DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because labels in FIG. 1A-1B are not readable and/or are missing, and where the labels are pointing is unclear. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “small” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The temperature increase electronic apparatus has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term "small".
The term “highest”, and “lowest” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “highest”, and “lowest” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The consumed power is rendered indefinite by the use of the term "highest", and the setting of temperature is rendered indefinite by the use of the term "lowest".
The term “farther” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “farther” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The position of first thermometer relative to CPU, and second thermometer has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term "farther".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKAZAKI et al. USPGPUB 2012/0189265 (hereinafter “OKAZAKI”), in view of Slaby et al. USPGPUB 2015/0057830 (hereinafter “Slaby”).
Regarding claim 1, OKAZAKI teaches an electronic apparatus ([Abstract] “An imaging apparatus”) comprising:
a third thermometer that detects an outer casing temperature of the electronic apparatus (Paragraph [0033] “A temperature sensor 161 measures a temperature associated with or of a case of the digital camera 100”, and Paragraph [0034] “In addition, the temperature sensor 161 is disposed in a grip portion used by the user to hold the digital camera 100”, wherein examiner interpreted temperature sensor measuring temperature associated with case of digital camera as a third thermometer that detects an outer casing temperature of the electronic apparatus);
a CPU (Paragraph [0032] “The image processor 122 performs various processes on the image information outputted from the AFE 121. The various processes include, for example, adding up of BMs (block memories), smear correction, white balance correction, gamma correction, a YC conversion process, an electronic zoom process, a compression process, and a decompression process, but are not limited thereto. The image processor 122 may be composed of a hard-wired electronic circuit or a microcomputer using a program, etc. Alternatively, the image processor 122 may be made in a single semiconductor chip together with other functional units such as the controller 130”); and
a memory which stores a program which, when executed by the CPU, causes the electronic apparatus to function as (Paragraph [0032], Paragraph [0036] “The flash memory 142 functions as an internal memory for recording image information and the like. In addition, the flash memory 142 stores therein programs for performing overall control of the entire operation of the digital camera 100, in addition to programs relating to autofocus control (AF control), automatic exposure control (AE control), and light emission control of the flash 160. In addition, the flash memory 142 stores therein association information between setup moving image recording modes and a temperature rise rate, as shown in FIG. 5. The controller 130 can recognize a temperature rise rate for a moving image recording mode to be set, by accessing the flash memory 14”, Paragraph [0037-0038]):
restricts an operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the outer casing temperature has reached a threshold that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature (Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature. The recording stop temperature (second threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to forcibly stop moving image recording in order to avoid trouble, which is caused by a temperature rise, in terms of control or operation of the digital camera 100. The warning temperature (first threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to provide a warning informing that the temperature soon reaches the recording stop temperature”, Paragraph [0060] “When a moving image recording operation starts, the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 rises due to heat generation of the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122. The temperature in the case eventually exceeds the warning temperature and reaches the recording stop temperature (second threshold value). At this time, even if the user is shooting a moving image, the controller 130 forcibly stops the moving image recording”, Fig. 7, Paragraph [0063] “During the moving image recording operation (S401), the controller 130 determines whether the moving image recording mode needs to be changed, based on the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 (S402). Specifically, the controller 130 determines that there is a need to change the moving image recording mode to a mode in which the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 drops, when the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 is relatively high (i.e., when the temperature approaches the recording stop temperature)”, and Paragraphs [0064-0067], wherein examiner interpreted stopping the moving image recording operation as restricting an operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the outer casing temperature has reached a threshold),
wherein the control unit sets a temperature of the threshold in a second operation mode at a temperature higher than a temperature of the threshold in a first operation mode (FIG. 7, Paragraph [0062-0067], Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature. The recording stop temperature (second threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to forcibly stop moving image recording in order to avoid trouble, which is caused by a temperature rise, in terms of control or operation of the digital camera 100. The warning temperature (first threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to provide a warning informing that the temperature soon reaches the recording stop temperature”, wherein examiner interpreted controller predetermining warning temperature, and recording stop temperature as setting a temperature of the threshold in a second operation mode that is at a temperature higher than a temperature of the threshold in a first operation mode, wherein examiner interpreted moving image recording as a first operation mode, and stopping moving image recording, or changing the operation mode as a second operation, and wherein examiner interpreted each mode reaching the warning temperature, or the record stop temperature as the temperature threshold in a second operation mode, and initial moving image recoding start as a first operation mode having the warning recording stop temperature threshold), the second operation mode causing a small temperature increase in the electronic apparatus compared to the first operation mode (FIG. 5, Paragraph [0061] “If it is determined that the user accepts the suggestion to change of the moving image recording mode (YES in S405), then the controller 130 changes the moving image recording mode to the suggested moving image recording mode. Then, the operation of the controller 130 returns to step S401”, wherein examiner interpreted changing the recording mode as the second operation mode causing a small temperature increase in the electronic apparatus comparted to the first operation mode, and Fig. 5 shows the rise in temperature as the mode changes, where lower the quality of recording, lower the temperature rise).
