DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fernando (US 10673479).
Claim 1: Fernando discloses a radio device for wireless communication and radar sensing (abstract, col 1 line 41 – col 2 line 11), the radio device comprising:
a transmitter configured to generate a modulated RF signal and to transmit the modulated RF signal via a transmitting antenna (col 4 lines 8-20, col 4 line 61- col 5 line 24, col 8 lines 4-39); and
a receiver configured to receive a modulated RF signal via a receiving antenna and to down-convert the received modulated RF signal (col 4 lines 8-20, col 4 line 61- col 5 line 24, col 8 lines 4-39);
wherein the radio device further comprises a selector unit configured to controllably provide the receiver with one or the other of (1) a copy of the transmit modulated RF signal or (11) a local oscillator signal (LO) to down-convert the received modulated RF signal (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim 2: Fernando discloses the radio device further comprises an LO signal generator configured to generate the LO signal (col 9 line 54-67)
Claim 7: Fernando discloses a digital processor configured to generate a digital FMCW waveform and digital communication symbols and to extract communication symbols and range and Doppler information.
Claim 8: Fernando discloses the receiver comprises a mixer unit that comprises a first mixer and a second mixer connected in parallel, wherein the first mixer is configured to provide a baseband signal at its output by down-converting the modulated RF signal being fed into a first input of the first mixer using the LO signal being fed into a second input of the first mixer, and wherein the second mixer is configured to provide a beat signal at its output by down- converting the modulated RF signal being fed into a first input of the second mixer using the copy of the transmit modulated RF signal being fed into a second input of the second mixer (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim 9: Fernando discloses the first mixer and the second mixer receive, via respective electrical transformers, the LO signal and the copy of the transmitted modulated RF signal, respectively (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim 10: Fernando discloses he selector unit comprises a first mixer and a second mixer connected in parallel, wherein the first mixer is configured to provide the LO signal being fed into its input to its output, and wherein the second mixer is configured to provide the copy of the transmit modulated RF signal being fed into its input to its output (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim 11: Fernando discloses electrical transformers coupled to the selector unit and configured to feed the LO signal and the copy of the transmitted modulated RF signal to the first mixer and to the second mixer, respectively (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim 12: Fernando discloses the electrical transformers are controllable to cause the first mixer to be operational when the radio device is performing wireless communication and to cause the second mixer to be operational when the radio device is performing radar sensing (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim 13: Fernando discloses the transmit modulated RF signal is at least one of a single-carrier signal, an OFDM signal, or an FMCW signal (col 6 line 6-61)
Claim 16: Fernando discloses the electrical transformers are controllable to cause the first mixer to be operational when the radio device is performing wireless communication and to cause the second mixer to be operational when the radio device is performing radar sensing (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernando (US 10673479) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ferguson (US 2015/0378017).
Claim 3: Fernando does not specifically disclose the receiver further comprises a switchably connectable high-pass filter configured to suppress transmitter spill-over
Ferguson discloses an adjustable self-interference canceler in a radar device (abstract, para 0003), wherein the receiver further comprises a switchably connectable high-pass filter configured to suppress transmitter spill-over (para 0018, 0021, 0024).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Ferguson, in order to remove leakage signals between transmit and receive channels.
Claim 4: Fernando does not specifically disclose t the switchably connectable high-pass filter comprises a first low pass filter section and a second switchably connectable low-pass filter section that provide a high-pass filtering when connected together.
Ferguson discloses an adjustable self-interference canceler in a radar device (abstract, para 0003), wherein the switchably connectable high-pass filter comprises a first low pass filter section and a second switchably connectable low-pass filter section that provide a high-pass filtering when connected together. (para 0018, 0021, 0024).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Ferguson, in order to remove leakage signals between transmit and receive channels.
Claim 5: Fernando does not specifically disclose the second switchably connectable low-pass filter section is programmable.
Ferguson discloses an adjustable self-interference canceler in a radar device (abstract, para 0003), wherein the second switchably connectable low-pass filter section is programmable (para 0018, 0021, 0024).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Ferguson, in order to remove leakage signals between transmit and receive channels.
Claim 6: Fernando does not specifically disclose the first low-pass filter section is programmable.
Ferguson discloses an adjustable self-interference canceler in a radar device (abstract, para 0003), wherein the first low-pass filter section is programmable (para 0018, 0021, 0024).
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations, as taught by Ferguson, in order to remove leakage signals between transmit and receive channels.
