DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 filed on 12/14/2023 have been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Application Nos. JP2023-015609 and JP2023-179201 filed on 02/03/2023 and 10/17/2023, respectively. Copies of certified papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 have been received. Priority is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
No certified English translation is in the official record for the application. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action, see 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 12/14/2023 has been reviewed and considered by this office action.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 12/14/2023 have been reviewed and are considered acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “Control Program Generation with Parallel Processing for Automated Manufacturing.”
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,370,603 B2 (reference patent), in view of Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0182101 A1).
The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent are compared in the table below.
18/539,412
US 12,174,614 B2
1. A control program generation apparatus for generating a control program for an automated manufacturing machine including a plurality of actuators, the apparatus comprising:
1. A control program generation apparatus for generating a control program for an automated manufacturing machine including a plurality of actuators, the apparatus comprising:
an element action storage storing a plurality of element actions in a manner associated with a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement;
an element action storage storing a plurality of element actions each indicating an action with an inherent degree of freedom of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators, the plurality of element actions being associated with a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions;
an action chart reader configured to read an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including the plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods; and
an action chart reader configured to read an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including the plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the plurality of element actions being assigned to the plurality of subperiods; and
a control program generator configured to generate the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by combining together, in an order of the plurality of subperiods on the action chart, the plurality of program elements for the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of subperiods on the action chart,
a control program generator configured to generate the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by combining together, in an order of the plurality of subperiods on the action chart, the plurality of program elements for the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of subperiods on the action chart
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application recites all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except “wherein the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods,
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods,
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators,
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator, and
the control program generator generates the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion.
Mizuno further teaches wherein the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods ([0070]: “As shown in FIG. 6, the timing chart C displays the name of the industrial device 30B, a name of each of the processes B1 and B2, and the estimated execution time set for each process. In the example of FIG. 6, as shown by the process images 14 and 15, the estimated execution time of each of the processes B1 and B2 is 4 seconds and 2 seconds”),
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I5 correspond to subperiods) into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: Process B1, completed over subperiod I4, is parallel to process A1 and A2, which are consecutive and completed over subperiod I1 and I2),
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion (FIG. 6: I1-I5) is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (FIG. 6: Industrial devices 30A and 30B),
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I3 and I4-I5) in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator ([0032]: “In this embodiment, the controller 20 controls two industrial devices 30, although the number of industrial devices 30 controlled by the controller 20 may be any number, for example, three or more”), and
the control program generator generates the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0142]: “The system program generating unit 106 generates a system program Q that operates the respective industrial devices 30 in the specified execution order based on the execution order received by the receiving unit 105 and the variables of each process included in the execution order. The system program generating unit 106 generates the system program Q that controls variables of the respective processes so that the respective processes are executed in the specified execution order”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reference patent to incorporate the teachings of Mizuno so as to include the parallel processing portion. Doing so would allow intuitive generation of control programs with the aim of simplifying selection of execution order and program generation (Mizuno, [0175-0176]: “Further, the movement instruction for moving the process image I on the timing axis in the timing chart C is received as the specification of the execution order, and the execution order of the processes can be thereby specified by a more intuitive operation. Further, the list L of the names of the industrial devices 30 is displayed and the process images I of the respective processes associated with the selected industrial devices 30 are arranged on the process axis of the timing chart C. With this arrangement, the industrial device 30 for which the execution order is to be specified can be freely selected, and the system program Q can be generated in further simplified manner”).
Aside from minor stylistic and grammatical differences, claims 3 and 4 of the instant application have substantially similar limitations as claims 5 and 6 of the reference patent, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,370,603 B2 (reference patent), in view of Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0182101 A1), and in view of Nagatani et al. (US 2016/0231733 A1).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the instant application depends on claim 1 and therefore includes the limitations of claim 1. Claim 2 therefore also recites similar limitations as claim 1 of the reference patent in view of Mizuno. Claim 2 recites the additional limitation, “wherein the action chart reader reads a local chart, the local chart includes the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and is separate from the action chart, and the local chart includes the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier is assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart,” which Mizuno does not explicitly teach.