OKAZAKI does not explicitly teach a first thermometer that detects a first ambient temperature in an environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a second thermometer that detects a second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a control unit that estimates an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature, and outer casing threshold… that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature.
However, Slaby teaches a first thermometer that detects a first ambient temperature in an environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a second thermometer that detects a second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used (Paragraph [0028] “The sensor 290 can be a temperature sensor, a thermometer, an infrared sensor, an internal sensor, an external sensor, a thermal sensor, a thermocouple, an external thermal sensor, such as a thermocouple, a plurality of similar and/or different types of sensors, or any other sensor that can determine a temperature, such as a device temperature or an ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device 200”, wherein examiner interpreted plurality of sensors used to determine ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device as a first thermometer, and a second thermometer detecting a first and second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used);
a control unit that estimates an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature (Paragraph [0028] “The sensor 290 can be a temperature sensor, a thermometer, an infrared sensor, an internal sensor, an external sensor, a thermal sensor, a thermocouple, an external thermal sensor, such as a thermocouple, a plurality of similar and/or different types of sensors, or any other sensor that can determine a temperature, such as a device temperature or an ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device 200”, wherein examiner interpreted plurality of sensors being used to determine ambient temperature as a control unit estimating an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature), and
outer casing threshold… that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature (Paragraph [0031] “The controller 220 can set a device temperature mitigation threshold value based on the ambient temperature and based on the desired performance mode”, wherein examiner interpreted setting a device temperature mitigation threshold based on the ambient temperature as setting outer casing threshold based on the estimated ambient temperature).
OKAZAKI, and Slaby are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to electronic apparatus.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electronic apparatus, as taught by OKAZAKI, and incorporating ambient temperature, as taught by Slaby.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0006] “adjusting portable electronic device operation based on ambient temperature”, as suggested by Slaby (see Paragraphs [0004-0006]).
Regarding claim 2, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches wherein power consumed in the second operation mode is smaller than power consumed in the first operation mode (Paragraph [0004] “The imaging sensor consumes power to perform various processing operations for generating image data. The imaging sensor generates heat when performing the various processing operations. In particular, when operation is performed continuously for a long period of time such as when a moving image recording process is performed, a rise in temperatures of the imaging sensor and an image processing engine becomes more significant due to heat generation”, Paragraph [0006], Fig. 5, Paragraph [0053] “In the modes in which a moving image can be recorded with higher image quality, load of processing in the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 are high, and thus amount of generated heat is large, so that a rate of temperature rise inside the case of the digital camera 100 becomes higher. In the modes in which a moving image is recorded with lower image quality, the load of processing in the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 are lower so that amount of generated heat is smaller and the temperature rise rate in the case has a negative value. When an operation continues in the modes in which moving image is recorded with low image quality, the temperature in the case tends to drop from the reference temperature”, Fig. 7, and Paragraphs [0062-0067], wherein examiner interpreted changing mode of recording or stopping recoding that changes the rise in heat/temperature as power consumption in second operation mode being smaller that first operation mode).
