DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10, 12-13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2022/0408388 A1; hereinafter Kim) in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0195543 A1; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Kim teaches first node (read as device) for wireless communications (¶ [0233] Wireless communication may be established between wireless devices .),
comprising:
a first receiver (read as UE 2), which receives a first signal, the first signal comprising a first message (¶ [0136] UE 1 may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to UE 2.); and
the first message indicating a first sidelink frequency list (read as positions/number of time/frequency resources) (¶ [0154] The transmitting UE may transmit some or all of the following information to the receiving UE through the first SCI.; ¶ [0155] Resource allocation information, for example, the positions/number of time/frequency resources.),
the first sidelink frequency list comprising a first frequency, the first frequency (read as sub-channel) being used for sidelink communication (¶ [0149] The UE may indicate to another UE one or more sub-channels used by the UE, using SCI.); and
receives a first synchronization signal from the synchronization reference determined (¶ 0104] The UE may acquire detailed synchronization using the S-PSS and the S-SSS.; ¶ [0174] The UE may be synchronized with a BS directly or with another UE which has been time/frequency synchronized with the BS.; ¶ [0174] The UE may provide synchronization information to another neighboring UE.; ¶ [0175] The BS may provide a synchronization configuration for a carrier used for sidelink communication. The UE may follow the synchronization configuration received from the BS.); and
a first transmitter, which transmits a second synchronization signal (¶ [0107] The transmitting UE may transmit one or more S-SSBs to the receiving UE.);
a reception timing for the first synchronization signal being used to determine a transmission timing of the second synchronization signal (¶ [0131] SL signal transmission timing (e.g., transmission at the reception time of the synchronization reference signal).; ¶ [0136] The BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for the SL transmission. The BS may perform resource scheduling for UE 1 and UE 1 may perform SL communication with UE 2 according to the resource scheduling. For example, UE 1 may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to UE 2.; ¶ [0198] The UE may transmit the sidelink synchronization signal at a timing point aligned based on the timing of the common synchronization reference.).
Kim does not explicitly teach determines a synchronization reference according to at least whether the first message is transmitted via a direct path;
In analogous art, Lee teaches determines a synchronization reference according to at least whether the first message is transmitted via a direct path (Table 11 illustrates that the priority level is set according to whether the path is direct or indirect; ¶ [0249] The UE may be synchronized with a BS directly or with another UE which has been time/frequency synchronized with the BS.; ¶ [0252] A sidelink synchronization source may be related to a synchronization priority.);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine selection of a synchronization reference taught by Lee with sidelink timing and synchronization as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve sidelink communication performance, reduce retransmissions and latency caused by mismatch by using Lee’s synchronization reference selection to choose an appropriate timing source for sidelink operation and applying Kim’s timing adjustment techniques based on synchronization signals and timing advance to align sidelink transmission and reception timing, which reduces interference (Lee: ¶¶ [0015]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the first receiver, which performs cell search to determine in coverage of at least a first cell (¶ [0174] The UE may follow a cell associated with a corresponding frequency (when within the cell coverage in the frequency), a primary cell, or a serving cell (when out of cell coverage in the frequency), for synchronization and DL measurement.; ¶ [0175] When the UE fails in detecting any cell.);
wherein the first message is not transmitted via a direct path (¶ [0136] The BS may schedule an SL resource to be used by the UE for SL transmission. For example, the BS may perform scheduling for UE 1 and UE 1 may perform SL communication with UE 2 according to the scheduling. UE 1 may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to UE 2.); ¶ [0174] The UE may be synchronized with another UE which has been time/frequency synchronized with the BS.), and
a synchronization priority order indicated by the first message is a base station (¶ [0177] A sidelink synchronization source may be related to synchronization priority. The relationship between synchronization sources and synchronization priorities may be defined as shown in Tables 5 and 6.; Note: Tables 5 and 6 show base station at priority P0 for BS-Based synchronization (eNB/gNB-based synchronization).), and
the synchronization reference determined is a synchronization reference User Equipment (UE) (¶ [0120] When network equipment such as a BS transmits and receives signals according to a communication scheme between UEs, the BS may also be regarded as a kind of UE.; ¶ [0174] The UE may be synchronized with another UE which has been time/frequency synchronized with the BS. The UE may provide synchronization information to another neighboring UE.; ¶ [0177] The relationship between synchronization sources and synchronization priorities may be defined as shown in Tables 5 and 6.; ¶ [0179] The UE may derive its transmission timing from an available synchronization reference with the highest priority.).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches the first node is in RRC_CONNECTED state (¶ [0080] Once an RRC connection is established between the RRC layer of the UE and the RRC layer of the E-UTRAN, the UE is placed in RRC_CONNECTED state.).
