DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The numerous information disclosure statements (IDS) are generally in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. However, many listed documents are undated and lined through accordingly. Where patents, publications, and other such documents are submitted by a party in compliance with the requirements of the rules, the requisite degree of consideration to be given to such information will be normally limited by the degree to which the party filing the information citation has explained the content and relevance of the document. The initials of the examiner placed adjacent to the citations on the form PTO/SB/08 or its equivalent, without an indication to the contrary in the record, do not signify that the document has been considered by the examiner any further than to the extent noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 10-13, 16, 18-23, 26, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maddox (US Patent Number 3,191,617).
Re claim 1, Maddox discloses a valve member to enhance sealing of a fluid flow in a high-pressure pump assembly, the valve member comprising: a valve body (20) having a valve body axis, a valve head including a first radial dimension and extending in a direction transverse to the valve body axis, and a neck portion connected to the valve head and including a second radial dimension less than the first radial dimension (see Fig. 1 or 2), one or more of the valve head or the neck portion including a seal engaging surface (24, 26) at least partially defining one or more recesses (24, 26), one or more of the one or more recesses comprising a substantially annular recess having a cross-sectional shape including three or more surfaces (there are 5 surfaces in Maddox); and a valve seal (28, 30, 34) connected to the valve body along the neck portion and adjacent the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the valve seal having a body engaging surface including one or more protrusions (32, 34) positioned so as to engage the seal engaging surface and received in the one or more recesses, one or more of the one or more protrusions having a cross-sectional shape substantially complementary to the substantially annular recess, thereby to provide an engagement (26, 34) between the valve seal and the valve body, such that during operation of the high-pressure pump assembly the engagement resists one or more of: (a) outward radial migration of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, (b) axial displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, or (c) rotational displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body (see col. 2, lines 18-45; note that all three conditions are met as the triangular groove and protrusion resists outward radial migration, axial displacement, and rotational displacement).
Re claim 5, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1, wherein the body engaging surface of the valve seal comprises material configured to deform and at least partially conform to the one or more recesses, thereby to provide the one or more protrusions and the engagement between the valve seal and the valve body (see the discussion of the flexible material such as rubber and the conforming in col. 2, lines 9-20).
Re claim 7, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1, wherein one or more of: (a) the valve head is located at a proximal end of the valve body and comprises a valve head surface (the upper portion of 20 as shown in Figs. 1 and 2) facing in a direction away from the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the seal engaging surface at least partially defining an annular surface opposite the valve head surface, and the valve head surface at least partially defining a spring recess positioned to receive a valve spring (36, see Fig. 1), or (b) the valve head is located at a proximal end of the valve body and comprises a valve head surface facing in a direction away from the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the seal engaging surface at least partially defining an annular surface opposite the valve head surface, and the seal engaging surface positioned substantially perpendicular to the valve body axis (see Fig. 1 or 2).
Re claim 8, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1, wherein the valve seal further comprises a seat engaging surface opposite the body engaging surface and positioned to abut a valve seat (10, 18), thereby to prevent fluid flow through the valve member, and wherein the seat engaging surface is substantially annular and extends in a direction oblique with respect to the valve body axis (see Fig. 1).
Re claim 10, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1, wherein the valve seal comprises an elastomeric material (rubber, see col. 2, lines 9 and 10).
Re claim 11, Maddox discloses a valve assembly to enhance sealing of a fluid flow in a high-pressure pump assembly, the valve assembly comprising: a valve member positioned to move between an open position to allow fluid flow through the valve assembly and a closed position to prevent fluid flow through the valve assembly, the valve member including: a valve body (20) having a valve body axis, a valve head including a first radial dimension and extending in a direction transverse to the valve body axis, and a neck portion connected to the valve head and including a second radial dimension less than the first radial dimension (see Fig. 1 or 2), one or more of the valve head or the neck portion including a seal engaging surface (24, 26) at least partially defining one or more recesses (24, 26), one or more of the one or more recesses comprising a substantially annular recess having a cross-sectional shape including three or more surfaces (there are 5 surfaces in Maddox); and a valve seal (28, 30, 34) connected to the valve body along the neck portion and adjacent the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the valve seal including a body engaging surface including one or more protrusions (32, 34) positioned so as to engage the seal engaging surface and received in the one or more recesses, one or more of the one or more protrusions having a cross-sectional shape substantially complimentary to the substantially annular recess, thereby to provide an engagement (26, 34) between the valve seal and the valve body, such that during operation of the high-pressure pump assembly the engagement resists one or more of: (a) outward radial migration of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, (b) axial displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, or (c) rotational displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body (see col. 2, lines 18-45; note that all three conditions are met as the triangular groove and protrusion resists outward radial migration, axial displacement, and rotational displacement); and a seat engaging surface (30), and a valve seat (10) including (i) a substantially cylindrical body having an opening therethrough and (ii) a seat surface, the seat surface positioned to abut the seat engaging surface of the valve seal, thereby to prevent fluid flow through the valve assembly (see Fig. 1).