Regarding claim 3, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches wherein the first operation mode is an operation mode with the highest consumed power in a plurality of operation mode of the electronic apparatus (Paragraph [0004] “The imaging sensor consumes power to perform various processing operations for generating image data. The imaging sensor generates heat when performing the various processing operations. In particular, when operation is performed continuously for a long period of time such as when a moving image recording process is performed, a rise in temperatures of the imaging sensor and an image processing engine becomes more significant due to heat generation”, Paragraph [0006], Fig. 5, Paragraph [0053] “In the modes in which a moving image can be recorded with higher image quality, load of processing in the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 are high, and thus amount of generated heat is large, so that a rate of temperature rise inside the case of the digital camera 100 becomes higher. In the modes in which a moving image is recorded with lower image quality, the load of processing in the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 are lower so that amount of generated heat is smaller and the temperature rise rate in the case has a negative value. When an operation continues in the modes in which moving image is recorded with low image quality, the temperature in the case tends to drop from the reference temperature”, Fig. 7, and Paragraphs [0062-0067], wherein examiner interpreted the temperature/heat being the highest in high quality recording as first operation mode that consumes the highest power in the plurality of operation mode of the electronic apparatus), and
the threshold in the first operation mode is set at the lowest temperature among the plurality of operation modes (Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature”, and Fig. 5, wherein examiner interpreted setting threshold values of temperature where the high quality mode of recording rises temperature faster as setting a threshold value at the lowest temperature among the plurality of operation modes).
Regarding claim 5, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches wherein the control unit sets an operation mode of the electronic apparatus to any of a plurality of operation modes having different consumed power, and sets the outer casing temperature threshold so that the higher the consumed power of the operation mode, the lower a temperature is set as the outer casing temperature threshold (Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature”, and Fig. 5, Paragraph [0004], Paragraph [0006], wherein examiner interpreted setting temperature thresholds as setting outer casing temperature threshold, wherein higher the quality of the recording, higher the consumption, and therefore, for each mode reaching a threshold as different thresholds set where higher the consumed power, the lower the temperature threshold).
Regarding claim 6, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches wherein a difference between the threshold in the first operation mode and the threshold in the second operation mode does not change even if the estimated ambient temperature has changed (Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature”, and Fig. 5, Paragraph [0004], Paragraph [0006], wherein examiner interpreted the set thresholds as threshold for first operation mode, and the second operation mode not changing even if ambient temperature changes).
Regarding claim 11, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches wherein the CPU operates as a heat source device in power-on state of the electronic apparatus (Paragraph [0033] “The image processor 122 performs various processes on the image information outputted from the AFE 121. The various processes include, for example, adding up of BMs (block memories), smear correction, white balance correction, gamma correction, a YC conversion process, an electronic zoom process, a compression process, and a decompression process, but are not limited thereto”, and Paragraph [0034] “When a state in which the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 operate continuously for a long time such as during moving image recording, the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 generate heat”, wherein examiner interpreted image processor perfuming various operations as the CPU operating as a heat source device in power-on state of the electronic apparatus),
the first thermometer is arranged at a position that is at a farther distance from the CPU than the second thermometer is (Paragraph [0034] “the temperature distribution in the case of the digital camera 100 is roughly bilaterally symmetrical. Upon shooting an image, the user often holds the left and right edge portions of the digital camera 100 with both hands. Thus, it can be estimated that when the temperature sensor 161 is disposed in either one of the left and right grips in the case of the digital camera 100, an equivalent result of measurement is also obtained for the other one. In the first embodiment, assuming the case in which shooting is performed by the user holding the digital camera 100 with one hand, the temperature sensor 161 is disposed in a grip on the right hand side where operating members such as the release button 201 and the zoom lever 202 are disposed”, wherein examiner interpreted placing temperature sensor, and wherein Slaby teaches plurality of sensors that can be placed as including arranging first and second thermometer where first thermometer is arranged at a position that is farther distance from the CPU than the second thermometer).
Regarding claim 12, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches wherein the electronic apparatus is a hand-held type electronic apparatus (Figs. 1-2, Paragraph [0024] “FIG. 1 is a front view of a digital camera 100”, and Paragraph [0034], wherein a digital camera is a hand-held type electronic apparatus).