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches the first synchronization signal and the second synchronization signal are in a same frequency (¶ [0174] The UE may provide synchronization information to another neighboring UE. When a BS timing is set as a synchronization reference, the UE may follow a cell associated with a corresponding frequency for synchronization.).
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches the first synchronization signal and the second synchronization signal are in different frequencies (¶ [0017] A first user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink may include forming a first sidelink together with a second user equipment (UE) in a first frequency band; estimating a second reception timing point related to a second sidelink formed in a second frequency band.; ¶ [0106] The S-PSS, S-SSS, and PSBCH may be included in a block format (S-SSB). The transmission bandwidth thereof may be within a (pre)set sidelink BWP (SL BWP). The frequency position of the S-SSB may be (pre)set.; ¶ [0220] The first sidelink and the second sidelink are formed in frequency bands adjacent to each other.)
Claims 3-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee further in view of 3GPP TS 36.331 version 16.4.0 Release 16 (LTE; Evolved Universal Terrestrial Radio Access (E-UTRA); Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol Specification; hereinafter 3GPP TS 36.331).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches a synchronization signal identity corresponding to the first synchronization signal is a first identity (¶ [0104] The UE may detect a synchronization signal ID.; ¶ [0115] Each SLSS may have an SL synchronization identifier (SLSS ID).; ¶ [0116] The value of the SLSS ID may be any one of 0 to 335.);
wherein the first message is used for indicating transmission timing information of the second synchronization signal (¶ [0105] The basic information may include a subframe offset.; ¶ [0106] The S-PSS, S-SSS, and PSBCH may be included in a block format (S-SSB) supporting periodic transmission.), and
Kim and Lee do not explicitly teach the first receiver, which receives a first sidelink master information block (MIB), the first sidelink MIB indicating whether in coverage; the first sidelink MIB and the first identity are used to determine a sequence generating the second synchronization signal; a transmission timing of the second synchronization signal is different from a transmission timing of the first synchronization signal.
In analogous art, 3GPP TS 36.331 teaches the first receiver, which receives a first sidelink master information block (MIB) (§ 5.10.9.1-5.10.9.2, Ensure having a valid version of the MasterInformationBlock-SL message of that SyncRefUE. Upon receiving MasterInformationBlock-SL or MasterInformationBlock-SL-V2X.),
the first sidelink MIB indicating whether in coverage (§ 6.5.2, MasterInformationBlock-SL = inCoverage BOOLEAN. Value TRUE indicates that the UE transmitting the MasterInformationBlock-SL is in E-UTRAN coverage.);
the first sidelink MIB and the first identity are used to determine a sequence generating the second synchronization signal (§ 5.10.7.3, If the UE has a selected SyncRef UE and inCoverage in the MasterInformationBlock-SL or MasterInformationBlock-SL V2X message received from this UE is set to TRUE or FALSE, select the same SLSSID as the SLSSID of the selected SyncRef UE. Select the SLSSID from the set defined for out of coverage having an index that is 168 more than the index of the SLSSID of the selected SyncRefUE.);
a transmission timing of the second synchronization signal is different from a transmission timing of the first synchronization signal (§ 5.10.7.3, Select the subframe in which to transmit the SLSS according to syncOffsetIndicator1 or syncOffsetIndicator2, such that the subframe timing is different from the SLSS of the selected SyncRefUE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink Master Information Block as taught by 3GPP TS 36.331 with selection of a synchronization reference taught by Lee and sidelink timing and synchronization as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve sidelink synchronization accuracy and communication reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using the Master Information Block framework to convey sidelink synchronization information, using Lee’s priority based synchronization reference selection to choose an appropriate timing source, and applying Kim’s synchronization signal and timing advance based timing adjustment to reduce interference.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches a synchronization signal identity corresponding to the first synchronization signal is a first identity (¶ [0104] The UE may detect a synchronization signal ID.; ¶ [0115] Each SLSS may have an SL synchronization identifier (SLSS ID).; ¶ [0116] The value of the SLSS ID may be any one of 0 to 335.);