Nagatani further teaches wherein the action chart reader reads a local chart, the local chart includes the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and is separate from the action chart, and the local chart includes the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0090]: “The processing unit 120 can display an additional work screen different from the edit screen 130 on the display device 106. The work screen is a screen enabling decompression and edit of an operation command created by the program-creation program 104 or by a program other than the program-creation program 104”), and
the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier is assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart ([0090]: ““When the user intends to edit desired operation commands individually, the user can copy a desired operation command to the work screen to be edited thereon, and then copy this operation command edited on the work screen to the edit screen 130. Because the user can edit an operation command on the work screen and copy the edited operation command to the edit screen 130, the user's load is reduced as compared to the case of creating all operation commands on the edit screen 130 when the user creates the operation program 222 including many similar operation commands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reference patent in view of Mizuno to incorporate the teachings of Nagatani so as to include the action chart reader reading a local chart, the local chart including the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and being separate from the action chart, and the local chart including the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and the action chart to be read by the action chart reader including a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier being assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart. Doing so would allow actions to be executed with proper timing with the aim of simplifying control program generation ([0008]: “The program creation device according to the present invention is capable of determining the execution timing of an operation command based on a display object arranged on the timing charts, and therefore can eliminate the need to adjust the execution timing in detailed settings. Accordingly, a user can create an operation program of the synchronous control device as easily as possible”).
Claims 1, 3, and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,346,096 B2 reference patent), in view of Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0182101 A1).
The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference patent are compared in the table below.
18/539,412
US 12,346,096 B2
1. A control program generation apparatus for generating a control program for an automated manufacturing machine including a plurality of actuators, the apparatus comprising:
1. A control program generation apparatus for generating a control program for an automated manufacturing machine including a plurality of actuators, the apparatus comprising:
an element action storage storing a plurality of element actions in a manner associated with a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement;
an element action storage storing a plurality of element actions in a manner associated with a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of an inherent degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement;
an action chart reader configured to read an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including the plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods; and
an action chart reader configured to read an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including the plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a subperiod of the plurality of subperiods; and
a control program generator configured to generate the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by combining together, in an order of the plurality of subperiods on the action chart, the plurality of program elements for the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of subperiods on the action chart,
a control program generator configured to generate the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by combining together, in an order of the plurality of subperiods on the action chart, the plurality of program elements for the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of subperiods on the action chart,
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application recites all of the limitations of claim 1 of the instant application except “wherein the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods,
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods,
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators,
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator, and
the control program generator generates the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion.
Mizuno further teaches wherein the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods ([0070]: “As shown in FIG. 6, the timing chart C displays the name of the industrial device 30B, a name of each of the processes B1 and B2, and the estimated execution time set for each process. In the example of FIG. 6, as shown by the process images 14 and 15, the estimated execution time of each of the processes B1 and B2 is 4 seconds and 2 seconds”),
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I5 correspond to subperiods) into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: Process B1, completed over subperiod I4, is parallel to process A1 and A2, which are consecutive and completed over subperiod I1 and I2),
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion (FIG. 6: I1-I5) is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (FIG. 6: Industrial devices 30A and 30B),
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I3 and I4-I5) in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator ([0032]: “In this embodiment, the controller 20 controls two industrial devices 30, although the number of industrial devices 30 controlled by the controller 20 may be any number, for example, three or more”), and
the control program generator generates the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0142]: “The system program generating unit 106 generates a system program Q that operates the respective industrial devices 30 in the specified execution order based on the execution order received by the receiving unit 105 and the variables of each process included in the execution order. The system program generating unit 106 generates the system program Q that controls variables of the respective processes so that the respective processes are executed in the specified execution order”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reference patent to incorporate the teachings of Mizuno so as to include the parallel processing portion. Doing so would allow intuitive generation of control programs with the aim of simplifying selection of execution order and program generation (Mizuno, [0175-0176]: “Further, the movement instruction for moving the process image I on the timing axis in the timing chart C is received as the specification of the execution order, and the execution order of the processes can be thereby specified by a more intuitive operation. Further, the list L of the names of the industrial devices 30 is displayed and the process images I of the respective processes associated with the selected industrial devices 30 are arranged on the process axis of the timing chart C. With this arrangement, the industrial device 30 for which the execution order is to be specified can be freely selected, and the system program Q can be generated in further simplified manner”).
