Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species A in the reply filed on 2026 April 15 is acknowledged.
Claims 7 and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species and/or invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patent No.: US 11,149,862 B2 (herein “Kanzaki”).
Regarding claim 1.
Kanzaki discloses a coolant distributor valve (Fig. 3) for a vehicle cooling system, comprising:
a housing including a shaft support housing portion (41) providing a monolithic, unitary structure, the shaft support housing portion having a first side opposite a second side, the first and second sides respectively including first and second bores (shown in Fig. 3; bores in right and left side of 41 where shaft passes through);
a valve (33) arranged in the housing adjacent to the first side;
electronic components (shown in Fig. 4) arranged in the housing adjacent to the second side, the electronic components configured to move the valve between multiple positions;
first and second seals (Fig. 3; located in the bores of 41) respectively mounted in the first and second bores; and
a shaft (Fig. 3; central shaft extending between 32 to 61) extending through and engaging the seals, the shaft operatively connecting the electronic components to the valve.
Regarding claim 2.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 1, wherein the shaft support housing portion is provided as a single piece part (single piece 41).
It is noted that claim 2 contains a product by process limitation (i.e. molded, cast, and/or machined) and that the product by process limitation does not limit the claim to recite the step, just the structure obtained by performing the step. Further, in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 3.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 1, wherein the housing includes an electronics housing portion (43) secured to the shaft support housing portion to enclose the electronic components.
Regarding claim 4.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 3, wherein the shaft support housing portion provides a valve housing portion (32) receiving the valve, and the housing includes a cover (95) secured to the valve housing portion to enclose the valve.
Regarding claim 5.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 3, wherein a valve housing portion (32) is secured to the shaft support housing portion (shown in Fig. 3), the valve arranged in the valve housing portion.
Regarding claim 6.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 5, wherein the housing includes a cover (95) secured to the valve housing portion to enclose the valve.
Regarding claim 13.
Kanzaki discloses a vehicle cooling system (Fig. 1) including the coolant distributor valve of claim 1, comprising multiple cooling loops (shown in Fig. 1), the coolant distributor valve interconnecting at least two of the multiple cooling loops (Fig. 1; 17, 18, and 19 connected to valve 10), and the valve configured to move between multiple positions to direct a desired cooling flow through the at least two of the multiple cooling loops (col. 6, ln. 7-23).
Regarding claim 14.
Kanzaki discloses the vehicle cooling system of claim 13, wherein the cooling loops include a vehicle cabin (24) and a motor (11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanzaki alone.
Regarding claim 8.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 3, comprising a printed circuit board (16), and an electrical actuator (44) electrically connected to the PCB and arranged in the electronics housing portion.
Kanzaki does not disclose that the printed circuit board is located in the electronic housing portion. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate the circuit board in the electronic housing to provide a compact singular device that simplifies assembly.
Regarding claim 9.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 8, wherein the electrical actuator is a motor (44), and a gear train (52, 53, 54) coupled between the motor and the valve.
Regarding claim 10.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 9, wherein the shaft is provided by first and second shafts coupled to one another (shown in Fig. 3; first shaft portion at 81 coupled to shaft portion at center of 54), the first shaft extends from the valve, and the second shaft extends from the gear train.
Regarding claim 11.
Kanzaki discloses the coolant distributor valve of claim 10, wherein the first and second shafts are nested relative to one another is splined relationship (shown in Fig. 3 to the left of 49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763