DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 27-28, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franzini et al. (US 10886625 B2) in view of Johnson’ 154 et al. (US 20240283154 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Franzini et al. discloses phased array antenna (Phased array antenna like 1720 as seen in figures 1-20 of Franzini et al.); comprising:
a base plate (Base plate 1716 used for a single unit cell or all of them; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al.); and
a plurality of unit cells (Plurality of unit cells 1700 as seen in figure 17-22 of Franzini et al.), wherein each unit cell comprises:
a radiating signal ear comprising:
a radiating portion that extends outwardly from a first side of the base plate, and a post that is monolithic with the radiating portion, wherein the post is electrically isolated from the base plate (Signal ear 1704 serves as a radiating portion extends from a fist side of the base plate and comprises posts 1710 and 1712 wherein post 1712 can be inserted into an airgap 1714 in the base plate so it is isolated and not touch the base plate and the ear 1704 and post 1710 are a monolithic structure; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al.); and
a first printed circuit board (PCB) comprising a feed line connected to the post (Signal ear post may be connected to a feed line through a PCB connection wherein the post can be connected to an elastomeric conductor 2208 /1422 which in turn connects to a first PCB 1424 which comprises its own connector that would connect to a feed line to form the feeding structure; Paragraph 68, 127-132, and 176-170 as well as figure 14-22 of Franzini et al.).
Franzini et al. fails to explicitly disclose a post that is monolithic with the radiating portion, the post extending through the base plate beyond a second side of the base plate and a feed line directly connected to the post.
However Johnson’ 154 et al. does disclose a post that is monolithic with the radiating portion, the post extending through the base plate beyond a second side of the base plate and a feed line directly connected to the post (Unit cells 302 may be configured in a 6x6 array and comprise a radiating element 304 that comprises signal ears 304a-b that are monolithic with post 304c-d wherein said post extend through base plate through an opening and directly connect to a feed line 310: Paragraph 19-31 and figures 3-5 of Johnson’ 154 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. to a post that is monolithic with the radiating portion, the post extending through the base plate beyond a second side of the base plate and a feed line directly connected to the post as taught by Jonson’ 154 et al. so that the radiating signal ear can be fed a differential signal to produce a clearer radiation that is more resilient to noise and interference (Pg. 16-21 of Johnson’ 154 et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Franzini et al. further discloses wherein the post extends through an airgap or a dielectric material disposed within the base plate (Post like 1712 can extend through an airgap 1714 which may be filled with a dielectric material like Teflon; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al ).
Regarding Claim 3, Franzini et al. further discloses comprising a ground ear that extends outwardly from the first side of the base plate, the ground ear comprising a post connected to the base plate (Unit cells 1700 can comprise a ground ear 1702 with can include two posts 1706 an 1708; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al.).
Regarding Claim 27, Franzini et al. discloses phased array antenna (Phased array antenna like 1720 as seen in figures 1-20 of Franzini et al.); comprising: a base plate configured to provide a path to ground (Base plate 1716 used for a single unit cell or all of them and can be connected to a coaxial cable or a PCB to provide a path to the ground; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al.); and
a plurality of unit cells, wherein a first unit cell comprises a first signal ear and a second signal ear adjacent to the first signal ear (Signal ear 1704 extends from a fist side of the base plate and cell can be configured to comprise a second signal ear like 2006 in figure 20 or ears like 1114b in figure 11 wherein this second ear can adjacent to the first ear due to unit cell including multiple signal ears; Paragraph 104-108 and 138-170 as well as figure 11 and 17-22 of Franzini et al.), and
wherein the first signal ear comprises a first post electrically isolated from the base plate and the second signal ear comprises a second post electrically isolated from the base plate (Signal ears can have posts like 1712 that extend into an airgap such that they are isolated from the base plate and in figure 20 we can see both ears 2010 and 2006 comprise post extending into an airgap in the base plate; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al.).