Aside from minor stylistic and grammatical differences, claims 3 and 4 of the instant application have substantially similar limitations as claims 5 and 6 of the reference patent, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premises.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,346,096 B2 (reference patent), in view of Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0182101 A1), and in view of Nagatani et al. (US 2016/0231733 A1).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the instant application depends on claim 1 and therefore includes the limitations of claim 1. Claim 2 therefore also recites similar limitations as claim 1 of the reference patent in view of Mizuno. Claim 2 recites the additional limitation, “wherein the action chart reader reads a local chart, the local chart includes the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and is separate from the action chart, and the local chart includes the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier is assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart,” which Mizuno does not explicitly teach.
Nagatani further teaches wherein the action chart reader reads a local chart, the local chart includes the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and is separate from the action chart, and the local chart includes the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0090]: “The processing unit 120 can display an additional work screen different from the edit screen 130 on the display device 106. The work screen is a screen enabling decompression and edit of an operation command created by the program-creation program 104 or by a program other than the program-creation program 104”), and
the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier is assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart ([0090]: ““When the user intends to edit desired operation commands individually, the user can copy a desired operation command to the work screen to be edited thereon, and then copy this operation command edited on the work screen to the edit screen 130. Because the user can edit an operation command on the work screen and copy the edited operation command to the edit screen 130, the user's load is reduced as compared to the case of creating all operation commands on the edit screen 130 when the user creates the operation program 222 including many similar operation commands”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the reference patent in view of Mizuno to incorporate the teachings of Nagatani so as to include the action chart reader reading a local chart, the local chart including the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and being separate from the action chart, and the local chart including the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and the action chart to be read by the action chart reader including a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier being assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart. Doing so would allow actions to be executed with proper timing with the aim of simplifying control program generation ([0008]: “The program creation device according to the present invention is capable of determining the execution timing of an operation command based on a display object arranged on the timing charts, and therefore can eliminate the need to adjust the execution timing in detailed settings. Accordingly, a user can create an operation program of the synchronous control device as easily as possible”).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
an action chart reader in claim 1, which is interpreted as a program executable by a central processing unit (CPU), an electronic circuit combining an integrated circuit (IC) chips and large-scale integration (LSI) circuits, or equivalent thereof performing the claimed function, as supported in [0068] of Applicant’s Specification
a control program generator in claim 1, which is interpreted as a program executable by a central processing unit (CPU), an electronic circuit combining an integrated circuit (IC) chips and large-scale integration (LSI) circuits, or equivalent thereof performing the claimed function, as supported in [0068] of Applicant’s Specification
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1, 2, and 4 are directed to a machine or an article of manufacture. Claim 3 is directed to a process.
With respect to claim 1:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
a control program generator configured to generate the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by combining together, in an order of the plurality of subperiods on the action chart, the plurality of program elements for the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of subperiods on the action chart (Mental process – generating a control program by combining a plurality of program elements assigned to a plurality of subperiods can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
the control program generator generates the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion (Mental process – generating a control program can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
an element action storage storing a plurality of element actions in a manner associated with a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement (Mere recitation of a generic computer component – see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I))
an action chart reader configured to read an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including the plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
an element action storage storing a plurality of element actions in a manner associated with a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement (Storing and retrieving information in memory have been deemed well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions – see MPEP § 2106.05(d)(ll))
an action chart reader configured to read an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including the plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 1 is ineligible.
With respect to claim 2:
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
wherein the action chart reader reads a local chart, the local chart includes the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and is separate from the action chart, and the local chart includes the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier is assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
wherein the action chart reader reads a local chart, the local chart includes the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and is separate from the action chart, and the local chart includes the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier is assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 2 is ineligible.
With respect to claim 3:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
generating the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by referring to a stored correspondence between the plurality of element actions on the action 49 chart and a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, by converting the plurality of element actions on the action chart to the plurality of program elements, and by combining together the plurality of program elements in an order of the plurality of subperiods (Mental process – generating a control program by combining a plurality of program elements assigned to a plurality of subperiods can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
the generating the control program includes generating the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an 50 order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion (Mental process – generating a control program can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
reading an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including a plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the action chart to be read includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
reading an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including a plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the action chart to be read includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 3 is ineligible.
