging lens or a holographic concave mirror (e.g. a reflection hologram of a concave mirror)) configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing a passage of light from an environment; and
a frame (para. 0143; the display device 10 may comprise a positioning device (not shown), such as a glasses frame or spectacle frame, which arranges and/or firmly holds the display device 10 relative the user's eye(s) 30) configured to hold the lens and including:
a left endpiece on a left side of the augmented reality glasses device (para. 0143; states that the AR display device is in the form of glasses; therefore, there is a left endpiece),
a right endpiece on a right side of the augmented reality glasses device (para. 0143; states that the AR display device is in the form of glasses; therefore, there is a right endpiece), and
a bridge between the left endpiece and the right endpiece (para. 0143; states that the AR display device is in the form of glasses; therefore, there is a bridge between the left endpiece and the right endpiece).
Claim(s) 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by El-Ghoroury et al. (US PG Pub. 20170108697).
Regarding claim 14, El-Ghoroury discloses an augmented reality glasses device (para. 0022; near-eye wearable display 1… The lenses 5 may comprise non-planar surfaces or piecewise planar surfaces and be configured to operate in an augmented reality (AR)) comprising:
a left lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below) associated with a left side of the augmented reality glasses device and configured to facilitate a display of a color image while allowing a passage of light from an environment;
a right lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below) associated with a right side of the augmented reality glasses device and configured to facilitate the display of the color image while allowing the passage of light from the environment;
a frame (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below) configured to hold the left lens (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below) and the right lens and including a left endpiece (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below) on the left side, a right endpiece on the right side (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below), and
a bridge (shown in the examiners illustration of fig. 1 below) between the left endpiece and the right endpiece;
a first set of polychrome pixel panels (image sources 55 of the left side of the near-eye wearable display 1 of fig. 4) collectively configured to produce the color image for presentation on the left side, the first set of polychrome pixel panels configured with a coordinated pixel arrangement;
a first waveguide (waveguide structure 40 of fig. 4 for the left side of the near-eye wearable display 1) configured to guide light from the first set of polychrome pixel panels (55) to achieve the presentation on the left side, the first waveguide (40) integrated into the left lens and including separate input apertures for each polychrome pixel panel in the first set of polychrome pixel panels (illustrated in fig. 4);
a second set of polychrome pixel panels (image sources 55 of the right side of the near-eye wearable display 1 of fig. 4) collectively configured to produce the color image for presentation on the right side, the second set of polychrome pixel panels configured with the coordinated pixel arrangement; and
a second waveguide (waveguide structure 40 of fig. 4 for the left side of the near-eye wearable display 1) configured to guide light from the second set of polychrome pixel panels (55) to achieve the presentation on the right side, the second waveguide (40) integrated into the right lens and including separate input apertures for each polychrome pixel panel in the second set of polychrome pixel panels (illustrated in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, El-Ghoroury discloses wherein: the first set of polychrome pixel panels (left side of the wearable display panels 55 of fig. 4) is integrated within the frame in a first vertically-stacked arrangement (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 3A); and the second set of polychrome pixel panels (right side of the wearable display panels 55 of fig. 4) is integrated within the frame in a second vertically-stacked arrangement (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 3A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieira et al. (US PG Pub. 20190179152) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Levola et al. (US PG Pub. 20160231570).
Regarding claim 3, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach wherein display is integrated into the bridge of the frame.
Levola discloses wherein the display is integrated into the bridge of the frame (left display 15L and right display 15R of fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify head-mounted display of Vieira wherein the display is centrally located over the nose bridge of the user which reduces fatigue around the users ears.
Claim(s) 4-7, 9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieira et al. (US PG Pub. 20190179152) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of El-Ghoroury et al. (US PG Pub. 20170108697).
Regarding cl aim 4, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach wherein the set of polychrome pixel panels is integrated into one of the left endpiece of the frame.
El-Ghoroury discloses wherein the set of polychrome pixel panels is integrated into one of the left endpiece of the frame (illustrated in fig. 1 the pixel panels are integrated within the glasses' frame temple 75).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the pixel panels of Vieira integrating the pixel panels within the glasses frame of El-Ghoroury in order to make the head mounted display more aesthetically pleasing.
