DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 11-13, 16-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication to Meade 20200341191A1US in view of the US Patent Application Publication to Chandran 2024/0272366US.
In terms of Claims 1 and 2, Meade teaches a semiconductor structure (Figure 4 and Figure 5), comprising: a bidirectional diffractive grating coupler (Figure 4: 204), wherein the bidirectional diffractive grating coupler includes a first diffractive grating coupler (Figure 4: left grating coupler 204), a planar waveguide (Figure 4: within 211; [0032]), and a second diffractive grating coupler (Figure 4: 204 right side).
Meade does not teach a first optical through-silicon via cladding coupled to the first diffractive grating coupler; and a second optical through-silicon via cladding wherein the fiber is a single mode fiber.
Chandran does teach a first optical through-silicon via (Figure 1a: 108 is conical shape via that cuts through 107 and 106 of which layer 106 is silicon [0061]) cladding (layer 108 maybe filled with SiO2 which can function as cladding [0089]) coupled to the first diffractive grating coupler (Figure 1a: 104); and a second optical through-silicon via cladding (The same features of 108 as taught in Figure 1a can applied to area of 204 on the right side to form a via coupling structure) wherein the fiber is a single mode fiber ([0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meade under the grating 204 to have via filled with cladding material similar to 108 as taught Chandran in order to the allow the waveguide to be coupled to a fiber via its bottom surface for input and output purpose. The via cladding structure allows efficient coupling with a fiber as shown in Figure 1a: 108 between a grating 104 and a fiber 109.
As for Claim 3, Meade / Chandran teaches the device of claim 1, wherein Meade teaches the semiconductor structure includes: a first layer (Figure 4: 107/401) that includes a backside layer (Figure 4: 401); a second layer (Figure 4: 213) comprising a device layer (Figure 4: 213 functions as a device layer because coupler 213 is mounted on top of it), wherein the second layer is disposed on the first layer (Figure 4: layer 213 is on top of 107); and a third layer (layer 211) comprising a frontside layer (215), wherein the third layer (211) is disposed on the second layer (Figure 4: layer 211 is on top of 213).
In regards to Claim 4, Meade / Chandran teaches the device of claim 3, wherein Meade teaches the second layer an interposer or Si (wafer 101 is made of silicon or Si [0027]; and layer 213 functions as interposer for layer 107 and coupler layer 211).
Meade does not teach wherein the 1st layer (bottom layer 107 of Meade) and 3rd layer (top layer 211/215 of Meade) includes silicon dioxide.
Chandran does teach wherein the 1st layer (bottom layer 106 maybe alternating layers of mirror Si02 apply to it [0061] this allows the light to be confined within the device and prevent unwanted light leakage) and 3rd layer (top layer 102 may also have reflecting coating 101 to it) includes silicon dioxide (wherein layer 101 is made of SiO2 [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a 3rd layer and 1st layer to have coating materials made of SiO2 to ensure the device is properly confining light with the device and prevent unwanted optical loss.
As for Claim 5, Meade / Chandran teaches the device of claim 3, wherein Meade teaches wherein an optical signal travels (Figure 4: 205I and 205O on the left side) through a medium (Figure 4: material of the region of 213 that arrows runs through) surrounded by the first optical through-silicon via cladding (213 is a cladding material and it surrounds the path of the arrow on the left and right side) and the second optical through-silicon via cladding (Figure 4: similar to box area but this time located on the right side coupler 204), wherein the medium includes a portion of the first layer, a portion of the second layer, and a portion of the third layer (the medium of 213 comes in contact 211 at the bottom of coupler 204 which is a portion of the 3rd layer, the same medium of 213 also comes in contact with the top surface of 107 which is the 1st layer)
Meade does not teach the first optical through-silicon via cladding extends from the first layer to the third layer (Figure 4: 213 extends from the bottom surface of 211 or 3rd layer to top surface of 107 or 1st layer as shown on the left side coupler 204); wherein the second optical through-silicon via cladding extends from the first layer to the third layer (Figure 4: 213 extends from the bottom surface of 211 or 3rd layer to top surface of 107 or 1st layer as shown on the right side coupler 204).
Chandran does teach the first optical through-silicon via cladding extends from the first layer to the third layer (Figure 4: 213 extends from the bottom surface of 211 or 3rd layer to top surface of 107 or 1st layer as shown on the left side coupler 204); wherein the second optical through-silicon via cladding extends from the first layer to the third layer (Figure 4: 213 extends from the bottom surface of 211 or 3rd layer to top surface of 107 or 1st layer as shown on the right side coupler 204). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Meade under the grating 204 to have via filled with cladding material similar to 108 as taught Chandran in order to the allow the waveguide to be coupled to a fiber via its bottom surface for input and output purpose. The via cladding structure allows efficient coupling with a fiber as shown in Figure 1a: 108 between a grating 104 and a fiber 109.
