Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the PCT international search report is not considered to be an information disclosure statement (IDS) complying with 37 CFR 1.98. 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2) requires a legible copy of: (1) each foreign patent; (2) each publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; (3) for each cited pending U.S. application, the application specification including claims, and any drawing of the application, or that portion of the application which caused it to be listed including any claims directed to that portion, unless the cited pending U.S. application is stored in the Image File Wrapper (IFW) system; and (4) all other information, or that portion which caused it to be listed. In addition, each IDS must include a list of all patents, publications, applications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office (see 37 CFR 1.98(a)(1) and (b)), and MPEP § 609.04(a), subsection I. states, “the list ... must be submitted on a separate paper.” Therefore, the references cited in the international search report have not been considered. Applicant is advised that the date of submission of any item of information in the international search report will be the date of submission of the IDS for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements for the IDS with 37 CFR 1.97, including all timing statement requirements of 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Objections
Claims 9-14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 reads “The heating drum of any one of claims 2,” it should read “The heating drum of claim 2,”. Claims 11 and 13 have a similar issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102079129 B1 – Jung in view of KR 100750501 B1 – Kim and JP 2000273737 A – Akashi.
Regarding claim 1, Jung is directed towards an heating drum. Jung does teach a cylindrical outer tube (40); an inner tube having a smaller diameter than the outer tube (40), and disposed inside the outer tube (10) (figure 2); a rotating shaft fixed to a center of the inner tube via connecting members ([0056] a rotating shaft (30) is inserted into the hole formed in the center and welded to be fixed.); covers configured to form a heat transfer oil accommodating space by sealing a space between the inner tube and the outer tube that is opened to an outside (Figures 1-8 show the outer tube be opened to the outside, and [0048] which is positioned spaced apart from the second cover (50) to support the outer tube (40) and to close the heating fluid (80) filled between the outer tube (40) and the middle tube (60) so that it does not leak out to the outside.); heaters installed to pass through the covers, and configured to heat the sealed heat transfer fluid accommodating space ([0049] Referring to FIGS. 1 to 7, the heater (100) is fitted through the second cover (50) and the support plate (70) to heat the heating fluid (80).);holders disposed between the inner tube and the outer tube, and configured to support the heaters ([0060] Meanwhile, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 5, a support member (120) for supporting the heater (100) is arranged at regular intervals on the outer surface of the inner tube (10) and welded in place.);
Jung does not expressly teach a valve configured to control discharge of internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space, and heat transfer oil filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space, wherein the heat transfer oil is partially filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space, and the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space is forcibly discharged through the valve so that internal pressure of the heat transfer oil accommodating space is maintained at a pressure lower than atmospheric pressure.
Kim is directed towards an heating roll. Kim does teach a valve configured to control discharge of internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space ([Pg. 10] the internal air also expands and is discharged to the outside in a certain amount through the air vent valve (42).); and heat transfer oil filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space, wherein the heat transfer oil is partially filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space ([Pg. 8] the heat transfer fluid layer is filled with heat transfer fluid to a depth of 60 to 70%, and when the heat transfer fluid expanded in volume by the heat transfer fluid pipe expands to 80% or more, the internal air also expands and is discharged to the outside through the air vent valve.);
The combination of the discharge valve of Kim with the fluid chamber of Jung allows the volume of the fluid and heated air to be removed and not over stress the roller.
Therefore, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include a valve configured to control discharge of internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space and heat transfer oil filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space, wherein the heat transfer oil is partially filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space because the discharging of the heated air will protect the structure, from failure, of the roller.
Akashi is directed towards an heated roller. Akashi does teach the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space is forcibly discharged through the valve so that internal pressure of the heat transfer oil accommodating space is maintained at a pressure lower than atmospheric pressure ([0021] Specifically, the holes 16 are formed at two locations spaced apart in the diametrical direction of the tip surface 14, extending from the tip surface 14 towards the base end. By connecting a vacuum pump to one of the upper holes 16 and performing a vacuum, it is possible to suck out only the impure gas without sucking out the heat transport medium.).
The addition of the vacuum pump, causing the negative pressure inside the chamber, of Akashi allows the heated chamber of Jung to quickly and actively remove the heated air in order to protect the rollers structure.
Therefore, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space is forcibly discharged through the valve so that internal pressure of the heat transfer oil accommodating space is maintained at a pressure lower than atmospheric pressure because the vacuum pump of Akashi allows rapid removal of the heated air from the chamber of Jung.