Claim(s) 14, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fernando (US 10673479) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Fiore (US 2022/0196796)
Claim 14: Fernando does not specifically disclose the radio device is a beamforming radio device, wherein the beamforming radio device is configured to receive a plurality of modulated RF signals, and wherein the beamforming radio device comprises a signal splitter that controllably provides the receiver with one or the other of (i) a plurality of copies of the transmit modulated RF signal or (i1) a plurality of local oscillator signals to down-convert the respective modulated RF signals
Fiore discloses a radio frequency transceiver front end (fig 3) for selectively applying a LO signal or a transmit signal to a receive module (abstract, para 0005-0007) wherein the radio device is a beamforming radio device, wherein the beamforming radio device is configured to receive a plurality of modulated RF signals, and wherein the beamforming radio device comprises a signal splitter that controllably provides the receiver with one or the other of (i) a plurality of copies of the transmit modulated RF signal or (i1) a plurality of local oscillator signals to down-convert the respective modulated RF signals (para 0048, 0061, 0063, 012, 0132, 0133)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Fiore, in order to monitor the performance of the RF front end circuitry (Fiore para 0005-0007)
Claim 15: Fernando does not specifically disclose the radio device is a multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) radio device, wherein the MIMO radio device is configured to receive a plurality of modulated RF signals, and wherein the MIMO radio device comprises a signal splitter that controllably provides the receiver with one or the other of (i) a plurality of copies of the transmit modulated RF signal or (11) a plurality of local oscillator signals to down-convert the respective modulated RF signals.
Fiore discloses a radio frequency transceiver front end (fig 3) for selectively applying a LO signal or a transmit signal to a receive module (abstract, para 0005-0007) wherein the radio device is a multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) radio device, wherein the MIMO radio device is configured to receive a plurality of modulated RF signals, and wherein the MIMO radio device comprises a signal splitter that controllably provides the receiver with one or the other of (i) a plurality of copies of the transmit modulated RF signal or (11) a plurality of local oscillator signals to down-convert the respective modulated RF signals (para 0048, 0061, 0063, 012, 0132, 0133)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Fiore, in order to monitor the performance of the RF front end circuitry (Fiore para 0005-0007)
Claim 17: Fernando discloses radio device for wireless communication and radar sensing, the radio device (abstract, col 1 line 41 – col 2 line 11), the radio device comprising:
a transmitter configured to generate a modulated RF signal and to transmit the modulated RF signal via a transmitting antenna (col 4 lines 8-20, col 4 line 61- col 5 line 24, col 8 lines 4-39); and
a receiver configured to receive a modulated RF signal via a receiving antenna and to down-convert the received modulated RF signal (col 4 lines 8-20, col 4 line 61- col 5 line 24, col 8 lines 4-39);
wherein the radio device further comprises a selector unit configured to controllably provide the receiver with one or the other of (1) a copy of the transmit modulated RF signal or (11) a local oscillator signal (LO) to down-convert the received modulated RF signal (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Fernando does not specifically disclose the device is a multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO).
Fiore discloses a radio frequency transceiver front end (fig 3) for selectively applying a LO signal or a transmit signal to a receive module (abstract, para 0005-0007) wherein the radio device is a multiple-input and multiple-output (MIMO) radio device (para 0048, 0061, 0063, 012, 0132, 0133)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Fiore, in order to monitor the performance of the RF front end circuitry (Fiore para 0005-0007)
Claim 18: Fernando discloses the selector unit comprises a first mixer and a second mixer connected in parallel, wherein the first mixer is configured to provide the LO signal being fed into its input to its output, and wherein the second mixer is configured to provide the copy of the transmit modulated RF signal being fed into its input to its output (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Claim 19: Fernando discloses radio device for wireless communication and radar sensing, the radio device (abstract, col 1 line 41 – col 2 line 11), the radio device comprising:
a transmitter configured to generate a modulated RF signal and to transmit the modulated RF signal via a transmitting antenna (col 4 lines 8-20, col 4 line 61- col 5 line 24, col 8 lines 4-39); and
a receiver configured to receive a modulated RF signal via a receiving antenna and to down-convert the received modulated RF signal (col 4 lines 8-20, col 4 line 61- col 5 line 24, col 8 lines 4-39);
wherein the radio device further comprises a selector unit configured to controllably provide the receiver with one or the other of (1) a copy of the transmit modulated RF signal or (11) a local oscillator signal (LO) to down-convert the received modulated RF signal (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Fernando does not specifically disclose the device is a beamforming device.
Fiore discloses a radio frequency transceiver front end (fig 3) for selectively applying a LO signal or a transmit signal to a receive module (abstract, para 0005-0007) wherein the radio device is a beamforming device. radio device (para 0048, 0061, 0063, 012, 0132, 0133)
It would have been obvious to modify the invention such that it comprised the above limitations as taught by Fiore, in order to monitor the performance of the RF front end circuitry (Fiore para 0005-0007)
Claim 20: Fernando discloses the selector unit comprises a first mixer and a second mixer connected in parallel, wherein the first mixer is configured to provide the LO signal being fed into its input to its output, and wherein the second mixer is configured to provide the copy of the transmit modulated RF signal being fed into its input to its output (fig 4 elements 406, 414, 416, 330, 312-1, 312-2, col 10 line 1-21)
Conclusion
/PETER M BYTHROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648