Franzini et al fails to explicitly disclose a first signal ear and a second signal ear adjacent to the first signal ear for generating a signal based on a differential signal pair and wherein the first signal ear and the second signal ear are orientated along a same polarization plane.
However, Johnson’ 154 et al. does disclose a first signal ear and a second signal ear adjacent to the first signal ear for generating a signal based on a differential signal pair and wherein the first signal ear and the second signal ear are orientated along a same polarization plane (Unit cells 302 may be configured in a 6x6 array and comprise a radiating element 304 that comprises signal ears 304a-b serving as a first and second ear that are monolithic with post 304c-d wherein said post extend through base plate through an opening and are isolated from the plate wherein said lines 304c-d are fed a differential signal by feed 310 and elements 304a/304b are arranged along the same polarization directions since they can be designed for a single linear polarization with just a single element 304: Paragraph 19-31 and figures 3-5 of Johnson’ 154 et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. to have a first signal ear and a second signal ear adjacent to the first signal ear for generating a signal based on a differential signal pair and wherein the first signal ear and the second signal ear are orientated along a same polarization plane as taught by Johnson’ 154 et al. so that the radiating signal ear can be fed a differential signal to produce a clearer radiation that is more resilient to noise and interference (Pg. 16-21 of Johnson’ 154 et al.).
Regarding Claim 28, Although, Franzini et al. does not explicitly disclose second signal ear is connected to a second feed line by a contact between the second post and the second feed line. Franzini et al. does discloses wherein the first signal ear is connected to a first feed line by a contact between the first post and the first feed line, and wherein the second signal ear is connected to a second feed line and suggest the second signal ear is connected to a second feed line by a contact between the second post and the second feed line. (Signal ear post may be connected to a feed line through a PCB connection wherein the post can be connected to an elastomeric conductor 2208 /1422 which in turn connects to a first PCB 1424 which comprises its own connector that would connect to a feed line to form the feeding structure and figure 2c and 8c disclose unit cells with multiple signal ears and each of these ears can be connected to their own feed line and a second ear 2006 comprises its own isolated post which suggest it can be connected to a PCB with a feed ; Paragraph 68, 127-132, and 176-170 as well as figure 14-22 of Franzini et al.).
However, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. to have the second signal ear is connected to a second feed line by a contact between the second post and the second feed line since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977). The motivation would stem from wanting to connect a feed source to the second signal ear through the use of its second post such that it can radiate.
Regarding Claim 37, Franzini et al. further discloses wherein the base plate comprises a plurality of airgaps disposed within the base plate (Radiating unit cells like 1700/2000 may comprise post which are disposed in airgaps and may further be used in an array of radiating elements like 1720 which would comprise a base plate with a plurality of airgaps; ; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al.).
Regarding Claim 38, Franzini et al. further discloses wherein the first post is disposed within a first airgap of the plurality of airgaps and the second post is disposed within a second airgap of the plurality of airgaps (Antenna unit cell 2000 as shows a first signal ear 2010 with a first post inside a first airgap of the baseplate and a second signal ear 2006 with a second post in a second airgap of the unit cell as seen in figure 20; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al).
Regarding Claim 39, Franzini et al. further discloses wherein the first signal ear comprises a third post connected to the base plate and the second signal ear comprises a fourth post connected to the base plate (A first signal ear like 1704 can include a third post like 1714 and we can see the second signal ear 2006 includes a fourth signal post next to its post extending into the airgap; Paragraph 138-170 and figure 17-22 of Franzini et al ).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franzini et al. (US 10886625 B2) in view of Johnson’ 154 et al. (US 20240283154 A1) and Sanchez et al. (US 20240429619 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the post is directly connected to the first PCB by extending the post through a through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the PCB to a second side of the PCB and soldering the post to a catch pad on the second side of the PCB.
