DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to claims filed 13 December 2023 for application 18539171 filed 13 December 2023. Currently claims 1-29 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 16 is dependent on claim 15 depending on 14 depending on 1, however it also states, when dependent on claim 8 which is not in the chain of dependency. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 29 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the storage media can be interpreted to be a transitory signal as described in p25 lines 3-15 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-24 and 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Guhur et al. (Instruction-driven history-aware policies for robotic manipulations).
Regarding claims 1, 28 and 29, Guhur discloses:
A method performed by one or more computers and for controlling an agent interacting with an environment, the method comprising:
receiving a natural language text sequence that characterizes a task to be performed by the agent in the environment (p3 §3 natural language instruction, Fig 2 text input);
generating an encoded representation of the natural language text sequence (Fig 2 encoder language from NL input); and
at each of a plurality of time steps (Fig 2 step 1-step t):
obtaining an observation image characterizing a state of the environment at the time step (p3 §3 visual observations, Fig 2 RGBD input images);
processing the observation image using an image encoder neural network that is conditioned on the encoded representation of the natural language text sequence to generate an encoded representation of the observation image (fig 2 encoder UNet encodes images, §4 feature encoding modules generates token embeddings for instructions, visual observations and previous actions);
generating, from at least the encoded representation of the observation image, a sequence of input tokens (fig 2 encoder UNet encodes images, §4 feature encoding modules generates token embeddings for instructions, visual observations and previous actions);
processing the sequence of input tokens using a Transformer neural network to generate a policy output that defines an action to be performed by the agent in response to the observation image (Fig 2 Transformer uses output of encoding module, §4 “Then, the multimodal transformer (Sec. 4.2) learns relationships between the instruction, current multi-camera observations and history.”);
selecting an action to be performed by the agent using the policy output (§4 “Finally, the action prediction module (Sec.4.3) utilizes a convolutional network (CNN) to predict the next rotation qt+1 and gripper state ct+1, and adopts a UNetdecoder[20] to predict the next position pt+1.”); and
causing the agent to perform the selected action (§5.4 Real-Robot experiments, the robot is able to predict and execute a button press).
Regarding claim 2, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the environment is a real-world environment and the agent is a robot (§5.4 Real-Robot experiments).
Regarding claim 3, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein generating, from at least the encoded representation of the observation image, a sequence of input tokens comprises:
generating, from the encoded representation of the observation image, a sequence of image tokens for the observation image (§4.1 ¶1 “We encode the instruction, visual observations, and actions as a sequence of tokens.”).
Regarding claim 4, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein generating, from at least the encoded representation of the observation image, a sequence of input tokens comprises:
generating the sequence of input tokens by combining the sequence of image tokens for the observation image with respective sequences of image tokens for one or more earlier observation images received at one or more earlier time steps (§4.2 the tokens are conditioned on the text, images and history of actions/observations).
Regarding claim 5, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 4, wherein combining the sequence of image tokens for the observation image with respective sequences of image tokens for each of one or more earlier observation images received at one or more earlier time steps comprises applying positional encodings to each image token in the sequence of image tokens for the observation image and the respective sequences of image tokens for the one or more earlier observation images (§4.3 positional encoding is used for each image in the sequence of images over a history of time steps to predict the next position, see also Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the encoded representation comprises a feature map that includes a respective feature vector for each of a plurality of regions in the observation image, and wherein generating, from the encoded representation of the observation image, a sequence of image tokens for the observation image (§5.2 visual tokens are different channels in a feature map, previous steps are used (a sequence)) comprises:
generating an initial input sequence by flattening the feature map into a sequence of feature vectors (p14 Appendix A, the CNN uses a flattened vector of feature maps).
Regarding claim 7, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 6, wherein generating, from the encoded representation of the observation image, a sequence of image tokens for the observation image comprises:
processing the initial input sequence of feature vectors using a learned module that maps the initial input sequence to a reduced input sequence that includes a smaller number of feature tokens (p14 §Appendix A, a feature map reduces an image size).
Regarding claim 8, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the image encoder neural network comprises one or more conditioning layers that are each configured to receive a respective intermediate output of a respective intermediate layer of the image encoder neural network and the encoded representation of the natural language instruction and to (i) update the respective intermediate output of the image encoder neural network using the encoded representation of the natural language instruction and (ii) provide the updated respective intermediate output as input to a respective subsequent intermediate layer of the image encoder neural network (§4.1 images are encoded with a CNN having multiple layers, an image is encoded in a feature map, then concatenated, then pooled).
Regarding claim 10, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein the image encoder neural network is a convolutional neural network and the respective intermediate layer, the respective subsequent layer, or both are convolutional layers (§4.1 images are encoded with a CNN having multiple layers, an image is encoded in a feature map, then concatenated, then pooled).
Regarding claim 11, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the Transformer is a decoder-only Transformer (Fig 2 transformer, p14 §appendix A UNet decoder is used for the transformer step).
Regarding claim 12, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the policy output comprises, for each of a plurality of action dimensions, a respective categorical distribution over possible values for the action dimension (p14 Appendix B, tasks are split into categories which can be selected).
