Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2017/0245211), herein referred to as “Patil”, in view of Choi et. al. (2017/0048801), herein referred to as “Choi”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Patil discloses: A gateway device comprising: a memory storing one or more computer-readable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to cause the gateway device to: determine that a power saving feature is enabled
[0057] MAE 180 can actively monitor the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b for updated UE presence information and will evaluate the UE presence information in comparison to various trigger criteria to control the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140. In one embodiment, trigger criteria can include disabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b. In another embodiment, trigger criteria can include enabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are not present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving feature” is being interpreted as the power saving mode being enabled.
alter one or more operations of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “alter[ing] one or more operations” is the “powering off a radio of the gateway device” per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0008]. Here, the AP 150 is turned off.
Patil does not disclose: determine that a power saving event from a plurality of power saving events has been has been triggered if it is determined that the power saving event is enabled, the plurality of power saving events including determining the wide area network (WAN) interface is idle, receiving a power management response, receiving a command to enter power save mode, determining a temperature has exceeded a threshold, and determining that a power saving timer has expired and determine one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
However, Choi discloses: determine that a power saving event from a plurality of power saving events has been has been triggered if it is determined that the power saving event is enabled, the plurality of power saving events including determining the wide area network (WAN) interface is idle, receiving a power management response, receiving a command to enter power save mode, determining a temperature has exceeded a threshold, and determining that a power saving timer has expired.
[0088] For example, as shown in FIG. 8, a power saving mode reservation item 403 may be displayed on a screen 401 of the display unit 151. The item may be a menu, but is not limited thereto. When a touch command for the power saving mode reservation item 403 is inputted, a power saving mode reservation window 405 including one or more battery levels may be displayed. When a touch command for one battery level among the one or more battery levels is inputted, a battery power saving mode may be set to the corresponding battery level. A case where the battery power saving mode is set to 30% of the battery level is illustrated in FIG. 8, but the battery power saving mode is not limited thereto.
Note: The plurality of power saving events are indicated with the different levels of power saving with the battery levels as indicated in Figure 8. The command is received when the user inputs a touch command for the battery saving (“power saving”) mode. Please also note that the claim language is being interpreted in the alternative since one power event is determined from the plurality of events.
Choi also discloses: determine one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
[0134] As shown in FIG. 17B, when a touch command for the power saving mode execution menu 617 is inputted, the control unit 180 may perform control to execute the currently set power saving mode. Due to this execution, restriction operations of functions set to be “ON” in the power saving modes are performed, thereby reducing power consumption.
Note: The power saving parameter is interpreted as the restriction operation, as noted in Applicant’s specification paragraph [0037].
Patil and Choi are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil to include the concept of receiving a command to enter a power saving mode and parameters associated with the power saving mode as taught by Choi so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 6,
Patil discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein if the determined power saving event is one of receiving a power management response and determining a temperature has exceeded a threshold, then altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: powering off a radio of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Regarding Claim 8,
Patil discloses: A method, performed in a gateway device, the method comprising gateway device comprising: determining that a power saving feature is enabled
[0057] MAE 180 can actively monitor the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b for updated UE presence information and will evaluate the UE presence information in comparison to various trigger criteria to control the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140. In one embodiment, trigger criteria can include disabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b. In another embodiment, trigger criteria can include enabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are not present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving feature” is being interpreted as the power saving mode being enabled.
altering one or more operations of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “alter[ing] one or more operations” is the “powering off a radio of the gateway device” per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0008]. Here, the AP 150 is turned off.
Patil does not disclose: determining that a power saving event from a plurality of power saving events has been has been triggered if it is determined that the power saving event is enabled, the plurality of power saving events including determining the wide area network (WAN) interface is idle, receiving a power management response, receiving a command to enter power save mode, determining a temperature has exceeded a threshold, and determining that a power saving timer has expired and determine one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
However, Choi discloses: determining that a power saving event from a plurality of power saving events has been has been triggered if it is determined that the power saving event is enabled, the plurality of power saving events including determining the wide area network (WAN) interface is idle, receiving a power management response, receiving a command to enter power save mode, determining a temperature has exceeded a threshold, and determining that a power saving timer has expired.
