Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim [1,2,4-7,10-12, 14-15 and 18] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Arpad (US 20210297926 A1) in view of Reddy (US 20040023669 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 11 and 18 Arpad teaches identifying a wireless device within a selected network coverage area for a cellular network based on information contained in a registration request from the wireless device; [0021] The operation includes receiving a request for cellular service at a base station from a mobile device. The operation further includes determining, based on a first communication from the base station to a database using a virtual private network (VPN) connection, that the mobile device does not have a recognized associated mobile station international subscriber directory number (MSISDN), and in response assigning a first MSISDN for the mobile device., accessing a database to correlate the information contained in the registration request with a mobile station international subscriber director number (MSISDN); [0055] At block 620, the subscriber management service determines whether a complete identifier (e.g., a complete MSISDN) is available. For example, the subscriber management service can query a database (e.g., the database 414 illustrated in FIG. 4) for available identifiers that have been purchased and are not yet assigned to an IMEI. If no complete identifier is available, the flow proceeds to block 622, and sending a push notification to the MSISDN of the wireless device. [0058] At block 628, the subscriber management service transmits a greeting to the mobile device (e.g., an SMS message). In an embodiment, the greeting includes the new identifier (e.g., the new MSISDN). This can be a temporary identifier (e.g., assigned at block 618) or a full identifier (e.g., reserved at block 624). A non-transitory computer-readable medium [0021] Embodiments further include a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-readable program code embodied therewith, the computer-readable program code executable by one or more computer processors to perform an operation
A system comprising: communication circuitry receiving registration requests from wireless devices within a selected network coverage area of a cellular network; [0106] The base station can also include a software-defined radio 1350 in communication with the computer 1310 as well as a power amplifier 1352 that transmits signals (e.g. cellular data) via antenna(s) 1354, a memory storing instructions and data; and a processor accessing the stored instructions and performing operations including [0026] As such, the controller 102 may include one or more of a digital processor, an analog processor, a digital circuit designed to process information, an analog circuit designed to process information, a state machine, or any other suitable mechanisms for electronically processing information.
Arpad does not teach the push notification indicating coverage availability of the cellular network in the selected network coverage area.
However, Reddy does teach the push notification indicating coverage availability of the cellular network in the selected network coverage area [0012] there is WLAN coverage or same user is moving through a cellular coverage network which also has a WLAN access, can be informed about the existence of the WLAN coverage through push services. The push service can be any of the application-level triggers such as being paged, uses of SMS.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Arpad and Reddy before him or her, to modify the method of Arpad to include notifications as taught by Reddy.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved efficiency for location determination. (0010 by Reddy).
In regards to claims 2 and 12 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Arpad also teaches where the information contained in the registration request is an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI) of the wireless device [0051] At block 610, the subscriber management service determines whether an identifier (e.g., the mobile device's International Mobile Equipment Identity (IMEI)) is on a blocked list. In an embodiment, the subscriber management service maintains a blocked list of devices which are blocked from connection using the subscriber management service.
In regards to claims 4 and 14 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Arpad also teaches identifying multiple wireless devices in the selected network coverage area and sending the push notification to the multiple wireless devices. [0052] In an embodiment, maintaining a list of previously assigned numbers allows a mobile device to maintain a persistent MSISDN across sessions. For example, a user may move between base stations associated with the subscriber management service. Maintaining a list of previously assigned numbers allows the subscriber management service to operate using the same MSISDN for the same mobile device.
In regards to claims 5 and 15 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Arpad also teaches receiving the registration request from customers of another cellular network [0042] when roaming is enabled in a mobile device and the primary carrier has no service, the mobile device can automatically connect to a roaming provider (e.g., the subscriber management system illustrated in FIG. 1) and try to register to use its services.
In regards to claims 6 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Arpad also teaches denying the registration request [0050] the subscriber management service further (or alternatively) determines whether the base station is allowing new connections. If either is false the flow proceeds to block 606 and the connection is rejected and sending the push notification upon denial of the registration request [0050] In an embodiment, at block 606 the subscriber management service transmits an indication of the rejection (e.g., a network message) to the mobile device.
