DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. "The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain." In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275,277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP 2123). Therefore, Applicant, in preparing the response, must fully consider the entire disclosure of the cited references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, including the context of the cited passages as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL (WG2#152E e-meeting)[sited by applicant] in view of Velev et al (20250212098).
Regarding claim 1, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, a method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of an apparatus, whether the apparatus supports accessing a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) providing access for localized services and a user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access
localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user);
responsive to determining that the apparatus supports accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services and the user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user), performing, by the processor, operations comprising:
selecting an available SNPN with validity information in an event that both the apparatus and the selected SNPN support access using credentials from a credentials holder (CH) and the validity information is met (page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 0b, and 1 making a direct reference to section 6.10.3.1, of the same document, disclosing, page 4 steps 2-3, that the UE selects an available and allowable, based on validity information, SNPN, see also fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step Oa disclosing the use of credentials from a credential holder); and
attempting a registration on the selected SNPN ( page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 1 "Registration request").
MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose, operation for automatic network selection.
In the same field of endeavor, Velev et al discloses, operation for automatic network selection (¶ 0122-0127, If the UE is interested in 5G connectivity and the UE receives a list of PLMNs and a list of SNPNs supporting 5G connectivity as shown in FIG. 8, the UE may determine to select an SNPN network or a PLMN network based on various criteria, for example, any one of the following. 1) On implementation means. 2) Based on the configuration. For example, some applications/services of the UE require PLMN registration whereas other services may require SNPN registration. Such UE applications may trigger a registration to PLMN or SNPN. 3) The UE utilizes information stored in the SIM or in the mobile equipment (ME) such as “User Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology”, “Operator controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology”, “Operator controlled SNPN Selector with Access Technology”, “user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs” or “credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs”, “credentials holder controlled prioritized list of Group IDs for Network Selection (GINs)”, etc. For example, if the UE is configured merely with “user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs” or “credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs”, then the UE attempts to select corresponding SNPNs. If the UE is configured merely with “User Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” and/or “Operator controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology”, the UE attempts to select corresponding PLMNs. 4) The UE may consider the type of SUPI it wants to use for the registration with the network. For example, if the SUPI is of NAI type (e.g. network specific identifier, NSI), the UE may consider to select SNPNs. If the SUPI is of IMSI type, the UE may consider selecting PLMNs. 5) The advertised capabilities of the discovered non-3GPP access networks or discovered SNPNs). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the user equipment (UE) discovers the supported functionalities or the offered services by SNPNs connected to the N3GPP. The UE is able to select an appropriate SNPN and corresponding N3GPP AN by using service information. The UE selects a trusted non-3GPP access network which offers connectivity to a network and supports functionalities like registration as taught by Velev et al.
Regarding claims 2, 12, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, wherein the selecting of an available SNPN with validity information is performed in the following order: selecting a last registered SNPN with validity information that is met or an available equivalent SNPN of the last registered SNPN; selecting an SNPN with validity information that is met from available SNPNs with validity information contained in a list of preferred SNPNs based on a priority order of the list of preferred SNPNs; or selecting an SNPN with validity information that is met from available SNPNs, each of which broadcasts a group identifier for network selection (GIN) with validity information contained in a list of preferred GINs, based on a priority order of the list of preferred GINs (page 2, section 6.10.2.1, the passage reading "SNPN-localized services-enabled UE" can be configured with a specific prioritized list of SNPNs for localized services" where the priority of the priority list implies to follow said priority for network selection).
Regarding claims 9, 19 MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, wherein the validity information is met when the validity information comprises at least one of time validity information and location validity information, the time validity information comprises at least one time period matching the apparatus' current time, and the location validity information comprises at least one geographical location or tracking area matching the apparatus' current location (page 3, the passage relating to the validity information, and disclosing that it contains at least "Validity time period and additional location information (TAI list or geographical information).
Regarding claims 10, 20, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, wherein the selecting of an available SNPN with validity information is performed for automatic network selection (page 4, section 6.10.3.1 "Automatic discovery and selection of SNPNs for access to localized services").
