DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 13 are objected to because there is no claim 12 and two claims are labeled as claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Per claim 1, “the pre-charge resistor connected to . . . the first positive conductor . . . , the third positive conductor, the fourth positive conductor, the first negative conductor, the second negative conductor, the third negative conductor, and the fourth negative conductor.”
The figures show only one embodiment and not the other claimed embodiments.
Claim Rejections - and 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over JPH08162221 (“Tabata”).
Regarding claim 1 Tabata discloses a connector comprising (see figure 1):
a first member (labeled M1 below, including elements 5a and associated conductive lines labeled A1-D1 in annotated figure 1 below) electrically connected to a voltage source 1,
the first member includes a first positive conductor (labeled P1 below), and
a second positive conductor (labeled P2) and
a first negative conductor (labeled N1);
a second negative conductor (labeled N2);
a second member (labeled M2, including 5b and associated lines) electrically connected to a load 2 that requires pre-charging,
the second member includes a third positive conductor (labeled P3) and
a fourth positive conductor (labeled P4) connected in parallel and
a third negative conductor (labeled N3) and
a fourth negative conductor (labeled N4) connected in parallel; and
a pre-charge resistor 4 disposed within one of the first member and the second member, the pre-charge resistor connected to one of the first positive conductor, the second positive conductor, the third positive conductor, the fourth positive conductor, the first negative conductor, the second negative conductor, the third negative conductor, and the fourth negative conductor,
wherein the first member is configured to connect to the second member and to provide electrical power from the high-voltage source to the load.
Regarding the limitation that the connector and voltage source are “high voltage,” it would have been obvious to select the various components such that the components would be suitable for “high voltage” as a matter of engineering design choice. Note that the voltage source and components as taught in Tabata can be considered to be implicitly or inherently “high” voltage components.
Regarding claim 8, Tabata discloses an electric vehicle (¶ 0001) comprising:
a high-voltage battery (¶ 0001, 0002);
a load 2 that requires pre-charging; and
a high-voltage connector (see discussion regarding claim 1 for identification of components) comprising:
a first member (labeled M1 above, including elements 5a and associated conductive lines labeled A1-D1 in annotated figure 1 above) electrically connected to the high-voltage battery, the first member includes
a first positive conductor (labeled P1 above) and
a second positive conductor (labeled P2) and
a first negative conductor (labeled N1) and
a second negative conductor (labeled N2);
a second member (labeled M2, including 5b and associated lines) electrically connected to the load 2, the second member includes
a third positive conductor (labeled P3) and
a fourth positive conductor (labeled P4) connected in parallel and
a third negative conductor (labeled N3) and
a fourth negative conductor (labeled N4) connected in parallel; and
a pre-charge resistor 4 disposed within one of the first member and the second member, the pre-charge resistor connected to one of the first positive conductor, the second positive conductor, the third positive conductor, the fourth positive conductor, the first negative conductor, the second negative conductor, the third negative conductor, and the fourth negative conductor,
wherein the high-voltage connector is configured provide electrical power from the high-voltage battery to the load.
Regarding the limitation that the connector and battery are “high voltage,” it would have been obvious to select the various components such that the components would be suitable for “high voltage” as a matter of engineering design choice. Note that the voltage source and components as taught in Tabata can be considered to be implicitly or inherently “high” voltage components.
Regarding claim 15, Tabata discloses electrical connector comprising (see discussions regarding claims 1 and 8 for identification of elements):
a first member (labeled M1 above) electrically connected to a high-voltage source 1, the first member includes a first positive conductor (P1 above) and a second positive conductor (p2) and a first negative conductor (N1);
a second member (labeled M2 above) electrically connected to a load 2 that requires pre-charging, the second member includes a third positive conductor (P3) and a fourth positive conductor (p4) and a third negative conductor (n3); and
a pre-charge resistor 4 disposed within one of the first member and the second member, the pre-charge resistor connected in series between the second positive conductor and the high-voltage source,
wherein the first member is configured to connect to the second member and to provide electrical power from the high-voltage source to the load.
Regarding the limitation that the components are “high voltage,” it would have been obvious to select the various components such that the components would be suitable for “high voltage” as a matter of engineering design choice. Note that the voltage source and components as taught in Tabata can be considered to be implicitly or inherently “high” voltage components.
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabata in view of Lin et al. US 6310410.
Regarding claim 2, Tabata discloses that the B and C lines connect before the A and D lines (see figure 2) but not necessarily that the first positive conductor extends from the first member by a first distance and the second positive conductor extends from the first member by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance and wherein the pre-charge resistor is connected to the second positive conductor. Lin discloses a connector where first positive conductor 74 extends from the first member 12 by a first distance (see figure 3) and the second positive conductor 72 extends from the first member 12 by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see gap 75) and wherein the pre-charge resistor 76 is connected to the second positive conductor 72. It would have been obvious to likewise configure the Tabata first positive conductor to extends from the first member by a first distance and the second positive conductor to extend from the first member by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see gap 75) as taught in Lin. Such a modification would have been a matter of engineering design choice given that the result is the same in that the line with the resistor must be closed prior to the line without the resistor being closed in order for the device to function as intended.