Regarding claim 13, OKAZAKI teaches a control method for an electronic apparatus ([Abstract] “An imaging apparatus includes a temperature sensor configured to sense a temperature associated with a case of the imaging apparatus, a moving image recording unit configured to generate moving image data based on one of a plurality of recording methods which determines image quality of a recording image, and records the moving image data in a recording medium, and a controller configured to control the recording method set on the moving image recording unit. The controller changes the recording method to be set on the moving image recording unit, according to a result of the sensing by the temperature sensor”),
the electronic apparatus ([Abstract] “An imaging apparatus”) including:
a third thermometer that detects an outer casing temperature of the electronic apparatus (Paragraph [0033] “A temperature sensor 161 measures a temperature associated with or of a case of the digital camera 100”, and Paragraph [0034] “In addition, the temperature sensor 161 is disposed in a grip portion used by the user to hold the digital camera 100”, wherein examiner interpreted temperature sensor measuring temperature associated with case of digital camera as a third thermometer that detects an outer casing temperature of the electronic apparatus),
restricting an operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the outer casing temperature has reached a threshold that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature (Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature. The recording stop temperature (second threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to forcibly stop moving image recording in order to avoid trouble, which is caused by a temperature rise, in terms of control or operation of the digital camera 100. The warning temperature (first threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to provide a warning informing that the temperature soon reaches the recording stop temperature”, Paragraph [0060] “When a moving image recording operation starts, the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 rises due to heat generation of the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122. The temperature in the case eventually exceeds the warning temperature and reaches the recording stop temperature (second threshold value). At this time, even if the user is shooting a moving image, the controller 130 forcibly stops the moving image recording”, Fig. 7, Paragraph [0063] “During the moving image recording operation (S401), the controller 130 determines whether the moving image recording mode needs to be changed, based on the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 (S402). Specifically, the controller 130 determines that there is a need to change the moving image recording mode to a mode in which the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 drops, when the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 is relatively high (i.e., when the temperature approaches the recording stop temperature)”, and Paragraphs [0064-0067], wherein examiner interpreted stopping the moving image recording operation as restricting an operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the outer casing temperature has reached a threshold),
wherein in the restricting, a temperature of the threshold in a second operation mode is set at a temperature higher than a temperature of the threshold in a first operation mode (FIG. 7, Paragraph [0062-0067], Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature. The recording stop temperature (second threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to forcibly stop moving image recording in order to avoid trouble, which is caused by a temperature rise, in terms of control or operation of the digital camera 100. The warning temperature (first threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to provide a warning informing that the temperature soon reaches the recording stop temperature”, wherein examiner interpreted controller predetermining warning temperature, and recording stop temperature as setting a temperature of the threshold in a second operation mode that is at a temperature higher than a temperature of the threshold in a first operation mode, wherein examiner interpreted moving image recording as a first operation mode, and stopping moving image recording, or changing the operation mode as a second operation, and wherein examiner interpreted each mode reaching the warning temperature, or the record stop temperature as the temperature threshold in a second operation mode, and initial moving image recoding start as a first operation mode having the warning recording stop temperature threshold), the second operation mode causing a small temperature increase in the electronic apparatus compared to the first operation mode (FIG. 5, Paragraph [0061] “If it is determined that the user accepts the suggestion to change of the moving image recording mode (YES in S405), then the controller 130 changes the moving image recording mode to the suggested moving image recording mode. Then, the operation of the controller 130 returns to step S401”, wherein examiner interpreted changing the recording mode as the second operation mode causing a small temperature increase in the electronic apparatus comparted to the first operation mode, and Fig. 5 shows the rise in temperature as the mode changes, where lower the quality of recording, lower the temperature rise).
OKAZAKI does not explicitly teach a first thermometer that detects a first ambient temperature in an environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a second thermometer that detects a second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; and the control method comprising: estimating an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature, and outer casing threshold… that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature.