Regarding claim 11, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, an apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver which (UE, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2), during operation, wirelessly communicates with one or more stand-alone non-public networks ((UE, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2 step 1); and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
determining whether the apparatus supports accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services and a user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user);
responsive to determining that the apparatus supports accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services and the user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user), performing the following:
selecting an available SNPN with validity information in an event that both the apparatus and the selected SNPN support access using credentials from a credentials holder (CH) and the validity information is met (page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 0b, and 1 making a direct reference to section 6.10.3.1, of the same document, disclosing, page 4 steps 2-3, that the UE selects an available and allowable, based on validity information, SNPN, see also fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step Oa disclosing the use of credentials from a credential holder); and
attempting, via the transceiver, a registration on the selected SNPN ( page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 1 "Registration request").
MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose, operation for automatic network selection.
In the same field of endeavor, Velev et al discloses, operation for automatic network selection (¶ 0122-0127, If the UE is interested in 5G connectivity and the UE receives a list of PLMNs and a list of SNPNs supporting 5G connectivity as shown in FIG. 8, the UE may determine to select an SNPN network or a PLMN network based on various criteria, for example, any one of the following. 1) On implementation means. 2) Based on the configuration. For example, some applications/services of the UE require PLMN registration whereas other services may require SNPN registration. Such UE applications may trigger a registration to PLMN or SNPN. 3) The UE utilizes information stored in the SIM or in the mobile equipment (ME) such as “User Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology”, “Operator controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology”, “Operator controlled SNPN Selector with Access Technology”, “user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs” or “credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs”, “credentials holder controlled prioritized list of Group IDs for Network Selection (GINs)”, etc. For example, if the UE is configured merely with “user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs” or “credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs”, then the UE attempts to select corresponding SNPNs. If the UE is configured merely with “User Controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology” and/or “Operator controlled PLMN Selector with Access Technology”, the UE attempts to select corresponding PLMNs. 4) The UE may consider the type of SUPI it wants to use for the registration with the network. For example, if the SUPI is of NAI type (e.g. network specific identifier, NSI), the UE may consider to select SNPNs. If the SUPI is of IMSI type, the UE may consider selecting PLMNs. 5) The advertised capabilities of the discovered non-3GPP access networks or discovered SNPNs). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the user equipment (UE) discovers the supported functionalities or the offered services by SNPNs connected to the N3GPP. The UE is able to select an appropriate SNPN and corresponding N3GPP AN by using service information. The UE selects a trusted non-3GPP access network which offers connectivity to a network and supports functionalities like registration as taught by Velev et al.
Claim(s) 3-8, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL (WG2#152E e-meeting)[sited by applicant] in view of Velev et al and 3GPP TS (23.122)( (Release 17)[ sited by applicant].
Regarding claims 3, 4, 13, and 14, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and Velev et al disclose in claim 1, further, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose an available SNPN which broadcasts an indication that the SNPN allows registration attempts from user equipments (UEs) that are not configured to select the SNPN.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS discloses, wherein the operations further comprise: selecting an available last registered SNPN without validity information or an available equivalent SNPN in an event that the selecting of an available SNPN with validity information fails (page 61, first paragraph the passage reading "If there is no registered SNPN, or registration is not possible due to the SNPN being unavailable or registration failure, unless the MS needs to select an SNPN for onboarding services in SNPN, the MS follows the procedure in clause 4.9.3.1.1 or clause 4.9.3.1.2 depending on its SNPN selection mode", together with page 61 section 4.9.3.1.1). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and Velev et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs as taught by 3GPP TS.
Regarding claims 5, 8, 15, and 18, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and Velev et al disclose in claim 1, further, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose an available SNPN which broadcasts an indication that the SNPN allows registration attempts from user equipments (UEs) that are not configured to select the SNPN.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS discloses, an available SNPN which broadcasts an indication that the SNPN allows registration attempts from user equipments (UEs) that are not configured to select the SNPN (page 62, section 4.9.3.1.2, "Manual SNPN selection mode procedure", and "each SNPN which is identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs configured in the MЕ"). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and Velev et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs as taught by 3GPP TS.
