Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Patil et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2017/0245211), herein referred to as “Patil”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Patil discloses: A gateway device for altering an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event, comprising: a memory storing one or more computer-readable instructions; and a processor configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to cause the gateway device to: determine that a power saving feature is enabled
[0057] MAE 180 can actively monitor the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b for updated UE presence information and will evaluate the UE presence information in comparison to various trigger criteria to control the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140. In one embodiment, trigger criteria can include disabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b. In another embodiment, trigger criteria can include enabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are not present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving feature” is being interpreted as the power saving mode being enabled.
determine that a power saving event has been triggered
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving event” is being interpreted as where the MAE 180 via power management module 170a determining to send a power off message.
determine one or more power saving parameters associated with the power saving event
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving parameters” is the determination that either the multimode WiFi AP 150 is in an off state due to the power off message (which is in line with Applicant’s specification paragraph [0002] where the “radio is no longer needed”) or when the small cell AP module 140 is also in an off state.
alter one or more operations of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters associated with the power saving event.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “alter[ing] one or more operations” is the “powering off a radio of the gateway device” per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0008]. Here, the AP 150 is turned off.
Regarding Claim 3,
Patil discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein the power saving event is triggered by any of a determination that the wide area network (WAN) network interface is idle, a receipt of a command, a comparison of an environmental parameter to an associated threshold, expiration of a timer, or any combination thereof.
[0085] However, prior to sending the ‘POWER OFF’ message, MAE 180 via power management module 170b can first start a guard timer at 360. The guard timer can help to buffer frequent changes to the power saving mode of small cell AP module 140 in cases where, for example, a UE moves out of the coverage area of a given WiFi AP for only a short period of time or moves between WiFi APs within a defined group area. In various embodiments, the period of time for the guard timer can be set between approximately 5 minutes and approximately 30 minutes; however, it should be understood that a network operator can set the guard timer to any value based on KPIs, etc. for a given deployment. Upon expiration of the guard timer, at 362, MAE 180/power management module 170b sends a ‘POWER OFF’ message to WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d including an identity (e.g., <AP identity>) for multimode WiFi AP 150. At 364, WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d performs a lookup on the AP identity and determines to send the POWER OFF message to multimode WiFi AP 150. At 366, the system controller 151 for multimode WiFi AP 150 controls the power saving mode for small cell AP module 140 to enable the power saving mode; thereby powering off small cell AP module 140 via power controller 141. At 368, the small cell AP module 140 is powered off and stops its service. Thus, as shown in the embodiment of FIGS. 3A-3D, control of the power saving mode of the small cell AP module 140 can be provided via multimode WiFi AP 150, WLC 162, MAE 180 and MSE 182 based on UE presence detected within the WiFi network including multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b.
Regarding Claim 6,
Patil discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: powering off a radio of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Patil discloses: A method for a gateway device to alter an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event, the method comprising: determining that a power saving feature is enabled
[0057] MAE 180 can actively monitor the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b for updated UE presence information and will evaluate the UE presence information in comparison to various trigger criteria to control the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140. In one embodiment, trigger criteria can include disabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b. In another embodiment, trigger criteria can include enabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are not present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving feature” is being interpreted as the power saving mode being enabled.
determining that a power saving event has been triggered
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving event” is being interpreted as where the MAE 180 via power management module 170a determining to send a power off message.
determining one or more power saving parameters associated with the power saving event
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving parameters” is the determination that either the multimode WiFi AP 150 is in an off state due to the power off message (which is in line with Applicant’s specification paragraph [0002] where the “radio is no longer needed”) or when the small cell AP module 140 is also in an off state.
altering one or more operations of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters associated with the power saving event.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “alter[ing] one or more operations” is the “powering off a radio of the gateway device” per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0008]. Here, the AP 150 is turned off.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Regarding Claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1.