However, Slaby teaches a first thermometer that detects a first ambient temperature in an environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a second thermometer that detects a second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used (Paragraph [0028] “The sensor 290 can be a temperature sensor, a thermometer, an infrared sensor, an internal sensor, an external sensor, a thermal sensor, a thermocouple, an external thermal sensor, such as a thermocouple, a plurality of similar and/or different types of sensors, or any other sensor that can determine a temperature, such as a device temperature or an ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device 200”, wherein examiner interpreted plurality of sensors used to determine ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device as a first thermometer, and a second thermometer detecting a first and second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used); and
the control method comprising: estimating an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature (Paragraph [0028] “The sensor 290 can be a temperature sensor, a thermometer, an infrared sensor, an internal sensor, an external sensor, a thermal sensor, a thermocouple, an external thermal sensor, such as a thermocouple, a plurality of similar and/or different types of sensors, or any other sensor that can determine a temperature, such as a device temperature or an ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device 200”, wherein examiner interpreted plurality of sensors being used to determine ambient temperature as a control unit estimating an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature), and
outer casing threshold… that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature (Paragraph [0031] “The controller 220 can set a device temperature mitigation threshold value based on the ambient temperature and based on the desired performance mode”, wherein examiner interpreted setting a device temperature mitigation threshold based on the ambient temperature as setting outer casing threshold based on the estimated ambient temperature).
OKAZAKI, and Slaby are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to electronic apparatus.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electronic apparatus, as taught by OKAZAKI, and incorporating ambient temperature, as taught by Slaby.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0006] “adjusting portable electronic device operation based on ambient temperature”, as suggested by Slaby (see Paragraphs [0004-0006]).
Regarding claim 14, OKAZAKI teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function as an electronic apparatus ([Abstract] “An imaging apparatus”, Paragraph [0032], Paragraph [0036-0038]) comprising:
a third thermometer that detects an outer casing temperature of the electronic apparatus (Paragraph [0033] “A temperature sensor 161 measures a temperature associated with or of a case of the digital camera 100”, and Paragraph [0034] “In addition, the temperature sensor 161 is disposed in a grip portion used by the user to hold the digital camera 100”, wherein examiner interpreted temperature sensor measuring temperature associated with case of digital camera as a third thermometer that detects an outer casing temperature of the electronic apparatus);
restricts an operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the outer casing temperature has reached a threshold that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature (Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature. The recording stop temperature (second threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to forcibly stop moving image recording in order to avoid trouble, which is caused by a temperature rise, in terms of control or operation of the digital camera 100. The warning temperature (first threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to provide a warning informing that the temperature soon reaches the recording stop temperature”, Paragraph [0060] “When a moving image recording operation starts, the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 rises due to heat generation of the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122. The temperature in the case eventually exceeds the warning temperature and reaches the recording stop temperature (second threshold value). At this time, even if the user is shooting a moving image, the controller 130 forcibly stops the moving image recording”, Fig. 7, Paragraph [0063] “During the moving image recording operation (S401), the controller 130 determines whether the moving image recording mode needs to be changed, based on the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 (S402). Specifically, the controller 130 determines that there is a need to change the moving image recording mode to a mode in which the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 drops, when the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 is relatively high (i.e., when the temperature approaches the recording stop temperature)”, and Paragraphs [0064-0067], wherein examiner interpreted stopping the moving image recording operation as restricting an operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the outer casing temperature has reached a threshold),
wherein the control unit sets a temperature of the threshold in a second operation mode at a temperature higher than a temperature of the threshold in a first operation mode (FIG. 7, Paragraph [0062-0067], Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature. The recording stop temperature (second threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to forcibly stop moving image recording in order to avoid trouble, which is caused by a temperature rise, in terms of control or operation of the digital camera 100. The warning temperature (first threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to provide a warning informing that the temperature soon reaches the recording stop temperature”, wherein examiner interpreted controller predetermining warning temperature, and recording stop temperature as setting a temperature of the threshold in a second operation mode that is at a temperature higher than a temperature of the threshold in a first operation mode, wherein examiner interpreted moving image recording as a first operation mode, and stopping moving image recording, or changing the operation mode as a second operation, and wherein examiner interpreted each mode reaching the warning temperature, or the record stop temperature as the temperature threshold in a second operation mode, and initial moving image recoding start as a first operation mode having the warning recording stop temperature threshold), the second operation mode causing a small temperature increase in the electronic apparatus compared to the first operation mode (FIG. 5, Paragraph [0061] “If it is determined that the user accepts the suggestion to change of the moving image recording mode (YES in S405), then the controller 130 changes the moving image recording mode to the suggested moving image recording mode. Then, the operation of the controller 130 returns to step S401”, wherein examiner interpreted changing the recording mode as the second operation mode causing a small temperature increase in the electronic apparatus comparted to the first operation mode, and Fig. 5 shows the rise in temperature as the mode changes, where lower the quality of recording, lower the temperature rise).