Re claim 12, Maddox discloses the valve assembly of claim 11, wherein the seat engaging surface (30) is positioned opposite the body engaging surface and to abut the seat surface of the valve seat, thereby to prevent fluid flow through the valve assembly, the seat engaging surface of the valve seal and the seat surface of the valve seat configured to prevent fluid flow through the opening in the valve seat (see Fig. 1).
Re claim 13, Maddox discloses the valve assembly of claim 11, wherein; the seat engaging surface is substantially annular and extends in a direction oblique with respect to the valve body axis, and the seat surface of the valve seat is substantially annular and extends in a direction substantially parallel to the seat engaging surface (see Fig. 1).
Re claim 16, Maddox discloses the valve assembly of claim 11, wherein the body engaging surface of the valve seal comprises material configured to deform and at least partially conform to the one or more recesses, thereby to form the one or more protrusions and provide the engagement between the valve seal and the valve body (see the discussion of the flexible material such as rubber and the conforming in col. 2, lines 9-20).
Re claim 18, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 11, wherein one or more of: (a) the valve head is located at a proximal end of the valve body and comprises a valve head surface (the upper portion of 20 as shown in Figs. 1 and 2) facing in a direction away from the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the seal engaging surface at least partially defining an annular surface opposite the valve head surface, and the valve head surface at least partially defining a spring recess positioned to receive a valve spring (36, see Fig. 1), or (b) the valve head is located at a proximal end of the valve body and comprises a valve head surface facing in a direction away from the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the seal engaging surface at least partially defining an annular surface opposite the valve head surface, and (c) the seal engaging surface positioned substantially perpendicular to the valve body axis (see Fig. 1 or 2).
Re claim 19, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 11, wherein seat engaging surface is opposite the body engaging surface and positioned to abut the valve seat (10, 18), thereby to prevent fluid flow through the valve assembly, and wherein the seat engaging surface is substantially annular and extends in a direction oblique with respect to the valve body axis (see Fig. 1).
Re claim 20, Maddox discloses the valve assembly of claim 11, wherein the valve assembly comprises a one-way valve (a check valve used in a pump).
Re claim 21, Maddox discloses a fluid end assembly for a high-pressure reciprocating pump (see col. 1, lines 9-13), the fluid end assembly comprising: a manifold block at least partially defining a pump chamber and a manifold passage positioned to provide fluid communication with the pump chamber (note the pump housing, flow in the up direction as shown in Fig. 1, and the discharge passage); a valve assembly received in the manifold passage of the manifold block and positioned to control fluid flow through the manifold passage (see Fig. 1), the valve assembly having: a valve member positioned to move between an open position to allow fluid flow through the valve assembly and a closed position to prevent fluid flow through the valve assembly, the valve member including: a valve body (20) having a valve body axis, a valve head including a first radial dimension and extending in a direction transverse to the valve body axis, and a neck portion connected to the valve head and including a second radial dimension less than the first radial dimension (see Fig. 1 or 2), one or more of the valve head or the neck portion including a seal engaging surface (24, 26) at least partially defining one or more recesses (24, 26), one or more of the one or more recesses comprising a substantially annular recess having a cross-sectional shape including three or more surfaces (Maddox has 5 surfaces); and a valve seal (28, 30, 34) connected to the valve body along the neck portion and adjacent the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the valve seal including a body engaging surface including one or more protrusions (32, 34) positioned so as to abut the seal engaging surface and received in the one or more recesses, one or more of the one or more protrusions having a cross-sectional shape substantially complimentary to the substantially annular recess, thereby to provide an engagement (26, 34) between the valve seal and the valve body, such that during operation of the high-pressure pump assembly the engagement resists one or more of: (a) outward radial migration of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, (b) axial displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, or (c) rotational displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body (see col. 2, lines 18-45; note that all three conditions are met as the triangular groove and protrusion resists outward radial migration, axial displacement, and rotational displacement); and a seat engaging surface (30), and a valve seat (10) including (i) a substantially cylindrical body having an opening therethrough and (ii) a seat surface, the seat surface positioned to abut the seat engaging surface of the valve seal, thereby to prevent fluid flow through the valve assembly (see Fig. 1).
