DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed recently have been considered and the aspect concerning “error within processor circuits” have been considered and rejected over new ground of rejection(s) and in addition, the examiner had erred in the 112 rejection and thus said rejection has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 6, 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (US 10,644,667 B2).
Claim 1, Watanabe et al. disclose of a system comprising: an error management circuit configured to detect an error within a first subset of a plurality of processing circuits (fig.1 (16); col.4 line 25-37), wherein the error is not detected within a second subset of the plurality of processing circuits, and wherein each of the plurality of processing circuits produces audio data; and an audio control circuit configured to mute the first subset in response to receiving an indication of the error while maintaining audio availability of the second subset (fig.1 (16,13) ; col.4 line 40-50; col.6 line 35-50; col.9 line 30-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 10,644,667 B2) and Veloso et al. (US 2024/0406693 A1).
7. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the subset generates non-critical audio data in general (col.3 line 35-45/the sound being general include inherently such non-critical audio data , However, Veloso et al. never limit such specific in regard to the first subset generates non-critical audio data and wherein the second subset generates critical audio data.
But, Veloso et al. disclose of a certain vehicle system having a subset which generates critical audio data (par [2]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by specify of the subset for generating critical audio data so as to support emergency calls associated with the audio system.
8. (Original) The system of claim 7, but the art never specify as wherein the plurality of processing circuits are integrated into an automobile, wherein the non-critical audio data comprises radio audio data, non-emergency telephone data, or both, and wherein the critical audio data comprises safety chime data, emergency telephone data, or both.
However, Veloso et al. disclose of a plurality of processing circuits are integrated into an automobile, wherein the non-critical audio data comprises radio audio data, non-emergency telephone data, or both, and wherein the critical audio data comprises safety chime data, emergency telephone data, or both (par [1-2]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted circuits are integrated into an automobile, wherein the non-critical audio data comprises radio audio data, non-emergency telephone data, or both, and wherein the critical audio data comprises safety chime data, emergency telephone data, or both for allowing various modes of communications including emergency call for various users in the vehicles.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 10,644,667 B2) and Quilter et al. (US 10,749,488 B2).
9. (Original) The system of claim 1, but the art as in Watanabe lacked as wherein the plurality of processing circuits, the error management circuit, and the audio control circuit are integrated together into a system-on-a-chip (SOC).
Narula et al. disclose of a similar system including plurality of processing circuits, the error management circuit, and the audio control circuit are integrated together into a system-on-a-chip (fig.3; par [80]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted processing circuits, the error management circuit, and the audio control circuit are integrated together into a system-on-a-chip for achieving a more compact device with efficient power.
Claim(s) 2-5, 10-11, 14, 16-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 10,644,667 B2) and Goldstein et al. (US 2022/0013127 A1).
2. (Original) The system of claim 1, but the prior art never mentioned as further comprising: a plurality of audio buffer circuits configured to store audio data from the plurality of processing circuits.
However, Goldstein disclose of a system wherein a plurality of audio buffer circuits configured to store audio data from the plurality of processing circuits (fig.6A (615); par [38]). Thus one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted a plurality of audio buffer circuits configured to store audio data from the plurality of processing circuits so as to manage mishaps between fast audio signals.
3. (Original) The system of claim 2, wherein muting the first subset comprises writing a predetermined value into one or more audio buffer circuits corresponding to the first subset (G-par [38]).
Claim 4, the system of claim 3, further comprising: a speaker configured to play an audio stream generated based on the audio data stored at the plurality of audio buffer circuits (W-fig.1 (2); col.3 line 1-10).
5. (Original) The system of claim 3, wherein writing the predetermined value comprises zero-filling the one or more audio buffer circuits (G-par [38]).
Claim 10, Watanabe et al. disclose of a method, comprising: receiving, at an audio control circuit, an indication of an error within a first subset of a plurality of processing circuits, wherein the error is not indicated within a second subset of the plurality of processing circuits (fig.1 (16,13) ; col.4 line 40-50; col.6 line 35-50; col.9 line 30-45) and respond according to the audio data from the first subset accordingly ( col.6 line 35-50; col.9 line 30-45).
