DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a generation unit that generates” in claim 1, defined in paragraph [0016] as the apparatus in Fig. 2.
“a supply unit that supplies” in claim 1, defined in paragraph [0037] as “the signal line 120 that transmits an excitation signal to the refrigerant pipe 5...”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Morizono et al., JP 6906213 B1.
Claim 1. Morizono discloses a heat medium reforming device comprising: (Morizono, [0001] and [0009] describes an electrostatic rectifier that can be applied to a heating medium.)
a generation unit that generates, on the basis of a commercial power supply, an excitation signal that excites a heat medium, (Morizono, Fig. 5 the circuit diagram of the electrostatic rectifier corresponds with the claimed generation unit; [0035] “… the electrostatic rectifier 4 of the temperature control device 1 receives power from a power source, more specifically, an external power source, and more specifically, a household power source, and generates the pulsed damped wave signal”; and [0034] “… by using a damped wave signal, the impact of the pulse can be effectively transmitted to the medium.”)
the excitation signal having a pulse width of 5 nsec to 100 nsec and (Morizono, Fig. 4 and [0034] “This frequency means a period in one damped wave signal, and is 0.1 μs or more and 0.5 μs or less, preferably 0.2 μs or less in terms of the time interval” where 0.1 μs, or 100 nanoseconds, is included in the claimed 5 nsec to 100 nsec range.)
a frequency of 5 kHz to 50 kHz; and (Morizono, [0033] “… the electrostatic rectifier 4 preferably supplies a pulsed damped wave signal repeated at a frequency of 20 kHz or more and 40 kHz or less.”)
a supply unit that supplies the excitation signal generated by the generation unit to the heat medium. (Morizono, [0037] “…the electrostatic rectifier 4 is electrically connected around the medium tube 2 to supply electric charges to the medium. More specifically, the electric charge can be supplied by bringing the output end of the electrostatic rectifier into contact with the medium tube”; and [0036] describes the output end as “an output terminal 44 that transmits the output of the operational amplifier 43.”)
Claim 3. Morizono discloses the heat medium reforming device according to claim 1,
further comprising a conversion unit that is connected between the commercial power supply and (Morizono, Fig. 5 shows an A/D converter 41, connected between the commercial power supply and uses amplifier 43 of the electrostatic rectifier to send signals through an output terminal 44.)
the generation unit and converts an alternating-current voltage of the commercial power supply into a direct-current voltage. (Morizono, [0036] “… the electrostatic rectifier 4 is connected to an external AC power supply, an AD converter 41 that converts this AC power supply into direct current…”)
Claim 5. Morizono discloses a heat medium reforming method comprising: (Morizono, [0001] and [0009] describes an electrostatic rectifier that can be applied to a heating medium.)
generating, on the basis of a commercial power supply, an excitation signal that excites a heat medium, (Morizono, Fig. 5 the circuit diagram of the electrostatic rectifier corresponds with the claimed generation unit; [0035] “… the electrostatic rectifier 4 of the temperature control device 1 receives power from a power source, more specifically, an external power source, and more specifically, a household power source, and generates the pulsed damped wave signal”; and [0034] “… by using a damped wave signal, the impact of the pulse can be effectively transmitted to the medium.”)
the excitation signal having a pulse width of 5 nsec to 100 nsec and (Morizono, Fig. 4 and [0034] “This frequency means a period in one damped wave signal, and is 0.1 μs or more and 0.5 μs or less, preferably 0.2 μs or less in terms of the time interval” where 0.1 μs, or 100 nanoseconds, is included in the claimed 5 nsec to 100 nsec range.)
a frequency of 5 kHz to 50 kHz; and (Morizono, [0033] “… the electrostatic rectifier 4 preferably supplies a pulsed damped wave signal repeated at a frequency of 20 kHz or more and 40 kHz or less.”)
supplying the generated excitation signal to the heat medium. (Morizono, [0037] “…the electrostatic rectifier 4 is electrically connected around the medium tube 2 to supply electric charges to the medium. More specifically, the electric charge can be supplied by bringing the output end of the electrostatic rectifier into contact with the medium tube”; and [0036] describes the output end as “an output terminal 44 that transmits the output of the operational amplifier 43.”)
