CTFR 18/539,548 CTFR 93813 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-17 are currently being examined. Drawings 06-22-06 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “22” . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim 3 recites “by means of a switching sequence” and original specification [0008]-[0012] describes the control unit is connected to actuators which can adjust a flow rate of a fluid flow of the first medium or the second medium, the switching sequence controls an activity of the fluid flow of the first medium as well as the fluid flow of the second medium and the control unit is configured to control the fluid flow of the first medium and/or the fluid flow of the second medium based on a switching sequence, and [0014] describes a first control valve for the fluid flow of the first medium and a second control valve for the fluid flow of the second medium. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-31-01 Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 16 recites “creating no pressure differential in the second medium unit (16) to influence a flow of the first medium within the first medium unit (12)” which is not recited or described in the original specification. Applicant states in Remarks filed 01/16/2026 that support for new claim 16 can be found in at least original specification [0005]-[0007] and [0020] but there is nothing in those paragraphs about creating no pressure differential in the second medium unit to influence a flow of the first medium. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claim 17 recites “the acceleration unit (14) comprises an acceleration channel having a contour configured to selectively modify a velocity profile of the predetermined fluid stream (18)” which is not recited or described in the original specification. Applicant states in Remarks filed 01/16/2026 that support for new claim 17 can be found in at least original specification [0005]-[0007] and [0020] but there is nothing in those paragraphs about a contour of the acceleration channel configured to selectively modify a velocity profile of the predetermined fluid stream (18), in particular, nothing about a velocity profile of the predetermined fluid stream (18). The original specification does not use the words “velocity” or “profile” anywhere in the specification. Regarding a contour of the acceleration channel, original specification [0006] recites “The predetermined fluid flow can be specifically adjusted by means of the contour or design of the acceleration channel” but does not recite or describe the contour of the acceleration channel is configured to selectively modify a velocity profile of the predetermined fluid stream. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement. 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 9 recites “a first separation edge” and “a second separation edge” but the rest of the claim and the specification each do not provide a clear description of what “separation edge” means which renders claim 9 indefinite. In Fig. 1, first tear-off edge 25 appears to be a downstream or trailing edge of acceleration unit 14, and second tear-off edge 27 appears to be a downstream or trailing edge of second medium unit 16. The specification does not define or describe a separation edge. For current examination purposes, the recitations are respectively interpreted as: a first downstream edge and a second downstream edge. Claim 17 recites “the acceleration unit (14) comprises an acceleration channel having a contour configured to selectively modify a velocity profile of the predetermined fluid stream (18)” which is unclear as to how a contour of a channel can “selectively modify” a velocity profile of a fluid stream which renders claim 17 indefinite. Regarding claim 17, no prior art rejection is able to be made since neither claim 17 nor the original specification provide any information about a velocity profile of the predetermined fluid stream (18), and neither claim 17 nor the original specification provides a description of how a contour of an acceleration channel selectively modifies a velocity profile of the predetermined fluid stream, such that a comparison of these limitations with the prior art cannot be made. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 10 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schulz et al. 20230302472 . Regarding independent claim 1, Schulz teaches a cleaning system (60 Fig. 13) of a vehicle ([0024] and [0068] each describe cleaning system is for use on a vehicle), comprising: a first medium unit (50 Fig. 2), an acceleration unit (labeled in annotated Fig. 9; [0036] describes duct 36, which is through labeled acceleration unit in Fig. 9, is tapered in cross-sectional area such as to be constricting, with duct 36 decreasing in diameter along the flow path into the mixing barrel 28 proximal the diffusion portion 30), a second medium unit (40, 38, 42 Fig. 2), wherein the first medium unit (50) is configured to direct a first medium ([0061] describes a first medium which