OKAZAKI does not explicitly teach a first thermometer that detects a first ambient temperature in an environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a second thermometer that detects a second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a control unit that estimates an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature, and outer casing threshold… that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature.
However, Slaby teaches a first thermometer that detects a first ambient temperature in an environment in which the electronic apparatus is used; a second thermometer that detects a second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used (Paragraph [0028] “The sensor 290 can be a temperature sensor, a thermometer, an infrared sensor, an internal sensor, an external sensor, a thermal sensor, a thermocouple, an external thermal sensor, such as a thermocouple, a plurality of similar and/or different types of sensors, or any other sensor that can determine a temperature, such as a device temperature or an ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device 200”, wherein examiner interpreted plurality of sensors used to determine ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device as a first thermometer, and a second thermometer detecting a first and second ambient temperature in the environment in which the electronic apparatus is used);
a control unit that estimates an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature (Paragraph [0028] “The sensor 290 can be a temperature sensor, a thermometer, an infrared sensor, an internal sensor, an external sensor, a thermal sensor, a thermocouple, an external thermal sensor, such as a thermocouple, a plurality of similar and/or different types of sensors, or any other sensor that can determine a temperature, such as a device temperature or an ambient temperature in the environment surrounding the portable electronic device 200”, wherein examiner interpreted plurality of sensors being used to determine ambient temperature as a control unit estimating an ambient temperature based on the first ambient temperature and the second ambient temperature), and
outer casing threshold… that has been set based on the estimated ambient temperature (Paragraph [0031] “The controller 220 can set a device temperature mitigation threshold value based on the ambient temperature and based on the desired performance mode”, wherein examiner interpreted setting a device temperature mitigation threshold based on the ambient temperature as setting outer casing threshold based on the estimated ambient temperature)
OKAZAKI, and Slaby are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They both relate to electronic apparatus.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electronic apparatus, as taught by OKAZAKI, and incorporating ambient temperature, as taught by Slaby.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0006] “adjusting portable electronic device operation based on ambient temperature”, as suggested by Slaby (see Paragraphs [0004-0006]).
Claims 4, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKAZAKI et al. USPGPUB 2012/0189265 (hereinafter “OKAZAKI”), in view of Slaby et al. USPGPUB 2015/0057830 (hereinafter “Slaby”) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-6, and 11-14, further in view of MAYUMI JP 2007028425 A (hereinafter “MAYUMI”).
Regarding claim 4, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first operation mode is a moving image shooting mode, and the second operation mode is a still image shooting mode.
However, MAYUMI teaches wherein the first operation mode is a moving image shooting mode, and the second operation mode is a still image shooting mode ([Abstract] “A temperature of a body case 12 is measured by a temperature sensor 90 and when the temperature is equal with or higher than a dangerous temperature and an operation of high power consumption is conducted, a warning is displayed on a liquid crystal monitor 24 with characters of "a function is restricted because of temperature elevation and a motion picture photographing mode is unavailable". When a user continuously executes the motion picture photographing mode thereafter, the moving image photographing of high power consumption is automatically switched to the still picture photographing of low power consumption. The warning of "a function is restricted because of temperature elevation and motion picture photographing mode is unavailable" is displayed on the liquid crystal monitor 24 thereafter until the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 90 becomes lower than the dangerous temperature”, wherein examiner interpreted switching from moving image photographing to still picture photographing as switching operation modes, wherein examiner interpreted moving image photographing as first operation mode being the moving image shooting mode, and still picture photographing as second operation mode being still image shooting mode).