As for Claim 6, Meade / Chandran teaches the device of claim 3, wherein Meade teaches the bidirectional diffractive grating coupler (204) is disposed in one of: the first layer or the third layer (Figure 4: the coupler 204 is in 3rd layer 211), and wherein the bidirectional diffractive grating coupler includes one of: the first diffractive grating coupler and the second diffractive grating coupler disposed in a same layer of the semiconductor structure (Figure 4: coupler 204 on the left and right is in the same layer 211).
As for Claim 7, Meade / Chandran teaches the device of claim 3, wherein Meade teaches the semiconductor structure (Figure 4) includes an optical integrated circuit ([0030]), wherein the optical integrated circuit includes the bidirectional diffractive grating coupler (Figure 4: 204 and [0030]), the first optical through-silicon via cladding (Figure 4: layer 213 under 204 on the left side; [0027]), and the second optical through-silicon via cladding (Figure 4: layer 213 under 204 on the right side; [0027]).
In terms of Claim 11, Meade teaches a method comprising: A method comprising: forming a first diffractive grating coupler (Figure 4: 204) on a first face of a top layer of a first wafer (layer 211 is considered a wafer layer), wherein the first wafer includes the top layer (Figure 4: 211) disposed on a buried oxide layer (Figure 4: 213), and wherein the buried oxide layer is disposed on a substrate (Figure 4: 107); and a frontside layer (The examiner would like the note the frontside layer and the buried oxide layer disclosed by the applicant as the same layer See applicant Figure 2: element 204 and Figure 4: 302, similarly layer 213 of Meade can be considered the frontside layer and a buried oxide layer because it can function as a buried oxide layer [0027] and it is located on the front side in area with gaps as shown in Figure 5 on the far left end) of a second wafer (layer 213 is considered a wafer layer); bonding the first wafer (Figure 4: 211) to the second wafer (Figure 4: 213), wherein the top layer (211) of the first wafer is bonded to the frontside layer of the second wafer (Figure 4: 211 and 213 are stacked on top of each other; although bonding steps are not disclosed the two layers 211 and 213 must be bonded to each other otherwise they will not stay attached or aligned as shown in Figure 4); and forming a second diffractive grating coupler (Figure 4: 204 on the right side) on the second face of the top layer (Figure 204, is located on 211 at a second location which is considered by the examiner as the 2nd face), wherein the first diffractive grating coupler and the second diffractive grating coupler form a bidirectional diffractive grating coupler (Figure 4: 204 has both i/o in opposite directions see arrows of 205i and 205o).
Meade does not teach wherein a diffractive grating on a top silicon layer because Meade is silent to the material of layer 211; wherein the buried oxide layer is disposed on a silicon substrate (because Meade is also silent to material of substrate being silicon); forming a first optical through-silicon via cladding and a second optical through-silicon via cladding in a device layer; removing the substrate and a portion of the buried oxide layer to expose a second face of the top silicon layer; and a second through silicon vias cladding in a device layer.
Chandran teaches wherein the top layer (Figure 1a: 104/103) wherein the diffractive grating 104 is located is made of silicon (See Figure 1a: 103/104 makes up the top layer, wherein the top layers 103 are made of silicon [0061]); wherein the buried oxide layer (Figure 1a: buried oxide layer 105; [0061]) is disposed on a silicon substrate (Figure 1a: buried oxide layer is on 106/107 which is made of silicon [0061]); forming a first optical through-silicon via cladding (Figure 108); removing the substrate and a portion of the buried oxide layer to expose a second face of the top silicon layer (Figure 1a: see 106/107 is remove to form TSV spacing for 108 to expose the second face or bottom surface of layer 105; the removal occurs up to layer 105 so some part of 105 on the bottom surface must be remove via etching; Claim 28 and [0088-0089]); and a second through silicon vias cladding in a device layer (Figure 9: wherein multiple vias 905 are formed along and in contact with the device layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Meade to include the usage of silicon base materials in the top layer, device layer, and bottom substrate wherein multiple through silicon via (TSV) are formed via removal of the substrate and other layers to allow the device to couple with an optical fiber similar to what is shown in Figures 1a and 9. Silicon materials are well known for their abundances arability and cost effectiveness in optical circuit devices.
As for Claim 12, Meade / Chandran teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein Meade teaches wherein the first optical through via cladding and the second optical through via cladding are coupled to the first diffractive grating coupler (See Figure 5: 501 is coupled to 204 on the left element 204 and right element 204).
As for Claim 13, Meade / Chandran teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein Meade teaches the frontside layer (layer 213) is disposed on the device layer of the second wafer (layer 107 of Meade can function as the device layer because it would house the through via once modified by Chandran as suggested in Claim 11 which is similar to the device layer of the claimed invention depicted by element or layer 304).
As for Claim 16, Meade / Chandran teaches the method of Claim 11.
Meade does not teach further comprising: depositing silicon dioxide on the bidirectional diffractive grating coupler and the frontside layer.
