DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the reversible drive belt system, the forward direction drive motor and the second tensioning system of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: para [0056], line 1 recites “hydraulic cylinder 112”. Para [0065], line 2 recites “hydraulic piston 112”. Nomenclature should be consistent.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 depends from cancelled claim 5. For examination purposes claim 6 was considered dependent from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, line 14 recites “the drive system…”. It is unclear if this is the reversible drive belt system of line 1 or a different drive system. Lines 15, 17 and 18 recite “the hydraulic motor”. It is unclear if this is the hydraulic drive motor of lines 5 and 12 or a different hydraulic motor. Claim 6 has the same issue with “hydraulic drive motor” and “drive motor”
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2, 3, 4, 6 and 7, line 1, recite “The system of claim 1…”. It is unclear what system is being claimed as claim 1 claims a reversible drive belt system, a first tensioning system and a second tensioning system.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1, lines 14, 17 and 18 recite verbatim the limitation of claim 4. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP3848616.
As per claim 1, EP3848616 discloses a reversible drive belt system (paras [0004, 0005], comprising:
a drive belt (4) ;
a drive motor arrangement comprising a forward direction drive motor (para [0002] describes a drive pulley driven by means of a drive device, in particular an internal combustion engine to power the drive pulley in a forward direction) and a reverse direction drive motor (24) (para [0042]), wherein the reverse direction drive motor (24) comprises a hydraulic drive motor (para [0042]);
a belt tensioning element (5) (fig. 5);
a first tensioning system (para [0040]) for applying force to the belt tensioning element (5) to apply a tensioning force to the drive belt (4); and
a second tensioning system (para [0043]) for applying force to the belt tensioning element (5) to apply a tensioning force to the drive belt (4), the second tensioning element comprising a hydraulic cylinder (9) (figs. 3, 5);
wherein the hydraulic drive motor (para [0042]) comprises a hydraulic pressure supply line (26, 28);
wherein the hydraulic cylinder (9) is actuated by an input hydraulic pressure; and
wherein when the drive system is operated in the reverse direction, the input hydraulic pressure is coupled to the hydraulic pressure supply line (28) of the hydraulic motor (para [0042]) and the input hydraulic pressure to the hydraulic cylinder (9) is controlled in dependence on a load on the hydraulic motor (27) wherein the input hydraulic pressure is proportional to the load on the hydraulic motor (paras [0042-0044]).
As per claim 2, EP3848616 as set forth above, discloses the first tensioning system (para [0040]) comprises a spring system (figs. 3, 5). Spring 19 associated with hydraulic cylinder 9.
As per claim 3, EP3848616 as set forth above, discloses when the drive system (30) is operated in the forward direction, the first tensioning system only applies the tensioning force (para [0040]), and when the drive system is operated in the reverse direction, the combination of the first and second tensioning systems apply the tensioning force (paras [0042-0044).
As per claim 4, EP3848616 as set forth above, discloses when the drive system (30) is operated in the reverse direction, the input hydraulic pressure is proportional (para [0042]) to the load on the hydraulic motor (para [0042]).
As per claim 6, EP3848616 as set forth above, discloses the hydraulic drive motor (para [0042]) comprises a return line (fig. 5), wherein when the drive system is operated in the forward direction, the hydraulic pressure supply line of the hydraulic motor (para [0042]) is coupled to the return line (fig. 5).
As per claim 7, EP3848616 as set forth above, discloses the reversible drive belt system (30) is for driving a beater cylinder (para [0004]) of a combine harvester (para [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP3848616.
As per claim 8, EP3848616 discloses a combine harvester (paras [0004, 0005]) comprising:
a crop cutting head; a beater cylinder; and the drive belt system of claim 1 configured to drive the beater cylinder. EP ‘616 does not specifically disclose a feeder house; a threshing system configured to receive material from the beater cylinder; a separating system; and a grain cleaning system configured to receive cut and threshed crop material.
However, paragraphs [0003 and 0004] disclose the drive belt system is for an agricultural combine harvester. Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art to one of ordinary skill that an agricultural combine harvester includes a feeder house; a threshing system configured to receive material from the beater cylinder; a separating system; and a grain cleaning system configured to receive cut and threshed crop material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the drive system of EP ‘616 with an agricultural combine harvester with the aforementioned components.
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654