Regarding claim 3, Jung, Kim and Akashi does teach the limitations of claim 1. Jung does teach wherein the holders (120) are installed on the inner tube (10) to be spaced apart from an inner circumferential surface of the outer tube (Figure 2 shows the holders being space away from the outer tube.).
Regarding claim 4, Jung, Kim and Akashi does teach the limitations of claim 3. Jung does teach wherein the holders are provided with communication holes in a supplementary manner ([0060] Meanwhile, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 5, a support member (120) for supporting the heater (100)).
Regarding claim 7, Jung does teach a heating drum manufacturing step (St1) of disposing an inner tube (10) having a smaller diameter than a cylindrical outer tube (40) inside the outer tube (figure 2); locating a rotating shaft through a center of the inner tube via connecting members ([0056] a rotating shaft (30) is inserted into the hole formed in the center and welded to be fixed.); installing covers having an inlet between the inner tube and the outer tube and performing sealing so that a heat transfer oil accommodating space can be formed in a space between the inner tube and the outer tube (Figures 1-8 show the outer tube be opened to the outside, [0048] which is positioned spaced apart from the second cover (50) to support the outer tube (40) and to close the heating fluid (80) filled between the outer tube (40) and the middle tube (60) so that it does not leak out to the outside.), installing heaters to penetrate the covers in order to heat the heat transfer oil accommodating space, installing holders for supporting the heaters between the inner tube and the outer tube ([0060] Meanwhile, as shown in FIGS. 2 and 5, a support member (120) for supporting the heater (100) is arranged at regular intervals on the outer surface of the inner tube (10) and welded in place.);, an injection and closing step (St2) of injecting heat transfer oil through the inlet formed in the cover so that a portion of the heat transfer oil accommodating space is filled with the heat transfer oil ([0065] As an example, a heating fluid (80) is injected through the inlet pipe (IP),),
Jung does not expressly teach installing a valve for controlling discharge of internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space in one of the covers, allowing the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space to be discharged through the valve, and then closing the inlet, and a negative pressure forming step (St3) of, in a state in which a vacuum pump is connected to the valve, forcibly discharging the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space, and then closing the valve so that an inside of the heat transfer oil accommodating space can be maintained in a state of negative pressure lower than atmospheric pressure.
Kim is directed towards an heating roll. Kim does teach installing a valve for controlling discharge of internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space in one of the covers ([Pg. 10] the internal air also expands and is discharged to the outside in a certain amount through the air vent valve (42).); and allowing the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space to be discharged through the valve, and then closing the inlet ([Pg. 8] the heat transfer fluid layer is filled with heat transfer fluid to a depth of 60 to 70%, and when the heat transfer fluid expanded in volume by the heat transfer fluid pipe expands to 80% or more, the internal air also expands and is discharged to the outside through the air vent valve.);
The combination of the discharge valve of Kim with the fluid chamber of Jung allows the volume of the fluid and heated air to be removed and not over stress the roller.
Therefore, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include a valve configured to control discharge of internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space and heat transfer oil filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space, wherein the heat transfer oil is partially filled in the heat transfer oil accommodating space because the discharging of the heated air will protect the structure, from failure, of the roller.
Akashi is directed towards an heated roller. Akashi does teach a negative pressure forming step (St3) of, in a state in which a vacuum pump is connected to the valve, forcibly discharging the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space, and then closing the valve so that an inside of the heat transfer oil accommodating space can be maintained in a state of negative pressure lower than atmospheric pressure ([0021] Specifically, the holes 16 are formed at two locations spaced apart in the diametrical direction of the tip surface 14, extending from the tip surface 14 towards the base end. By connecting a vacuum pump to one of the upper holes 16 and performing a vacuum, it is possible to suck out only the impure gas without sucking out the heat transport medium.).
The addition of the vacuum pump, causing the negative pressure inside the chamber, of Akashi allows the heated chamber of Jung to quickly and actively remove the heated air in order to protect the rollers structure.
Therefore, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include a negative pressure forming step (St3) of, in a state in which a vacuum pump is connected to the valve, forcibly discharging the internal air of the heat transfer oil accommodating space, and then closing the valve so that an inside of the heat transfer oil accommodating space can be maintained in a state of negative pressure lower than atmospheric pressure because the vacuum pump of Akashi allows rapid removal of the heated air from the chamber of Jung.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102079129 B1 – Jung, KR 100750501 B1 – Kim and JP 2000273737 A – Akashi as applied to claim 1 and 7 above, respectfully, and further in view of KR 100996493 B1 – Kim Sung.