Per claim 3, Tabata discloses that the third positive conductor extends from the second member by a third distance and the fourth positive conductor extends from the second member by a fourth distance, wherein the fourth distance is greater than the third distance (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Tabata discloses that the B and C lines connect before the A and D lines (see figure 2) but not necessarily that the first positive conductor extends from the first member by a first distance and the second positive conductor extends from the first member by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance and wherein the pre-charge resistor is connected to the second positive conductor. Lin discloses a connector where first positive conductor 74 extends from the first member 12 by a first distance (see figure 3) and the second positive conductor 72 extends from the first member 12 by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see gap 75) and wherein the pre-charge resistor 76 is connected to the second positive conductor 72. It would have been obvious to likewise configure the Tabata first positive conductor to extends from the first member by a first distance and the second positive conductor to extend from the first member by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see gap 75) as taught in Lin. Such a modification would have been a matter of engineering design choice given that the result is the same in that the line with the resistor must be closed prior to the line without the resistor being closed in order for the device to function as intended.
Per claim 10, Tabata discloses that the third positive conductor extends from the second member by a third distance and the fourth positive conductor extends from the second member by a fourth distance, wherein the fourth distance is greater than the third distance (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Tabata discloses that the B and C lines connect before the A and D lines (see figure 2) but not necessarily that the first positive conductor extends from the first member by a first distance and the second positive conductor extends from the first member by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance and wherein the pre-charge resistor is connected to the second positive conductor. Lin discloses a connector where first positive conductor 74 extends from the first member 12 by a first distance (see figure 3) and the second positive conductor 72 extends from the first member 12 by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see gap 75) and wherein the pre-charge resistor 76 is connected to the second positive conductor 72. It would have been obvious to likewise configure the Tabata first positive conductor to extends from the first member by a first distance and the second positive conductor to extend from the first member by a second distance, wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance (see gap 75) as taught in Lin. Such a modification would have been a matter of engineering design choice given that the result is the same in that the line with the resistor must be closed prior to the line without the resistor being closed in order for the device to function as intended.
Per claim 17, Tabata discloses that the third positive conductor extends from the second member by a third distance and the fourth positive conductor extends from the second member by a fourth distance, wherein the fourth distance is greater than the third distance (see figure 2).
Claims 4-6, 11-13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabata in view of DE 20 2015 106121 (“Tridonic”). Regarding claim 4, Tabata does not disclose a switch. Tridonic discloses a first mechanically actuated switch (6, 9, 14, figures 1 and 2) configured to be open when the first member is separated from the second member and to be closed by the first member connecting to the second member. It would have been obvious to include such switches in the Tabata connectors. As disclosed in Tridonic, it would have been obvious locate switches on the first member between the voltage source (battery) 1 and the junction/node where lines a and b branch from the positive line and between the battery and the junction/node where lines c and d branch from the negative line. The reason for doing so would have been to eliminate live terminals from being exposed until the connectors are fully mated such that the terminals are not exposed, as was known in the art.
Regarding claim 5, as set out in claim 4, it would have been obvious to have the first mechanically actuated switch is connected in series with the pre-charge resistor.
Per claim 6, Tridonic discloses a second mechanically actuated switch (6 or 9) configured to be open when the first member is separated from the second member and to be closed by the first member connecting to the second member.
Regarding claim 11, Tabata does not disclose a switch. Tridonic discloses a first mechanically actuated switch (6, 9, 14, figures 1 and 2) configured to be open when the first member is separated from the second member and to be closed by the first member connecting to the second member. It would have been obvious to include such switches in the Tabata connectors. As disclosed in Tridonic, it would have been obvious locate switches on the first member between the voltage source (battery) 1 and the junction/node where lines a and b branch from the positive line and between the battery and the junction/node where lines c and d branch from the negative line. The reason for doing so would have been to eliminate live terminals from being exposed until the connectors are fully mated such that the terminals are not exposed, as was known in the art.
Regarding claim 12, as set out in claim 11, it would have been obvious to have the first mechanically actuated switch is connected in series with the pre-charge resistor.
Per claim 13, Tridonic discloses a second mechanically actuated switch (6 or 9) configured to be open when the first member is separated from the second member and to be closed by the first member connecting to the second member.
Regarding claim 18, Tabata does not disclose a switch. Tridonic discloses a first mechanically actuated switch (6, 9, 14, figures 1 and 2) configured to be open when the first member is separated from the second member and to be closed by the first member connecting to the second member. It would have been obvious to include such switches in the Tabata connectors. As disclosed in Tridonic, it would have been obvious locate switches on the first member between the voltage source (battery) 1 and the junction/node where lines a and b branch from the positive line and between the battery and the junction/node where lines c and d branch from the negative line. The reason for doing so would have been to eliminate live terminals from being exposed until the connectors are fully mated such that the terminals are not exposed, as was known in the art.
Regarding claim 19, as set out in claim 11, it would have been obvious to have the first mechanically actuated switch is connected in series with the pre-charge resistor.
Per claim 20, Tridonic discloses a second mechanically actuated switch (6 or 9) configured to be open when the first member is separated from the second member and to be closed by the first member connecting to the second member.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROSS N GUSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834