DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsushita et al. (“Matsushita”, US 2017/0117598 A1) in view of JP2018-206605A (“Nakajima”).
Regarding claim 1, Matsushita discloses a battery including a heat absorbing layer (abstract) (i.e. second heat storage sheet) and teaches the battery may include a cathode collector, a cathode layer, a solid electrolyte layer, an anode layer and an anode collector ([0014]). A plurality of heat absorbing layers and unit cells are included inside the battery case, and each of the heat absorbing layers is interposed between respective unit cells ([0015]). A shape of the heat absorbing layer is preferably like a sheet ([0066]). Matsushita teaches a place where the heat absorbing layer is disposed is not especially limited as long as the heat is properly absorbed when the battery generates heat extraordinarily ([0084]).
Matsushita does not teach the second heat storage sheet includes an incombustible layer.
However, Nakajima discloses a thermal runaway prevention sheet ([0001]) that can be used in electric vehicles ([0002]) and teaches including an incombustible base material used for the fire-resistant heat-insulating layer ([0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heat absorbing layer with the fire-resistant heat-insulating layer with an incombustible base material to further improve the heat insulation performance or the fire prevention performance ([0085]), as taught by Nakajima.
As to claim 2, since the heat storage sheets are interposed between respective unit cells ([0015]), they would isolate the cells from each other.
As to claim 3, exposing the electrode terminals would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art since covering them with the heat storage sheet would render the terminals ineffective.
As to claim 4, Nakajima teaches the incombustible base material used may include aluminum and iron, inter alia ([0081]).
As to claim 5, Nakajima teaches the fire-resistant heat-insulating layer contains a noncombustible base material 5 microns to 1mm thick, and the heat absorbing material layer is 0.1 to 1mm thick ([0080]).
As to claim 6, Matsushita teaches the plurality of unit cells may be included inside the battery case ([0086]). Matsushita also teaches placing heat absorbing layer anywhere where the battery generates heat extraordinarily ([0084]). Matsushita teaches many different heat absorbing materials ([0055]). In view of these teachings, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to place the heat absorbing layers anywhere where heat is generated and It would also have been obvious to use varying heat absorbing materials since many are known in the art.
As to claim 7, Matsushita does not teach the claimed melting points. However, Matsushita teaches the heat absorbing materials have endothermic onset temperature and endothermic peak temperature within the range of 60 to 250oC ([0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to select optimal materials for heat absorption since the behavior and melting points of such materials were well known.
As to claim 8, Nakajima teaches including an inorganic foaming ingredient ([0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a foaming ingredient in Matsushita as foaming agents are well known in the art to cool burning materials and smother flames.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746