flows through 44 within 50), in particular a cleaning agent ([0062] describes first medium is liquid cleaning solution), into the acceleration unit (first medium flowing from 44 flows into 36 of acceleration unit as shown in Fig. 2 and in annotated Fig. 8), wherein the acceleration unit is configured to discharge the first medium from the cleaning system in a predetermined fluid stream (flow of the first medium is shown by flow lines flowing through 46, 48, 44, 36 into mixing barrel 28 to be discharged in a predetermined fluid stream shown by stream arrows from 28 through outlet 24 in Fig. 2; [0027] describes spray element 22 is configured to receive and combine together two mediums from two separate medium sources and adapted to form and channel a spray of the combined mediums away from nozzle assembly 20 onto a surface to be cleaned from outlet 24), wherein the second medium unit (40, 38, 42) is configured to introduce a second medium ([0061] describes a second medium which is different than the first medium), in particular a pressurized gas ([0062] describes second medium is compressed air, i.e., a pressurized gas), into the predetermined fluid stream ([0062] describes compressed air as a carrier (i.e., the active fluid) to provide a spray of media having the kinetic energy required for cleaning a surface and spray element 22 is designed to provide a flow of a homogeneous two-phase cleaning fluid comprising air and fluidic droplets), and the first medium and the second medium mix together only after the first medium exits the acceleration unit and the second medium exits the second medium unit (first medium and second medium mix together only after the first medium exits the acceleration unit via 36 and flows into mixing barrel 28 as shown in annotated Fig. 9 and the second medium exits 42 via injection port 32 of the second medium unit into mixing barrel 28 and it is within mixing barrel 28 that the first medium and second medium mix together). PNG media_image1.png 631 516 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2, Schulz further teaches the cleaning system (60) comprises a control unit ([0066] describes cleaning system 60 includes controllers and [0069] describes a control unit), wherein the control unit is configured to control a flow of media of the first medium and a flow of media of the second medium ([0069] describes nozzle assembly 20 and/or cleaning system 60 may be initiated, controlled, and or terminated by various methods and techniques known in the art, such as a control unit may control a valve connected to a controlled power supply such that supplies of the flows of fluids/media of the first medium and of the second medium to 20 can be automated, e.g. with compressed air supplied automatically at predetermined intervals or on an as-needed basis; per [0066] controlling the flow of compressed air as the flow of media of the second medium in turn controls the flow of liquid cleaning solution as a flow of media of the first medium, since specific pressures of the second medium of compressed air suitable for use with the nozzle assembly 20 in the system 60 are selected in view of the pressure/volume/flowrate necessary to draw liquid cleaning fluid of the first medium into the flow path of the predetermined fluid stream via eductor 26, provide enough kinetic energy for effective cleaning, etc.). Regarding claim 3, Schulz further teaches the control unit is configured to control the flow of media of the first medium and the flow of media of the second medium by means of a switching sequence (see 112(f): [0060] describes nozzle assembly 20 is not limited to any particular application, or with regard to any particular media, so long as such media is compatible with the materials composing the nozzle assembly itself and that the media is a fluid and suitable fluids include liquids, air, and mixes thereof, as well as fluid suspensions comprising solid particles, such as including various cleaning compositions and fluids known in the art, rinsing solutions (e.g. comprising water, rinsing aids, drying aids, etc.), drying fluids (e.g. air, etc.) and the like, as well as derivatives, modifications, and combinations thereof; as described in [0066], system 60 may comprise any number of additional components aside from those particularly described herein; for example, any number of conduits, ducts, tubing, hoses, fluid connectors, valves, controllers, and/or manifolds (not shown) may also be utilized to fluidly couple the various components of the system 60 together and/or other provide the fluid flow paths 64, 68 from the fluid sources 62, 66 to the inlet 40 and intake 46, respectively; and as described in [0069] the operation of the nozzle assembly 20 and/or the system 60 comprising the same may be initiated, controlled, and or terminated by various methods and techniques known in the art, for example, while not shown, the system 60 may comprise a valve connected to a controlled power supply, such that an open/close status of the valve can be controlled on demand from a control unit (not shown) such that in this fashion, the supplies of fluids/media to the nozzle assembly 20 can be automated, e.g. with compressed air supplied automatically at predetermined intervals or on an as-needed basis, manual, e.g. via operation of a switch, e.g. in a cabin of the vehicle 112, actuatable by an operator/driver, or both). Regarding claim 5, Schulz further teaches the control unit is configured to control a pressure and/or a flow rate of the first medium and/or the second medium (per [0066] controlling the flow of compressed air as the flow of media of the second medium in turn controls the flow of liquid cleaning solution as a flow of media of the first medium, since specific pressures of the second medium of compressed air suitable for use with the nozzle assembly 20 in the system 60 are selected in view of the pressure/volume/flowrate necessary to draw liquid cleaning fluid of the first medium into the flow path of the predetermined fluid stream via eductor 26, provide enough kinetic energy for effective cleaning, etc.). Regarding claim 6, Schulz further teaches the control unit is configured to set a quantity ratio between the first medium and the second medium (per [0066] controlling the flow of compressed air as the flow of media of the second medium in turn controls the flow of liquid cleaning solution as a flow of media of the first medium, since specific pressures of the second medium of compressed air suitable for use with the nozzle assembly 20 in the system 60 are selected in view of the pressure/volume/flowrate necessary to draw liquid cleaning fluid of the first medium into the flow path of the predetermined fluid stream via eductor 26, such that there is a resulting respective volume quantity and flowrate quantity of each of the first medium and the second medium and accordingly a resulting volume quantity ratio and a flowrate quantity ratio between the first medium and the second medium). Regarding claim 7, Schulz further teaches a medium flow of the first medium passes through the first medium unit (as shown by flow arrows in Fig. 2, a medium flow of the first medium which is liquid cleaning solution flows through 50) and a medium flow of the second medium passes through the second medium unit (as shown in Fig. 2, a medium flow of the second medium which is compressed air flows through 40), wherein the medium flow of the first medium and the medium flow of the second medium are arranged substantially orthogonal to a flow direction of the predetermined fluid stream (as shown in Fig. 2, medium flow of first medium through 50 and medium flow of second medium through 40 are arranged substantially orthogonal to a flow direction of predetermined fluid stream shown by flow arrows from outlet 24). Regarding claim 8, Schulz further teaches a gap (32 Figs. 2 and 9) is arranged between the acceleration unit (labeled in annotated Fig. 9) and the second medium unit (40 includes conduit 38 and channels 42 which carry compressed air which is the second medium), wherein the second medium unit (40) directs the second medium through the gap (compressed air from channels 42 flows through gap 32 as shown in Fig. 9 and as described in [0040]) to increase a flow rate of the first medium (as described in [0046] feed shaft 48 of the passive conduit 44 is typically disposed between the diverging portions of the channels 42 of the active conduit 38 such that the feed shaft 48 provides a media flow path to the central intake duct 36, and the channels 42 provide media flow paths that converge at gap 32, in this configuration, in operation, the active conduit 38 will supply compressed air as a motive fluid to the eductor 26 of the spray element 22 via gap 32 and the passive conduit 38 will supply a liquid cleaning solution as a passive media/fluid to the eductor 26 of the spray element 22 via central intake duct 36; per [0066] the compressed air is put under pressure to specific pressures suitable for use with the nozzle assembly 20 in cleaning system 60 and selected in view of the pressure/volume/flowrate necessary to draw passive liquid cleaning solution fluid into the flow path via the eductor 26, provide enough kinetic energy for effective cleaning, etc., such that the second medium which is compressed air flowing through gap 32 increases a flow rate of the first medium which is liquid cleaning solution by drawing the liquid cleaning solution fluid into the flow path to be sprayed). Regarding claim 10, Schulz further teaches the cleaning system (60) comprises a nozzle unit (spray element 22 Fig. 2; [0030]), wherein the nozzle unit (22) is configured to atomize the predetermined fluid stream ([0062] describes nozzle assembly 20 utilizes compressed air as a carrier as the second medium to provide a spray of media, i.e., predetermined fluid stream, having the kinetic energy required for cleaning a surface, with liquid cleaning solution which is the first medium supplied passively to the media via the eductor 26 of the spray element 22, i.e., nozzle unit, which is designed to provide a flow of a