Regarding claim 5, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach wherein: the lens is a left lens and the augmented reality glasses device further includes a right lens configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing the passage of light from the environment; the frame is configured to hold the left lens on the left side and to hold the right lens on the right side; the set of polychrome pixel panels is a first set of polychrome pixel panels collectively configured to produce the color image for presentation on the left side; and the extended reality projection system further includes a second set of polychrome pixel panels collectively configured to produce the color image for presentation on the right side, the second set of polychrome pixel panels configured with the coordinated pixel arrangement.
El-Ghoroury discloses wherein: the lens is a left lens and the augmented reality glasses device further includes a right lens (illustrated in fig. 1) configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing the passage of light from the environment (para. 0029; dual-mode AR/VR near-eye wearable display 1 of the invention may further comprise at least one image source 55 directly optically coupled to a respective waveguide structure 40 of each of lenses 5 whereby each image source 55 is capable of generating and outputting a digital optical image portion comprising a 2D array of multi-color pixels); the frame (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 1) is configured to hold the left lens on the left side and to hold the right lens on the right side (shown above in the examiners illustration of fig. 1); the set of polychrome pixel panels is a first set of polychrome pixel panels collectively configured to produce the color image for presentation on the left side (para. 0029; lenses 5 whereby each image source 55 is capable of generating and outputting a digital optical image portion comprising a 2D array of multi-color pixels); and the extended reality projection system further includes a second set of polychrome pixel panels (panels 55 of fig. 4 on for the right lens) collectively configured to produce the color image for presentation on the right side, the second set of polychrome pixel panels configured with the coordinated pixel arrangement (para. 0029; lenses 5 whereby each image source 55 is capable of generating and outputting a digital optical image portion comprising a 2D array of multi-color pixels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the head-mounted display of Vieira with the waveguides of El-Ghoroury in order to efficiently distribute the light from the pixel panel to the users eye.
Regarding claim 6, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach further comprising a waveguide configured to guide light from the set of polychrome pixel panels to achieve the presentation on the head-mounted display, the waveguide including separate input apertures for each of the first panel, the second panel, and the third panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels.
El-Ghoroury discloses further comprising a waveguide (waveguide layers 50 of fig. 4) configured to guide light from the set of polychrome pixel panels (para. 0029; mage source 55 is capable of generating and outputting a digital optical image portion comprising a 2D array of multi-color pixels) to achieve the presentation on the head-mounted display, the waveguide (50) including separate input apertures (illustrated in fig. 4; input aperture 40, there is a separate input aperture for each image source 55) for each of the first panel, the second panel, and the third panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels (illustrated in fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the head-mounted display of Vieira with the waveguides of El-Ghoroury in order to efficiently distribute the light from the pixel panel to the users eye.
Regarding claim 7, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach wherein the head-mounted display is implemented by an augmented reality glasses device that includes a lens into which the waveguide is integrated, the lens configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing a passage of light from an environment.
El-Ghoroury discloses wherein the head-mounted display is implemented by an augmented reality glasses device (para. 0029; The dual-mode AR/VR near-eye wearable display 1 of the invention may further comprise at least one image source 55) that includes a lens into which the waveguide is integrated (illustrated in fig. 4), the lens (lenses 5 of fig. 4) configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing a passage of light from an environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the head-mounted display of Vieira with the waveguides of El-Ghoroury in order to efficiently distribute the light from the pixel panel to the users eye.
Regarding claim 9, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach wherein the first panel, the second panel, and the third panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels are integrated within the head-mounted display in a vertically-stacked arrangement.
El-Ghoroury discloses wherein the panels of the set of polychrome pixel panels are integrated within the head-mounted display in a vertically-stacked arrangement (shown below in the examiners illustration of fig. 3A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify head-mounted display of Vieira with the vertically stacked polychrome pixel panels of El-Ghoroury in order to provide sub-regions on the lens to display more information.
Regarding claim 12, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach further comprising: receiving, by way of a first input aperture of a waveguide configured to guide light from the set of polychrome pixel panels to present the color image on the head-mounted display, the red light; receiving, by way of a second input aperture of the waveguide, the green light; and receiving, by way of a third input aperture of the waveguide, the blue light.