Regarding claims 6-7, 16-17, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and Velev et al disclose in claim 1, further, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose responsive to determining that the apparatus does not support accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services or the user does not enable to access localized services, selecting, by the processor, an available SNPN without validity information and attempting a registration on the selected SNPN.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS discloses, responsive to determining that the apparatus does not support accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services or the user does not enable to access localized services, selecting, by the processor, an available SNPN without validity information and attempting a registration on the selected SNPN (page 61, section 4.9.3.1.1 "The MS selects an SNPN, if
available and allowable, in the following order: a) the SNPN with which the UE was last registered;"). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and Velev et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs as taught by 3GPP TS.
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 11-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL (WG2#152E e-meeting)[sited by applicant] in view of KUMAR et al (20240196182).
Regarding claim 1, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, a method, comprising:
determining, by a processor of an apparatus, whether the apparatus supports accessing a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) providing access for localized services and a user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access
localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user);
responsive to determining that the apparatus supports accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services and the user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user), performing, by the processor, operations comprising:
selecting an available SNPN with validity information in an event that both the apparatus and the selected SNPN support access using credentials from a credentials holder (CH) and the validity information is met (page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 0b, and 1 making a direct reference to section 6.10.3.1, of the same document, disclosing, page 4 steps 2-3, that the UE selects an available and allowable, based on validity information, SNPN, see also fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step Oa disclosing the use of credentials from a credential holder); and
attempting a registration on the selected SNPN ( page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 1 "Registration request").
MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose, operation for automatic network selection.
In the same field of endeavor, KUMAR et al discloses, operation for automatic network selection (¶ 0109-0111 and 0178-0182, the SNPN identified by an SNPN identity of the subscribed SNPN in the selected entry of the “list of subscriber data” in the ME, if any; 2. If the MS supports access to an SNPN using credentials from a credentials holder, using the SNPN selection parameters in the selected entry of the “list of subscriber data” or associated with the selected PLMN subscription: 1) Each SNPN which broadcasts the indication that access using credentials from a credentials holder is supported and which is identified by an SNPN identity contained in the user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (200b), 2) Each SNPN which broadcasts the indication that access using credentials from a credentials holder is supported and which is identified by an SNPN identity contained in the credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs) The advertised capabilities of the discovered non-3GPP access networks or discovered SNPNs). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method effectively handling emergency calls when the UE is being onboarded in the SNPN. as taught by KUMAR et al.
Regarding claims 2, 12, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, wherein the selecting of an available SNPN with validity information is performed in the following order: selecting a last registered SNPN with validity information that is met or an available equivalent SNPN of the last registered SNPN; selecting an SNPN with validity information that is met from available SNPNs with validity information contained in a list of preferred SNPNs based on a priority order of the list of preferred SNPNs; or selecting an SNPN with validity information that is met from available SNPNs, each of which broadcasts a group identifier for network selection (GIN) with validity information contained in a list of preferred GINs, based on a priority order of the list of preferred GINs (page 2, section 6.10.2.1, the passage reading "SNPN-localized services-enabled UE" can be configured with a specific prioritized list of SNPNs for localized services" where the priority of the priority list implies to follow said priority for network selection).
Regarding claims 9, 19 MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, wherein the validity information is met when the validity information comprises at least one of time validity information and location validity information, the time validity information comprises at least one time period matching the apparatus' current time, and the location validity information comprises at least one geographical location or tracking area matching the apparatus' current location (page 3, the passage relating to the validity information, and disclosing that it contains at least "Validity time period and additional location information (TAI list or geographical information).
Regarding claims 10, 20, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, wherein the selecting of an available SNPN with validity information is performed for automatic network selection (page 4, section 6.10.3.1 "Automatic discovery and selection of SNPNs for access to localized services").