However, Sanchez et al. does disclose wherein the post is directly connected to the first PCB by extending the post through a through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the PCB to a second side of the PCB and soldering the post to a catch pad on the second side of the PCB (Radiating elements in the form of monolith elements 110 comprise a base frame 161 of base 160 which comprises an extended through pin 168 or connectors 153 that can serve as a post wherein said posts extends from one side of the PCB 120 through to the other side, through a hole, and soldered to said side using things like solder pads 124; Paragraph 109 to 139 and figure 12-18 of Sanchez et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. to have post be directly connected to the first PCB by extending the post through a through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the PCB to a second side of the PCB and soldering the post to a catch pad on the second side of the PCB as taught by Sanchez et al. to connect the radiating element to feed structures and ground structures on the other side of the PCB through use of the posts (Paragraph 109-124 of Sanchez et al.).
Regarding Claim 5, Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the through-hole is electrically connected to the feed line.
However, Sanchez et al. does disclose wherein the through-hole is electrically connected to the feed line (Feed lines 144 connect to the posts extending through the respective holes such that the feed lines would be in electrical contact with the holes; Paragraph 109 to 139 and figure 12-18 of Sanchez et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. to have the through-hole be electrically connected to the feed line as taught by Sanchez et al. to connect the radiating element to feed structures and ground structures on the other side of the PCB through use of the posts (Paragraph 109-124 of Sanchez et al.).
Regarding Claim 29, Franzini et al. as and Johnson’ 154 et al. fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first feed line and the second feed line are provided on a first PCB.
However, Sanchez et al. does disclose wherein the first feed line and the second feed line are provided on a first PCB (Radiating elements in the form of monolith elements 110 comprise a base frame 161 of base 160 which comprises an extended through pin 168 or connectors 153 that can serve as a post wherein said posts extends from one side of the PCB 120 through to the other side, through a hole, and soldered to said side using things like solder pads 124 wherein the bottom side of this first PCB 120 can include multiple feed lines 144; Paragraph 109 to 139 and figure 10 and 15 of Sanchez et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. to have the first feed line and the second feed line be provided on a first PCB as taught by Sanchez et al. to connect the radiating elements to the feed lines through the first PCB such that they can radiate.
Regarding Claim 30, Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. fail to wherein the first post is connected to the first feed line by extending the first post through a first through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the first PCB to a second side of the first PCB and soldering the first post to a first catch pad electrically connected to the first feed line on the second side of the first PCB.
However, Sanchez et al. does disclose wherein the first post is connected to the first feed line by extending the first post through a first through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the first PCB to a second side of the first PCB and soldering the first post to a first catch pad electrically connected to the first feed line on the second side of the first PCB (Radiating elements in the form of monolith elements 110 comprise a base frame 161 of base 160 which comprises an extended through pin 168 or connectors 153 that can serve as a post wherein said posts extends from one side of the PCB 120 through to the other side, through a hole, and soldered to said side using things like solder pads 124; Paragraph 109 to 139 and figure 12-18 of Sanchez et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. to have the first post is connected to the first feed line by extending the first post through a first through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the first PCB to a second side of the first PCB and soldering the first post to a first catch pad electrically connected to the first feed line on the second side of the first PCB as taught by Sanchez et al. to connect the radiating element to feed structures and ground structures on the other side of the PCB through use of the posts (Paragraph 109-124 of Sanchez et al.).
Regarding Claim 31, Franzini et al. as and Johnson’ 154 et al. fail to wherein the second post is connected to the second feed line by extending the second post through a second through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the first PCB to a second side of the first PCB and soldering the second post to the second catch pad electrically connected to the second feed line on the second side of the first PCB.
