DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,6-11 and 16 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejections below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, regarding claim 8, the wherein the system is further comprises a test module configured to receive a voltage signal associated with at least one winding of the current transformer as the probe rotates within the opening of the device under test, wherein the test module is configured to determine whether the current transformer is functioning within a set threshold as the probe rotates; Regarding claim 22, a test module configured to receive a voltage signal associated with at least one winding of the current transformer as the probe rotates within the opening of the device under test, wherein the test module is configured to determine whether the current transformer is functioning within a set threshold as the probe rotates must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
test module claims 8 and 22;.
Examiner’s Note:
Regarding claim 1, Examiner notes that “for screening an electronic component” appears to be intended use and the electric component is not positively recited in the body of the claim and is therefore not required for the rejection of at least claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,10,11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Frankel et al. (US 20210096176).
Regarding claim 1, Frankel et al. teach A system for screening an electronic component, comprising:
a device under test; (DUT 120, Fig. 1)
a body having, a plurality of conductors; implicitly taught (Note a conductor must be present for supplying energy to probe 30, Fig. 1) also a conductor is implicit for to electrostatic chuck 50, par. 0019 and Fig. 1)
a rotation section; suggested by (probe tip 32 of optical probe 30 may be positioned within trench 130. ) [Note par. 0014] and
a probe associated with the rotation section, by (probe tip 32 of optical probe 30 may be positioned within trench 130. ) [Note par. 0014] the probe (30, Fig. 1) configured to house at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of conductors; implicitly taught (Note a conductor must be present for supplying energy to probe 30, Fig. 1) and
a nest (Note stage 50, par. 0019, Fig. 1) having at least one terminal, a conductor is implicit for to electrostatic chuck 50, par. 0019 and Fig. 1)
the nest configured to couple to the device under test (120, Fig. 1) and to permit at least a portion of the probe to pass through an opening of the device under test, (Note trench 130, wherein the rotation section is configured to rotate the probe within the opening of the device under test. (This process may be referred to herein as raster scanning and/or may be utilized to produce and/or generate a two-dimensional, or a multi-dimensional, representation of optical coupling between the probe tip and the optical device as a function of location on the trench side-wall and/or as a function of rotation of the probe tip relative to the trench side-wall.) [Note par. 0014, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 11, Frankel et al. teach An apparatus for screening a device under test comprising:
a body having, a plurality of conductors; implicitly taught (Note a conductor must be present for supplying energy to probe 30, Fig. 1) also a conductor is implicit for to electrostatic chuck 50, par. 0019 and Fig. 1)
a rotation section; suggested by (probe tip 32 of optical probe 30 may be positioned within trench 130. ) [Note par. 0014] and
a probe associated with the rotation section, by (probe tip 32 of optical probe 30 may be positioned within trench 130. ) [Note par. 0014] the probe (30, Fig. 1) configured to house at least a portion of one or more of the plurality of conductors; implicitly taught (Note a conductor must be present for supplying energy to probe 30, Fig. 1) and
a nest (Note stage 50, par. 0019, Fig. 1) having at least one terminal, a conductor is implicit for to electrostatic chuck 50, par. 0019 and Fig. 1)
the nest configured to couple to the device under test (120, Fig. 1) and to permit at least a portion of the probe to pass through an opening of the device under test, (Note trench 130, wherein the rotation section is configured to rotate the probe and rotation section during a screening operation. (This process may be referred to herein as raster scanning and/or may be utilized to produce and/or generate a two-dimensional, or a multi-dimensional, representation of optical coupling between the probe tip and the optical device as a function of location on the trench side-wall and/or as a function of rotation of the probe tip relative to the trench side-wall.) [Note par. 0014, Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 10, Frankel et al. a rotation mechanism coupleable to at least one of the rotation section or the probe, the rotation mechanism configured to cause the probe to rotate or translate relative to the device under test. Suggested by (This process may be referred to herein as raster scanning and/or may be utilized to produce and/or generate a two-dimensional, or a multi-dimensional, representation of optical coupling between the probe tip and the optical device as a function of location on the trench side-wall and/or as a function of rotation of the probe tip relative to the trench side-wall.) [Note par. 0014, Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankel et al. (US 20210096176) in view of Li et al. (CN 15356664 A, cited by applicant)
et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Frankel et al. does not teach wherein the system further includes a rail, the rail configured to couple to the nest and further configured to translate movement of the nest relative to the probe.