Chandran does teach wherein frontside layer (top layer 102 may also have reflecting coating 101 to it) includes silicon dioxide (wherein layer 101 is made of SiO2 [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a top or frontside layer to have coating materials made of SiO2 to ensure the device is properly confining light with the device and prevent unwanted optical loss.
As for Claim 17, Meade / Chandran teaches the method of Claim 11.
Meade does not teach further comprising: removing a portion of the device layer; and depositing silicon dioxide on a backside of the second wafer to form a backside layer of the second wafer.
Chandran does teach wherein removing a portion of the device layer (See Figure 1a: see 106 and 107 is removed); and depositing silicon dioxide on a backside of the second wafer the 1st layer or backside layer (bottom layer 106 maybe alternating layers of mirror Si02 apply to it [0061] this allows the light to be confined within the device and prevent unwanted light leakage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a 1st layer or backside layer to have coating materials made of SiO2 to ensure the device is properly confining light with the device and prevent unwanted optical loss.
As for Claims 19 and 20, Meade / Chandran teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein Meade teaches further comprising: transferring an optical signal (See Figure 4: 250i and 250o) between the frontside layer (Figure 5: on front side layer 215 and 250i and 250o) and the backside layer (Figure 4: 250i and 250o on bottom layer or backside layer) through a medium surrounded (medium of various layer materials or 501) by the first optical through via cladding and the second optical through via cladding (Figure 5: 501 or as modified by claim 11 of Chandran element 108), wherein the medium includes a portion of the frontside layer (Meade Figure 5: 501), a portion of the device layer (wherein 501 comes in contact 211), wherein the first optical via cladding (Figure 5: 501) and the second optical via cladding (Figure 5: 501 on the right side) represent one of sides of a single optical through via (TSV – 501 is located on the top side) or separate cladding features (See Figure 215 is cladding features, each element of 501 can also be considered cladding features because each element 501 is located at different locations).
Meade does not teach a medium in the via to be a portion of the backside layer.
Chandran does teach wherein a medium (108) is a portion of the back side layer (See 108 and at location of 106/107).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Meade to include the usage of silicon base materials in the bottom substrate or backside layer wherein multiple through silicon via (TSV) are formed via removal of the substrate and other layers to allow the device to couple with an optical fiber similar to what is shown in Figures 1a and 9. Silicon materials are well known for their abundances arability and cost effectiveness in optical circuit devices.
Claims 8-10, 14-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meade / Chandran as applied to claims 7 and 11 above, and further in view of US Patent Application Publication to Li 2024/0176068A1US.
In regards to Claims 8-10, 14-15, and 18 Meade / Chandran teaches the device of Claim 7 and method claim 11 and 17 above, wherein Meade teaches the semiconductor structure includes an electrical integrated circuit connected to the optical integrated circuit (Paragraph [0030] discloses both electrical circuits and optical circuits are on the same wafer 100 which contains various layers being connected to each other). Meade further discloses via region 50 extends from top or front side layer to the 2nd layer.
Meade does not teach where the via extends to bottom or backside layer.
Chandran does teach a through via that extends from the 2nd layer to the first layer or backside / bottom layer (Figure 9: 905 use to extend from the 2nd layer to backside of the device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the via to extend from the first (front side layer to the back side of the device) in order to allow the vias to be located on both side of device for upward and downward coupling. This modification allows the device to accept for optical connections along both the front side and back side as shown by Meade (Figure 5: 501) and Chandran (Figure 9: 905).
Meade / Chandran do not teach, wherein the electrical integrated circuit includes a redistribution layer, electrical contacts, and an electrical through-silicon via; wherein the redistribution layer is disposed in the third layer or the frontside layer, and wherein the electrical contacts are disposed in the second layer or device layer of the second wafer; wherein the electrical through-silicon via extends from the first layer backside layer to the third layer or front side layer.
Li does teach an opto-electronic device wherein the electrical integrated circuit includes a redistribution layer (See Figure 1a below: 148-2), electrical contacts (ends of 110), and an electrical through-silicon via (Figure 1a: 110 or 115 or [0025); wherein the redistribution layer is disposed in the third layer or frontside layer (See Figure 1a below: 148-2 wherein 148 is exposed on the top surface or frontside on the far right), and wherein the electrical contacts are disposed in the second layer or device layer of the second wafer (Figure 1a: ends of 110 is located in middle layer 170-3 which is considered the second layer); wherein the electrical through-silicon via extends from the first layer or backside layer to the third layer or frontside layer (Figure 1a: 110 extend from 148-2 or 3rd layer to 148-1 or first layer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the various of Meade to include a RDL and electrical through vias to provide electrical connections for the various components within the optical and electrical circuit components that require electrical connections. The orientation as shown by Li allows the device to have flexibility with mounting the device to have electrical coupling both on top and both of the wafer as shown above by 148-1 and 148-2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent Application Publication to Tang 2014/0299751US teaches optical waveguides in photonic circuits using vias for light coupling.
/HOANG Q TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874