DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The status of the claims for this application is as follows.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gunderson (EP 1865245).
At the outset the applicant is reminded that:
1. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
2. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Re Clm 1: Gunderson discloses a latch system (see Figs. 1-10) for a fluid line coupling, the latch system comprising:
a coupling (see Fig. 1) comprising
a connector (214, female part) and
a port (the port of 224, male part),
wherein the connector and the port are configured to comprise the coupling as a mating fluid connection (see Fig. 1),
the connector including a bell section (the bell internal of 214) and a tube section (see the straight bore of 214), the bell section including an opening through which the port extends (see Fig. 1),
the port including a shaft (224) with a bead (222) on the shaft;
a primary latch (217) configured to secure the connector to the port (see Fig. 3), wherein the bell section houses the primary latch entirely within the bell section (see Fig. 3), and wherein the primary latch includes a clip (300) engaging the bead within the bell section (see Fig. 3) when the port is coupled with the connector (see Fig. 3); and
a secondary latch (216) configured to secure the connector to the port (see Fig. 3) and to ensure the primary latch is engaged (see Fig. 3), the secondary latch comprising a latch arm (276 and 261) configured to move into the connector (see Fig. 3), and to ensure the primary latch is in a latched position (see Fig. 3), the latch arm having a terminal end (278) engaging the bead within the bell section (see Fig. 3), and the secondary latch comprising a lock tab (at 284) on the latch arm (see Fig. 3), the lock tab engaging the bell section of the connector to lock the secondary latch in the connector when the port is fully coupled with the connector (see Fig. 3, 284 is made to or is capable of engaging the bell section of the connector to lock the secondary latch in the connector when the port is fully coupled with the connector).
Re Clm 2: Gunderson discloses wherein the secondary latch comprises a body (see the body that has the flared member at an end of 261) wherein the latch arm extends from the body and comprising a handle (comprising a proton of 260) extending from the body, wherein the handle is configured for manipulation of the secondary latch to secure the secondary latch (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 3: Gunderson discloses wherein the secondary latch comprises a body (see the body that has the flared member at an end of 261), wherein the latch arm extends from the body in a first direction (see Fig. 3), and the latch system comprising a spacer (comprising a proton of 260) extending from the body in a second direction, wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 4: Gunderson discloses wherein the secondary latch comprises a pair of clip legs (another 276 and yet another 276) configured to clip onto the shaft (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 6: Gunderson discloses wherein the latch arm of the secondary latch is configured to extend out of the connector when the coupling is fully engaged and to serve as a release for the secondary latch from the connector (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 7: Gunderson discloses wherein the secondary latch comprises a body (see the body that has the flared member at an end of 261) that is semi-cylindrical in shape (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 8: Gunderson discloses wherein the terminal end is configured to engage the bead to ensure the shaft is fully engaged within the connector (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 9: Gunderson discloses wherein the clip has a curved segment (at the end of 302) configured to engage the shaft adjacent the bead to secure the port and the connector together (see Figs. 3 and 8-11), and the terminal end is configured to engage the bead to ensure the curved segment seats against the shaft at the bead (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 10: Gunderson discloses wherein the secondary latch is configured to be inserted into the bell section (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 11: Gunderson discloses a method of coupling a fluid line with a latch system (see Figs. 1-10), the method comprising:
constructing a mating fluid connection (see Figs. 1-10) from a coupling (see Fig. 1) that has
a connector (214, female part) and
a port (the port of 224, male part),
the connector including a bell section (the bell internal of 214) and a tube section (see the straight bore of 214), the bell section including an opening through which the port extends (see Fig. 1), the port including a shaft (224) with a bead (222) on the shaft; securing, by a primary latch, the connector to the port (see Fig. 3),
wherein the bell section houses the primary latch entirely within the bell section (see Fig. 3), and
wherein the primary latch includes a clip (300) engaging the bead within the bell section (see Fig. 3) when the port is coupled with the connector (see Fig. 3); and
securing, by a secondary latch (216), the connector to the port; ensuring, by the secondary latch, engagement of the primary latch; moving a latch arm (276 and 261) of the secondary latch into the connector (see Fig. 3); ensuring, by the secondary latch, that the primary latch is in a latched position (see Fig. 3), the latch arm having a terminal end (278) engaging the bead within the bell section (see Fig. 3); and engaging a lock tab (at 284) on the latch arm of the secondary latch with the connector to lock the secondary latch in the connector, when the port is fully coupled with the connector (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 12: Gunderson discloses providing a body (see the body that has the flared member at an end of 261) on the secondary latch; extending the latch arm from the body; extending a handle (comprising a proton of 260) from the body; and manipulating the handle to secure the secondary latch (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 13: Gunderson discloses extending, from a body (see the body that has the flared member at an end of 261) of the secondary latch and in a first direction (see Fig. 3), the latch arm; and extending from the body of the secondary latch and in a second direction that is opposite the first direction (see Fig. 3), a spacer (comprising a proton of 260).
Re Clm 14: Gunderson discloses constructing the port to have a shaft; adding, to the secondary latch, a pair of clip legs (another 276 and yet another 276); and clipping, by the clip legs, the secondary latch onto the shaft see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 16: Gunderson discloses extending the latch arm of the secondary latch out of the connector when the coupling is fully engaged (see Fig. 3); and releasing, by the latch arm, the secondary latch from the connector (such is how it is released).
Re Clm 17: Gunderson discloses constructing the secondary latch to have a body (see the body) that is semi-cylindrical in shape (see Fig. 1); and clipping, the body of the secondary latch onto the shaft (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 18: Gunderson discloses engaging the terminal end with the bead to ensure the shaft is fully engaged within the connector (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 19: Gunderson discloses constructing the primary latch to have a curved segment on the clip (see Fig. 1); engaging, by the curved segment (see Figs. 1 and 3), the shaft adjacent the bead to secure the port and the connector together (see Fig. 3); and engaging, by the terminal end of the latch arm (see Fig. 3), the bead to ensure the curved segment seats against the shaft at the bead (see Fig. 3).
Re Clm 20: Gunderson discloses a latch system (see Figs. 1-10) for a fluid line coupling of a vehicle, the latch system comprising:
a coupling (see Fig. 1) comprising
a connector (214, female part) and
a port (the port of 224, male part) on the vehicle,
wherein the connector and the port are configured to comprise the coupling as a mating fluid connection (see Fig. 1),
the connector including a bell section (the bell internal of 214) and a tube section (see the straight bore of 214), the bell section including an opening through which the port extends (see Fig. 1),
the port including a shaft (224) with a bead (222) on the shaft;
a primary latch (217) configured to secure the connector to the port (see Fig. 3), wherein the bell section houses the primary latch entirely within the bell section (see Fig. 3), and wherein the primary latch includes a clip (300) engaging the bead within the bell section (see Fig. 3) when the port is coupled with the connector (see Fig. 3); and
a secondary latch (216) configured to secure the connector to the port (see Fig. 3) and to ensure the primary latch is engaged (see Fig. 3), the secondary latch comprising a latch arm (276 and 261) configured to move into the connector (see Fig. 3), and the latch arm including a terminal end (278) configured to engage the port to ensure the primary latch is in a latched position (see Fig. 3), the terminal end engaging the bead within the bell section (see Fig. 3), and the secondary latch comprising a lock tab (at 284) on the latch arm (see Fig. 3), the lock tab configured to engage engaging the bell section of the connector to lock the secondary latch in the connector when the port is fully coupled with the connector (see Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Any claim not specifically argued will stand or fall with the claim(s) it/hey depend.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES ALBERT LINFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3679
06/26/2026
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679