DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15,16, 30 and 32 (17-29, 31, 33-35 by dependency) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 15,16, 30 and 32, in the recitation a “thumb of a user's hand can touch the switch contact area”, "can" is indefinite, because it is susceptible to more than one plausible construction. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention or whether it refers to a system capability that is a mere possibility that is not required. Claim interpretation will be taken broadly until otherwise clarified by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17, 19, 20, 24, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated Bingle et al. (US 9,696,839).
Regarding claim 15, Bingle et al. discloses an assembly for opening (abstract), closing, or opening and closing a vehicle door, the assembly comprising:
a grip member (10) configured to be attached to an external side of a vehicle door (c.3,l.17-20), the grip member comprising:
a base (10”, Fig.6) configured to extend from the vehicle door when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door; and
a gripping part (Fig.1c) extending from the base and toward an upper direction (note, direction, without frame of reference is taken as any direction) when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door; and
an electronic switch subassembly (16’) attached to the grip member and configured to be activated by a user's touch (c.10, l. 25-32) to send a signal to an electronic latch (command, c.8, l.21-23) to open the door, the electronic switch subassembly comprising a switch contact area (Fig.5) facing downwards when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door (claim 18) wherein the gripping part comprises a traction surface (any surface may be traction surface) configured to allow
exertion of a traction on the grip member to pull on the vehicle door (Fig.1C), the traction surface facing the vehicle door when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door, and wherein the assembly is arranged so that a thumb of a user's hand can touch the switch contact area while one or more other fingers of the user's hand are touching the traction surface simultaneously, wherein the base extends at an angle comprised between 70° and 110° with respect to the external side of the vehicle door (Fig.6 at least portions), and
wherein the gripping part extends at an angle comprised between 70° and 110° with respect to the base of the grip member(Fig.6 at least portions).
Regarding claim 16, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly, wherein the gripping part comprises a traction surface (any surface) configured to allow exertion of a traction on the grip member to pull on the vehicle door (Fig.1 showing operation with a user’s touch), the traction surface facing the vehicle door when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door, and wherein the assembly is arranged so that a thumb of a user's hand can touch the switch contact area while one or more other fingers of the user's hand are touching the traction surface simultaneously.
Regarding claim 17, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly, further comprising a light source subassembly comprising a light source arranged so that at least part of the light source faces away from the vehicle door when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door (C. 2, l.30-38 discusses lighting control).
Regarding claim 19, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly, wherein the electronic switch subassembly comprises at least two switch elements (16’, c.24-l.26), each switch element comprising one or more switch(es), the at least two switch elements being arranged at different positions (taken as more than one switch not occupying the same space) with respect to the switch contact area so that a user's touch on the switch contact area activates at least one of the switches.
Regarding claim 20, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly, wherein each of the at least two switch elements comprises a first switch and a second switch (16’, c.24-l.26), the switch subassembly configured to be activated when: at least one of the first switches is activated; and at least one of the second switches is activated.
Regarding claim 24, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly, wherein the first switches and the second switches are configured such that a first output signal sent by each of the first switches when activated is inverted with respect to a second output signal sent by each of the second switches when activated.
Regarding claim 28, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly, further comprising a fixation element (mount, c.7, l. 34-37) configured to be attached to the vehicle door, wherein an aperture is arranged in the fixation element (Fig.6), the aperture allowing access to the switch contact area by a thumb of a user's hand.
Regarding claim 29, Bingle et al. discloses a method for mounting an assembly on a vehicle door, the method comprising: assembling the electronic switch subassembly to the grip member (Fig.5); arranging at least a part of the assembled electronic switch subassembly and grip member in the aperture of the fixation element; and attaching the fixation element to the vehicle door (Abstract).
Regarding claim 36, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly of claim 15, wherein the base comprises a first edge (10”) proximal to the vehicle door (Fig.6) when the grip member is attached to the vehicle door, and an opposite second edge (edges meeting with 11”), distal to the vehicle door when the grip member is attached to the vehicle door, wherein the gripping part extends from the distal edge of the base 9Fig.6).
Regarding claim 37, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly of claim 15, wherein the switch contact area extends along a first surface of the base (Fig.5 and 6), opposite to a second surface of the base from which the gripping part extends.
Regarding claim 38, Bingle et al. discloses the assembly of claim 15, wherein the gripping part (10) comprises a pressure surface (any surface) configured to allow exerting a pressure on the grip member so as to push on the vehicle door, wherein the pressure surface is arranged opposite to the traction surface, and wherein the switch contact area extends perpendicularly with respect to the traction surface. Note: As written, a surface must merely exist to satisfy the recitation as written.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bingle et al. (US 9,696,839) in view of Leonardi et al. (2020/0011096).
Regarding claim 18, Bingle et al. as modified by Leonardi et al. discloses the assembly, wherein the light source subassembly.
Bingle et al. does not disclose: a window part that is at least partially transparent to the light emitted by the light source, the window part being arranged on at least one of the base and a lower part of the grip member.