wherein the first message is used for indicating transmission timing information of the second synchronization signal (¶ [0105] The basic information may include a subframe offset.; ¶ [0106] The S-PSS, S-SSS, and PSBCH may be included in a block format (S-SSB) supporting periodic transmission.), and
Kim and Lee do not explicitly teach the first receiver, which receives a first sidelink master information block (MIB), the first sidelink MIB indicating whether in coverage; the first sidelink MIB and the first identity are used to determine a sequence generating the second synchronization signal; wherein the first message is used for indicating transmission timing information of the second synchronization signal, and a transmission timing of the second synchronization signal is different from a transmission timing of the first synchronization signal.
In analogous art, 3GPP TS 36.331 teaches the first receiver, which receives a first sidelink master information block (MIB) (§ 5.10.9.1-5.10.9.2, Ensure having a valid version of the MasterInformationBlock-SL message of that SyncRefUE. Upon receiving MasterInformationBlock-SL or MasterInformationBlock-SL-V2X.),
the first sidelink MIB indicating whether in coverage (§ 6.5.2, MasterInformationBlock-SL = inCoverage BOOLEAN. Value TRUE indicates that the UE transmitting the MasterInformationBlock-SL is in E-UTRAN coverage.);
the first sidelink MIB and the first identity are used to determine a sequence generating the second synchronization signal (§ 5.10.7.3, If the UE has a selected SyncRef UE and inCoverage in the MasterInformationBlock-SL or MasterInformationBlock-SL V2X message received from this UE is set to TRUE or FALSE, select the same SLSSID as the SLSSID of the selected SyncRef UE. Select the SLSSID from the set defined for out of coverage having an index that is 168 more than the index of the SLSSID of the selected SyncRefUE.);
a transmission timing of the second synchronization signal is different from a transmission timing of the first synchronization signal (§ 5.10.7.3, Select the subframe in which to transmit the SLSS according to syncOffsetIndicator1 or syncOffsetIndicator2, such that the subframe timing is different from the SLSS of the selected SyncRefUE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink Master Information Block as taught by 3GPP TS 36.331 with selection of a synchronization reference taught by Lee and sidelink timing and synchronization as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve sidelink synchronization accuracy and communication reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using the Master Information Block framework to convey sidelink synchronization information, using Lee’s priority based synchronization reference selection to choose an appropriate timing source, and applying Kim’s synchronization signal and timing advance based timing adjustment to reduce interference.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the first transmitter, which transmits a second sidelink MIB; the second sidelink MIB being transmitted along with the second synchronization signal (¶ [0105] A physical sidelink broadcast channel (PSBCH may be a channel on which basic information that the UE needs to know first before transmission and reception of an SL signal is transmitted. For example, the basic information may include SLSS related information.; ¶ [0106] The S-PSS, S-SSS, and PSBCH may be included in a block format, S-SSB.; ¶ [0171] Master information block-sidelink-V2X (MIB-SL-V2X) may be used for V2X synchronization.; ¶ The UE may provide synchronization to another neighboring UE.);
wherein GNSS is determined as a synchronization reference (¶ [0173] A UE may be synchronized with a GNSS. When the GNSS is configured as a synchronization source.);
the first message comprises second transmission timing information (¶ [0199] When transmitting and receiving data, each of the UEs may have a reception time aligned with the common synchronization reference. The transmission UE may broadcast or multicast the TA information applied to a signal to be transmitted.); and
Kim and Lee do not explicitly teach the second transmission timing information is used to indicate transmission timing information of the second synchronization signal; whether the first message comprises the second transmission timing information is used to determine whether the second sidelink MIB indicates in coverage.