Patil discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable medium of a gateway device storing a program for altering an operation of the gateway device based on one or more power saving parameters associated with a power saving event, which when executed by a processor of the gateway device, causes the gateway device to perform one or more operations comprising: determining that a power saving feature is enabled
[0057] MAE 180 can actively monitor the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b for updated UE presence information and will evaluate the UE presence information in comparison to various trigger criteria to control the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140. In one embodiment, trigger criteria can include disabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b. In another embodiment, trigger criteria can include enabling the power saving mode configured for small cell AP module 140 if one or more UE are not present within the group area defined by the combined WiFi coverage areas of multimode WiFi AP 150, WiFi AP 160a and WiFi AP 160b.
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving feature” is being interpreted as the power saving mode being enabled.
determining that a power saving event has been triggered
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving event” is being interpreted as where the MAE 180 via power management module 170a determining to send a power off message.
determining one or more power saving parameters associated with the power saving event
[0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “power saving parameters” is the determination that either the multimode WiFi AP 150 is in an off state due to the power off message (which is in line with Applicant’s specification paragraph [0002] where the “radio is no longer needed”) or when the small cell AP module 140 is also in an off state.
altering one or more operations of the gateway device based on the one or more power saving parameters associated with the power saving event. [0084] At 358, MAE 180 via power management module 170b analyzes the updated associated or detected UE information received from MSE 182 to determine that no UE is present within the combined WiFi coverage area for the group area. Based on trigger criteria configured for MAE 180/power management module 170a, which can indicate that for no UE presence within the group area that small cell AP module 140 should be powered off (e.g., power saving mode should be enabled), MAE 180 via power management module 170a can determine to send a ‘POWER OFF’ message to multimode WiFi AP 150, which includes small cell AP module 140 for the group area, through WLAN controller 162/power management module 170d to turn off small cell AP module 140.
Note: The “alter[ing] one or more operations” is the “powering off a radio of the gateway device” per Applicant’s specification paragraph [0008]. Here, the AP 150 is turned off.
Regarding Claim 17,
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Zhou et. al. (U.S. Pat. Pub. 2018/0130411), herein referred to as “Zhou”.
Regarding Claim 2,
Patil does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 2.
However, Zhou discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to further cause the gateway device to: determine to reset one or more settings of the gateway device based on the power saving event.
[0108] In some instances, motion sensors are used to reset the room timeout. The room timeout timer can indicate when to switch from an occupied state to an unoccupied state. The room timeout timer can be user configurable and can be, for example, thirty minutes. The room timeout timer can be timed by gateway 2360 in an individual room and can be used by gateway 2360 to make decisions on how to control the room devices (e.g. wireless controllers 2310). Data that indicates motion, sent from motion sensors 2340, can reset the room timer of the room shown in FIG. 23. In some instances, each room or area has a dedicated room timer and timeout condition. In some instances, either motion sensor 2340 can sense motion and clear the room timer. In some instances, once the room timer reaches the room timeout condition, such as 30 minutes, gateway 2360 can issue to wireless controllers 2310 a command associated with that room to switch to the desired state of wireless controller 2310. In such instance, the command to wireless controllers 2310 can occur sequentially to each wireless controller 2310 or as a single command simultaneously to all wireless controllers 2310. In such instances, typically the desired state is OFF; in some instances, however, certain lighting, such as security lighting or emergency lighting can have a desired state of ON or dimmed to a settable level such as 50%. In some instances, light sensor 2350 can continuously monitor the light level in the room and send data to gateway 2360. Gateway 2360 can wirelessly send commands to wireless controllers 2310 based on the sensor data (from motion sensors 2340 and light sensor 2350). In some instances, motion sensors 2340 and/or light sensor 2350 can communicate directly with wireless controllers 2310 if found to be advantageous, and associations can be stored for motion sensors 2340 and/or light sensors 2350 in wireless controllers 2310.
Patil and Zhou are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil to include the concept of determining to reset one or more settings of the gateway device based on a power saving event as taught by Zhou so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Claims 4, 11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Gan et. al. (CN 217307878 U), herein referred to as “Gan”.
Regarding Claim 4,
Patil does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 4.
However, Gan discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: setting an automatic negotiation with a low power maximum link speed for a link of a port based on the one or more power saving parameters.