Regarding claim 11, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL discloses, an apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver which (UE, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2), during operation, wirelessly communicates with one or more stand-alone non-public networks ((UE, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2 step 1); and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
determining whether the apparatus supports accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services and a user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user);
responsive to determining that the apparatus supports accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services and the user enables to access localized services (page 6, fig. 6.10.2-1, page 2, the passage reading "SNPN selection for localized services is performed by a UE that supports access to localized services in SNPNs and that has been configured to access localized services in SNPNs. We will call this UE an "SNPN-localized services enabled UE", and page 5 section 6.10.3.5 disclosing that the access to localized services is enabled by a user), performing the following:
selecting an available SNPN with validity information in an event that both the apparatus and the selected SNPN support access using credentials from a credentials holder (CH) and the validity information is met (page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 0b, and 1 making a direct reference to section 6.10.3.1, of the same document, disclosing, page 4 steps 2-3, that the UE selects an available and allowable, based on validity information, SNPN, see also fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step Oa disclosing the use of credentials from a credential holder); and
attempting, via the transceiver, a registration on the selected SNPN ( page 6, fig. 6.10.3.6-1 step 1 "Registration request").
MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose, operation for automatic network selection.
In the same field of endeavor, KUMAR et al discloses, operation for automatic network selection (¶ 0109-0111 and 0178-0182, the SNPN identified by an SNPN identity of the subscribed SNPN in the selected entry of the “list of subscriber data” in the ME, if any; 2. If the MS supports access to an SNPN using credentials from a credentials holder, using the SNPN selection parameters in the selected entry of the “list of subscriber data” or associated with the selected PLMN subscription: 1) Each SNPN which broadcasts the indication that access using credentials from a credentials holder is supported and which is identified by an SNPN identity contained in the user controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs (in priority order) (200b), 2) Each SNPN which broadcasts the indication that access using credentials from a credentials holder is supported and which is identified by an SNPN identity contained in the credentials holder controlled prioritized list of preferred SNPNs) The advertised capabilities of the discovered non-3GPP access networks or discovered SNPNs). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method effectively handling emergency calls when the UE is being onboarded in the SNPN. as taught by KUMAR et al.
Claim(s) 3-8, 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL (WG2#152E e-meeting)[sited by applicant] in view of KUMAR et al and 3GPP TS (23.122)( (Release 17)[ sited by applicant].
Regarding claims 3, 4, 13, and 14, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and KUMAR et al disclose in claim 1, further, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose an available SNPN which broadcasts an indication that the SNPN allows registration attempts from user equipments (UEs) that are not configured to select the SNPN.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS discloses, wherein the operations further comprise: selecting an available last registered SNPN without validity information or an available equivalent SNPN in an event that the selecting of an available SNPN with validity information fails (page 61, first paragraph the passage reading "If there is no registered SNPN, or registration is not possible due to the SNPN being unavailable or registration failure, unless the MS needs to select an SNPN for onboarding services in SNPN, the MS follows the procedure in clause 4.9.3.1.1 or clause 4.9.3.1.2 depending on its SNPN selection mode", together with page 61 section 4.9.3.1.1). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and KUMAR et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs as taught by 3GPP TS.
Regarding claims 5, 8, 15, and 18, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and KUMAR et al disclose in claim 1, further, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose an available SNPN which broadcasts an indication that the SNPN allows registration attempts from user equipments (UEs) that are not configured to select the SNPN.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS discloses, an available SNPN which broadcasts an indication that the SNPN allows registration attempts from user equipments (UEs) that are not configured to select the SNPN (page 62, section 4.9.3.1.2, "Manual SNPN selection mode procedure", and "each SNPN which is identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs configured in the MЕ"). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and KUMAR et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs as taught by 3GPP TS.
Regarding claims 6-7, 16-17, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and KUMAR et al disclose in claim 1, further, MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL does not specifically disclose responsive to determining that the apparatus does not support accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services or the user does not enable to access localized services, selecting, by the processor, an available SNPN without validity information and attempting a registration on the selected SNPN.
In the same field of endeavor, 3GPP TS discloses, responsive to determining that the apparatus does not support accessing an SNPN providing access for localized services or the user does not enable to access localized services, selecting, by the processor, an available SNPN without validity information and attempting a registration on the selected SNPN (page 61, section 4.9.3.1.1 "The MS selects an SNPN, if
available and allowable, in the following order: a) the SNPN with which the UE was last registered;"). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of MIGUEL GRIOT ET AL and KUMAR et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of identified by an SNPN identity contained in one of the users controlled prioritized lists of preferred SNPNs as taught by 3GPP TS.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643