DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 13A and 14A, as shown in figure 4. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: --WATERPROOFED ELECTRICAL CONNECTOR WITH POTTING AGENT PROVIDING SEALING--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With regard to claims 1 and 10, it is unclear how the connector components of the contact part come into contact with one another, when the conducting components of the connector are separated by insulating and sealing components. For prior art analysis, any components that are in contact can be considered to meet these limitations. Claims 2-9 include all the limitations of claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons. Claims 11-20 include all the limitations of claim 10 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akihiro et al. (JP2020149777A) in view of He (CN216698078U).
With regard to claim 1, Akihiro teaches, as shown in figure 4: “A connector 1 having a waterproof structure 13 and 15, the waterproof structure comprising: a first potting reservoir 121 recessed in an area including an edge of a contact part 11 of a plurality of connector components 14-16 coming into contact with one another… and a potting agent 15 injected into the first potting reservoir 121”.
Akihiro does not teach: “a first indicator identifying an injection amount of a potting agent to be injected into the first potting reservoir”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, He teaches, as shown in figure 2 and taught on pages 2 lines 16-31 or the translation: “a first indicator 6 identifying an injection amount of a potting agent (described on page 2 lines 16-31) to be injected into the first potting reservoir 3”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 2, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “wherein the first potting reservoir 121 includes a depression circumscribing an outer wall of components of the connector 1”.
With regard to claim 3, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 2”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “wherein one part of the depression (interior of 1211 in figure 4) in a circumferential direction is wider than a remainder (interior of 1212 in figure 4) of the depression”.
With regard to claim 4, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “further comprising an elongated signal contact 14, the first potting reservoir 121 is defined by a depression circumscribing the signal contact 14”.
With regard to claim 5, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4, the component in the potting agent 15 is a signal contact 14.
He also teaches, as shown in figure 2 and taught on pages 2 lines 16-31 or the translation: “wherein the first indicator 6 protrudes laterally with respect to a direction (roughly up-and-down direction in figure 2) in which the” component 2 “extends in the potting reservoir 3”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro as modified by He in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 6, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
He also teaches, as shown in figure 2: “wherein the first indicator 6 includes a plurality of individual first indicators 6 pointing to each of a plurality of injection volumes 3”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro as modified by He in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 7, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
He also teaches, as shown in figure 2: “further comprising a second potting reservoir (another reservoir 3 of the reservoirs 3 in figure 2) and a second indicator (indicator 6 of the second reservoir in figure 2) corresponding to the second potting reservoir, the first reservoir and the second reservoir are open in a common direction”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro as modified by He in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 8, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 1”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “wherein the connector 1 includes: a first mating part (bottom part of 1 in figure 4) adapted to mate with a first mating connector (where bottom end of contacts 14 are mated when the connector 1 is mated); and a second mating part (top part of 1 in figure 4) adapted to mate with a second mating connector (where the top end of 14 is connected when the connector 1 is mated), the connector 1 adapted to pass signals between the first mating connector and the second mating connector (this is an inherent property of electrical connectors otherwise there is no electrical connection achieved)”.
With regard to claim 9, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 8”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “wherein the waterproofing structure is adapted to prevent water entering the connector 1 from leaking to a first side (top side in figure 4) of the connector 1 corresponding to the first mating connector when the connector 1 is mated with the first mating connector and unmated with the second mating connector”.
With regard to claim 10, Akihiro teaches, as shown in figure 4: “A connector 1, comprising: a first mating part (bottom part of 1 in figure 4) adapted to mate with a first mating connector (where bottom end of contacts 14 are mated when the connector 1 is mated) on a first side (bottom side of 1 in figure 4) of the connector 1; a second mating part (top part of 1 in figure 4) adapted to mate with a second mating connector (where the top end of 14 is connected when the connector 1 is mated) on a second side (top side of 1 in figure 4) of the connector 1; and a waterproofing structure 15 adapted to prevent water entering the connector from leaking to the first side of the connector 1 when the connector 1 is mated with the first mating connector and unmated with the second mating connector, including: a first potting reservoir 121 recessed in an area including an edge of a contact part of a plurality of connector components 14-16 coming into contact with one another, the first potting reservoir 121 opened in a first direction (upward direction in figure 4).
Akihiro does not teach: “a first indicator identifying a first injection amount of a potting agent to be injected into the first potting reservoir; a second potting reservoir opened in the first direction; and a second indicator identifying a second injection amount of the potting agent to be injected into the second potting reservoir”.
In the same field of endeavor before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, He teaches, as shown in figure 2 and taught on pages 2 lines 16-31 or the translation: “a first indicator 6 identifying a first injection amount of a potting agent (described on page 2 lines 16-31) to be injected into the first potting reservoir 3; a second potting reservoir (another reservoir 3 of the reservoirs 3 in figure 2) opened in the first direction; and a second indicator (indicator 6 of the second reservoir in figure 2) identifying a second injection amount of the potting agent to be injected into the second potting reservoir”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 11, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 10”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “further comprising a signal contact 14, the first potting reservoir 121 is defined by a depression circumscribing the signal contact 14”.
With regard to claim 12, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “further comprising an outer shield 12 arranged about the signal contact 14, the first potting reservoir 121 defined between the signal contact 14 and the outer shield 12”.
With regard to claim 13, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Neither Akihiro nor He teach: “wherein the first indicator includes a groove formed into an inward facing wall of the outer shield defining the first potting reservoir”. However, He teaches, as shown in figure 2, the indicator 6 being an outwardly protruding strip. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the shape of the indicator so that the indicator includes a groove since doing so would provide a visual indicator for the amount of potting to be inserted. Also, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
With regard to claim 14, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 12”, as shown above.
Neither Akihiro nor He teach: “wherein the second potting reservoir is defined between an outer surface of the outer shield and an inner surface of a housing of the connector”. However, Akihiro teaches, as shown in figure 4, a packing provided between an outer surface of the outer shield 12 and an inner surface (inner surface of 11 in figure 4) of a housing 11 of the connector 1. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the packing by injecting potting material in order to control the size of the waterproofing (Akihiro, translation page 2 lines 4-7 and page 3 lines 1-8).
With regard to claim 15, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 14”, as shown above.
He also teaches, as shown in figure 2: “wherein the second indicator comprises at least one step formed into the housing 1 in the first direction”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro as modified by He in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 17, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4: “wherein one part (interior of 1211 in figure 4) of the depression in a circumferential direction is wider than a remainder (interior of 1212 in figure 4) of the depression”.
With regard to claim 18, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 11”, as shown above.
Akihiro also teaches, as shown in figure 4, the component in the potting agent 15 is a signal contact 14.
He also teaches, as shown in figure 2 and taught on pages 2 lines 16-31 or the translation: “wherein the first indicator 6 protrudes laterally with respect to a direction (roughly up-and-down direction in figure 2) in which the” component 2 “extends in the potting reservoir 3”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro as modified by He in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 19, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 18”, as shown above.
He also teaches, as shown in figure 2: “wherein the first indicator 6 includes a plurality of individual first indicators 6 pointing to each of a plurality of injection volumes 3”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro as modified by He in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
With regard to claim 20, Akihiro as modified by He teaches: “The connector according to claim 19”, as shown above.
He also teaches, as shown in figure 2: “wherein each first indicator 6… extending to a discrete height in the first direction”.
Neither Akihiro nor He teach: “wherein each first indicator includes a plurality of grooves, each groove extending to a discrete height in the first direction”. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of He with the invention of Akihiro in order to indicate when enough potting material is injected (He, translation page 2 lines 16-31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN M KRATT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831