El-Ghoroury discloses further comprising: receiving, by way of a first input aperture (40) of a waveguide (50) configured to guide light from the set of polychrome pixel panels (55) to present the color image on the head-mounted display (AR/VR near-eye wearable display 1 of fig. 2), the red light; receiving, by way of a second input aperture of the waveguide, the green light; and receiving, by way of a third input aperture of the waveguide, the blue light (para. 0029; mage source 55 is capable of generating and outputting a digital optical image portion comprising a 2D array of multi-color pixels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the head-mounted display of Vieira with the waveguides of El-Ghoroury in order to efficiently distribute the light from the pixel panel to the users eye.
Regarding claim 13, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach wherein the head-mounted display is implemented by an augmented reality glasses device that includes a lens into which the waveguide is integrated, the lens configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing a passage of light from an environment.
El-Ghoroury discloses wherein the head-mounted display is implemented by an augmented reality glasses device (para. 0029; The dual-mode AR/VR near-eye wearable display 1 of the invention may further comprise at least one image source 55) that includes a lens into which the waveguide is integrated (illustrated in fig. 4), the lens (lenses 5 of fig. 4) configured to facilitate a display of the color image while allowing a passage of light from an environment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the head-mounted display of Vieira with the waveguides of El-Ghoroury in order to efficiently distribute the light from the pixel panel to the users eye.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vieira et al. (US PG Pub. 20190179152) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US PG Pub. 20210096283).
Regarding claim 8, Vieira discloses a head-mounted display (para. 0002) comprising polychromatic pixels (illustrated in fig. 6 there are six optical elements 18-1 thru 18-6 and para. 0134; a polychrome pixel 27; therefore, each pixel comprises red, green and blue).
Vieira fails to teach wherein the panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels are integrated within the head-mounted display in a triangular arrangement.
Li discloses wherein the panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels are integrated within the head-mounted display in a triangular arrangement (illustrated in fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify polychromatic pixels of Vieira with the triangular arrangement of Li in order to decrease the pixel pitch thereby increasing display resolution.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Ghoroury et al. (US PG Pub. 20170108697) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Levola et al. (US PG Pub. 20160231570).
Regarding claim 15, El-Ghoroury discloses a near-eye wearable display (1) comprising first (left side of the wearable display) and second (right side of the wearable display) set of polychrome pixel panels (55 of fig. 4).
El-Ghoroury fails to teach wherein both the first set of polychrome pixel panels and the second set of polychrome pixel panels are integrated into the bridge of the frame.
Levola discloses wherein the display is integrated into the bridge of the frame (left display 15L and right display 15R of fig. 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify head-mounted display of Vieira wherein the display is centrally located over the nose bridge of the user which reduces fatigue around the users ears.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Ghoroury et al. (US PG Pub. 20170108697) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Dejong et al. (US PG Pub. 20130300999).
Regarding claim 16, El-Ghoroury discloses a near-eye wearable display (1) comprising first (left side of the wearable display) and second (right side of the wearable display) set of polychrome pixel panels (55 of fig. 4).
El-Ghoroury fails to teach wherein the display is integrated into the left endpiece of the frame; and the second display panes is integrated into the right endpiece of the frame.
Dejong discloses wherein the display (imaging system 300 of fig. 14) is integrated into the left endpiece of the frame (illustrated in fig. 14); and the second display panes is integrated into the right endpiece of the frame (although not shown it is implied to resemble the same).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify the near eye wearable display system of El-Ghoroury placing the display within the endpiece as shown by Dejong in order to have a compact display system that mitigates image distortion (Dejong; para. 0007).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Ghoroury et al. (US PG Pub. 20170108697) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US PG Pub. 20210096283).
Regarding claim 17, El-Ghoroury discloses a near-eye wearable display (1) comprising first (left side of the wearable display) and second (right side of the wearable display) set of polychrome pixel panels (55 of fig. 4).
El-Ghoroury fails to teach wherein the panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels are integrated within the head-mounted display in a triangular arrangement.
Li discloses wherein the panel of the set of polychrome pixel panels are integrated within the head-mounted display in a triangular arrangement (illustrated in fig. 3B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the application to modify polychromatic pixels of Vieira with the triangular arrangement of Li in order to decrease the pixel pitch thereby increasing display resolution.
Conclusion
/DANELL L OWENS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2882 17 March 2026
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882