Regarding claim 2, Jung, Kim and Akashi does teach the limitations of claim 1. Jung does not expressly teach stirring blades are provided on an outer circumferential surface of the inner tube in a supplementary manner; and the heaters are located between an inner circumferential surface of the outer tube and top surfaces of the stirring blades.
Kim Sung is directed towards an thermal drum. Kim Sung does teach stirring blades are provided on an outer circumferential surface of the inner tube in a supplementary manner; and the heaters are located between an inner circumferential surface of the outer tube and top surfaces of the stirring blades. (See figure 3 below).
The addition of stirring blades of Kim Sung to the chamber of Jung is so the heating medium will heat the roller evenly.
Therefore, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include stirring blades are provided on an outer circumferential surface of the inner tube in a supplementary manner; and the heaters are located between an inner circumferential surface of the outer tube and top surfaces of the stirring blades because the even heating of the roller by Kim Sung in the chamber of Jung will allow for a more consistent end product.
Regarding claim 8, Jung, Kim and Akashi does teach the limitations of claim 7. Jung does not expressly teach stirring blades are provided on an outer circumferential surface of the inner tube in a supplementary manner; and the heaters are located between an inner circumferential surface of the outer tube and top surfaces of the stirring blades.
Kim Sung is directed towards an thermal drum. Kim Sung does teach stirring blades are provided on an outer circumferential surface of the inner tube in a supplementary manner; and the heaters are located between an inner circumferential surface of the outer tube and top surfaces of the stirring blades. (See figure 3 below).
The addition of stirring blades of Kim Sung to the chamber of Jung is so the heating medium will heat the roller evenly.
Therefore, It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung to include stirring blades are provided on an outer circumferential surface of the inner tube in a supplementary manner; and the heaters are located between an inner circumferential surface of the outer tube and top surfaces of the stirring blades because the even heating of the roller by Kim Sung in the chamber of Jung will allow for a more consistent end product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 9-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, Jung does teach an inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube (60). Jung is silent on the placement and proportions of said inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube. Therefore, a length of the outer tube is formed to be longer than a length of the inner tube; the inner tube is sealed by the connecting members; auxiliary tubes having a smaller diameter than the inner tube are provided on the connecting members in a complementary manner, and are disposed between the outer tube and the rotating shaft and the covers are inserted between the outer tube and the auxiliary tubes, and form a loss compensation space communicating with the heat transfer oil accommodating space while sealing both ends of the outer tube, is allowable if rewritten. Furthermore claim 6 is dependent on claim 5 so is deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 9, Jung does teach an inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube (60). Jung is silent on the placement and proportions of said inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube. Therefore, a length of the outer tube is formed to be longer than a length of the inner tube; the inner tube is sealed by the connecting members; auxiliary tubes having a smaller diameter than the inner tube are provided on the connecting members in a complementary manner, and are disposed between the outer tube and the rotating shaft and the covers are inserted between the outer tube and the auxiliary tubes, and form a loss compensation space communicating with the heat transfer oil accommodating space while sealing both ends of the outer tube, is allowable if rewritten. Furthermore claim 10 is dependent on claim 9 so is deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 11, Jung does teach an inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube (60). Jung is silent on the placement and proportions of said inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube. Therefore, a length of the outer tube is formed to be longer than a length of the inner tube; the inner tube is sealed by the connecting members; auxiliary tubes having a smaller diameter than the inner tube are provided on the connecting members in a complementary manner, and are disposed between the outer tube and the rotating shaft and the covers are inserted between the outer tube and the auxiliary tubes, and form a loss compensation space communicating with the heat transfer oil accommodating space while sealing both ends of the outer tube, is allowable if rewritten. Furthermore claim 12 is dependent on claim 11 so is deemed allowable.
Regarding claim 13, Jung does teach an inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube (60). Jung is silent on the placement and proportions of said inner tube, an out tube, and a aux tube. Therefore, a length of the outer tube is formed to be longer than a length of the inner tube; the inner tube is sealed by the connecting members; auxiliary tubes having a smaller diameter than the inner tube are provided on the connecting members in a complementary manner, and are disposed between the outer tube and the rotating shaft and the covers are inserted between the outer tube and the auxiliary tubes, and form a loss compensation space communicating with the heat transfer oil accommodating space while sealing both ends of the outer tube, is allowable if rewritten. Furthermore claim 14 is dependent on claim 13 so is deemed allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20130025478 A1 – Demand teaches a heat able cylinder with an inner and outer tube.
US 20200130346 A1 – Shinhai teaches heated drums for printing.
US 5119886 A – Fletcher does teach a heating roller for drying a processed workpiece.
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761