OKAZAKI, Slaby, and MAYUMI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to electronic apparatus.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electronic apparatus, as taught by OKAZAKI, and Slaby and incorporating second operation mode, as taught by MAYUMI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve enabling minimum operation of electronic camera even at high temperature by restricting operation of the camera, as suggested by MAYUMI (see [Abstract], [BACKGROUND-ART], and [TECH-PROBLEM]).
Regarding claim 7, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches further comprising a heat source device (Paragraph [0034] “Heat generating members such as the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122”);
The combination does not explicitly teach a fourth thermometer that detects a temperature of the heat source device, wherein the control unit restricts the operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the temperature of the heat source device has reached a temperature threshold for the heat source device.
However, MAYUMI teaches a fourth thermometer that detects a temperature of the heat source device ([BEST-MODE] “the digital camera 10 of the embodiment has a temperature sensor (temperature measuring means) 90 for measuring the temperature of the camera case 12 as shown in FIG. This temperature sensor 90 is attached in the vicinity of the CPU 30 that generates the largest amount of heat among the components of the digital camera 10, and in particular measures the temperature of the CPU 30”, wherein examiner interpreted measuring temperature of CPU as a fourth thermometer that detects a temperature of the heat source device),
wherein the control unit restricts the operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the temperature of the heat source device has reached a temperature threshold for the heat source device ([BEST-MODE] “The CPU 30 stores a temperature that hinders the operation of the digital camera 10 (temperature at which noise is mixed in the output of the CCD 54: about 70 degrees), and when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 90 exceeds 70 degrees, the digital camera Among the ten operations, the operation with high power consumption is prohibited and the operation with low power consumption is controlled to be executable. That is, the CPU 30 controls the moving image shooting operation and the continuous shooting operation which are operations with high power consumption to be prohibited, and the still image shooting operation and the reproduction operation which are operations with low power consumption are executable”).
OKAZAKI, Slaby, and MAYUMI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to electronic apparatus.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electronic apparatus, as taught by OKAZAKI, and Slaby and incorporating fourth thermometer, as taught by MAYUMI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve enabling minimum operation of electronic camera even at high temperature by restricting operation of the camera, as suggested by MAYUMI (see [Abstract], [BACKGROUND-ART], and [TECH-PROBLEM]).
Regarding claim 8, OKAZAKI, Slaby, and MAYUMI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 7 as outlined above.
MAYUMI further teaches wherein the temperature threshold for the heat source device is set irrespective of operation modes of the electronic apparatus ([BEST-MODE] “The CPU 30 stores a temperature that hinders the operation of the digital camera 10 (temperature at which noise is mixed in the output of the CCD 54: about 70 degrees), and when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 90 exceeds 70 degrees, the digital camera Among the ten operations, the operation with high power consumption is prohibited and the operation with low power consumption is controlled to be executable. That is, the CPU 30 controls the moving image shooting operation and the continuous shooting operation which are operations with high power consumption to be prohibited, and the still image shooting operation and the reproduction operation which are operations with low power consumption are executable”, wherein examiner interpreted amount of degrees as a temperature threshold for the heat source device set irrespective of the operation modes of the electronic apparatus).