With respect to claim 4:
2A Prong 1: The claim recites an abstract idea. Specifically:
generating the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by referring to a stored correspondence between the plurality of element actions on the action chart and a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, by converting the plurality of element actions on the action chart to the plurality of program elements, and by combining together the plurality of program elements in an order of the 51 plurality of subperiods (Mental process – generating a control program by combining a plurality of program elements assigned to a plurality of subperiods can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
the generating the control program includes generating the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion (Mental process – generating a control program can be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper as a physical aid – see MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III))
2A Prong 2: The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, individually or in combination.
Additional elements:
reading an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including a plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the action chart to be read includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
reading an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including a plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods (Insignificant extra-solution activity (selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated) – see MPEP § 2106.05(g))
wherein the action chart to be read includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator (Generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use – see MPEP § 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 4 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatani et al. (US 2016/0231733 A1), in view of Mizuno et al. (US 2021/0182101 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nagatani teaches a control program generation apparatus for generating a control program for an automated manufacturing machine including a plurality of actuators ([0001]: “The present invention relates to a program creation device, a program creation method, and a program that create an operation program of a synchronous drive device”; FIG. 2 and [0030]: “a total of four controlled units 400 that are the servo axes in the X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions and the I/O are connected to the synchronous control device 200. The synchronous control device 200 operates the four controlled units 400 in synchronization with a signal from the master encoder 300. As a result, the four controlled units 400 can operate in synchronization with each other”), the apparatus comprising:
an element action storage storing a plurality of element actions in a manner associated with a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions ([0035]: “The auxiliary storage device 103 is a recording medium that has the program-creation program 104 stored therein… The operation program 222… is stored in the auxiliary storage device 103”), each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement ([0051]: “When a template includes a curve defined by numerical parameters, such as an arc, the numerical parameters are input as the second parameters to the input unit 139. At the time of generating image data, the processing unit 120 can calculate a curve using the second parameters. When a positioning command is designated as a template, a target position, a target speed, or the like is input as the second parameter to the input unit 139. When a template of tension control, or a template designed for special usage such as for a plant is designated, the input unit 139 is configured to enable a plurality of axes, a sensor input, and a signal output to be visually operated”; [0031]: “The main control unit 220 generates an instruction value to each of the controlled units 400 based on the angle of the master axis and the operation program 222. The main control unit 220 then outputs the generated instruction value to each of the controlled units 400”; [0030]: “The controlled units 400 each refer to a unit to which an instruction value is calculated and input by the synchronous control device 200. In a servo system, individual instruction values are respectively input to an X-axis, a Y-axis, and a Z-axis. In this servo system, a servo axis in the X-axis direction, a servo axis in the Y-axis direction, and a servo axis in the Z-axis direction correspond to the controlled units 400, respectively”);
an action chart reader configured to read an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including the plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods ([0044]: “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the edit screen 130 in a state where an association input has been performed. In an example of FIG. 8, an association input is performed using a mouse pointer 133, in which a display object 131 labeled as 'axis 1. operation command 1' is associated with a display object 131 labeled as 'axis 3. operation command 1'. An arrow 134 indicates the associated relation. With this association input, the termination timing of an operation command indicated by the display object 131 labeled as 'axis 1. operation command 1' is set as the start timing of an operation command indicated by the display object 131 labeled as 'axis 3. operation command 1'. Which one of the two selected display objects 131 whose termination timing is set as the start timing of the other one of the two display objects 131 is determined according to the positional relation in arrangement between the two display objects 131”); and
a control program generator configured to generate the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by combining together, in an order of the plurality of subperiods on the action chart, the plurality of program elements for the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of subperiods on the action chart ([0052]: “the processing unit 120 generates an operation command for performing an operation based on the template, to which the first parameter and the second parameter are applied, at the execution timing determined in the processing at Step S3 (Step S10). The processing unit 120 then describes the generated operation command in the operation program 222 (Step S11), thereby generating the operation program 222. After generating the operation program 222, the processing unit 120 ends its operation”; [0031]: “The main control unit 220 generates an instruction value to each of the controlled units 400 based on the angle of the master axis and the operation program 222. The main control unit 220 then outputs the generated instruction value to each of the controlled units 400”).
While Nagatani teaches an action chart including a plurality of subperiods (FIGS. 7-12), Nagatani does not explicitly teach the parallel processing portion.