[0088] For example, as shown in FIG. 8, a power saving mode reservation item 403 may be displayed on a screen 401 of the display unit 151. The item may be a menu, but is not limited thereto. When a touch command for the power saving mode reservation item 403 is inputted, a power saving mode reservation window 405 including one or more battery levels may be displayed. When a touch command for one battery level among the one or more battery levels is inputted, a battery power saving mode may be set to the corresponding battery level. A case where the battery power saving mode is set to 30% of the battery level is illustrated in FIG. 8, but the battery power saving mode is not limited thereto.
Note: The plurality of power saving events are indicated with the different levels of power saving with the battery levels as indicated in Figure 8. The command is received when the user inputs a touch command for the battery saving (“power saving”) mode. Please also note that the claim language is being interpreted in the alternative since one power event is determined from the plurality of events.
Choi also discloses: determining one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
[0134] As shown in FIG. 17B, when a touch command for the power saving mode execution menu 617 is inputted, the control unit 180 may perform control to execute the currently set power saving mode. Due to this execution, restriction operations of functions set to be “ON” in the power saving modes are performed, thereby reducing power consumption.
Note: The power saving parameter is interpreted as the restriction operation, as noted in Applicant’s specification paragraph [0037].
Patil and Choi are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil to include the concept of receiving a command to enter a power saving mode and parameters associated with the power saving mode as taught by Choi so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 15,
Patil discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium of a gateway device storing a program for altering an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event, which when executed by a processor of the gateway device, causes the gateway device to perform one or more operations comprising: determining that a power saving feature is enabled
[0057] MAE 180 can actively monitor the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b for updated UE presence information and will evaluate the UE presence information in comparison to various trigger criteria to control the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140. In one embodiment, trigger criteria can include disabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b. In another embodiment, trigger criteria can include enabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are not present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving feature” is being interpreted as the power saving mode being enabled.
altering one or more operations of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “alter[ing] one or more operations” is the “powering off a radio of the gateway device” per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0008]. Here, the AP 150 is turned off.
Patil does not disclose: determining that a power saving event from a plurality of power saving events has been has been triggered if it is determined that the power saving event is enabled, the plurality of power saving events including determining the wide area network (WAN) interface is idle, receiving a power management response, receiving a command to enter power save mode, determining a temperature has exceeded a threshold, and determining that a power saving timer has expired and determine one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
However, Choi discloses: determining that a power saving event from a plurality of power saving events has been has been triggered if it is determined that the power saving event is enabled, the plurality of power saving events including determining the wide area network (WAN) interface is idle, receiving a power management response, receiving a command to enter power save mode, determining a temperature has exceeded a threshold, and determining that a power saving timer has expired.
[0088] For example, as shown in FIG. 8, a power saving mode reservation item 403 may be displayed on a screen 401 of the display unit 151. The item may be a menu, but is not limited thereto. When a touch command for the power saving mode reservation item 403 is inputted, a power saving mode reservation window 405 including one or more battery levels may be displayed. When a touch command for one battery level among the one or more battery levels is inputted, a battery power saving mode may be set to the corresponding battery level. A case where the battery power saving mode is set to 30% of the battery level is illustrated in FIG. 8, but the battery power saving mode is not limited thereto.
Note: The plurality of power saving events are indicated with the different levels of power saving with the battery levels as indicated in Figure 8. The command is received when the user inputs a touch command for the battery saving (“power saving”) mode. Please also note that the claim language is being interpreted in the alternative since one power event is determined from the plurality of events.
Choi also discloses: determining one or more power saving parameters associated with the determined power saving event.
