DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by KR reference(KR0143844B1).
KR reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier comprising a heating water tank(water tank 102 with heater humidifier 120) which heats water, a humidifying water tank(ultrasonic humidifier 140) which is connected to the heating water tank, and generates humidified air by using water supplied from the heating water tank, a connection pipe(flow passage 130) which sends water stored in the heating water tank to the humidifying water tank, and a blowing fan(blowing fan 190) which forms airflow around the connection pipe.
With regards to claim 2, KR reference further teaches a water tank cover(bottom of overall humidifier housing in figure 1) in which a heat exchange chamber where the connection pipe(130) is disposed is formed, wherein air flowing by the blowing fan flows to the heat exchange chamber(noting airflow by blowing fan 190 provides heat exchange to flow passage 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chinese reference(CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A).
Chinese reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier comprising a heating water tank(heating chamber 6 filled with water, noting heating plate 4) which heats water, a humidifying water tank(atomizing chamber 16 with ultrasonic oscillator 17) which is connected to the heating water tank(connection through filter valve 5), and generates humidified air by using water supplied from the heating water tank, and a blowing fan(fan 1) which forms airflow. Chinese reference is silent as to a connection pipe which sends water stored in the heating water tank to the humidifying water tank. KR reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier including a water tank(3), the water tank supplying water to a humidifying water tank(atomization tank 8), the humidifying water tank connected to the water tank, and a connection pipe(water flow path 6) which sends water stored in the water tank to the humidifying water tank. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a connection pipe in place of the filter valve(5) of Chinese reference in order to provide a water pipe for transferring water stored in the heating water tank(6) of Chinese reference to the humidifying water tank(16) of Chinese reference. Examiner further notes the limitations “which forms airflow around the connection pipe” is an intended function for the claimed blowing fan and are not given patentable weight for prior art analysis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 3 recites “wherein the air flowing by the blowing fan flows into the humidifying water tank.”. .”. Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) teaches a blowing fan for blowing air into a humidification chamber above a humidifying water tank, however Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) does not teach or suggest wherein the air flowing by the blowing fan flows into the humidifying water tank . Claims 4-10 depend on claim 3 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 3 into claim 1.
Claim 11 recites “further comprising an air supply pipe which supplies air flowing by the blowing fan to the humidifying water tank, wherein a heat exchange chamber in which a portion of the connection pipe is disposed is formed inside the air supply pipe.”. Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) teaches an air supply pipe(10 in Chinese reference) which supplies air by a blowing fan to a humidification chamber above a humidifying water tank, however Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) does not teach or suggest further comprising an air supply pipe which supplies air flowing by the blowing fan to the humidifying water tank, wherein a heat exchange chamber in which a portion of the connection pipe is disposed is formed inside the air supply pipe.
Claim 12 recites “wherein the blowing fan that forms air flow is disposed in one side of the air supply pipe, and the other side of the air supply pipe is connected to the inside of the humidifying water tank.”. Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) teaches a blowing fan that forms air flow is disposed in one side of an air supply pipe, however Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) does not teach or suggest the other side of the air supply pipe is connected to the inside of the humidifying water tank. Claims 13-16 depend on claim 12 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 12 into claim 1.
Claims 17-19 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 17 recites “A humidifier , comprising: a cover having a suction port at one side and a discharge port above the suction port; a filter which is disposed inside the cover, and filters air flowing into the suction port; a water tank which is disposed inside the cover, and forms a space in which water is stored; a heating water tank which is disposed below the water tank, and heats water received from the water tank; a humidifying water tank which is disposed in one side of the heating water tank, and receives water from the heating water tank to generate humidified air; a water tank cover which is disposed spaced apart to the inside of the cover, and forms a space where the heating water tank and the humidifying water tank are disposed therein; a connection pipe which supplies water from the heating water tank to the humidifying water tank; and a blowing fan which is disposed below the water tank cover in the inside of the cover, and sends air flowing into the suction port to the discharge port, wherein a blowing passage through which air rising by the blowing fan flows is formed between the water tank cover and the cover, wherein a cover inlet into which a portion of air flowing in the blowing passage is flowed is formed in the water tank cover.”.
