DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application filed 12/14/2023 is a Continuation of PCT/CN23/91021 , filed 04/27/2023 and
claims foreign priority to 202210735384.6, filed 06/27/2022 but no translation has been made of record.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/25/2023 is in compliance with the
provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the
examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 3-7 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: In the instant case,
Group I. Claim 1, 2, drawn to a method of preparing an enzymatic hydrolysate classified in A 61P 3/08.
Group II. Claim 3, 4, drawn to a method of promoting CCK secretion classified in A61P 5/02.
Group III. Claim 5, 6, 7, drawn to a method of slowing gastric emptying classified in A61P 5/50.
Inventions I, II and III are directed to related processes. In the instant case, the method of preparing an enzymatic hydrolysate (I) cannot be performed together with the method of promoting CCK secretion in enteroendocrine cells (II); the method of preparing an enzymatic hydrolysate (I) cannot be performed together with the method of slowing gastric emptying (III); and the method of promoting CCK secretion in enteroendocrine cells (II) cannot be performed together with the method of slowing gastric emptying (III). The two processes are mutually exclusive since literature that teaches one need not teach the other. Furthermore, the inventions as claimed do not encompass overlapping subject matter and there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants as they have different endpoints.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 3-7 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 06/14/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claim 1 is amended, claims 2-7 are new. Claims 3-7 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03. Claims 1 and 2 are now pending and will be examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Objections and/or rejections not reiterated from previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the
complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to italicize the scientific name- ‘Avena sativa L’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soichiro Nakamura et al., hereinafter Nakamura (JP2009073765A (machine translation); published 2009-04-09).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a method comprising powdered buckwheat (Avena sativa; page 3, 1st paragraph, line 5) and defatting step, wherein the defatting treatment is performed on ground oat (see page 2, paragraph 7, lines 1-4) (i.e. extraction). Nakamura teaches treatment of oat protein fraction with pepsin and trypsin (see page 2, paragraph 7, line 7). Specifically, Nakamura teaches that pepsin is added to the protein fraction at an enzyme concentration of 0.1 %. Next, degradation with Trypsin is performed (see page 3, 5th paragraph, lines 1-4). Nakamura teaches the sequence comprising QGDVVALPA (SEQ ID NO: 1 in instant) in Fig 4 is produced when oat globulin is digested after enzymatic digestion (see page 2, 6th paragraph, line 6). Examiner interprets ‘wherein the active peptide….secretion’ (last two lines in claim 1) as intended use. As the teachings in Nakamura meet the limitation of the instant method, and the sequence of the peptide, is 100 % identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO: 1, the claimed peptide would be capable of the same intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention's limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children's Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (see MPEP §2111. 02 (II)). Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical
processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562
F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). (See MPEP § 2112.01 (I)).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches that after enzymatic treatment, it is preferable to pass through a molecular sieve using ultrafiltration using a membrane (i.e. elution by size exclusion chromatography). Nakamura teaches that it is desirable to select the protein fractionation step according to the purpose and application (see page 3, 6th paragraph).
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to
produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re
Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (discussing rationale underlying the
motivation-suggestion-teaching test as a guard against using hindsight in an obviousness analysis).
Consequently, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to elute a fraction containing a peptide consisting of SEQ ID NO: 1. One motivated to do so would have a reasonable expectation of success as Nakamura teaches the method steps of producing an oat protein hydrolysate and teaches the sequence comprising SEQ ID NO: 1 in Fig 4. Thus, one would have recognized that applying the teaching of Nakamura to elute peptides would have yielded predictable results in obtaining the fraction containing the active peptide (See MPEP § 2143 l(A)(D)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ARCHANA VARADARAJ/Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/Melissa L Fisher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658