homogeneous two-phase cleaning fluid comprising air and fluidic droplets, i.e., atomizes the predetermined fluid stream; in this fashion, the spray provides both beneficial kinetic energy (i.e., via the air) as well as solvent effects (i.e., via the liquid cleaning solution) to maximize cleaning efficacy and performance). Regarding claim 12, Schulz further teaches the first medium unit (50), the acceleration unit (labeled in annotated Fig. 9), and the second medium unit (40) have a one piece or multi-part design (per [0025] nozzle assembly 20 may be monolithic in construction (i.e., comprise but one piece, or multiple pieces that are permanently joined together) or, alternatively, may comprise multiple pieces that are releasably, removeably, or semi-permanently coupled or connected together; per [0026] 20 comprises spray element 22 which includes acceleration unit in annotated Fig. 9, conduit 38 which is within second medium unit 40, and conduit 44 which is within first medium unit 50 as shown in Fig. 2). Regarding claim 13, Schulz further teaches the cleaning system (60) comprises at least one pump and/or at least one compressor ([0066] describes 60 includes a pump or compressor to pressurize air), wherein the at least one pump and/or the at least one compressor are configured to compress the first medium ([0066] describes the pump or compressor as compressing air which is the first medium) and/or the second medium. Regarding claim 14, Schulz further teaches the wiper system ([0068] describes cleaning of multiple surfaces 72 of a vehicle 74 including a wiper arm, i.e., a wiper and cleaning system) comprising a wiper unit ([0068] describes a wiper arm, i.e., wiper unit, upon which nozzle assembly 20 may be mounted) for windshields, mirrors and/or headlights ([0068] describes surfaces 72 include a component of a camera, sensor, front windshield, rear windshield, headlight or headlamp, and the like), and at least one cleaning system ([0068] describes cleaning system 60 including nozzle assembly 20 is used for cleaning surfaces 72) according to claim 1. Regarding claim 15, Schulz further teaches a vehicle (74 in Fig. 15; [0068] describes 74 as a vehicle) comprising at least one cleaning system (60 of Figs. 13 and 15; [0068] describes vehicle 74 including cleaning system 60) according to claim 1. Regarding claim 16, Schulz further teaches the first medium unit and the second medium unit are fluidly isolated (as shown in Figs. 2 and 9, conduit passages 46, 48, 44, 36 within first medium unit 50 are fluidly isolated from second medium unit conduit passages 40, 38, 42 and as shown in Fig. 13 first medium unit 50 is supplied by a first medium source 66 than a second medium source 62 which supplies second medium unit 40, 38, 42) creating no pressure differential in the second medium unit to influence a flow of the first medium within the first medium unit (cleaning system 60 is capable of creating no pressure differential in the second medium unit to influence a flow of the first medium within the first medium unit at least when there is no flow of second medium through the second medium unit) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz et al. 20230302472 . Regarding claim 4, Schulz further teaches a simultaneous medium flow of the first medium and the second medium ([0062] describes the compressed air flow as the active fluid and a flow of the liquid cleaning solution as the passive fluid in nozzle assembly 20 provide a flow of a homogeneous two-phase cleaning fluid comprising air and fluidic droplets via eductor 26 of spray element 22, i.e., both the compressed air and the liquid cleaning fluid simultaneously flow during operation) but is silent as discussed so far regarding the switching sequence comprises the simultaneous medium flow followed by a single medium flow of the second medium or the first medium. Schulz teaches in [0060] that air is a drying fluid which may be used by nozzle assembly 20. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the invention of Schulz the switching sequence comprising the simultaneous medium flow followed by a single medium flow of the second medium which is air as also taught by Schulz in order to dry the surface being cleaned . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz et al. 20230302472 in view of Dixon 4236674 . Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Schulz further teaches the acceleration unit comprises a first separation edge (see 112(b): interpreted as a first downstream edge: labeled in annotated Fig. 9), but is silent wherein the second medium unit comprises a second separation edge (see 112(b): interpreted as a second downstream edge), wherein the first separation edge and the second separation edge lie substantially in one plane. PNG media_image2.png 640 516 media_image2.png Greyscale Dixon teaches a spray nozzle connected to a supply of a liquid and to a supply of compressed air (col 2 lines 5-10). Dixon teaches an acceleration unit (portion of body 10 labeled in annotated Fig. 1) comprises a first separation edge (see 112(b): interpreted as a first downstream edge: per col 1 lines 48-51 and 59-61, liquid flows through 11 and acceleration unit to outlet end 11a, i.e., downstream end, which has first downstream edge), wherein a second medium unit (portion of body 10 defining passages 24 and cap 15 in Fig. 1; per col 2 lines 15-27, portion of body 10 also forms passages 24 connected to a supply of compressed air, i.e., a second medium, which is delivered to cavity 25 formed between outlet end of 10 and interior of cap 15 such that air from passages 24 is directed inwardly towards annular aperture 26 formed in center of cap 15 with acceleration unit of 10 projecting into 26 whereby liquid flowing from outlet end 11a of 11 will be able to pass through 26) comprises a second separation edge (see 112(b): interpreted as a second downstream edge: labeled in annotated Fig. 1 which is downstream edge adjacent aperture 26), wherein the first separation edge and the second separation edge lie substantially in one plane (as shown in annotated Fig. 1, first separation edge of 11a and second separation edge adjacent aperture 26 lie substantially in one plane; per col 2 lines 36-45 liquid flowing along said aperture 11 will issue from the outlet end 11a in a generally flattened oval or elliptical pattern and compressed air which will also flow through aperture 26 from cavity 25 will also have a complementary oval or elliptical pattern 27 and will surround and impinge upon the liquid flowing from the orifice 11a and atomize the same in the form of fan-shape configuration in cross-section as is more particularly illustrated in FIG. 3). PNG media_image3.png 496 718 media_image3.png Greyscale Schulz modified in view of Dixon includes a second separation edge wherein the second separation edge lies substantially in one plane with the first separation edge as shown below in annotated Fig. 9. PNG media_image4.png 656 516 media_image4.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schulz to have the second medium unit comprise a second separation edge, wherein the first separation edge and the second separation edge lie substantially in one plane as taught by Dixon to have atomization of the spray and desired shaping of the spray while using relatively low pressure air to reduce consumption of air and make for quieter operation of the nozzle unit (Dixon col 2 lines 57-64) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulz et al. 20230302472 in view of Frederick et al. 20200108801 . Regarding claim 11, Schulz teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding the nozzle unit comprises at least one actuator, wherein the at least one actuator is configured to alter an orientation of the predetermined fluid stream. Frederick teaches a cleaning system for a vehicle having a nozzle unit per [0003]. The nozzle unit (202 Fig. 2) comprises at least one actuator (per [0022] controller 102 controls electric motor(s) 104 to move and/or position, i.e., actuate, adjustable nozzle 202; per [0040] to facilitate orienting arm 204, to which 202 is connected, and/or aiming nozzle 202, arm 204 includes a pin joint or a ball joint 234 operatively coupled to a third one of electric motors 104 and positioned between a third base portion 236 of arm 204 and first portion 220; in response to receiving motor output from the third one of the electric motors 104, joint 234 enables first portion 220, second portion 222, and nozzle 202 to rotate relative to at least a second axis 238 defined by joint 234 in a first rotational direction 240, e.g., clockwise, and/or a second rotational direction 242, e.g., counterclockwise, opposite the first rotational direction), wherein the at least one actuator is configured to alter an orientation of a predetermined fluid stream (rotation of joint 234 by third one of the electric motors 104 alters an orientation of a predetermined fluid stream 206, 208 in Fig. 2, which is cleaning fluid 206 and air 208 per [0030-0031], through nozzle unit 202 to remove debris 203 from surface 122, 124). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Schulz to have the nozzle unit comprise at least one actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to alter an orientation of the predetermined fluid stream as taught by Frederick to properly position the nozzle unit to direct the predetermined fluid stream toward debris to be removed from vehicle surfaces (Frederick [0018]) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues regarding the 102 rejection of claim 1 that prior art of record Schulz fails to teach the new limitation in claim 1. However, Applicant refers to Fig. 7 of Schulz which was not used in the Non-Final rejection of claim 1 and is not used in the current Final rejection of claim 1. The previous and current rejection of claim 1 relies on Figs. 2 and 9 of Schulz such that arguments with reference to Fig. 7 are not relevant . Applicant argues that Schulz teaches in [0031] that “diffusion portion 30 of the eductor 26 is generally adapted to receive separate media flows in the form of a motive fluid