DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species II in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Fig. 4 and Fig. 7 are the embodiment and that Figs. 4 and 7 are demonstrating different aspects of the same invention. This is found persuasive and the restriction requirement of 10/08/2025 has been withdrawn.
The status of the claims for this application is as follows.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/03/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/13/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartholomew (WO 9532382).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Clm 1: Bartholomew discloses a latch system (see Figs. 5 and 6) for a fluid line coupling, the latch system comprising:
a coupling (see Figs. 5 and 6) comprising
a connector (114) and
a port (212),
wherein the connector and the port are configured to comprise the coupling as a mating fluid connection (see Figs. 5 and 6);
a primary latch (220) configured to secure the connector to the port (see Figs. 5 and 6); and
a secondary latch (216) configured to secure the connector to the port and to ensure the primary latch is engaged (see Figs. 5 and 6),
the secondary latch (216) comprising a latch arm (the arm containing 280B) configured to move into the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6), and to ensure the primary latch is in a latched position (see Figs. 5 and 6), and the secondary latch comprising a lock tab (the tab that abuts 246) on the latch arm (see Figs. 5 and 6), the lock tab configured to engage the connector to lock the secondary latch in the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 2: Bartholomew discloses wherein the secondary latch comprises a body (the body of 216) or wherein the latch arm extends from the body and comprising a handle (278A) extending from the body (see Figs. 5 and 6), wherein the handle is configured for manipulation of the secondary latch to secure the secondary latch (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 3: Bartholomew discloses wherein the secondary latch (216) comprises a body (the body of 216), wherein the latch arm extends from the body in a first direction (see Figs. 5 and 6, and the latch system comprising a spacer (278A) extending from the body in a second direction (see Figs. 5 and 6), wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (the width of these two structures extend in opposite directions).
Re Clm 4: Bartholomew discloses wherein the port comprises a shaft (the shaft of 212), wherein the secondary latch comprises a pair of clip legs (the legs of 280A and 280B) configured to clip onto the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 5: Bartholomew discloses wherein the port comprises a shaft (the shaft of 212) with a bead (see the bead(s) or 212) formed around the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6), wherein the primary latch comprises a clip (256A and 258A) configured to clip the connector onto the port against the bead (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 6: Bartholomew discloses wherein the latch arm (the arm containing 280B) of the secondary latch is configured to extend out of the connector (the end of the arm between 282B and 246, see Fig. 6) when the coupling is fully engaged and to serve as a release for the secondary latch from the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 7: Bartholomew discloses wherein the secondary latch (216) comprises a body (see the body of 216) that is semi-cylindrical in shape (see Figs. 5 and 6), wherein the port (212) includes a shaft (see the shaft of 212) and wherein the body is configured to clip onto the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 8: Bartholomew discloses wherein: the latch arm comprises a terminal end (the end that abuts 212), the port comprises a shaft that is hollow (the shaft of 212), with a bead (224) on an outside of the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6), and the terminal end is configured to engage the bead to ensure the shaft is fully engaged within the connector (at least during instillation and see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 9: Bartholomew discloses wherein: the port comprises a shaft (the shaft of 212), with a bead (24 and 226) on an outside of the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6), the primary latch comprises a clip (256A and 258A or 256B and 258B) with a curved segment (the curved segment containing 256A and 258A or 256B and 258B) configured to engage the shaft adjacent the bead (226) to secure the port and the connector together (see Figs. 5 and 6), and the latch arm of the secondary latch comprises a terminal end (the end that abuts 212) configured to engage the bead (224, at least during instillation) to ensure the curved segment seats against the shaft at the bead (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 10: Bartholomew discloses wherein the connector (114) comprises a bell section (see Fig. 6, the section that receives 212) and a tube section (see Fig. 6, the section to the left of the bell section), wherein the primary latch is contained in the bell section (see Fig. 6) and the secondary latch (see Fig. 6) is configured to be inserted into the bell section (see Fig. 6), wherein the secondary latch comprises a lock tab (the tab of 280B) configured to engage the bell section to secure the coupling together (see Fig. 6).