Regarding claim 9, OKAZAKI, and Slaby teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches further comprising: a first heat source device; a second heat source device (Paragraph [0034] “Heat generating members such as the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122”);
a fifth thermometer that detects a temperature of the second heat source device (Paragraph [0034] “the temperature sensor 161 is disposed in a grip portion used by the user to hold the digital camera 100. When a state in which the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 operate continuously for a long time such as during moving image recording, the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 generate heat. Correspondingly, the temperature of the case of the digital camera 100 rises. Heat generating members such as the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122 are disposed at locations roughly symmetrical with respect to the center in a horizontal direction of the case”, wherein examiner interpreted temperature sensor disposed to detect heat from CCD image sensor as detecting temperature of the second heat source device, wherein Slaby teaches plurality of sensors that can be placed, and (additionally see USPGPUB 20130037533)),
in a case where the temperature of the second heat source device detected by the fifth thermometer has reached a temperature threshold for the second heat source device (Paragraph [0059] “The controller 130 predetermines a warning temperature (first threshold value) and a recording stop temperature (second threshold value) as threshold values for temperature. The recording stop temperature (second threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to forcibly stop moving image recording in order to avoid trouble, which is caused by a temperature rise, in terms of control or operation of the digital camera 100. The warning temperature (first threshold value) is a temperature serving as a criterion for determining whether to provide a warning informing that the temperature soon reaches the recording stop temperature”, Paragraph [0060] “When a moving image recording operation starts, the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 rises due to heat generation of the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122. The temperature in the case eventually exceeds the warning temperature and reaches the recording stop temperature (second threshold value). At this time, even if the user is shooting a moving image, the controller 130 forcibly stops the moving image recording”, Fig. 7, Paragraph [0063] “During the moving image recording operation (S401), the controller 130 determines whether the moving image recording mode needs to be changed, based on the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 (S402). Specifically, the controller 130 determines that there is a need to change the moving image recording mode to a mode in which the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 drops, when the temperature in the case of the digital camera 100 is relatively high (i.e., when the temperature approaches the recording stop temperature)”, and Paragraphs [0064-0067], wherein examiner interpreted stopping the moving image recording operation as control unit restricting the operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the temperature of the second heat source device detected by the fifth thermometer has reached a temperature threshold for the second heat source device).
The combination does not explicitly teach a fourth thermometer that detects a temperature of the first heat source device; and wherein the control unit restricts the operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the temperature of the first heat source device detected by the fourth thermometer has reached a temperature threshold for the first heat source device.
However, MAYUMI teaches a fourth thermometer that detects a temperature of the first heat source device ([BEST-MODE] “the digital camera 10 of the embodiment has a temperature sensor (temperature measuring means) 90 for measuring the temperature of the camera case 12 as shown in FIG. This temperature sensor 90 is attached in the vicinity of the CPU 30 that generates the largest amount of heat among the components of the digital camera 10, and in particular measures the temperature of the CPU 30”, wherein examiner interpreted measuring temperature of CPU as a fourth thermometer that detects a temperature of the heat source device).
wherein the control unit restricts the operation of the electronic apparatus in a case where the temperature of the first heat source device detected by the fourth thermometer has reached a temperature threshold for the first heat source device ([BEST-MODE] “The CPU 30 stores a temperature that hinders the operation of the digital camera 10 (temperature at which noise is mixed in the output of the CCD 54: about 70 degrees), and when the temperature measured by the temperature sensor 90 exceeds 70 degrees, the digital camera Among the ten operations, the operation with high power consumption is prohibited and the operation with low power consumption is controlled to be executable. That is, the CPU 30 controls the moving image shooting operation and the continuous shooting operation which are operations with high power consumption to be prohibited, and the still image shooting operation and the reproduction operation which are operations with low power consumption are executable”).
OKAZAKI, Slaby, and MAYUMI are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to electronic apparatus.
Therefore, before the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above electronic apparatus, as taught by OKAZAKI, and Slaby and incorporating fourth thermometer, as taught by MAYUMI.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve enabling minimum operation of electronic camera even at high temperature by restricting operation of the camera, as suggested by MAYUMI (see [Abstract], [BACKGROUND-ART], and [TECH-PROBLEM]).
Regarding claim 10, OKAZAKI, Slaby, and MAYUMI teaches all of the features with respect to claim 9 as outlined above.
OKAZAKI further teaches wherein the CPU is the first heat source device and the second heat source device is an image sensor (Paragraph [0034] “Heat generating members such as the CCD image sensor 120 and the image processor 122”, wherein examiner interpreted image processor as CPU, and CCD image sensor as image sensor).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kayano [USPGPUB 2018/0267389] teaches an imaging device includes a plurality of operation modes.
NAMEKAWA et al. [USPGPUB 2013/0037533] teaches an electronic device including a temperature measuring part measuring a temperature of a heat generation source.
ROTEM et al. [USPGPUB 2015/0006937] teaches an apparatus includes a temperature sensor to perform a multiplicity of junction temperature measurements for a component in a platform.
Conclusion
/D.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119