DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 4/8/26.
In the response Applicant amended claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 3 is/are cancelled.
Currently, claim(s) 1-2, 4-18 is/are pending.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 11204215 in view of Monti (2023/0341216).
Re Claim 1,
U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 11204215 discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a vibrator within an outer case and out of view. However, Monti teaches a vibrator within an outer case and out of view (Fig 1-3, ¶¶0018-0023; the haptic device is located inside the housing). Monti further teaches such a configuration gives a user the realistic feeling of firing a firearm (¶0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Monti into the simulated gun of Jarrard in order to give a user the realistic feeling of firing a firearm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216).
Re Claim 1,
Jarrard discloses a wireless independent tracking system (WITS) device for use with a simulated weapon in a virtual reality (VR) environment (Fig 10, ¶¶0003, 0008), the WITS device comprising:
at least one tag for use in tracking a simulated weapon wherein the simulated weapon is a gun, the WITS device is coupled to; a coupler configured to firmly couple the WITS device to the gun (Fig 10, ¶¶0008; a box magazines removably inserted into a gun, wherein a tracker interface coupled to the box magazine, the tracker magazine including an electrical connection interface that communicates with a virtual reality computing device).
Jarrard does not explicit disclose a vibrator within an outer case and out of view.
However, Monti teaches a vibrator within an outer case and out of view (Fig 1-3, ¶¶0018-0023; the haptic device is located inside the housing). Monti further teaches such a configuration gives a user the realistic feeling of firing a firearm (¶0002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Monti into the simulated gun of Jarrard in order to give a user the realistic feeling of firing a firearm.
Claim(s) 2, 8-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216), and further in view of Farrell et al. (2008/0032268).
Re Claim 2,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the coupler is one of an adhesive or screws. However, Farrell teaches the coupler is one of an adhesive or screws (¶¶0067-0068). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Farrell into the simulating weapon of Jarrard as modified by Monti in order to use the most cost effective way to attach different components.
Re Claim 8,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a presence sensor located in the gun's trigger guard arranged to detect a trigger finger present in within the trigger guard in close proximity to the gun's trigger. However, Farrell teaches a presence sensor located in the gun's trigger guard arranged to detect a trigger finger present in within the trigger guard in close proximity to the gun's trigger (¶¶0025, 0048). Farrell further teaches such a configuration improves a user’s technique in using the firearm (¶¶0004-0006). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Farrell into the simulating weapon of Jarrard as modified by Monti in order to improve a user’s technique in using the firearm.
Re Claim 9,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on providing a presence sensor signal when a training participant's trigger finger is detected within the trigger guard for a select or a default time period. However, Farrell teaches providing a presence sensor signal when a training participant's trigger finger is detected within the trigger guard for a select or a default time period (¶¶0025, 0048). See claim 8 for motivation.
Re Claim 10,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the presence sensor signal is used to generate immediate feedback to the gun to alert the training participant that their trigger finger is within the trigger guard. However, Farrell teaches the presence sensor signal is used to generate immediate feedback to the gun to alert the training participant that their trigger finger is within the trigger guard (¶¶0039, 0050). See claim 8 for motivation.
Re Claim 11,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the presence sensor signal is used to generate training review data for use in assessing the participant's training performance. However, Farrell teaches the presence sensor signal is used to generate training review data for use in assessing the participant's training performance (¶¶0009-0012). See claim 8 for motivation.
Re Claim 13,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a rechargeable battery. However, Farrell teaches a rechargeable battery (¶¶0050, 0070). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Farrell into the simulating weapon of Jarrad in order to improve the user experience by reusing the battery over and over again.
Re Claim 14,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the battery is firmly coupled to a bottom of a WITS device outer case using screws or glue. However, Farrell teaches the battery is firmly coupled to a bottom of a WITS device outer case using screws or glue (¶¶0067-0068). See claim 2 for motivation.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216), further in view of Patent Brain (NPL: DE102021006482) and Farrell et al. (2008/0032268).