In analogous art, 3GPP TS 36.331 teaches the second transmission timing information is used to indicate transmission timing information of the second synchronization signal (§ 5.10.7.3, Use syncOffsetIndicator. Select the subframe(s) indicated by syncOffsetIndicator.);
whether the first message comprises the second transmission timing information is used to determine whether the second sidelink MIB indicates in coverage (§ 5.10.7.4, The UE shall set the contents of the MasterInformationBlock-SL or MasterInformationBlock-SL-V2X message as follows. SyncOffsetIndicator3 is not included in SL-V2X-Preconfiguration: set inCoverage to TRUE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink Master Information Block as taught by 3GPP TS 36.331 with selection of a synchronization reference taught by Lee and sidelink timing and synchronization as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve sidelink synchronization accuracy and communication reliability, which would increase user satisfaction, by using the Master Information Block framework to convey sidelink synchronization information, using Lee’s priority based synchronization reference selection to choose an appropriate timing source, and applying Kim’s synchronization signal and timing advance based timing adjustment to reduce interference.
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee further in view of Kang et al. (KR 20220052809A; hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Kim teaches the first signal is transmitted via a sidelink (¶ [0136] UE 1 may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) to UE 2 on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and then transmit data based on the SCI to UE 2.);
being not transmitted via a direct path includes being transmitted via relay (¶ [0174] When the UE is in network coverage, the UE may receive synchronization information provided by the BS. Thereafter, the UE may provide synchronization information to another neighboring UE.).
Kim and Lee do not explicitly teach the first message is a System Information Block 12 (SIB12);
In analogous art, Kang teaches the first message is a System Information Block 12 (SIB12) (¶ [0106] System information messages configured to enable transmission of system information messages through a relay may include, for example, system information messages containing configuration information for a terminal to perform sidelink communication, including SIB12.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine System Information Block 12 (SIB12) taught by Kang with selection of a synchronization reference taught by Lee and sidelink timing and synchronization as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve reliability and efficiency of sidelink operation, which would increase user satisfaction, by conveying sidelink configuration information through SIB12, selecting an appropriate synchronization reference, and adjusting sidelink timing based on synchronization signals and timing advance so that user equipment operate with better timing alignment and reduced interference (Kang: ¶¶ [0012]-[0013]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee further in view of Blasco Serrano (US 2019/0357166 A1; hereinafter Blasco Serrano).
Regarding claim 14, Kim and Lee do not explicitly teach the second synchronization signal is used to indicate a type of the synchronization reference; when a sidelink synchronization signal identity corresponding to the second synchronization signal is equal to 0, it is indicated that the type of the synchronization reference is GNSS; when a sidelink synchronization signal identity corresponding to the second synchronization signal is unequal to 0, it is indicated that the type of the synchronization reference is not GNSS.