[0134] As shown in FIG. 17B, when a touch command for the power saving mode execution menu 617 is inputted, the control unit 180 may perform control to execute the currently set power saving mode. Due to this execution, restriction operations of functions set to be “ON” in the power saving modes are performed, thereby reducing power consumption.
Note: The power saving parameter is interpreted as the restriction operation, as noted in Applicant’s specification paragraph [0037].
Patil and Choi are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil to include the concept of receiving a command to enter a power saving mode and parameters associated with the power saving mode as taught by Choi so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 21,
Claim 21 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Zhou et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0130411), herein referred to as “Zhou”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Patil in view of Choi does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Zhou discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to further cause the gateway device to: determine to reset one or more settings of the gateway device if the determined power saving event is determining that a power saving timer has expired.
[0108] In some instances, motion sensors are used to reset the room timeout. The room timeout timer can indicate when to switch from an occupied state to an unoccupied state. The room timeout timer can be user configurable and can be, for example, thirty minutes. The room timeout timer can be timed by gateway 2360 in an individual room and can be used by gateway 2360 to make decisions on how to control the room devices (e.g. wireless controllers 2310). Data that indicates motion, sent from motion sensors 2340, can reset the room timer of the room shown in FIG. 23. In some instances, each room or area has a dedicated room timer and timeout condition. In some instances, either motion sensor 2340 can sense motion and clear the room timer. In some instances, once the room timer reaches the room timeout condition, such as 30 minutes, gateway 2360 can issue to wireless controllers 2310 a command associated with that room to switch to the desired state of wireless controller 2310. In such instance, the command to wireless controllers 2310 can occur sequentially to each wireless controller 2310 or as a single command simultaneously to all wireless controllers 2310. In such instances, typically the desired state is OFF; in some instances, however, certain lighting, such as security lighting or emergency lighting can have a desired state of ON or dimmed to a settable level such as 50%. In some instances, light sensor 2350 can continuously monitor the light level in the room and send data to gateway 2360. Gateway 2360 can wirelessly send commands to wireless controllers 2310 based on the sensor data (from motion sensors 2340 and light sensor 2350). In some instances, motion sensors 2340 and/or light sensor 2350 can communicate directly with wireless controllers 2310 if found to be advantageous, and associations can be stored for motion sensors 2340 and/or light sensors 2350 in wireless controllers 2310.
Patil in view of Choi and Zhou are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Choi to include the concept of determining to reset one or more settings of the gateway device based on a power saving event as taught by Zhou so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Choi, held further in view of Retana (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2015/0281041).
Regarding Claim 3,
Patil in view of Choi does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 3.
However, Retana discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein if the determined
power saving event is determining that the WAN is idle, then determining one or more power saving parameters further includes determining whether at least one time restriction
applies to the one or more power saving parameters.
[0016] A port 110 of a network node 102a or the network node 102a itself may enter into a reduced-power mode, for instance, in order to reduce energy consumption when the remaining ports 110 and/or network nodes 102b-102f are able to adequately handle the traffic in the network 100. Thus, for instance, the port(s) 110 and/or the network node(s) 102a-102f may enter into the reduced-power mode at a scheduled time, e.g., at night, and may emerge from the reduced-power mode at another scheduled time, e.g., in the morning. As another example, the port(s) 110 and/or the network node(s) 102a-102f may enter into the reduced-power mode when the port(s) 110 and/or the network node(s) 102a-102f are relatively idle.
Patil in view of Choi and Retana are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Choi to include the concept of determining a time restriction when the device is in an idle state as taught by Retana so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Claims 4, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Choi, held further in view of Gan et. al. (CN 217307878 U), herein referred to as “Gan”.
Regarding Claim 4,
Patil in view of Choi does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Gan discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein if the determined power saving event is one of determining that the WAN is idle and receiving a power management response, then altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: setting an automatic negotiation with a low power maximum link speed for a link of a port based on the one or more power saving parameters.