Re Claim 4,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the gun vibrates in conjunction with a warning beep when the gun is brought within a predetermined distance from a training area boundary in which the gun is used by a participant. However, Patent Brain teaches the gun vibrates when the gun is brought within a predetermined distance from a training area boundary in which the gun is used by a participant (¶¶0104-0110). Farrell teaches a warning beep (¶0055). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Patent Brain and Farrell in order to enhance the user experience by providing additional safety features.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216), Patent Brain (NPL: DE102021006482) and Farrell et al. (2008/0032268), further in view of Levesque (2004/0110565).
Re Claim 5,
Jarrard as modified by Monti, Patent Brain and Farrell discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the boundary is defined by a remote operator of a training scenario controller. However, Levesque teaches the boundary is defined by a remote operator of a training scenario controller (¶¶0019, 0035). Levesque further teaches such a configuration improves the video gaming experience (¶¶0003-0004). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Levesque into the virtual reality of Jarrard as modified by Monti, Patent Brain and Farrell in order to improve the video gaming experience.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216), further in view of Tilston et al. (2007/0218966).
Re Claim 6,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a virtual reality (VR) flashlight. However, Tilston teaches a virtual reality (VR) flashlight (¶¶0056, 0058). Tilston further teaches such a configuration can suit the player's preference or needs at various points during the game (¶0003). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tilston into the game system of Jarrad in order to suit the player's preference or needs at various points during the game.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216) and Tilston et al. (2007/0218966), further in view of Burger Sr. et al. (9546848).
Re Claim 7,
Jarrard as modified by Monti and Tilston discloses all limitations as set forth above including the VR flashlight shines in a forward direction but is silent on at least one flashlight on/off switch located on a side. However, Burger teaches at least one flashlight on/off switch located on a side (Fig 6-7, col 3, ln 45-47, col 4, ln 31-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Burger into the simulating gun of Jarrard as modified by Monti and Tilston in order to enhance the realism.
Claim(s) 12, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216), further in view of Kur et al. (2020/0408480).
Re Claim 12,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on at least one IR LED located on both the left and right sides of the gun. However, Kur teaches at least one IR LED located on both the left and right sides of the gun (¶¶0059, 0060, 0071). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Kur into the simulating weapon of Jarrard as modified by Monti in order to enhance the realism.
Re Claim 16,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on an inertial measurement unit (IMU) that compensates for loss of tracking of the LEDs when they are occluded. However, Kur teaches an inertial measurement unit (IMU) that compensates for loss of tracking of the LEDs when they are occluded (¶0086).
Re Claim 18,
Jarrard as modified by Monti discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the IMU is incorporated into or firmly coupled to a printed circuit board of the WITS device. However, Kur teaches the IMU is incorporated into or firmly coupled to a printed circuit board of the WITS device (¶¶0086-0087).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216) and Farrell et al. (2008/0032268), further in view of Flechsig et al. (2005/0235523).
Re Claim 15,
Jarrard as modified by Monti and Farrell discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on when fully charged and powered on remains active for up to 8 hours continuously. However, Flechsig teaches when fully charged and powered on remains active for up to 8 hours continuously (¶0027). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Flechsig into the simulating weapon of Jarrard as modified by Monti and Farrell in order to enhance the user experience by allowing uninterrupted game playing.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarrard et al. (2021/0018291) in view of Monti (2023/0341216) and Kur et al. (2020/0408480), further in view of Owens et al. (11822413).
Re Claim 17,
Jarrard as modified by Monti and Kur discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on automatically enter a sleep mode if it is not powered down for a select or default time period. However, Owens teaches automatically enter a sleep mode if it is not powered down for a select or default time period (col 5, ln 46-52, col 22, ln 63-65, col 23, ln 1-19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Owens into the simulating weapon of Jarrard as modified by Monti and Kur in order to enhance the user experience by extending the battery life.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715