DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13-17, 19 and 24) in the reply filed on September 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13-17, 19-22, 24 and 25 are pending.
Claims 20-22 and 25, drawn to non-elected inventions and non-elected species are withdrawn from examination.
Claims 3, 7, 12 and 18 have been cancelled.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19, 20 and 22 have been amended.
Claims 24 and 25 have been added.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13-17, 19 and 24 are examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
4. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the negative and plus signs should be presented in the superscript font on line 2, CD8+ and CD4+.
Correction is required.
Specification
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
6. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code, see page 1, lines 19, 20, 23, 25, 26 and 31-33; page 3, lines 34; page 6, lines 33 and 34; page 7, lines 5-8, 10, 17, 19; page 9, lines 9, 11 and 13; and page 10, lines 5 and 19. Applicant is request to review the entire document. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
7. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informality: there are at
at least ten nucleotides listed in Table 3 spanning pages 27 and 28. The MPEP 2421.01 states “[t]he sequence rules embrace all unbranched nucleotide sequences with ten or more bases and all unbranched, non-D amino acid sequences with four or more amino acids, provided that there are at least 10 “specifically defined” nucleotides or 4 “specifically defined” nucleotides or amino acids. The rules apply to all sequences in a given application, whether claimed or not.” All such sequences are relevant for the purposes of building a comprehensive database and properly assessing prior art. It is therefore essential that all sequences, whether only disclosed or also claimed, be included in the database.” Applicant is required to review the entire specification for similar errors.
Correction is required.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
8. REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 6, 11, 13-15 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the effector functions" and “the killing functions” in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
b. Claim 11 is indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language. This claim is an omnibus type claim.
In particular, claim 11 references Table 1. Where possible, claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim.
Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant's
convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
c. Claim 14 cites “such as” in line 2 of the claim. This phrase is regarded as
exemplary language. Hence, the claim is indefinite because the scope of the claim is not clear. The metes and bounds cannot be determined.
d. Claim 24 recites the limitation "the enhanced effector functions" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 16, 17, 19 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salerno et al., (Trends in Immunology 41(3): 240-254, March 2020/ IDS reference #20 submitted February 26, 2024). Salerno discloses “MAP kinase signal-integrating kinases (Mnks) and p38 MAPK-activated protein-kinase-2 (MK2)… phosphorylate and inhibit the RNA-decay promoting activity of the [RNA-binding proteins] RBPs hnRNPA1, ZFP36L1, and ZFP36, respectively,”, thereby enhancing cytotoxic T lymphocyte (CTL) activation and/or proliferation, see page 249, 2nd paragraph (para.). These RBPs are post-transcriptional regulators of gene expression. “[R]BPs alter their function to govern CD8+ T cell activation and differentiation.”, see page 241, sentences before “RNA-Binding…” segment.
Given Salerno teaches the instant method recited in claim 1, it further reads on the wherein, CTL activation is enhanced independent of enhancing proliferation; effector functions of the CTLs are enhanced, thereby releasing granzyme B, perforin, TNFa, IFNg and/or IL-2; the gene encoding the post-transcriptional regulator(s) of gene expression is disrupted; one or RBPs regulate the stability and/or translation efficiency of an mRNA transcript; and one or more RBPs reduce or inhibit the stability and/or translation efficiency of the mRNA transcript, see page 245, 1st and 2nd paragraphs (paras.); and page 247, 2nd para. Absent evidence to the contrary, the method is performed in vitro.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 13, 16, 17, 19 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salerno et al., (Trends in Immunology 41(3): 240-254, March 2020/ IDS reference #20 submitted February 26, 2024), and further in view of Yeo et al., US 2022/0127611 A1 (effectively filed October 27, 2021) and Alnaefaie et al., (Frontier in Bioengineering and Biotechnology 10(797440): 1-32, published 22 June 2022). Salerno teaches “MAP kinase signal-integrating kinases (Mnks) and p38 MAPK-activated protein-kinase-2 (MK2)… phosphorylate and inhibit the RNA-decay promoting activity of the [RNA-binding proteins] RBPs hnRNPA1, ZFP36L1, and ZFP36, respectively,”, thereby enhancing cytotoxic T lymphocyte (CTL) activation and/or proliferation, see page 249, 2nd paragraph (para.). These RBPs are post-transcriptional regulators of gene expression. “[R]BPs alter their function to govern CD8+ T cell activation and differentiation.”, see page 241, sentences before “RNA-Binding…” segment.
Given Salerno teaches the instant method recited in claim 1, it further reads on the wherein, CTL activation is enhanced independent of enhancing proliferation; effector functions of the CTLs are enhanced, thereby releasing granzyme B, perforin, TNFa, IFNg and/or IL-2; the gene encoding the post-transcriptional regulator(s) of gene expression is disrupted; one or RBPs regulate the stability and/or translation efficiency of an mRNA transcript; and one or more RBPs reduce or inhibit the stability and/or translation efficiency of the mRNA transcript, see page 245, 1st and 2nd paragraphs (paras.); and page 247, 2nd para. Absent evidence to the contrary, the method is performed in vitro.
Salerno does not teach the method, wherein the one or more post-transcriptional regulators of gene expression is any one or more of those listed in Table 1 and/or is one or more components of the Carbon Catabolite Repression 4-Negative On TAT-less (CCR4-NOT) complex. Nor, does Salerno teach the method, wherein the CTL is an engineered T cell, chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) T cell able to recognize and react to a tumour antigen.
However, Yeo teaches RBPs, AGO2, ASCC3, CNBP, CPSF6, DDX28, DHX30, HNRNP2AB1, HNRNPM, HNRNPP2, MBNL1, PTBP1, ZFP36L2, ZRANB2, LARP4, NUFIP2, RBM12, RBM26, RBM38, SCAF8, SFRS10, SREK1, SUGP1, ZC3HAV1, ZRANB2, as well as components of the CCR4-NOT, CNOT4, CNOT6L, DDX6, HNRNPF, see page 1, sections 0003 and 0007; page 6, sections 0098 and 0099; and Table 1 spanning pages 9-12, 14-16, 19, 20, 22-24 and 26.
Furthermore, Alnefaie teaches CAR T cells, genetically engineered T cells able to facilitate cancer treatment, see entire document.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the additional RBPs taught by Yeo in order to assess their impact on CTL activation and/or proliferation as taught in Salerno, as well as test their impact on CAR T cells.
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because Salerno evidences RBPs are crucial components in “…post-transcriptional control during CD8+ T cell homeostasis and activation.”, see abstract on page 240; and entire document. Thus, in view of the teachings of Salerno, Yeo and Alnefaie, there would have been a reasonable expectation that additional RBPs would yield additional information regarding their impact on mammalian T cell effector functions and engineered T cells, as well as how their inhibition and/or reduction of activity impacts “…the magnitude and timing of cytokine production in CD8+ T cells” and “…govern CD8+T cell activation and differentiation”, see pages 240, 241; and entire document.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Julie Wu can be reached on 571-272-5205. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
ALANA HARRIS DENT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1643
20 October 2026
/Alana Harris Dent/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643