and a passive fluid, and configured to prepare a single turbulent flow of media therefrom,” and that diffusion portion 30 that combines the two media, as depicted in Figs. 2 and 5, is located upstream from the mixing barrel 28. However, Schultz also teaches in [0031] “the diffusion portion 30 may be integral with the mixing barrel 28 (i.e., the diffusion portion 30 may simply describe the portion of the mixing barrel 28 distal the outlet 24),” and accordingly, the 102 rejection cites the mixing barrel 28 and does not refer to the diffusion portion 30. Again, the 102 rejection relies on Fig. 2 but not on Fig. 5 of Schulz. Applicant argues the combination of the two media, as taught by Schulz, occurs within the device, before the media both leave their respective conduits. This is not correct since per [0032] “the diffusion portion may overlap with the mixing barrel 28” and “as illustrated in the drawings, the diffusion portion 30 of the eductor 26 refers to the portion of the eductor 26 where media 26 is introduced, and subsequently combined, within the spray element 22” which is within mixing barrel 28 as can be seen in annotated Fig. 9 with all flow arrows flowing in the direction toward outlet 24 with a wall of the acceleration unit separating flow of the first medium from flow of the second medium until the flow of the first medium flows out of 36 and the second medium flows out of 32, and the first and second mediums subsequently combine in mixing barrel 28. Applicant argues the combination of the two separate media taught by Schulz occurs while the media is still within the nozzle assembly, which is correct as the first medium and the second medium combine within mixing barrel 28 as discussed above. Applicant then argues amended claim 1 teaches a combination of the two mediums after they exited their respective medium units, which is fairly accurate, but then Applicant further states this is outside of the cleaning unit which is not accurate as the new limitation in claim 1 recites “the first medium and the second medium mix together only after the first medium exits the acceleration unit (14) and the second medium exits the second medium unit (16).” Applicant further argues Schulz fails to teach the new limitation. However, as discussed above and shown in the current 102 rejection of claim 1, Schulz does teach the new limitation with reference to annotated Fig. 9 as the first medium and second medium mix together only after the first medium exits the acceleration unit via 36 and flows into mixing barrel 28 as shown in annotated Fig. 9 and the second medium exits 42 via injection port 32 of the second medium unit into mixing barrel 28 and it is within mixing barrel 28 that the first medium and second medium mix together. This is very similar to as shown in Applicant’s instant Fig. 1 where first medium 21 and second medium 23 mix together within nozzle unit 24 with second medium 23 flowing through an opening which is labeled 22 which is not referenced in the specification but such opening is described in specification [0006] “the second unit of medium preferably comprises an opening through which the second medium is introduced into the predetermined fluid flow.” Therefore, Schulz anticipates each of the limitations of amended claim 1. Applicant does not argue the dependent claims. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSON JOAN HARRINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2359. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9 am - 5 pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Phutthiwat Wongwian can be reached at (571) 270-5426. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /A.J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3741 /LORNE E MEADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 2 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 3 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 4 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 5 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 6 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 7 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 8 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 9 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 10 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 11 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 12 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 13 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 14 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 15 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 16 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 17 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 18 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 19 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 20 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 21 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 22 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 23 Art Unit: 3741 Application/Control Number: 18/539,548 Page 24 Art Unit: 3741