Claim 6. Morizono discloses a heat medium using device attached with the heat medium reforming device according to claim 1. (Morizono, Fig. 1 shows a temperature control device 1 with a tube 2 filled with a heating medium, attached is an electrostatic rectifier 4.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morizono et al., JP 6906213 B1 in view of Vaisman et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 11561030 B1.
Claim 2. Morizono discloses the heat medium reforming device according to claim 1.
Morizono does not explicitly disclose wherein the generation unit is implemented by an application specific digital integrated circuit.
Vaisman discloses wherein the generation unit is implemented by an application specific digital integrated circuit. (Vaisman, col. 18 line 47-67 “Suitable processors for the systems disclosed herein include both general and special purpose microprocessors, and the sole processor or one of multiple processors of any kind of computer or computing device… Processors and memory units of the systems disclosed herein is supplemented by, or incorporated in, ASICs (application-specific integrated circuits).”)
Morizono and Vaisman are analogous art because they are related to thermal management of refrigeration systems. Although Morizono does not explicitly disclose the use of an ASIC, the circuit in Fig. 4 implements a power supply converter and generates a basic signal similarly to the functions of the ASIC described in [0035]-[0039] of the instant specification. Vaisman teaches the use of ASICs as a processor and memory storage for the computer program responsible for the operations used in the thermal management of refrigeration systems. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to simply substitute the controller and analog circuits disclosed by Morizono with the special purpose microprocessor such as the ASIC taught by Vaisman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a substitution as the functions of the controller disclosed by Morizono “can generally be implemented as one of a variety of different electrical or electronic computing or processing devices” and the substitution of an ASIC would yield a similar and predictable outcome of performing the above processes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morizono et al., JP 6906213 B1 in view of Kondo et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 6730428 B1.
Claim 4. Morizono discloses the heat medium reforming device according to claim 1.
Modified Morizono does not explicitly disclose wherein the excitation signal has a peak value of 550 mA to 1000 mA.
wherein the excitation signal has a peak value of 550 mA to 1000 mA. (Kondo, col. 6 line 23 “The DC-pulse generating device 38 is adapted to output the pulsating direct current voltage which is required to cause the pulsating direct current of about 1-8 A (ampere)…” where 1 A is within the claimed range 550 mA to 1000mA.)
Morizono and Kondo are analogous art because they are related to the use of DC-pulse generating devices. Although Morizono does not explicitly disclose the ampere of the pulse applied by the electrostatic rectifier to the medium tube, Kondo teaches a DC-pulse generating device capable of outputting at least about 1 mA of current which is similar to Morizono’s electrostatic rectifier, which also uses a pulsing direct current. Kondo uses the direct current pulse of at least 1 mA in order to break up the residue deposited on the surface of a battery, which similarly has the same effect in clearing “the scale adhering to the pipeline wall generated by calcium, magnesium and the like… by the pulsed signal” as taught by Morizono (see Morizono, [0042]). Kondo states that “the pulsating direct current voltage has a value which is sufficiently higher than that of the rated terminal voltage or that of the charging voltage...” (Kondo, col. 6 line 27) over a relatively high frequency for the purpose of preventing the occurrence of sulfication (Kondo, col. 2 line 37). Ohm’s law dictates that voltage is equal to the current multiplied by the resistance, in this case the resistance of the medium pipe (V = I x R). As such, the peak current is a result effective variable because the amount of current applied directly controls the strength of the electrical charge, which when applied over a certain frequency, is responsible for preventing the unwanted deposits on the pipeline wall during operation. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the current used by Morizono with the current range taught by Kondo since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.05 I.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Horiguchi, JP 6298895 B2 directed to a similar pulse generating device.
/K.B.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761