[0056] Referring to FIG. 5, in some embodiments, the communication module 140 comprises an Ethernet control chip, the Ethernet control chip is connected to the communication end of the POE module 130 and the edge computing module 110. The Ethernet control chip may perform data transmission through the POE module 130 using protocols such as TCP and PPPoE protocol. wherein the Ethernet control chip adopts W5500 chip, the W5500 chip is an embedded Ethernet controller integrated with full hardware TCP/IP protocol stack, at the same time, it is an industrial Ethernet control chip. W5500 chip supports high-speed standard 4-line SPI interface to communicate with the host, the SPI rate theoretically can reach 80 MHz. An Ethernet data link layer (MAC) and a 10BaseT/100BaseTX Ethernet physical layer (PHY) are also integrated inside, supporting automatic negotiation (10/100-Based full duplex/half duplex), power down model and network wake up functions. different from the traditional software protocol stack, the 8 independent hardware Socket embedded in W5500 can perform 8-path independent communication, the communication efficiency of the 8-path Socket does not affect each other, the size of each Socket can be flexibly defined by the 32K byte receiving/sending cache on the W5500. All hardware TCP/IP protocol stack-supports TCP, UDP, ICMP, IPv4, ARP, IGMP, PPPoE protocol-hardware network engine, and it is not attacked by network.
Patil and Gan are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil to include the concept of an automatic negotiation with a low power maximum link speed for a link of a port based on power saving parameters as taught by Gan so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Regarding Claim 19,
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Claims 5, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Gan, held further in view of Jiang et. al. (CN 110430548 B), herein referred to as “Jiang”.
Regarding Claim 5,
Patil does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 5.
However, Jiang discloses: The gateway device of claim 4, wherein altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: bouncing the link of the port.
FIG. 2 is a schematic flow chart of the embodiment of the data compensation method provided by the present invention. The embodiment is suitable for the intelligent detection system, when the communication link between the collector and the wireless gateway is disconnected and re-connected, the collector sends data to the wireless gateway of the scene. The embodiment can be executed by the data transmitting device, the data transmitting device can be realized by the software and/or hardware mode, the data transmitting device can be integrated in the collector.
Patil in view of Gan and Jiang are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil in view of Gan to include the concept of bouncing a link port as taught by Jiang so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Regarding Claim 20,
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Claims 7, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Homchaudhuri et. al. (KR 20180037959 A), herein referred to as “Homchaudhuri”.
Regarding Claim 7,
Patil does not disclose all the limitations of Claim 7.
However, Homchaudhuri discloses: The gateway device of claim 1, wherein altering the one or more operations of the gateway device comprises: setting a radio to an energy management (EM) 1×1 antenna chain configuration.
[0046] At operation 404, the device determines, based on the determined power states of the wireless nodes, a first number of antenna modes used to communicate with the wireless nodes using the first number of spatial streams, Spatial streams to a second antenna mode used to communicate with the wireless nodes. As will be described in more detail below, the device switches to a single stream (1x1) antenna mode when all the wireless nodes are in a low power state, and switches to a single-stream (1x1) antenna mode when one or more of the wireless nodes exit the low- , 2x2 or 4x4) antenna mode. As used herein, a low power state generally results in less power consumption than other states due to reduced processing power (e. G., Processing fewer streams for transmission or fewer samples for reception) (E.g., an antenna mode with only single stream transmissions, such as in a 1x1 antenna mode, may be considered a low power state compared to a multi-stream antenna mode such as a 2x2 or 4x4 antenna mode). As described below, if one of the wireless nodes detects that the device is no longer in a low power state (e.g., by detecting that one of the wireless nodes is transmitting at an unsupported rate in the second antenna mode) , The device may switch from the second antenna mode to a different mode (e.g., again the first antenna mode).
Patil in view of Homchaudhuri are considered to be analogous because they involve wireless communications. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Patil to include the concept of setting a radio to an energy management (EM) 1×1 antenna chain configuration as taught by Homchaudhuri so as to improve power utilization in the network.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Regarding Claim 18,
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Conclusion
/JESSE P. SAMLUK/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411