Re claim 22, Maddox discloses the fluid end assembly of claim 21, wherein at least: (a) the body engaging surface of the valve seal comprises material configured to deform and at least partially conform to the one or more recesses, thereby to provide the one or more protrusions and the engagement between the valve seal and the valve body (see the discussion of the flexible material such as rubber and the conforming in col. 2, lines 9-20), or (e) the valve head is located at a proximal end of the valve body and comprises a valve head surface facing in a direction away from the seal engaging surface of the valve body, the seal engaging surface at least partially defining an annular surface opposite the valve head surface (see Fig. 1 or 2).
Re claim 23, Maddox discloses the valve assembly of claim 21, wherein the valve assembly comprises a one-way valve (a check valve used in a pump).
Re claim 26, Maddox discloses a method for enhancing engagement between a valve seal (28, 30, 34) and a valve body (20) of a valve member to seal fluid flow in a high-pressure pump (see col. 1,lines 9-13), the method comprising: providing a valve body having a valve body axis, a valve head, the valve head including a first radial dimension and extending in a direction transverse to the valve body axis, and a neck portion connected to the valve head and including a second radial dimension less than the first radial dimension (see Fig. 1 or 2); providing one or more recesses (24, 26) in a seal engaging surface of one or more of the valve head or the neck portion, one or more of the one or more recesses comprising a substantially annular recess having a cross-sectional shape including three or more surfaces (Maddox has 5 surfaces); and positioning a valve seal along the neck portion of the valve body, the valve seal having a body engaging surface and configured such that one or more protrusions (32, 34) of the body engaging surface engage the one or more recesses in the seal engaging surface of the valve body, one or more of the one or more protrusions having a cross-sectional shape substantially complimentary to the substantially annular recess, thereby to provide an engagement (26, 34) between the valve seal and the valve body, such that during operation of the high-pressure pump the engagement resists one or more of: (a) outward radial migration of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, (b) axial displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, or (c) rotational displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body (see col. 2, lines 18-45; note that all three conditions are met as the triangular groove and protrusion resists outward radial migration, axial displacement, and rotational displacement).
Re claim 27, Maddox discloses the method of claim 26, wherein positioning the valve seal along the neck portion of the valve body occurs absent application of adhesive to the valve body or the valve seal (there is no suggestion of application of adhesive in Maddox).
Re claim 29, Maddox discloses the method of claim 26, wherein: the providing one or more recesses (26) in a seal engaging surface of the valve body includes providing one or more substantially annular recesses having one or more of a substantially polygonal-shaped cross-section (the disclosed triangular shape is a polygon), a substantially trapezoidal-shaped cross-section, a substantially parallelogram-shaped cross-section, or a substantially serrated cross-section, and the positioning the valve seal along the neck portion of the valve body includes providing the seal engaging surface with one or more protrusions having a cross-sectional shape substantially complimentary to the one or more substantially annular recesses (see col. 2, lines 18-45).
Re claim 30, Maddox discloses the method of claim 26, wherein one or more of: positioning of the valve seal along the neck portion of the valve body includes causing material of the body engaging surface of the valve seal to deform and at least partially conform to the one or more recesses and provide the engagement between the valve seal and the valve body (see the discussion of the flexible material such as rubber and the conforming in col. 2, lines 9-20), or the causing material of the body engaging surface of the valve seal to deform and at least
partially conform to the one or more recesses and provide the engagement between the valve seal
and the valve body including compressing the valve seal against the seal engaging surface of the
valve body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 17, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maddox.
Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1, the valve assembly of claim 11, and the method of claim 26 (see the anticipation rejection above). Maddox also discloses the recess to be polygonal, which was previously recited in claims 6, 17, 28, and 29, but is now deleted. However, Maddox does not disclose the alternate embodiments where the recess is trapezoidal shaped or parallelogram shaped. However, Maddox invites a modification by suggesting “other geometric configurations”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to have modified the polygonal shape of Maddox to be either trapezoidal shaped or parallelogram shaped as any of the shapes would perform the same functions and yield predictable results of securing the seal in the recess and providing a sealing for the valve.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 14, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maddox in view of Bayyouk et alia (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0017982 A1), hereinafter “Bayyouk”.
Re claim 2, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1, wherein the valve seal further comprises an inner radial portion (24) adjacent the neck portion of the valve body. The inner radial portion shown in Maddox does not have a curved cross-sectional profile. However, Maddox invites a modification by suggesting “other geometric configurations”. Bayyouk discloses a similar valve member that has the inner radial portion of the valve seal having a curved cross-sectional profile. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner radial portion of Maddox to have a curved cross-sectional profile as in Bayyouk as the alternate shape disclosed in Bayyouk serves the same function with no unexpected results. Additionally, the shape would be easier to manufacture with some manufacturing techniques.