Mizuno further teaches wherein the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods ([0070]: “As shown in FIG. 6, the timing chart C displays the name of the industrial device 30B, a name of each of the processes B1 and B2, and the estimated execution time set for each process. In the example of FIG. 6, as shown by the process images 14 and 15, the estimated execution time of each of the processes B1 and B2 is 4 seconds and 2 seconds”),
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I5 correspond to subperiods) into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: Process B1, completed over subperiod I4, is parallel to process A1 and A2, which are consecutive and completed over subperiod I1 and I2),
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion (FIG. 6: I1-I5) is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (FIG. 6: Industrial devices 30A and 30B),
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I3 and I4-I5) in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator ([0032]: “In this embodiment, the controller 20 controls two industrial devices 30, although the number of industrial devices 30 controlled by the controller 20 may be any number, for example, three or more”), and
the control program generator generates the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0142]: “The system program generating unit 106 generates a system program Q that operates the respective industrial devices 30 in the specified execution order based on the execution order received by the receiving unit 105 and the variables of each process included in the execution order. The system program generating unit 106 generates the system program Q that controls variables of the respective processes so that the respective processes are executed in the specified execution order”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the apparatus of Nagatani to incorporate the teachings of Mizuno so as to include the parallel processing portion. Doing so would allow intuitive generation of control programs with the aim of simplifying selection of execution order and program generation (Mizuno, [0175-0176]: “Further, the movement instruction for moving the process image I on the timing axis in the timing chart C is received as the specification of the execution order, and the execution order of the processes can be thereby specified by a more intuitive operation. Further, the list L of the names of the industrial devices 30 is displayed and the process images I of the respective processes associated with the selected industrial devices 30 are arranged on the process axis of the timing chart C. With this arrangement, the industrial device 30 for which the execution order is to be specified can be freely selected, and the system program Q can be generated in further simplified manner”).
Regarding claim 2, Nagatani in view of Mizuno teaches the control program generation apparatus according to claim 1.
Nagatani further teaches wherein the action chart reader reads a local chart, the local chart includes the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion on the action chart and is separate from the action chart, and the local chart includes the element action of the selected actuator being at least one selected actuator assigned to each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0090]: “The processing unit 120 can display an additional work screen different from the edit screen 130 on the display device 106. The work screen is a screen enabling decompression and edit of an operation command created by the program-creation program 104 or by a program other than the program-creation program 104”), and
the action chart to be read by the action chart reader includes a local chart identifier specific to the local chart, and the local chart identifier is assigned to the parallel processing portion on the action chart ([0090]: ““When the user intends to edit desired operation commands individually, the user can copy a desired operation command to the work screen to be edited thereon, and then copy this operation command edited on the work screen to the edit screen 130. Because the user can edit an operation command on the work screen and copy the edited operation command to the edit screen 130, the user's load is reduced as compared to the case of creating all operation commands on the edit screen 130 when the user creates the operation program 222 including many similar operation commands”).
Regarding claim 3, Nagatani teaches a control program generation method for generating, with a computer, a control program for an automated manufacturing machine including a plurality of actuators ([0001]: “The present invention relates to a program creation device, a program creation method, and a program that create an operation program of a synchronous drive device”; FIG. 2 and [0030]: “a total of four controlled units 400 that are the servo axes in the X-axis, Y-axis, and Z-axis directions and the I/O are connected to the synchronous control device 200. The synchronous control device 200 operates the four controlled units 400 in synchronization with a signal from the master encoder 300. As a result, the four controlled units 400 can operate in synchronization with each other”), the method comprising:
reading an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including a plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement ([0051]: “When a template includes a curve defined by numerical parameters, such as an arc, the numerical parameters are input as the second parameters to the input unit 139. At the time of generating image data, the processing unit 120 can calculate a curve using the second parameters. When a positioning command is designated as a template, a target position, a target speed, or the like is input as the second parameter to the input unit 139. When a template of tension control, or a template designed for special usage such as for a plant is designated, the input unit 139 is configured to enable a plurality of axes, a sensor input, and a signal output to be visually operated”; [0031]: “The main control unit 220 generates an instruction value to each of the controlled units 400 based on the angle of the master axis and the operation program 222. The main control unit 220 then outputs the generated instruction value to each of the controlled units 