DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 15, 17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Attarzadeh et al. (US 20210384651 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Attarzadeh et al. discloses a connection system for electrically connecting a cable 4 to a device connector 46, the connection system comprising:
a terminal lug 10 comprising a connecting section 9, 11 having an opening 12 open or closed at an edge of the opening 12 and configured to bring the terminal lug 10 into a connected state in engagement with the device connector 46;
a fixation element 48 configured to fix the terminal lug 10 in place in the connected state on the device connector 46 with at least one of a shape fit and a force fit to produce a fixed state; and
an elastomer overmold 16 overmolded onto the terminal lug 10 at least in a region of the connecting section 9, 11 to form a holder 20 having a wall 18, 30 arranged on the connecting section and extending from a top side of the connecting section in a normal direction to a plane of the opening 12 with a closed circumference (see fig. 1a);
wherein the fixation element 48 forms a section of a locking unit arranged at least in sections within the holder 20 in the fixed state and comprising a cap element 34, 50 configured to cover at least sections of the fixation element 48; and
wherein the cap element 34, 50 is configured to press against and elastically deform at least sections 31 of the wall 18, 30 in the fixed state to achieve a seal between the wall and the cap element (see fig. 2b).
In regard to claim 2, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the fixation element 48 is configured to fix the terminal lug 10 in place in the connected state of the device connector 46 using a screw connection.
In regard to claim 3, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the cap element 34, 50 is configured to be arranged in at least sections of the holder 20 in the fixed state for elastically deforming the wall 18, 30 by pressure from an interior of the holder outward; and
wherein the pressure has a directional component parallel to radial directions normal to the normal direction and facing outward.
In regard to claim 4, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the cap element 34, 50 has a cross-section with projecting arms 54, in a section plane; wherein a longitudinal axis of the locking unit lies in the section plane; wherein in the fixed state, at least first sections (see annotated drawing below) of the arms 54 extend with a directional component parallel to radial directions normal to the normal direction (up and down direction) and facing outward, and at least second sections (see annotated drawing below) of the arms extend with a directional component anti-parallel to the normal direction; and wherein the cap element is configured to encompass at least sections of the wall 18, 30 with the arms in the fixed state and to elastically deform the wall by exterior pressure with a directional component counter to the radial directions.
In regard to claim 5, Attarzadeh et al. discloses each of the arms comprises a first arm section (see annotated drawing below) and a second arm section (see annotated drawing below); wherein the first arm section extends parallel to one of the radial directions with a respective first directional component, and the second arm section extends with a respective second directional component anti-parallel to the normal direction; and wherein the second arm section is arranged behind the first arm section, viewed in the radial direction corresponding to the respective first directional component.
In regard to claim 6, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the cap element has a cross-section with projecting arms 54, in a section plane; wherein a longitudinal axis of the locking unit 34 lies in the section plane; wherein in the fixed state, at least certain sections of the arms 54 extend with a directional component parallel to radial directions normal to the normal direction and facing outward; and wherein the cap element 34, 50 is configured to press with the arms 54 in the fixed state against at least sections of an end face (see annotated drawing below) of the wall 18, 30 facing away from the connecting section and thereby elastically deform the wall.
In regard to claim 7, Attarzadeh et al. discloses at least sections of the elastomer overmold 16 are arranged on at least one of the top side of the connecting section 9, 11 and an underside of the connecting section 9, 11 opposite the top side (see fig. 2b).
In regard to claim 8, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the holder 20 narrows toward the normal direction (vertical direction in fig. 1b).
In regard to claim 9, Attarzadeh et al. discloses at least sections of the wall 18, 30 are configured to narrow conically toward the normal direction (see fig. 1b).
In regard to claim 10, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the holder 20 has inside ribs 31 projecting away from the wall 30 in an interior of the holder 20 with a directional component counter to radial directions normal to the normal direction and facing outward.
In regard to claim 11, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the elastomer overmold 16 forms a sealing foot (see annotated drawing below) arranged on the connecting section 11 opposite to the holder 20 and extending in a circumferentially closed manner counter to the normal direction so as to lie against a device housing 44 in the fixed state, forming a seal (see fig. 2b).
In regard to claim 12, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the sealing foot has at least one circumferentially closed axial sealing lip (see annotated drawing below) extending with a directional component counter to the normal direction; and/or at least one circumferentially closed radial sealing lip 31 extending with a directional component counter to radial directions facing outward normal to the normal direction.
In regard to claim 15, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the cap element is produced from polyamide (para.[0039]).
NOTE: polyamide is a thermoplastic, meaning you can melt and reshape it multiple times. It stands out for its strong heat resistance, melting between 220-265°C, and it softens when heated but hardens upon cooling. You’ll find it holds up well under dry heat, though moisture can affect its properties due to absorption. Its flexibility and durability make it ideal for many heat-exposed uses. Keep exploring to discover how its unique structure influences performance.
In regard to claim 17, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the cap element has an activation section (see annotated drawing below) formed as a screw head.
In regard to claim 19, Attarzadeh et al. discloses a device housing 42; and a device connector 46 arranged on the device housing.
In regard to claim 20, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the device housing 42 has at least one projecting wall section (see annotated drawing below) spaced apart from the device connector 46; and wherein in the fixed state, at least sections of the wall are pressed against the at least one wall section by the cap element 30.
[AltContent: textbox (end face of wall)][AltContent: connector]
[AltContent: textbox (2nd section of arm 54)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (1st section of arm 54)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (projecting wall section)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (axial sealing lip)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (sealing foot)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (activation section)][AltContent: connector]
Claim(s) 1, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trimborn (US 10211565 B2).
In regard to claim 1, Trimborn discloses a connection system for electrically connecting a cable 1 to a device connector 37, the connection system comprising:
a terminal lug 5 comprising a connecting section 29 having an opening 26 open or closed at an edge of the opening 26 and configured to bring the terminal lug 5 into a connected state in engagement with the device connector 37;
a fixation element 38 configured to fix the terminal lug 5 in place in the connected state on the device connector 37 with at least one of a shape fit and a force fit to produce a fixed state; and
an elastomer overmold 31 overmolded onto the terminal lug 5 at least in a region of the connecting section 29 to form a holder having a wall 34 arranged on the connecting section 29 and extending from a top side of the connecting section in a normal direction to a plane of the opening 26 with a closed circumference (see fig. 16);
wherein the fixation element 38 forms a section of a locking unit arranged at least in sections within the holder in the fixed state and comprising a cap element 39 configured to cover at least sections of the fixation element 38; and
wherein the cap element 39 is configured to press against and elastically deform at least sections of the wall 34 in the fixed state to achieve a seal between the wall 34 40and the cap element at 40 (see fig. 16 and 17).
In regard to claim 13, Trimborn discloses the fixation element 38 is connected to the cap element 39.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attarzadeh et al.
In regard to claim 14, Trimborn does not disclose the fixation element 38 is connected to the cap element by pressing using ultrasound.
The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In regard to claim 16, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the cap element is produced from polyamide.
However, Attarzadeh et al. does not disclose that cap element is produced from a polyamide reinforced with glass fibers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Attarzadeh et al. by constructing the cap element of a polyamide reinforced with glass fibers material which is highly resistant to degradation since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious engineering choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
In regard to claim 18, Attarzadeh et al. discloses the cap element has an activation section (see annotated drawing above).
However, Attarzadeh et al. does not disclose the activation section formed as a hexagonal screw head.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of Attarzadeh et al. by having the activation section with different type of configurations since applicants have
presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the activation area are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing gripping/holding surfaces. A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
1/8/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834