Li et al. teach wherein the system further includes a rai (T-slot 15, Fig. 1), the rail configured to couple to the nest and further configured to translate movement of the nest relative to the probe. (A T-slot 15 connected with a bracket 8, coupled with a clamping sleeve 19 of a plug 10, the T-slot allowing the plug to move relative to the connector socket (11, Fig. 1 and par. 0024)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frankel et al. to include the teaching of a rail, the rail configured to couple to the nest and further configured to translate movement of the nest relative to the probe to allow the test device to be replaced providing good interchangeability. (Note Li et al. par n0014)
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankel et al. (US 20210096176) in view of Unsworth et al. (US 20040046568).
teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Frankel et al. does not teach wherein the device is a current transformer having at least one winding.
Unsoworth et al. teach wherein the device is a current transformer having at least one winding. (Note abstract and par. 0003)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frankel et al. to include the teaching of the device is a current transformer having at least one winding to detect an y partial discharge in the transformer. (Note Unsworth et al. abstract)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankel et al. (US 20210096176) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20080079426).
Regarding claim 23, Frankel et al. teach A system for screening a device under test, the device under test having an opening therethrough, comprising:
a body having, a plurality of conductors; implicitly taught (Note a conductor must be present for supplying energy to probe 30, Fig. 1) also a conductor is implicit for to electrostatic chuck 50, par. 0019 and Fig. 1)
a probe enclosing, at least in part, the plurality of conductors; (Note at least one conductor must be present for supplying energy to probe 30, Fig. 1)
a rotation section operatively coupled to and configured to rotate the probe, the probe projecting out from the rotation section; suggested by (probe tip 32 of optical probe 30 may be positioned within trench 130. ) [Note par. 0014]
a nest (Note stage 50, par. 0019, Fig. 1) configured to seat the device under test (120, Fig. 1) in an orientation to permit at least a portion of the probe enclosing the plurality of conductors to pass through and rotate within the opening of the device under test.
et al. does not explicitly teach enclosing, at least in part, enclosing a plurality of conductors.
Suzuki et al. teach a probe enclosing (Note 19, Fig. 2), at least in part, enclosing a plurality of conductors. [0029] The probe 8 has an ECT sensor 12 is mounted in a main probe body 8a, as shown in FIGS. 3A and 3B. The ECT sensor 12 including ECT coils 12a and 12b is disposed at the end portion of the main probe body 8a. The ECT coils 12a and 12b are disposed side by side in the main probe body 8a,
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frankel et al. to include the teaching of enclosing at least in part, a plurality of conductors in order to provide excitation and output detection signals. (Note Suzujki et al. par. 0029)
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frankel et al. (US 20210096176) in view of Suzuki et al. (US 20080079426) further in view of Li et al. (CN 115356664 A, cited by applicant)
et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claims 24, Frankel et al. does not teach a rail on which the nest is movably positioned, wherein the nest is configured to translate along the rail to position the probe, at least in part, within the opening of the device under test.
Li et al. teach a rail (T-Slot 15) on which the nest is movably positioned, wherein the nest is configured to translate along the rail to position the probe, at least in part, within the opening of the device under test. (A T-slot 15 connected with a bracket 8, coupled with a clamping sleeve 19 of a plug 10, the T-slot allowing the plug to move relative to the connector socket (11, Fig. 1 and par. 0024)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frankel et al. to include the teaching of a rail, the rail configured to couple to the nest and further configured to translate movement of the nest relative to the probe to allow the test device to be replaced providing good interchangeability. (Note Li et al. par n0014)
Regarding claim 25, Frankel et al. does not teach wherein the probe has a major axis substantially parallel to the rail.
Li et al. teach wherein the probe has a major axis substantially parallel to the rail. (Note 5, Fig. 1) Examiner’s position is that any axis of the probe 5 is interpreted as a major axis.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Frankel et al. to include the teaching of the probe has a major axis substantially parallel to the rail to make adjustments.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5,8,12-15 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the rotation section includes an eccentric section, the eccentric section configured to receive at least one of the plurality of conductors, the eccentric section being further configured to be placed adjacent to the device under test during a screening operation.
Regarding claim 8, wherein the system is further comprises a test module configured to receive a voltage signal associated with at least one winding of the current transformer as the probe rotates within the opening of the device under test, wherein the test module is configured to determine whether the current transformer is functioning within a set threshold as the probe rotates.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the rotation section includes an eccentric section, the eccentric section configured to receive at least one of the plurality of conductors.
Regarding claim 22, a test module configured to receive a voltage signal associated with at least one winding of the current transformer as the probe rotates within the opening of the device under test, wherein the test module is configured to determine whether the current transformer is functioning within a set threshold as the probe rotates.
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858