Regarding claim 13, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 12, wherein selecting an action to be performed by the agent using the policy output comprises selecting a respective value for one or more of the action dimensions using the respective categorical distributions (p14 Appendix B, tasks are split into categories which can be selected).
Regarding claim 14, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the image encoder neural network and the Transformer neural network have been trained jointly on a set of training data (Fig 2 Encoder and transformer are used jointly, §3 ¶1 training a policy jointly uses the encoder and transformer, §5.4 Real robot experiments uses simulation data, real robot examples in a fine-tuning phase).
Regarding claim 15, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 14, wherein, prior to the joint training, the image encoder neural network has been pre-trained on an image classification task (§5.4 ¶Results pretraining of the encoder is utilized).
Regarding claim 16, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 15, when dependent on claim 8, wherein the image encoder neural network does not include the one or more conditioning layers for the pre-training (p14 Appendix A, the image encoder is a pretrained CNN which would not have any conditional information from the current task).
Regarding claim 17, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 8, wherein each conditioning layer is, prior to the joint training, initialized to act as an identity transformation to the corresponding respective intermediate output (p4 §4.2 a contextualized representation is condition on the encoded instruction and history to learn relationships.).
Regarding claim 18, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 7, wherein the learned module has also been trained as part of the joint training (Fig 2 Encoder and transformer are used jointly, §3 ¶1 training a policy jointly uses the encoder and transformer).
Regarding claim 19, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 14, wherein the joint training comprises training through imitation learning and the training data comprises expert interaction data characterizing interactions of one or more expert agents with a corresponding environment (§5.4 Real robot experiments uses simulation data, real robot examples in a fine-tuning phase).
Regarding claim 20, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 19, wherein the expert interaction data includes simulation data (§5.4 Real robot experiments uses simulation data, real robot examples in a fine-tuning phase).
Regarding claim 21, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 19, wherein the expert interaction data includes real-world data (§5.4 Real robot experiments uses simulation data, real robot examples in a fine-tuning phase).
Regarding claim 22, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 20, wherein the expert interaction data includes both simulation data and real-world data (§5.4 Real robot experiments uses simulation data, real robot examples in a fine-tuning phase).
Regarding claim 23, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein generating an encoded representation of the natural language text sequence comprises processing the natural language text sequence using a text encoder neural network to generate an embedding of the natural language text sequence (Fig 2 encoder language from NL input).
Regarding claim 24, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 22, wherein the text encoder neural network is pre-trained on a text representation learning task (p4 §4.1 ¶1 “We employ a pre-trained language encoder to tokenize and encode the sentence instruction.”).
Regarding claim 26, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 14, wherein the text encoder neural network is held frozen during the joint training (p4.1 the text encoder is pretrained).
Regarding claim 27, Guhur discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the agent is a robot and the one or more computers are on-board the robot (p8 §5.4 real-robot experiments).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guher in view of Birnbaum et al. (Temporal FiLM: Capturing Long-Range Sequence Dependencies with Feature-Wise Modulation).
Regarding claim 9, Guhur discloses condition layers, however, does not explicitly disclose feature-wise linear modulation layers.
Birnbaum teaches: feature-wise Linear Modulation (FiLM) layers (“We observe that TFiLM significantly improves the performance of deep neural networks on a wide range of discriminative classification tasks as well as on complex high-dimensional time series super-resolution problems. Interestingly, our model is domain-agnostic, yet outperforms more specialized approaches that use domain-specific features” p2 ¶3).
Guhur and Birnbaum are in the same field of endeavor of learning models and are analogous. Guhur discloses a system with text and image encoders combined with a transformer for robot control. Birnbaum teaches FiLM layers for use in deep learning and CNNs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known structure including a CNN encoder as disclosed by Guhur to utilize the known FiLM layer as taught by Birnbaum to yield the predictable results of improved performance of deep neural networks.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guhur in view of Toledo (Transfer Learning with Joint Fine-Tuning for Multimodal Sentiment Analysis).
Regarding claim 25, Guhur discloses a text encoder, however, does not explicitly disclose: wherein the text encoder neural network is fine-tuned during the joint training.
Toledo teaches: wherein the text encoder neural network is fine-tuned during the joint training (p2 §3 Joint fine tuning of pretrained text and image encoders is used, Fig 1).
Guhur and Toledo are in the same field of endeavor of learning models and are analogous. Guhur discloses a system with text and image encoders combined with a transformer for robot control. Toledo teaches fine-tuning of encoders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the known structure including text and image encoders as disclosed by Guhur to utilize the known fine tuning of joint text and image encoders as taught by Toledo to yield the predictable results of improved performance of the encoders.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bousmalis et al. (US 20200279134) discloses training robots using simulation and joint training. Liu et al. (INSTRUCTION-FOLLOWING AGENTS WITH JOINTLY PRE-TRAINED VISION-LANGUAGE MODELS) discloses a very similar structure, however, appears to be by the same applicant but different inventors.
/ERIC NILSSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2151