Re Clm 11: Bartholomew discloses a method of coupling a fluid line with a latch system (see Figs. 5 and 6), the method comprising:
constructing a mating fluid connection (see Figs. 5 and 6) from a coupling that has a connector (114) and
a port (212);
securing, by a primary latch (220), the connector to the port; and
securing, by a secondary latch (216), the connector to the port;
ensuring, by the secondary latch (see Figs. 5 and 6), engagement of the primary latch (see Figs. 5 and 6); moving a latch arm (the arm containing 280B) of the secondary latch into the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6);
ensuring, by the secondary latch, that the primary latch is in a latched position (see Figs. 5 and 6); and
engaging a lock tab (the tab that abuts 246) on the latch arm of the secondary latch with the connector to lock the secondary latch in the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 12: Bartholomew discloses providing a body (the body of 216) on the secondary latch (see Figs. 5 and 6); extending the latch arm from the body (see Figs. 5 and 6); extending a handle (278A) from the body (see Figs. 5 and 6); and manipulating the handle to secure the secondary latch (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 13: Bartholomew discloses extending, from a body (the body of 216) of the secondary latch and in a first direction, the latch arm (see Figs. 5 and 6); and extending from the body of the secondary latch and in a second direction that is opposite the first direction, a spacer (278A).
Re Clm 14: Bartholomew discloses constructing the port to have a shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6, the shaft of 212); adding, to the secondary latch, a pair of clip legs (280A and 280A); and clipping, by the clip legs, the secondary latch onto the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 15: Bartholomew discloses constructing the port as a shaft (see the shaft of 212) with a bead (see 124 and 126) formed around the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6); and constructing the primary latch to have a clip (256A and 258A or 256B and 258B); and clipping, by the clip, the connector onto the port with the primary latch positioned against the bead (see Fig 6).
Re Clm 16: Bartholomew discloses extending the latch arm of the secondary latch out of the connector (the end of the arm between 282B and 246, see Fig. 6) when the coupling is fully engaged (see Figs. 5 and 6); and releasing, by the latch arm, the secondary latch from the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 17: Bartholomew discloses constructing the secondary latch to have a body that is semi-cylindrical in shape (see Figs. 5 and 6); including, as a part of the port, a shaft (when 212 is installed); and clipping, the body of the secondary latch onto the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 18: Bartholomew discloses constructing the latch arm to have a terminal end (the end that abuts 212); constructing the port to have a shaft (212) that is hollow (see Figs. 5 and 6), and with a bead (224 and 226) on an outside of the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6); and engaging the terminal end with the bead (at least during instillation) to ensure the shaft is fully engaged within the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Re Clm 19: Bartholomew discloses constructing the port to have a shaft (the shaft of 212), with a bead (224 and 226) on an outside of the shaft (see Figs. 5 and 6); constructing the primary latch to have a clip (256A and 258A or 256B and 258B) with a curved segment (the curved segment containing 256A and 258A or 256B and 258B); engaging, by the curved segment (see Figs. 5 and 6), the shaft adjacent the bead to secure the port and the connector together (see Figs. 5 and 6); and engaging, by a terminal end of the latch arm (the end that abuts 212), the bead to ensure the curved segment seats against the shaft at the bead (the end that abuts 212).
Re Clm 20: Bartholomew discloses a latch system (see Figs. 5 and 6) for a fluid line coupling of a vehicle (see page 1, line 3 through page 2, line 25), the latch system comprising:
a coupling (see Figs. 5 and 6) comprising a connector (114) and a port (212) on the vehicle (see page 1, line 3 through page 2, line 25), wherein the connector and the port are configured to comprise the coupling as a mating fluid connection (see Figs. 5 and 6);
a primary latch (220) configured to secure the connector to the port (see Figs. 5 and 6); and
a secondary latch (216) configured to secure the connector to the port and to ensure the primary latch is engaged (see Figs. 5 and 6), the secondary latch comprising a latch arm (the arm containing 280B) configured to move into the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6), and the latch arm including a terminal end (the end that abuts 212) configured to engage the port to ensure the primary latch is in a latched position (see Figs. 5 and 6), and the secondary latch comprising a lock tab on the latch arm (see Figs. 5 and 6), the lock tab (the tab that abuts 246) configured to engage the connector to lock the secondary latch in the connector (see Figs. 5 and 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following documents have structural features (tubular members inserted into other tubular members) which are similar to the applicant’s claimed invention; US-20230383879-A1, US-20040066034-A1, US-20120119485-A1, US-8939470-B2, US-5161834-A, and US-5195787-A.
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
02/27/2026
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679