However, Sanchez et al. does disclose wherein the second post is connected to the second feed line by extending the second post through a second through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the first PCB to a second side of the first PCB and soldering the second post to the second catch pad electrically connected to the second feed line on the second side of the first PCB. (Radiating elements may have an adjacent monolith which may serve as a second signal ear in a radiator unit cell with the first wherein this second ear can have a post like 153 that extends into the PCB and connects to a second one of lines 144 through the use of a solder pad wherein it would go through the PCB in a second through hole Paragraph 104 to 139 and figure 12-18 of Sanchez et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. to have the second post is connected to the second feed line by extending the second post through a second through-hole of the first PCB from a first side of the first PCB to a second side of the first PCB and soldering the second post to the second catch pad electrically connected to the second feed line on the second side of the first PCB. as taught by Sanchez et al. to connect the radiating element to feed structures and ground structures on the other side of the PCB through use of the posts (Paragraph 109-124 of Sanchez et al.).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franzini et al. (US 10886625 B2) in view of Johnson’ 154 et al. (US 20240283154 A1), Sanchez et al. (US 20240429619 A1) and Maruhashi et al. (US 6674347 B1).
Regarding Claim 6, Franzini et al., Johnson’ 154 et al., and Sanchez et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the feed line is electrically isolated from a conductive surface on the second side of the PCB comprising the feed line.
However, Maruhashi et al. does disclose wherein the feed line is electrically isolated from a conductive surface on the second side of the PCB comprising the feed line (A signal conductor 7 is disposed on a side of a substrate 3 that may be a PCB where said signal conductor is spaced apart and thus isolated form a conductive surface on the same side in the form of ground layer 8 forming a coplanar waveguide line; Paragraph 4-15 and figure 1 of 1-2 of Maruhashi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al., Johnson’ 154 et al., and Sanchez et al. to have the feed line be electrically isolated from a conductive surface on the second side of the PCB comprising the feed line as taught by Maruhashi et al. to suppress the leakage of the signal (Paragraph 11 of Maruhashi et al.).
Claim(s) 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franzini et al. (US 10886625 B2) in view of Johnson’ 154 et al. (US 20240283154 A1) and McGrath (US 20170256848 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. fail to disclose wherein the first PCB comprises a plurality of grounding vias, wherein the plurality of grounding vias are electrically connected to the base plate to provide a path to the ground.
However, McGrath does disclose wherein the first PCB comprises a plurality of grounding vias, wherein the plurality of grounding vias are electrically connected to the base plate to provide a path to the ground (Base plate comprises a insulating layer 380 with a top surface metallization layer 204 which can serve as a base plate upon which radiating elements like pyramids 104 may be disposed and the base further comprises a insulating layer 360b which may be a PCB that comprises vias in the form of cage posts 400/502 that serve to connect the ground plane 240a to the top metallization layer 204 and thus to the base plate, which in turn provides a path to the ground; Paragraph 27-47 and figure 2-6 of McGrath).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. to have the first PCB comprises a plurality of grounding vias, wherein the plurality of grounding vias are electrically connected to the base plate to provide a path to the ground as taught by McGrath to connect the top metallization layer and thus the antenna elements to the ground and serve as a shield (Paragraph 30-43 of McGrath).
Regarding Claim 8, Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. fail to disclose wherein the plurality of grounding vias form an electromagnetic shield around the post.
However, McGrath does disclose wherein the plurality of grounding vias form an electromagnetic shield around the post (Plurality of grounding vias 400 serve as cage posts 502 to from a cage around an conductors 220 that serve as posts wherein said cage would serve as an outer conductor element to shield the posts 220; Paragraph 30-43 and figure 3-5 of McGrath).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Franzini et al. and Johnson’ 154 et al. to have the plurality of grounding vias form an electromagnetic shield around the post as taught by McGrath so that the vias can form an electromagnetic shield for the post (Paragraph 43 of McGrath) and block outside interference.
Additional Comments Regarding the Claim Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 27, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 11476557 B1 (Sharma; Satish K. et al.) discloses dipole antenna fins disposed on a base plate connected to a PCB wherein grounding vias are used to connect the ground plane to the metal base plate.
US 12021297 B2 (Öjefors) discloses dipole antennas disposed on a metal layer in a substrate that serves as a base plate wherein a plurality of grounding vias extend through a PCB below the base plate and form an electromagnetic shield.
US 10084231 B2 (Emerick; James et al.) discloses radiating signal ears disposed on one side of a substrate with feed lines disposed on an opposite side of the substrate.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845