Re claim 3, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1. However, Maddox does not disclose the valve body further comprises a stem extending from the neck portion and one or more legs extending axially from the stem, and wherein the one or more legs is axisymmetric about the valve body axis. Bayyouk discloses a similar valve member that has a stem (118) extending from the neck portion and one or more legs (114) extending axially from the stem, and wherein the one or more legs is axisymmetric about the valve body axis (see Figs. 2-9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maddox to have a stem (118) extending from the neck portion and one or more legs (114) extending axially from the stem, and wherein the one or more legs is axisymmetric about the valve body axis in order to guide the valve member as it reciprocates as taught by Bayyouk.
Re claim 9, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 1. However, Maddox does not disclose the valve body further comprises a stem extending from the neck portion opposite the valve head, and one or more legs extending axially from the stem, the stem and the neck portion at least partially defining a substantially annular flow channel through which fluid flows when the valve body is in an open position, and wherein the stem at least partially defines a third radial dimension less than the second radial dimension of the neck portion of the valve body. Bayyouk discloses a similar valve member that has a stem (118) extending from the neck portion opposite the valve head, and one or more legs (114) extending axially from the stem, the stem and the neck portion at least partially defining a substantially annular flow channel through which fluid flows when the valve body is in an open position, and wherein the stem at least partially defines a third radial dimension less than the second radial dimension of the neck portion of the valve body (see Figs. 2-9). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maddox to have a stem (118) extending from the neck portion opposite the valve head, and one or more legs (114) extending axially from the stem, the stem and the neck portion at least partially defining a substantially annular flow channel through which fluid flows when the valve body is in an open position, and wherein the stem at least partially defines a third radial dimension less than the second radial dimension of the neck portion of the valve body in order to guide he valve member as it reciprocates as taught by Bayyouk.
Re claim 14, Maddox discloses the valve member of claim 11, wherein the valve seal further comprises an inner radial portion (24) adjacent the neck portion of the valve body. The inner radial portion shown in Maddox does not have a curved cross-sectional profile. However, Maddox invites a modification by suggesting “other geometric configurations”. Bayyouk discloses a similar valve member that has the inner radial portion of the valve seal having a curved cross-sectional profile. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner radial portion of Maddox to have a curved cross-sectional profile as in Bayyouk as the alternate shape disclosed in Bayyouk serves the same function with no unexpected results. Additionally, the shape would be easier to manufacture with some manufacturing techniques.
Re claims 24 and 25, Maddox discloses the fluid end assembly of claim 21. Since the pump valve in Maddox is part of a similar oil pump system, it would seem that Maddox also has the two-valve system. However, the rejection is made under 35 USC 103 out of an abundance of caution. Bayyouk discloses a similar pump system with the manifold passage comprises a first manifold passage, the valve assembly comprises a first valve assembly, and the fluid end assembly further comprises: a second manifold passage in the manifold block positioned to provide fluid communication with the pump chamber, and a second valve assembly received in the second manifold passage of the manifold block and positioned control fluid flow through the second manifold passage; and wherein: the first valve assembly is positioned to allow fluid flow into the manifold chamber when the valve member of the first valve assembly is in an open position, and the second valve assembly is positioned to allow fluid flow out of the manifold chamber when a valve member of the second valve assembly is in an open position (see Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Maddox to have the manifold passage comprises a first manifold passage, the valve assembly comprises a first valve assembly, and the fluid end assembly further comprises: a second manifold passage in the manifold block positioned to provide fluid communication with the pump chamber, and a second valve assembly received in the second manifold passage of the manifold block and positioned control fluid flow through the second manifold passage; and wherein: the first valve assembly is positioned to allow fluid flow into the manifold chamber when the valve member of the first valve assembly is in an open position, and the second valve assembly is positioned to allow fluid flow out of the manifold chamber when a valve member of the second valve assembly is in an open position in order to pump fluid as taught by Bayyouk.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments have overcome some rejection. The arguments filed May 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant argues that Maddox does not disclose that engagement of the seal and recess resists one or more of: (a) outward radial migration of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, (b) axial displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body, or (c) rotational displacement of the valve seal relative to the seal engaging surface of the valve body. The examiner disagrees. Where the seal engages the valve body in the triangular section, the seal is abutting the valve body and this engagement resists movement of the seal relative to the valve body and resists outward migration. Where the seal engages the valve body in the triangular section and also in the top and bottom of groove 24, the seal is abutting the valve body and this engagement resists movement of the seal relative to the valve body and resists axial displacement. Also, the engagement of the valve seal and the valve body resists rotational displacement due to the friction between the valve seal and the valve body.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC KEASEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753