In regards to claims 7 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Arpad also teaches accepting the registration request and sending the push notification upon acceptance of the registration request [0039] At block 504, the subscriber management service assigns a new MSISDN to the mobile device. In an embodiment, the subscriber management service assigns the new MSISDN independently of any prior MSISDN assigned to the mobile device, any service provider previously associated with the phone, any prior subscription for cellular service associated with the mobile device, and any SIM data associated with the mobile device.
In regards to claims 10 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claim.
Arpad also teaches wherein the push notification identifies the cellular network [0058] At block 626, the subscriber management service assigns the reserved identifier (e.g., the reserved identifier) to the IMEI for the mobile device. At block 628, the subscriber management service transmits a greeting to the mobile device (e.g., an SMS message). In an embodiment, the greeting includes the new identifier (e.g., the new MSISDN).
Claim [3 and 13] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Arpad (US 20210297926A1) in view of Reddy (US 20040023669 A1) further in view of Zhang (US 20210112377 A1).
In regards to claims 3 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Arpad and Reddy do not teach identifying the selected network coverage area from a heat map created based received registration requests.
However, Zhang does teach identifying the selected network coverage area from a heat map created based received registration requests [0043] In some embodiments, the heat data may represent information, such as a distribution of requested service, population, or vehicle density, in the heat regions
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Arpad, Reddy and Zhang before him or her, to modify the method of Arpad and Reddy to include heat map configurations as taught by Zhang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved heat mapping. (0008 by Zhang).
In regards to claims 13 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Arpad and Reddy do not teach identifying the selected network coverage area from a heat map created based received registration requests.
However, Zhang does teach creating a heat map based on the received registration requests [0043] In some embodiments, the heat data may represent information, such as a distribution of requested service, population, or vehicle density, in the heat regions and using the heat map to identify the selected network coverage area [0045] The geographic locations of the boundary points of a heat region may identify its coverage area. They may be represented by latitude and longitude coordinates of the boundary points. The server may send an identifier of each heat region and latitude and longitude coordinates of the boundary points of the heat region to the client, so that the coverage area of the heat region may be identified by the client.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Arpad, Reddy and Zhang before him or her, to modify the method of Arpad and Reddy to include heat map configurations as taught by Zhang.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved heat mapping. (0008 by Zhang).
Claim [8, 9, 16, 17, 19 and 20] are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Arpad (US 20210297926A1) in view of Reddy (US 20040023669 A1) further in view of Poon (US 20160205546 A1).
In regards to claims 8, 16 and 19 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Arpad and Reddy do not teach identifying a wireless device subscriber for the wireless device as a subscriber to another cellular network.
However, Poon does teach identifying a wireless device subscriber for the wireless device as a subscriber to another cellular network [0256] A mobile device 3410 having one of these IMSIs programmed in its SIM can avoid or reduce its roaming charges in regions that are operated by network carriers partnered with the global platform provider. The mobile device 3410 may incur temporary roaming charges after leaving its home network and entering a partner carrier network (e.g., partner carrier network 3480 or 3490).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Arpad, Reddy and Poon before him or her, to modify the method of Arpad and Reddy to include network configurations as taught by Poon.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved network speed. (0106 by Poon).
In regards to claims 9, 17 and 20 Arpad and Reddy teach the limitations of the parent claims.
Arpad and Reddy do not teach identifying a wireless device subscriber for the wireless device as a subscriber to another cellular network.
However, Poon does teach a hyperlink for the wireless device to obtain service from the cellular network [0287] When the user (who is the same as the subscriber) clicks on the web link 4200, the wireless device 4100 responds by sending a message to the server to start a web-based activation process.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Arpad, Reddy and Poon before him or her, to modify the method of Arpad and Reddy to include network configurations as taught by Poon.
The motivation to do so would be to the improved network speed. (0106 by Poon).
Conclusion
/SHEHAB A ALAWDI/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/JAY P PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466