DETAILED ACTION
This is a first Non-Final Office Action on the merits in response to the application filed 12/14/23. The request for foreign priority to a corresponding JP application filed 03/06/23 has been received and is proper. Claims 1-5 are currently pending yet all are rejected as detailed below. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 3 limitation that the downward slope is set to be “changed stepwise” from one end portion to the other must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). All figures show a gradual downward slope. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Fukuo in view of Yamagiwa
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukuo et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0152674) (cited by Applicant) in view of Yamagiwa (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2003/0030290). Fukuo is directed to a shock absorbing member and structure. See Abstract. Yamagiwa is directed to a shock absorber for a two-wheeled vehicle. See Abstract.
Claim 1: Fukuo discloses an energy absorber [Figs. 7-9] comprising: a body portion (18) assembled in a closed space of a vehicle [see Fig. 5B]; and a plurality of cells (20, 22) provided in the body portion and including an opening on an outer side in a vehicle width direction with the body portion assembled to the vehicle, the cells each including a lower surface (surfaces of 44, 46) with a downward slope of three degrees or more [see Fig. 9 (stepwise slope, as recited in claim 3, infra, greater than 3 degrees from end to end and/or from step to step)] from one end portion on an inner side in the vehicle width direction toward the other end portion on the outer side in the vehicle width direction as seen from a rear side of the vehicle. See Figs. 5B, 7-9.
Fukuo discloses all the required limitations of this claim except for the use of “resin” for the body portion, and arguably an explicit mention of the downward slope being 3 degrees or greater. Yamagiwa discloses a similar vehicle energy absorber [Figs. 4-5(b)], with a plurality of cells (2a1, 2a2), wherein the body portion is made of resin [see Abstract; para. 0034], and wherein a lower surface downward slope greater than 3 degrees [see para. 0032 (thickness difference can be as much as 2mm over a 30mm rib length, hence 3.8 degrees). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a resin for the body portion because this material is relatively inexpensive, readily available, and provides the requisite strength and shock absorbing properties needed for damping impact to a vehicle. It would also have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use a downward slope greater than 3 degrees because, aside from this feature already appearing in Fukuo Figure 9, there is no criticality with regard to a range as expansive as ‘greater than 3 degrees’ and there may be design considerations for the angle of the rib taper, such as spacing and fitting a desired number of cells.
It should be noted that the recited material of the vehicle closed space being “metal” is not a required structural limitation of the claimed apparatus. While the material for the Fukuo vehicle car door is not explicitly mentioned, the use of metal for a vehicle car door is universally known, and would certainly be obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the invention.
Claim 2: Fukuo discloses that the lower surface of each of the cells includes different downward slopes from the one end portion toward the other end portion, and includes a greater downward slope on the outer side in the vehicle width direction than on the inner side in the vehicle width direction. See Fig. 9 (slope of step downwards is a greater than slope of longitudinally-extending surface of rib).
Claim 3: Fukuo discloses that the downward slope of the lower surface is set to be changed stepwise. See Fig. 9.
Claim 4: Fukuo discloses that the downward slope of the lower surface is set to be changed gradually. See Figs. 7-8.
Claim 5: Fukuo discloses that the downward slope of the lower surface is set uniformly. See Figs. 7-8.
Conclusion
VISHAL SAHNI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3657
/VISHAL R SAHNI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 February 11, 2026