DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 7/1/24. Claims 1-15, 17-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 13-14, and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance. The prior art of record fails to disclose scrolling action with a rate and the time period is determined based on the rate; determining transformation ratio and transforming based on the ratio, in combination with other limitations recited within the claimed context. The claims present a combination of limitations that differ from the cited art, and there is no reasonable combination of references that would teach it.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, 15, 17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steiner (2015/0310126.)
Claim 1, 19, 20: Steiner discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium containing instructions that, when executed, cause at least one processor to perform operations for presenting board graphics, the operations comprising:
receiving a request (par. 112, At 1, the proxy server 510 receives a request (e.g. an HTTP Get request specifying a hostname associated with the content provider of the origin server and a URL for a given HTML document) from the client device 502) to present, on a display, a board having a plurality of document object models (DOMs) (par. 94, The HTML for the actual page arrives and the DOM is built off-screen) arranged in rows and columns (Fig. 6A: 654, cheat image with objects in rows and columns);
generating a graphical representation for each of the plurality of DOMs prior to generating of a canvas layer of the board (Fig. 4; par. 110, mirage image generation before future requests for them), wherein each type of DOM is associated with a different type of information to be shown (par. 60, dynamic v. static DOM types and creation of snapshots; Fig. 6A);
generating the canvas layer (par. 102, mirage image is arranged into the actual page HTML such that it appears logically above other content in visual terms) of the board, wherein the canvas layer includes the graphical representation of each of the plurality of DOMs (Fig. 6A: static pixels; par. 60, snapshots are processed at 652 using the techniques described herein to identify and remove the dynamic pixels, creating a mirage image 652 that has the static pixels and a background color in place of the dynamic pixels);
generating a library of locations on the canvas layer, wherein the library of locations stores an arrangement of the plurality of DOMs (par. 63, 70-71; TABLE 2; par. 123, area coords);
presenting, on the display, a portion (par. 41, mirage image may show all of a given rendered web page or a portion thereof. It should also be understood that harvested snapshots/screenshots may represent an entire rendered web page or a portion thereof) of the canvas layer, wherein the presented portion of the canvas layer is determined by a size of the display (par. 53, The snapshot may in some cases extend past the displayed area, e.g., two or three screen heights or window heights; Claim 4, one or more common characteristics including any of: a browser type, an operating system type, a screen size, a device model); and
transforming the graphical representation of each of the plurality of DOMs presented on the display into a corresponding DOM of the plurality of DOMs (par. 103, rearranging the DOM such that the DOM nodes of the actual page take over the whole page.)
Claim 2: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the transforming occurs after presenting the portion of the canvas layer for a time period (par. 102-103, The actual page is loaded within an IFRAME on the initial page, to be revealed upon load by removing the mirage image or rearranging the DOM such that the DOM nodes of the actual page take over the whole page.)
Claim 3: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 2, wherein the time period is determined based on an event that precedes receiving the request to present (par. 8, The speed at which a web page loads is affected by the time it takes to retrieve content, as well as the time it takes to render the content in a browser or other application executing on the client device.)
Claim 5: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein in response to terminating display of a subset of the plurality of DOMs, the subset of the plurality of DOMs are reverted to respective graphical representations of the subset of the plurality of DOMs (par. 102-103, The actual page is loaded within an IFRAME on the initial page, to be revealed upon load by removing the mirage image or rearranging the DOM such that the DOM nodes of the actual page take over the whole page.)
Claim 6: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the canvas layer further includes at least one of the plurality of DOMs (par. 43, the mirage image may have a real pull-down menu overlaid and allow interaction, the choice of which is immediately visible to the user.)
Claim 7: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the board includes at least one cell that remains a DOM when presented on the display (par. 43, the mirage image may have a real pull-down menu overlaid and allow interaction, the choice of which is immediately visible to the user.)
Claim 8: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 7, wherein the at least one cell is one or more of an item column or a header row (par. 43, the mirage image may have a real pull-down menu overlaid and allow interaction, the choice of which is immediately visible to the user.)
Claim 9: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the canvas layer creates the graphical representation of each of the plurality of DOMs by drawing at least a border of one or more of the columns, one or more of the rows, or one or more cells (par. 70, reasonable bounding boxes around areas of dynamic pixels and paints over them in a determined background color.)
Claim 10: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 9, wherein the graphical representation of each of the plurality of DOMs includes at least one graphical characteristic (par. 70, reasonable bounding boxes around areas of dynamic pixels and paints over them in a determined background color.)
Claim 11: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the portion of the canvas layer is displayed during a scrolling of the board (par. 89, scrolling may be executed on the mirage image.)
Claim 12: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the transforming occurs at a rate that corresponds with a refresh rate of the display (it is inherent that one rate would correspond to another rate in some way. The claim does not say what the corresponding ratio is.)
Claim 15: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the request to present includes a desired arrangement of the plurality of DOMs, and the library of locations is configured to adjust the arrangement of the plurality of DOMs based on the desired arrangement (par. 89, capture click/touch/gesture or other user-interface events that occur before the document object model (DOM) is loaded. These events are transferred over to the DOM once live.)
Claim 17: Steiner discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein prior to generating the canvas layer, a plurality of types of DOMs are received and a graphical representation is generated for each of the plurality of types of DOMs (par. 60, dynamic v. static DOM types and creation of snapshots.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Nanavati (2020/0250259) – pre-rendering HTML code.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2145
12/23/25