400”; [0030]: “The controlled units 400 each refer to a unit to which an instruction value is calculated and input by the synchronous control device 200. In a servo system, individual instruction values are respectively input to an X-axis, a Y-axis, and a Z-axis. In this servo system, a servo axis in the X-axis direction, a servo axis in the Y-axis direction, and a servo axis in the Z-axis direction correspond to the controlled units 400, respectively”), each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods ([0044]: “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the edit screen 130 in a state where an association input has been performed. In an example of FIG. 8, an association input is performed using a mouse pointer 133, in which a display object 131 labeled as 'axis 1. operation command 1' is associated with a display object 131 labeled as 'axis 3. operation command 1'. An arrow 134 indicates the associated relation. With this association input, the termination timing of an operation command indicated by the display object 131 labeled as 'axis 1. operation command 1' is set as the start timing of an operation command indicated by the display object 131 labeled as 'axis 3. operation command 1'. Which one of the two selected display objects 131 whose termination timing is set as the start timing of the other one of the two display objects 131 is determined according to the positional relation in arrangement between the two display objects 131”); and
generating the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by referring to a stored correspondence between the plurality of element actions on the action chart and a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, by converting the plurality of element actions on the action chart to the plurality of program elements, and by combining together the plurality of program elements in an order of the plurality of subperiods ([0052]: “the processing unit 120 generates an operation command for performing an operation based on the template, to which the first parameter and the second parameter are applied, at the execution timing determined in the processing at Step S3 (Step S10). The processing unit 120 then describes the generated operation command in the operation program 222 (Step S11), thereby generating the operation program 222. After generating the operation program 222, the processing unit 120 ends its operation”; [0031]: “The main control unit 220 generates an instruction value to each of the controlled units 400 based on the angle of the master axis and the operation program 222. The main control unit 220 then outputs the generated instruction value to each of the controlled units 400”).
While Nagatani teaches an action chart including a plurality of subperiods (FIGS. 7-12), Nagatani does not explicitly teach the parallel processing portion.
Mizuno further teaches wherein the action chart to be read includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods ([0070]: “As shown in FIG. 6, the timing chart C displays the name of the industrial device 30B, a name of each of the processes B1 and B2, and the estimated execution time set for each process. In the example of FIG. 6, as shown by the process images 14 and 15, the estimated execution time of each of the processes B1 and B2 is 4 seconds and 2 seconds”),
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I5 correspond to subperiods) into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: Process B1, completed over subperiod I4, is parallel to process A1 and A2, which are consecutive and completed over subperiod I1 and I2),
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion (FIG. 6: I1-I5) is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2)corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (FIG. 6: Industrial devices 30A and 30B),
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I3 and I4-I5) in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator ([0032]: “In this embodiment, the controller 20 controls two industrial devices 30, although the number of industrial devices 30 controlled by the controller 20 may be any number, for example, three or more”), and
the generating the control program includes generating the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0142]: “The system program generating unit 106 generates a system program Q that operates the respective industrial devices 30 in the specified execution order based on the execution order received by the receiving unit 105 and the variables of each process included in the execution order. The system program generating unit 106 generates the system program Q that controls variables of the respective processes so that the respective processes are executed in the specified execution order”).
The reasons to combine Mizuno into Nagatani are the same as articulated in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Nagatani teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to implement a method for generating a control program for an automated manufacturing machine including a plurality of actuators, the method comprising:
reading an action chart describing an operation of the automated manufacturing machine, the action chart including a plurality of subperiods into which an operation period from a start to an end of the operation of the automated manufacturing machine is divided, the action chart including a plurality of element actions included in the operation of the automated manufacturing machine, each of the plurality of element actions indicating an action of a corresponding actuator of the plurality of actuators in a direction of a degree of freedom of the corresponding actuator by a specified displacement ([0051]: “When a template includes a curve defined by numerical parameters, such as an arc, the numerical parameters are input as the second parameters to the input unit 139. At the time of generating image data, the processing unit 120 can calculate a curve using the second parameters. When a positioning command is designated as a template, a target position, a target speed, or the like is input as the second parameter to the input unit 139. When a template of tension control, or a template designed for special usage such as for a plant is designated, the input unit 139 is configured to enable a plurality of axes, a sensor input, and a signal output to be