Chinese reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier comprising a cover having a suction port and a discharge port, a water tank(water storage tank 14) disposed inside the cover, and forms a space in which water is stored, a heating water tank(heating chamber 6 filled with water, noting heating plate 4) disposed within the water tank which heats water, a humidifying water tank(atomizing chamber 16 with ultrasonic oscillator 17) disposed on one side of the heating water tank, which is connected to the heating water tank(connection through filter valve 5), and generates humidified air by using water supplied from the heating water tank, and a blowing fan(fan 1) which forms airflow. Chinese reference is silent as to a connection pipe which sends water stored in the heating water tank to the humidifying water tank. KR reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier including a water tank(3), the water tank supplying water to a humidifying water tank(atomization tank 8), the humidifying water tank connected to the water tank, and a connection pipe(water flow path 6) which sends water stored in the water tank to the humidifying water tank. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a connection pipe downstream of the filter valve(5) of Chinese reference in order to provide a water pipe for transferring water stored in the heating water tank(6) of Chinese reference to the humidifying water tank(16) of Chinese reference.
However Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) does not teach or suggest a water tank cover which is disposed spaced apart to the inside of the cover, and forms a space where the heating water tank and the humidifying water tank are disposed therein, and a blowing fan which is disposed below the water tank cover in the inside of the cover, and sends air flowing into the suction port to the discharge port, wherein a blowing passage through which air rising by the blowing fan flows is formed between the water tank cover and the cover, wherein a cover inlet into which a portion of air flowing in the blowing passage is flowed is formed in the water tank cover. Claims 18 and 19 depend on claim 17 and hence are also allowed.
Claim 20 recites “a humidifier , comprising : a water tank; a heating water tank which heats water supplied from the water tank; a humidifying water tank which generates humidified air by using water supplied from the heating water tank; a connection pipe connecting the heating water tank and the humidifying water tank; an air supply pipe which is connected to one side of the humidifying water tank, and supplies air to the humidifying water tank; and a blowing fan which is disposed in one side of the supply pipe , and forms an air flow inside the supply pipe, wherein a portion of the connection pipe is disposed to penetrate the inside of the supply pipe.”.
Chinese reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier comprising a water tank(water storage tank 14) , a heating water tank(heating chamber 6 filled with water, noting heating plate 4) disposed within the water tank which heats water, a humidifying water tank(atomizing chamber 16 with ultrasonic oscillator 17) which is connected to the heating water tank(connection through filter valve 5), and generates humidified air by using water supplied from the heating water tank, an air supply pipe connected to a humidifcation chamber , and a blowing fan(fan 1) disposed in one side of the supply pipe. Chinese reference is silent as to a connection pipe which sends water stored in the heating water tank to the humidifying water tank. KR reference in figure 1 teaches a humidifier including a water tank(3), the water tank supplying water to a humidifying water tank(atomization tank 8), the humidifying water tank connected to the water tank, and a connection pipe(water flow path 6) which sends water stored in the water tank to the humidifying water tank. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a connection pipe downstream of the filter valve(5) of Chinese reference in order to provide a water pipe for transferring water stored in the heating water tank(6) of Chinese reference to the humidifying water tank(16) of Chinese reference.
However Chinese reference (CN108105926A) taken together with KR reference(KR10-2013-0092093A) does not teach or suggest an air supply pipe connected to one side of the humidifying water tank, and supplies air to the humidifying water tank, and wherein a portion of the connection pipe is disposed to penetrate the inside of the supply pipe.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/537,047 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because current claim 1 includes limitations identical to limitations of claim 1 of 18/537,047, with a difference of a blowing fan, wherein a blowing fan is common in the humidifier art.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776
March 10, 2026