However, the prior art never specify of overwriting audio data from the first subset with one or more predetermined values at one or more audio buffer circuits corresponding to the first subset. However, Goldstein disclose of a method including overwriting audio data from the first subset with one or more predetermined values at one or more audio buffer circuits corresponding to the first subset (fig.6A (615); par [38]). Thus one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted a plurality of audio buffer circuits configured to store audio data from the plurality of processing circuits so as to manage mishaps between fast audio signals.
11. (Original) The method of claim 10, further comprising: subsequent to overwriting the audio data from the first subset, causing a sound corresponding to audio data from the second subset to be played (W-fig.1 (16,13) ; col.4 line 40-50; col.6 line 35-50; col.9 line 30-45).
14. (Original) The method of claim 10, wherein overwriting the audio data with the one or more predetermined values at the one or more audio buffer circuits comprises zero-filling the one or more audio buffer circuits (G-par [38]).
16. (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising: an audio control circuit configured to control the audio data from a first subset of the plurality of processing circuits in response to receiving an indication of an error ft within the first subset and while maintaining audio availability of audio data from a second subset of the plurality of processing circuits (fig.1 (16,13) ; col.4 line 40-50; col.6 line 35-50; col.9 line 30-45).
Nontetheless, Watanabe never specify of a plurality of buffer circuits configured to store audio data from a plurality of processing circuits. However, Goldstein disclose of a plurality of buffer circuits configured to store audio data from a plurality of processing circuits (fig.6A (615); par [38]). Thus one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted a plurality of buffer circuits configured to store audio data from a plurality of processing circuits so as to manage mishaps between fast audio signals.
Thus, according the combined teaching of Watanabe and Goldstein as a whole, would have taught overwriting the audio data accordingly (fig.6A (615); par [38]).
17. (Original) The apparatus of claim 16, further comprising: an error management circuit configured to detect the error at the first subset of the plurality of processing circuits, wherein the error is not detected at the second subset of the plurality of processing circuits (W-fig.1 (16); col.4 line 25-37).
19. (Original) The apparatus of claim 16, wherein overwriting the audio data comprises writing a predetermined value into one or more of the audio buffer circuits storing the audio data from the first subset (fig.6A (615); par [38]).
20. (Original) The apparatus of claim 19, wherein writing the predetermined value comprises zero-filling the one or more audio buffer circuits (W-fig.6A (615); par [38]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 10,644,667 B2) and Goldstein et al. (US 2022/0013127 A1) and Sheerin et al. (US 8,824,692 B2).
15. (Original) The method of claim 10, although, the prior art never specify as wherein overwriting one or more audio data values with the one or more predetermined values at the one or more audio buffer circuits comprises writing an alert data value corresponding to a user alert sound.
But sheering et al. disclose of such method or more predetermined values comprises writing an alert data value corresponding to a user alert sound (col.9 line 5-20). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such noted more predetermined values comprises writing an alert data value corresponding to a user alert sound for providing audible warning of malfunction as detected.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 10,644,667 B2) and Goldstein et al. (US 2022/0013127 A1) and Veloso et al. (US 2024/0406693 A1).
12. (Original) The method of claim 11, wherein the subset is of non-critical audio data in general (col.3 line 35-45/the sound being general include inherently such non-critical audio data , However, Veloso et al. never limit such specific in regard to the second subset being critical audio data.
But, Veloso et al. disclose of a certain method having a subset which include a critical audio data (par [2]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by specify of the subset including a critical audio data so as to support emergency calls associated with the audio system.
13. (Original) The method of claim 12, but the art never specify as wherein the plurality of method comprises a safety chime, emergency telephone audio, emergency radio broadcast or any combination.
However, Veloso et al. disclose of comprises a safety chime, emergency telephone audio, emergency radio broadcast or any combination (par [1-2]). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such noted comprises a safety chime, emergency telephone audio, emergency radio broadcast or any combination for allowing various modes of communications including emergency call for various users in the vehicles.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695