visually operated”; [0031]: “The main control unit 220 generates an instruction value to each of the controlled units 400 based on the angle of the master axis and the operation program 222. The main control unit 220 then outputs the generated instruction value to each of the controlled units 400”; [0030]: “The controlled units 400 each refer to a unit to which an instruction value is calculated and input by the synchronous control device 200. In a servo system, individual instruction values are respectively input to an X-axis, a Y-axis, and a Z-axis. In this servo system, a servo axis in the X-axis direction, a servo axis in the Y-axis direction, and a servo axis in the Z-axis direction correspond to the controlled units 400, respectively”), each of the plurality of element actions being assigned to a corresponding subperiod of the plurality of subperiods ([0044]: “FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating the edit screen 130 in a state where an association input has been performed. In an example of FIG. 8, an association input is performed using a mouse pointer 133, in which a display object 131 labeled as 'axis 1. operation command 1' is associated with a display object 131 labeled as 'axis 3. operation command 1'. An arrow 134 indicates the associated relation. With this association input, the termination timing of an operation command indicated by the display object 131 labeled as 'axis 1. operation command 1' is set as the start timing of an operation command indicated by the display object 131 labeled as 'axis 3. operation command 1'. Which one of the two selected display objects 131 whose termination timing is set as the start timing of the other one of the two display objects 131 is determined according to the positional relation in arrangement between the two display objects 131”); and
generating the control program to cause the automated manufacturing machine to operate by referring to a stored correspondence between the plurality of element actions on the action chart and a plurality of program elements to perform the plurality of element actions, by converting the plurality of element actions on the action chart to the plurality of program elements, and by combining together the plurality of program elements in an order of the plurality of subperiods ([0052]: “the processing unit 120 generates an operation command for performing an operation based on the template, to which the first parameter and the second parameter are applied, at the execution timing determined in the processing at Step S3 (Step S10). The processing unit 120 then describes the generated operation command in the operation program 222 (Step S11), thereby generating the operation program 222. After generating the operation program 222, the processing unit 120 ends its operation”; [0031]: “The main control unit 220 generates an instruction value to each of the controlled units 400 based on the angle of the master axis and the operation program 222. The main control unit 220 then outputs the generated instruction value to each of the controlled units 400”).
While Nagatani teaches an action chart including a plurality of subperiods (FIGS. 7-12), Nagatani does not explicitly teach the parallel processing portion.
Mizuno further teaches wherein the action chart to be read includes a parallel processing portion including a set of two or more consecutive subperiods of the plurality of subperiods ([0070]: “As shown in FIG. 6, the timing chart C displays the name of the industrial device 30B, a name of each of the processes B1 and B2, and the estimated execution time set for each process. In the example of FIG. 6, as shown by the process images 14 and 15, the estimated execution time of each of the processes B1 and B2 is 4 seconds and 2 seconds”),
the parallel processing portion includes a plurality of parallel subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I5 correspond to subperiods) into which the parallel processing portion is divided, and the plurality of parallel subperiods are parallel to the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: Process B1, completed over subperiod I4, is parallel to process A1 and A2, which are consecutive and completed over subperiod I1 and I2),
each of the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion (FIG. 6: I1-I5) is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to a selected actuator of the plurality of actuators (FIG. 6: Industrial devices 30A and 30B),
each of the two or more consecutive subperiods (FIG. 6: I1-I3 and I4-I5) in the parallel processing portion is assigned with an element action of the plurality of element actions (FIG. 6: Processes A1-A3 and B1-B2) corresponding to an actuator of the plurality of actuators other than the selected actuator ([0032]: “In this embodiment, the controller 20 controls two industrial devices 30, although the number of industrial devices 30 controlled by the controller 20 may be any number, for example, three or more”), and
the generating the control program includes generating the control program by combining together, in an order of the plurality of parallel subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the plurality of parallel subperiods in the parallel processing portion, and combining together, in an order of the two or more consecutive subperiods, program elements of the plurality of program elements for element actions of the plurality of element actions assigned to the two or more consecutive subperiods in the parallel processing portion ([0142]: “The system program generating unit 106 generates a system program Q that operates the respective industrial devices 30 in the specified execution order based on the execution order received by the receiving unit 105 and the variables of each process included in the execution order. The system program generating unit 106 generates the system program Q that controls variables of the respective processes so that the respective processes are executed in the specified execution order”).
The reasons to combine Mizuno into Nagatani are the same as articulated in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0079497 A1: Control program sequencing
US 2013/0338797 A1: Machine control program generation
/M.I.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/ROBERT E FENNEMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117