[0056] Referring to FIG. 5, in some embodiments, the communication module 140 comprises an Ethernet control chip, the Ethernet control chip is connected to the communication end of the POE module 130 and the edge computing module 110. The Ethernet control chip may perform data transmission through the POE module 130 using protocols such as TCP and PPPoE protocol. wherein the Ethernet control chip adopts W5500 chip, the W5500 chip is an embedded Ethernet controller integrated with full hardware TCP/IP protocol stack, at the same time, it is an industrial Ethernet control chip. W5500 chip supports high-speed standard 4-line SPI interface to communicate with the host, the SPI rate theoretically can reach 80 MHz. An Ethernet data link layer (MAC) and a 10BaseT/100BaseTX Ethernet physical layer (PHY) are also integrated inside, supporting automatic negotiation (10/100-Based full duplex/half duplex), power down model and network wake up functions. different from the traditional software protocol stack, the 8 independent hardware Socket embedded in W5500 can perform 8-path independent communication, the communication efficiency of the 8-path Socket does not affect each other, the size of each Socket can be flexibly defined by the 32K byte receiving/sending cache on the W5500. All hardware TCP/IP protocol stack-supports TCP, UDP, ICMP, IPv4, ARP, IGMP, PPPoE protocol-hardware network engine, and it is not attacked by network.
Note: The power management response is being interpreted as being the power down model herein.
Patil in view of Choi and Gan are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Choi to include the concept of an automatic negotiation with a low power maximum link speed for a link of a port based on power saving parameters as taught by Gan so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Choi and Gan, held further in view of Jiang et. al. (CN 110430548 B), herein referred to as “Jiang”.
Regarding Claim 5,
Patil in view of Choi and Gan does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Jiang discloses: The gateway device of claim 4, wherein altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: bouncing the link of the port.
FIG. 2 is a schematic flow chart of the embodiment of the data compensation method provided by the present invention. The embodiment is suitable for the intelligent detection system, when the communication link between the collector and the wireless gateway is disconnected and re-connected, the collector sends data to the wireless gateway of the scene. The embodiment can be executed by the data transmitting device, the data transmitting device can be realized by the software and/or hardware mode, the data transmitting device can be integrated in the collector.
Patil in view of Choi, Gan, and Jiang are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Choi and Gan to include the concept of bouncing a link port as taught by Jiang so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Claims 7, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Choi, held further in view of Homchaudhuri et. al. (KR 20180037959 A), herein referred to as “Homchaudhuri”.
Regarding Claim 7,
Patil in view of Choi does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Homchaudhuri discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: setting a radio to an energy management (EM) 1×1 antenna chain configuration.
[0046] At operation 404, the device determines, based on the determined power states of the wireless nodes, a first number of antenna modes used to communicate with the wireless nodes using the first number of spatial streams, Spatial streams to a second antenna mode used to communicate with the wireless nodes. As will be described in more detail below, the device switches to a single stream (1x1) antenna mode when all the wireless nodes are in a low power state, and switches to a single-stream (1x1) antenna mode when one or more of the wireless nodes exit the low- , 2x2 or 4x4) antenna mode. As used herein, a low power state generally results in less power consumption than other states due to reduced processing power (e. G., Processing fewer streams for transmission or fewer samples for reception) (E.g., an antenna mode with only single stream transmissions, such as in a 1x1 antenna mode, may be considered a low power state compared to a multi-stream antenna mode such as a 2x2 or 4x4 antenna mode). As described below, if one of the wireless nodes detects that the device is no longer in a low power state (e.g., by detecting that one of the wireless nodes is transmitting at an unsupported rate in the second antenna mode) , The device may switch from the second antenna mode to a different mode (e.g., again the first antenna mode).
Patil in view of Choi and Homchaudhuri are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Choi to include the concept of setting a radio to an energy management (EM) 1×1 antenna chain configuration as taught by Homchaudhuri so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
The following claims were amended as part of applicant’s response: 1-4, 6-11, and 13-19.
The following claims are canceled: 20.
The following claims are new: 21.
Claims 1-19, and 21 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411