In analogous art, Blasco Serrano teaches the second synchronization signal is used to indicate a type of the synchronization reference (¶ 0049] The hierarchy may apply between GNSS, NW, and UE signals but also between UE signals with different origins. Priority level 3 are synchronization signals originating from GNSS. Priority level 4 are synchronization signals originating from a UE directly synchronized to GNSS.; ¶ [0051] The synchronization signals associated with different priorities must have some feature that allows for distinguishability.; ¶ [0052] Synchronization signals transmitted from UEs (i.e., SLSS synchronization signals) have several distinguishing factors in this regard. One factor includes the SLSS identity (SLSSID).;
when a sidelink synchronization signal identity corresponding to the second synchronization signal is equal to 0, it is indicated that the type of the synchronization reference is GNSS (¶ [0053] Transmission synchronization signals by UEs are selected according to the below rules, so that receivers will be able to distinguish the priority levels of the signals. If the UE is in coverage, using GNSS as synchronization source, the UE is to transmit a synchronization signal with SLSSID=0.);
when a sidelink synchronization signal identity corresponding to the second synchronization signal is unequal to 0, it is indicated that the type of the synchronization reference is not GNSS (¶ [0053] Transmission synchronization signals by UEs are selected according to the below rules, so that receivers will be able to distinguish the priority levels of the signals. If the UE is in coverage, using GNSS as synchronization source, the UE is to transmit a synchronization signal with SLSSID=0.; ¶ [0059] UE C also transmits its own synchronization signal. UE C does so according to rule 5B (i.e., with SLSSID=X).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine sidelink synchronization signal identity (SLSSID) taught by Blasco Serrano with selection of a synchronization reference taught by Lee and sidelink timing and synchronization as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve sidelink synchronization accuracy, reduce timing mismatch and interference, and increase reliability of sidelink communications, which would increase user satisfaction, by identifying and prioritizing synchronization signals using SLSSID, selecting a higher priority synchronization reference for sidelink communication, and adjusting sidelink timing based on synchronization signals and timing advance, so that UEs operate with better timing alignment and reduced interference (Blasco Serrano: ¶¶ [0002]-[0004]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Lee further in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0232501 A1; hereinafter Lee ‘2501).
Regarding claim 15, Kim teaches the first time offset is indicated by the first message (¶ [0174] The UE may provide synchronization information to another neighboring UE.; ¶ [0179] The UE may derive its transmission timing from an available synchronization reference.; ¶ [0198] The UE having received the sidelink synchronization signal may estimate an STO related to the transmission UE that has transmitted the sidelink synchronization signal based on the timing of the common synchronization reference.).
Kim and Lee do not explicitly teach a transmission time of the second synchronization signal is equal to a sum of a reception time of the first synchronization signal and a first time offset, where the first time offset is a non-zero real number.
In analogous art, Lee ‘2501 teaches a transmission time of the second synchronization signal is equal to a sum of a reception time of the first synchronization signal and a first time offset, where the first time offset is a non-zero real number (¶ 0125] OOC V2X UE may be allowed to consider an SLSS/(PBSCH) resource (e.g., subframe#K (SF#K)) on which SLSS/(PBSCH) is received and to apply a pre-configured offset value OFFSET_VAL and then derive an (X+1)-th SLSS/(PBSCH) resource (e.g., a subframe #(K+OFFSET_VAL)). Note: Deriving the (X+1)-th resource at K+OFFSET_VAL from received resource K implies OFFSET_VAL is a non-zero real number.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the timing and synchronization method taught by Lee ‘2501 with selection of a synchronization reference taught by Lee and sidelink timing and synchronization as taught by Kim. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve sidelink synchronization accuracy, reduce timing mismatch and interference, and increase reliability of sidelink communications, which would increase user satisfaction, by using Lee ‘2501’s resource and signal selection scheme for transmitting or relaying sidelink synchronization information according to the selected synchronization source, using Lee’s synchronization reference selection to choose an appropriate source, and applying Kim’s timing adjustment techniques so that sidelink transmissions and receptions are better time aligned and less likely to suffer from interference (Lee ‘2501: ¶¶ [0009]-[0010]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8 and 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dortschy et al. (US 2022/0104155 A1) discloses “IAB Downlink Timing”
Khoryaev et al. (US 2022/0140967 A1) discloses “Design of NR Sidelink Synchronization Signal for Enhanced Vehicle-to-Everything Use Cases with Optimized Receiver Processing”
Marinier et al. (US 2022/0116097 A1) discloses “Systems and Methods for Beamformed Uplink Transmission”
/D.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/RICKY Q NGO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2464