Leonardi et al. teaches a window part ([0069]; Leonardi et.) that is at least partially transparent to the light emitted by the light source, the window part being arranged on at least one of the base and a lower part of the grip member (Fig.5;Leonardi et al) for the purpose of providing a visual indicator and illumination of latch handle.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bingle et al. with a window part that is at least partially transparent to the light emitted by the light source, the window part being arranged on at least one of the base and a lower part of the grip member as taught by Leonardi et al. for the expected benefit of providing a visual indicator and illumination of latch handle.
Claim 21-23, 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bingle et al. (US 9,696,839) in view of Marlia et al. (2017/0314302).
Regarding claims 21 and 25, Bingle et al. as modified by Marlia et al. discloses the assembly, wherein the electronic switch subassembly.
Bingle et al. does not disclose: a first electrical subcircuit connecting the first switches together, and a second electrical subcircuit connecting the second switches together, the first electrical subcircuit being distinct from the second electrical subcircuit.
Marlia et al.) teaches a first electrical subcircuit (90; Marlia et al.)connecting the first switches together, and a second electrical subcircuit connecting the second switches together, the first electrical subcircuit being distinct from the second electrical subcircuit for the purpose of reducing common node output voltage.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bingle et al. with a first electrical subcircuit connecting the first switches together, and a second electrical subcircuit connecting the second switches together, the first electrical subcircuit being distinct from the second electrical subcircuit as taught by Marlia et al. for the expected benefit of reducing common node output voltage.
Regarding claims 22 and 26, Bingle et al. as modified by Marlia et al. discloses the assembly according comprising a frame (14”; Bingle et al.) configured to cooperate with the switch contact area so as to define an inner space wherein the at least two switch elements are arranged (switch elements are engagble Fig.1 and 6; Bingle et al.).
Regarding claim 23 and 27, Bingle et al. as modified by Marlia et al. discloses the assembly wherein the frame is fixed to the grip member (Fig.5; Bingle et al.)and wherein a contact zone between the frame and the grip member is sealed (c.7, l24-32; Bingle et al.) by laser welding (process) to form a waterproof seal.
Note: laser wielding is a process, recitation of said process renders the claim product by process which can be given little to no patentable weight.
Claim 30 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bingle et al. (US 9,696,839).
Regarding claim 30, Bingle et al. discloses a vehicle door comprising: the assembly for opening, closing, or opening and closing a vehicle door (abstract line 1);
Note: a belt line and window glass do not appear to be elements of an assembly for opening (abstract), closing, or opening and closing a vehicle door the assembly comprising:
a grip member (10) configured to be attached to an external side of the vehicle door (c.3,l.17-20), the grip member comprising:
a base configured to extend from the vehicle door when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door; and
a gripping part (Fig.1c) extending from the base and toward an upper direction when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door;
an electronic switch subassembly (16’) attached to the grip member and configured to be activated by a user's touch (c.10, l. 25-32) to send a signal to an electronic latch (command, c.8, l.21-23) to open the door, the electronic switch subassembly comprising a switch contact area (Fig.5) facing downwards when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door,
wherein the gripping part comprises a traction surface (any surface may be traction surface) configured to allow exertion of a traction on the grip member to pull on the vehicle door, the traction surface facing the vehicle door when the grip member is attached to the external side of the vehicle door, and
wherein the assembly is arranged so that a thumb of a user's hand can touch the switch contact area while one or more other fingers of the user's hand are touching the traction surface simultaneously, wherein the base extends at an angle comprised between 70° and 110° with respect to the external side of the vehicle door (Fig.6 at least portions), and wherein the gripping part extends at an angle comprised between 70 and 110° with respect to the base of the grip member (Fig.6 at least portions).
Bingle et al. discloses the claimed invention except for a discussion of a belt line and a window glass extending from the belt line.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to specify a belt line; and a window glass (abstract, vehicle door, not shown are known to have glass) extending from the belt line since it is l known in the art that vehicles are well known have window glass arrangement extending from a belt line.
Regarding claim 31, Bingle et al. discloses the vehicle door, wherein the grip member (10) is attached to the external side of the vehicle door (c.3, l. 15-19), at the belt line.
Double Patenting
Claim 15 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1 of Application No. 18/523,505. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
Claim 15 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. US 18/523,505 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed structure is identical: the grip member, A base, a gripping part, an electronic subassembly, a switch contact area are all present in both applications.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments from the response filed on 5 May 2026 have been fully considered and will be addressed below in the order in which they appeared.
Applicant’s argument, page 11, Applicant’s amendment in no way distinguish the instant application over the prior art. For the function of traction, a surface must merely exist. All of the claimed structure is present in the reference of Bingle et al. Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s argument, page 12, where the applicant fails to recite structure capable of creating function that is not taught or suggested the prior art of record, the rejection must be maintained. The argument is unpersuasive.
Applicant’s statement regarding double patenting is acknowledge and the double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as it may affect the patentability of applicant’s claimed invention is listed on the attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T. L. N./
Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675