DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-5 are pending and have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits. As of the date of this communication, no Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) has been filed with this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) In Claim 1, lines 2-3, “comprises consisting of” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear if the following limitations are limited by “comprises” or “consisting of”. For the purposes of examination, “comprises” has been deleted from the claim.
B) In Claim 2, line 2, “ultraviolet light resistance” renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what would qualify as having ultraviolet light resistance. For the purposes of examination, any clear material would have at least some ultraviolet light resistance.
C) Claims 3-5 are also rejected due to their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Publication Number 2007/0173191 A1 to Daniels.
A) As per Claim 1, Daniels teaches a roof or sidewall vent top portion that is configured to cover a roof or sidewall vent and inhibit development of insect nests being built therein wherein the roof vent cover (Daniels: Figure 2) consisting of:
a transparent or translucent top cover (Daniels: Figure 2, Item 23; Paragraph 0038) formed of a single unitary piece constructed and arranged to removably attach to an existing base plate system (Daniels: Figure 2, Item 24) having base plate member being planar in manner, said base plate member having an upper surface and a mounting plate formed thereon;
said upper top cover being secured and coupled to said existing base plate system distal to said base plate member, said top cover member configured to inhibit moisture from entering vent (Daniels: Figure 2, Item 23 attached to Item 24 at Items 36-37);
wherein said top cover member coupled to said base plate system provides a structure for light to penetrate therethrough, inhibits creation of a dark protected space that will inhibit development of insect nests being built therein (Daniels: Figure 2, Item 23 attached to Item 24 at Items 36-37; Paragraph 0038).
B) As per Claim 5, Daniels teaches that said unitary body is translucent (Daniels: Figure 2, Item 23; Paragraph 0038).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels in view of US Patent Publication Number 2005/0005541 A1 to West.
A) As per Claims 2 & 4, Daniels teaches all the limitations except explicitly that said unitary body is formed of a clear, transparent material having ultraviolet light resistance.
However, West teaches said unitary body is formed of a clear, transparent material having ultraviolet light resistance (West: Paragraph 0010).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Daniels by having a clear body, as taught by West, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Daniels with these aforementioned teachings of West since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the transparent body of West for the translucent body of Daniels.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daniels in view of US Patent Publication Number 2005/0215192 A1 to Rye.
A) As per Claim 3, Daniels teaches all the limitations except that said unitary body is formed of polycarbonate thermoplastic.
However, Rye teaches a body is formed of polycarbonate thermoplastic (Rye: Paragraph 0035).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Daniels by making the body polycarbonate thermoplastic, as taught by Rye, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Daniels with these aforementioned teachings of Rye since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself- that is in the substitution of the material of Rye for the material of Daniels.
Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious.
Conclusion
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762